Find companies:
Seagate Technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
80 reviews

Seagate Technology Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair
Contract Employee (Former Employee), Scotts Valley, CAOctober 11, 2013
not too fair. never made contractors permanent. nothing else to say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Software Staff Engineer (Former Employee), Longmont, COOctober 8, 2013
Wrote testing firmware for disk drives using well thought-out GUI interface with a hardware specific protocol and successfully provided solid background proven in developing and maintaining C and Assembly programming of real-time hardware interrupt drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Shakopee, MNSeptember 23, 2013
Cons: job security
Management kept in close contact with consultant. Monthly meetings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Position but a Decent Place to Work
Final Assembly Test (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 2, 2013
Pros: 3-day work week
I worked 3 12-hour shifts which was fine as I was off 4 days a week. I learned about hard drives. Management and my co-workers were good to work with. I did not feel that there was anything hard about the job. I would have liked to have been made a permanent employee and received benefits and full pay but that was never going to be a possibility for – more... me or any other temporary worker. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Innovative company providing customer the best in class reliability and quality
Program Technical Development Manager (Current Employee), Shakopee, MNAugust 25, 2013
Pros: lead technology by investing in research and development
Great Innovative company providing customer the best in class reliability and quality. They constantly lead technology implementation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Work Experience (Former Employee), Derry, NIRAugust 14, 2013
Work experience in Seagate developed my sense of professionalism. In such a big company, I soon realised what different management roles consisted of, and how all the roles culminate in the running of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Product Research Analysis (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNAugust 9, 2013
Pros: company is great to work for
Cons: kept some lazy works around
-Great work environment
-Hard workers
-Great Benefits
-Great Opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best enviroment a blend of nationalities excellent employer and the best boss
Sr. Chemical Lab Specialist (Former Employee), Scotts Valley, CAAugust 8, 2013
Pros: excellent enviroment, motor division was like a clise f
Cons: our entire group lost our jobs
I enjoyed my 15 yrs with the Motor Division . I was fortunate to work for the best boss & R&D group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thankful for the experience
System's Engineer (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 8, 2013
Pros: not micromanaged, trusting management, supportive management
Cons: if you do something wrong, they don't tell you until it's too late.
Working at Seagate was very relaxed and had a number of great individuals which were amazing to learn from. The teamwork was out of this world, but interdepartmental bickering could be a little more than usual.

I enjoyed the complexity of the work environment and technologies we worked with. I would have to say that if I were asked to go back, I would – more... probably say yes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Sputter Vacuum technician (Former Employee), Fremont, CAJuly 5, 2013
Pros: bonous
Busy working inside the clean room
I learned sputtering process
nice management
very nice people, co-workers
nothing hard
enjoy all part of work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Operator Inspector. (Former Employee), Milpitas, CAJune 26, 2013
Pros: great co workers
Cons: 12 hour shifts
Very fast passe job. keeps you moving and going and makes the day
way faster.
learned about also being a team player and being responsible in your
department
management was great they would work you . if you needed help they would rush right away to help.
working 12 hour shifts were tough.
i enjoyed working with new people . got to know alot of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
machine shop
Electrical/Mechanical Assembler (Former Employee), Scotts Valley, CAJune 25, 2013
Pros: stock benfits
Cons: laid offs
the job was hired to work on the assembly line whith three months i was lead over the machine shop and runing a 60 man crew as long the product line was made in the states.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
SSC Order Manager (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJune 17, 2013
Pros: its like a well picked family!
Cons: there arent site/offices in the states i want to live
I really love the Company and the people that I work with. I would love this company and job even more if it allowed for the option for me to move to another state and continue to work remote.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job that can become monotonous.
Operator (Former Employee), Derry N irelandJune 6, 2013
Pros: health benefits, profit share, further education
Cons: long hours; night shifts;
I worked 12 hour rotating shifts. At times this was difficult as I had a young child and balancing family time with work commitments was challenging. In general, I did enjoy working in Seagate as it provided my family with financial security and through certain courses provided by the company,gave me the incentive to return to further education. There – more... was a good atmosphere between my co-workers, helping each other when the work load was particularly heavy in a certain area. I found most managers were rigid in how they overseen the work in their section. I feel that they lacked in emotional intelligence which affected the quantity and quality of the product as they did not have the ability to motivate the workforce, resulting in difficulties in spearheading change. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT to SVP of Ops/COO, & VP of $$ (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMay 6, 2013
Pros: the people were a blast to be around.
I liked coming to work everyday. There was always something to make my job fun to do. What I liked most is generating the presentations for the All Hands Meetings. I always do my best under pressure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a challenging place to work
3rd Shift Manager (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNMarch 14, 2013
Pros: steady and fast pacedf
Cons: had to do traveling over seas
was very fast paced and every day was a different challenge. Did a lot of traveling and shifting from one place to supervise to another so that we could manage all departments
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with a lot of different ethnic groups, fun to learn about their culture
3rd Shift Manager (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNMarch 14, 2013
Pros: working with a lot of different groups of people.
Cons: hours were never predictable
Was a challenging and fast passed working atmosphere and always kept you on your feet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do as I say, not as I do
Sales (Former Employee), MiscFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: working for sleazy management and backstabbers
No work / life balance.

No appreciation for going above and beyond.

Management very slimy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work environment.
Mechanical Design Engineer (Former Employee), Longmont, COFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: low stress, friendly co-workers
Cons: limited growth for mechanical engineers
Casual work place, very "go with the flow"
Lots of learning potential
Good pay
Co-workers are down to earth people

Large work load for new engineers/ Low to moderate work load for established engineers

Risky job security but a strong rehire rate
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive supervisor and challenging workplace
Internship (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJanuary 31, 2013
As a intern everybody tried to support me and help me to learn.
My supervisor was supportive and help me understand new things.
The company was generous in payment and benefits.

About Seagate Technology

Imagine a work environment where your talent, abilities, skills and ideas are supported, taking you to incredible heights. The – Read more