Find companies:
Seagate Technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
72 reviews

Seagate Technology Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best enviroment a blend of nationalities excellent employer and the best boss
Sr. Chemical Lab Specialist (Former Employee), Scotts Valley, CAAugust 8, 2013
Pros: excellent enviroment, motor division was like a clise f
Cons: our entire group lost our jobs
I enjoyed my 15 yrs with the Motor Division . I was fortunate to work for the best boss & R&D group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thankful for the experience
System's Engineer (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 8, 2013
Pros: not micromanaged, trusting management, supportive management
Cons: if you do something wrong, they don't tell you until it's too late.
Working at Seagate was very relaxed and had a number of great individuals which were amazing to learn from. The teamwork was out of this world, but interdepartmental bickering could be a little more than usual.

I enjoyed the complexity of the work environment and technologies we worked with. I would have to say that if I were asked to go back, I would – more... probably say yes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Sputter Vacuum technician (Former Employee), Fremont, CAJuly 5, 2013
Pros: bonous
Busy working inside the clean room
I learned sputtering process
nice management
very nice people, co-workers
nothing hard
enjoy all part of work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Operator Inspector. (Former Employee), Milpitas, CAJune 26, 2013
Pros: great co workers
Cons: 12 hour shifts
Very fast passe job. keeps you moving and going and makes the day
way faster.
learned about also being a team player and being responsible in your
department
management was great they would work you . if you needed help they would rush right away to help.
working 12 hour shifts were tough.
i enjoyed working with new people . got to know alot of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
machine shop
Electrical/Mechanical Assembler (Former Employee), Scotts Valley, CAJune 25, 2013
Pros: stock benfits
Cons: laid offs
the job was hired to work on the assembly line whith three months i was lead over the machine shop and runing a 60 man crew as long the product line was made in the states.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
SSC Order Manager (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJune 17, 2013
Pros: its like a well picked family!
Cons: there arent site/offices in the states i want to live
I really love the Company and the people that I work with. I would love this company and job even more if it allowed for the option for me to move to another state and continue to work remote.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job that can become monotonous.
Operator (Former Employee), Derry N irelandJune 6, 2013
Pros: health benefits, profit share, further education
Cons: long hours; night shifts;
I worked 12 hour rotating shifts. At times this was difficult as I had a young child and balancing family time with work commitments was challenging. In general, I did enjoy working in Seagate as it provided my family with financial security and through certain courses provided by the company,gave me the incentive to return to further education. There – more... was a good atmosphere between my co-workers, helping each other when the work load was particularly heavy in a certain area. I found most managers were rigid in how they overseen the work in their section. I feel that they lacked in emotional intelligence which affected the quantity and quality of the product as they did not have the ability to motivate the workforce, resulting in difficulties in spearheading change. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT to SVP of Ops/COO, & VP of $$ (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMay 6, 2013
Pros: the people were a blast to be around.
I liked coming to work everyday. There was always something to make my job fun to do. What I liked most is generating the presentations for the All Hands Meetings. I always do my best under pressure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a challenging place to work
3rd Shift Manager (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNMarch 14, 2013
Pros: steady and fast pacedf
Cons: had to do traveling over seas
was very fast paced and every day was a different challenge. Did a lot of traveling and shifting from one place to supervise to another so that we could manage all departments
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with a lot of different ethnic groups, fun to learn about their culture
3rd Shift Manager (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNMarch 14, 2013
Pros: working with a lot of different groups of people.
Cons: hours were never predictable
Was a challenging and fast passed working atmosphere and always kept you on your feet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do as I say, not as I do
Sales (Former Employee), MiscFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: working for sleazy management and backstabbers
No work / life balance.

No appreciation for going above and beyond.

Management very slimy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work environment.
Mechanical Design Engineer (Former Employee), Longmont, COFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: low stress, friendly co-workers
Cons: limited growth for mechanical engineers
Casual work place, very "go with the flow"
Lots of learning potential
Good pay
Co-workers are down to earth people

Large work load for new engineers/ Low to moderate work load for established engineers

Risky job security but a strong rehire rate
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive supervisor and challenging workplace
Internship (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJanuary 31, 2013
As a intern everybody tried to support me and help me to learn.
My supervisor was supportive and help me understand new things.
The company was generous in payment and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for. Good people. Appropriate decipline
Office Manager (Former Employee), Scotts Valley, CAJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: very clean environment, close to home, casual atmosphere, friendly people.
Cons: at times, i was alone for days while the directors were traveling abroad.
I provided full administrative support to directors. I learned a lot in working with various personalities and demands.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work.
System Engineer L2 (Current Employee), Penang, MalaysiaJanuary 22, 2013
- Normal shift and require oncall support as well.
- Entire Manufacturing and Operating Environment.
- Friendly and corporation team members.
- Given opportunity to experiences new technology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job and great people to work with
Technical Support (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OkJanuary 12, 2013
Supporting medium to large customers on a daily basis.
Learned to work in a fast paced environment.
Worked on large projects.
Good co-workers.
Benefit of staying up with cutting edge technology.
Challenges of keeping up with new technology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and freindly place with ping pong table
Pilot-line Technician II (Former Employee), Fremont, CAJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: friendly work place
Cons: inter department politics.
I worked in a clean room environment validating equipments and performing validation task on experimental parts. I got learn to use Electron Scanning microscope and work with it. I got to do trouble shooting for product defect department. I got to work for two different department simultaneously, the departments were Pilot-line and Material and testing. – more... The enjoyable part of the job was I got to learn new things and skills set. The work place was friendly and supportive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I usually work at AOI (Automated Optical Inspecton)phase_1 bagging.Z shift.
Production Operator (Current Employee), Johor Bahru, senai taman technology.December 24, 2012
Pros: sometimes we can get.free lunch and dinner provided by the company.
Cons: plenty of break time, clinic facilities.
In this department AOI every operator are happy and are satisfied too.The work is easy but all the local operators don't work.equally so foreign worker must do hard work to fulfill the target and output.we've got plenty of break time(3 times per day)and the most enjoyable thing is that we caj get rest for four after completion of every day and night – more... shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging job!!
Process Engineer (Former Employee), Samutprakarn, ThailandNovember 6, 2012
Pros: gained new skills
Cons: long hours without ot
working in Seagate Thailand gave me good experience to connect with people and how to deal with critical situation. Although there were so many time consuming tasks during the day and the data base was not well managed. Overall Good!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seagate is a challenging and incredible place to work.
Staff Sys Analyst / Sr. Oracle DBA / Sr. Proj Mgr (Former Employee), Longmont, COOctober 31, 2012
Pros: flexible schedules, ability to take initiative, chances for advancement, support of management
I worked at Seagate for 15 years and hope to find another place that encompasses all of the great experiences I had there. They challenge, advance and encourage their employees. My management supported initiative, advancement of technical expertise and recognition/awards for superior performance. I think if I had to pick one thing that secured my loyalty – more... was the work/life balance enforced in our department that allowed me to excel at work but also attend most of my kids activities and work from home 1-2 days a week. – less

About Seagate Technology

Seagate Technology knows that if you want to survive in the storage market, you'd better have drive. The company is the leading – Read more