Find companies:
Sears
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,037 reviews

Sears Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest place to work.
Cashier/Sales Associate Children's Department (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJuly 7, 2014
The flexibility for hours was great. The co-workers not trust worthy. Management not the greatest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Productive and Fun Place to Work
Buying Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 4, 2014
Being in the fashion world, the job was very different. I learned about buying Upholstery - fabric, leather,bonded leather and PVC or lather look alike Required to Assemble Furniture, rugs, fireplaces.

Good, friendly management to work with. Co-workers were very helpful, knowledgeable.

Buuilding up items for Catalogue and online shopping, though it – more... was challenging I enjoyed it the most. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good place to work
Material Handler (Former Employee), Belleville, ONJuly 3, 2014
Pros: hours were good
Cons: no raise in pay last 6 years
I enjoyed my job at Sears. The work was as challenging as I wanted it to be. Co-workers were fun and helpful. I most enjoyed setting a daily goal for myself. Was pleased when I could meet or beat it. It made my day go better. A typical day for me was a shipment of appliance parts (10 to 60 skids); I would sort and receive then send to proper areas for – more... putaway. The hardest part of the job was sometimes not having proper equipment to do the job. eg: printer paper for printer used to print receiving tickets. I learned a lot about the operations of a large company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits, great commission with bonuses, fun environment
Sales Associate, Major Appliances (Former Employee), London, ONJuly 2, 2014
an overall great place to work! if you can get a full-time position (they're tough to find)...good benefits, sick pay, paid vacation, personal days and pretty decent commission with bonuses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIL
MPT Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 2, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: management
It was a great experience I would not mind working for Sears again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work fun team atmosphere
Logistics CoordinatorMerchandise Flow Superviser (Former Employee), Vancouver, B.CJune 30, 2014
Pros: hour break half paid for i could take it when i felt like it
Cons: pay rate a little low for amount of work done
typical day at work varied and isnt this on my resume???
unload trailer/load trailer, customer service, inventory, merchandise presentation, visual presentation, etc. co-workers were great managment was good no hard part as i enjoyed working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sears used to be a wonderful place to work. It was my second family, but now in these hard times it is not a good environment to be in.
Category Marketing Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioJune 27, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: not a stable environment/too many people in upper management
I loved my job as a Category Marketing Manager. Being in Retail it was always changing and constantly busy.
I loved learning about the Cosmetic business over the last few months, and the people are what is great at Sears….
Unfortunately, the morale is not very good due to the difficult times Sears is having…
I used to be very proud to say I worked at – more... Sears, and I can't say that anymore…. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay
Cashier (Former Employee), bathurst, nbJune 27, 2014
It's a job...lots of drama here. Deal with a lot of moody people and don't get paid enough for the job you do. All they care about is how many people use a sears master card, not how much sales you made.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable to work with Sears
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 27, 2014
Pros: free water
Cons: long hours
A typical day at work is when the store is busy. I learned how to handle stress at work, how to prioritized the most urgent. The management is helpful especially in customer service. Have good relationship with co- workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Versatile, diverse client group of people
Manager (Former Employee), Sears, Toronto, ONJune 24, 2014
Pros: great employee discount
Cons: no breaks and lunches
Sears could be always better as before. 10 years ago the company was completely different in terms of taking care of the employees as well as the customers, most of the departments don't have any associates to help customer's making decisions and close the sales, no stocks, stockrooms are all empty, work load is full but employees hours are cut to 1/3.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee), London, ONJune 23, 2014
i liked working with my co-workers, and loved hepling and solving problems with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
Catalogue Associate (Current Employee), Vernon, BCJune 23, 2014
Each day at Sears brings a new challenge. Patience is the key with working in a large corporation. I enjoy working with my fellow co-workers and solving customer issues. The hardest part is being unable to solve a customer's problem because of corporate rules and regulations. The best part is finding a way to solve a problem that appeared to be unsolvable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repaired and rebuilt clutch systems
Automotive Technician (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJune 23, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: nothing
Test electronic computer components in automobiles to ensure that they were working properly. Tuned automobile engines to ensure proper and efficient functioning. Used electronic test equipment to locate and correct malfunctions in fuel, ignition, and emissions control systems. Repaired and replaced automobile leaf springs, defective ball joint suspensions – more... and wheel bearings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work enviorment overall
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONJune 18, 2014
Pros: co workers were excellent, positive work enviornment, selling clothing was fun
Cons: difficult at times to meet weekly sales quotas, salary was not ideal
A typical day of work included keeping my area clean greeting customers and providing excellent customer service. My co workers were all very nice and friendly I have no complaints and management was nice and helpful however I found there was a lot of pressure to sell, sell, sell which in turn took away from helping customers to the full extent because – more... most of our customers didn't have a lot of money. The hardest part of the job was meeting quota on a weekly basis. The best part of the job was helping customers and making them happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Merchandise Flow Associate (Current Employee), Red Deer, ABJune 17, 2014
Pros: having a insurance benefits
everyday i have so many things to experience and to learn about the customer service like to assist to the customer needs, and i am happy to help them and to the thank me with a smile coming from the customer. i am grateful to be part of the sears company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning Experience
Sr Financial Analyst, FP&A (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 15, 2014
Good Learning Experience, good co-workers and immediate leaders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I just realized that my resume is not up-to-date as I currently work for the Hudson's Bay as a Beauty Adviser. I started Sept. 2013 with a salary $14.
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Erin Mills Town CenterJune 12, 2014
Pros: employees are trusted
Cons: lack of respect from human resorces
The first Beautician in opens all cash registers. Each ensure that their counter is clean and all tools for the job are in place. Once the store opens one has to be ready to greet the customer with a smile and a cheery salutation. Throughout the having eagle eyes for customer as the enter the department.

I have learned that I can sell anything with – more... passion.

Management never seem to understand some of the abuse (verbal) we encounter with our continuous phone calls to customers.

I worked with an amazing team at Sears, as I totally believe in being a team player, much can be accomplished then.

The hardest part of the job was calling customers for every event and gift with purchase.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the relationship with customers. Customers love you when you advise them on the art to looking younger and beautiful. The co-workers were fun to be with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working environment
Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee), Windsor, ONJune 10, 2014
I was a seasonal occupant, therefore only worked for a limited amount of time. however I learned a lot and gained an abundant amount of experience. My co-workers were very friendly and reliable ones that I very much enjoyed working with. A typical day for me as a seasonal employee, would be handing out samples, and greeting people with the stores fragrance – more... sales. The most enjoyable part of the job for me, was being able to interact with people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love working
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Belleville, ONJune 10, 2014
Pros: enjoyed helping the customers
Cons: customers yelling at me because of the issues they are having
I had great days as I like to talk to customer and resolve issues . I do that every day in my home life . the hardest part of the job with getting customers to calm down and explain the issue, so I can assist them in resolving the problems

management and I got along great as I did my job because I took the time to understand the customer issues so – more... we could reach a resolution

I also worked a lot of overtime when they needed help – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good salary,poor management company failing
Sales of major appliances (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 9, 2014
Pros: good working environment.
Cons: poor management
Enjoy the job but poor management but company will not be around for long.co-workers great . Hardest part of job is staying excited to go to work.

1 2 3 4 5

About Sears

Sears, Roebuck and Co. hasn't outgrown the mall scene, but it's spending more time in other places. Beyond its 840 US mall-based – Read more