SDL Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internationaal Software bedrijf met veel multinationals als klanten.
Senior Consultant (Former Employee) –  Amsterdam21 September 2017
Prima bedrijf om je carrière mee te beginnen en internationale ervaring op te doen maar niet geschikt om door te groeien. Door de continue strategie- en management wijzigingen is er veel onrust en weinig aandacht voor de medewerkers met name op het gebied van loopbaanontwikkeling, training en coaching. Daarin tegen krijg je wel veel vrijheid en verantwoordelijkheid en de mogelijkheid om vanaf huis te werken. Ook zijn de collega's op de werkvloer prettig om mee samen te werken.
Pros
Internationaal bedrijf, veel van de wereld zien en over het algemeen leuke collega's
Cons
Het bedrijf veranderd continue van strategie en van management, weinig doorgroeimogelijkheden en weinig tot geen investering in medewerkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work-life balance
Freelance Copywriter (Current Employee) –  Colorado25 August 2017
I've been working as a remote freelancer for SDL for several months. Although deadlines on my current project are sometimes pretty tight, the workload has been manageable and easy to work around the responsibilities of life. Downward communication is sometimes a little out of sync with process changes, but management seems to do a good job of filling in gaps in understanding as needed and is responsive to clarifying questions.

Overall, I am very happy with the work I've been doing and feel I have learned a lot of new skills at SDL that I can take with me to future projects.
Pros
Remote, flexible, good work-life balance
Cons
None really
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profession and Fun place to work
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Mumbai, Maharashtra13 August 2017
Good work/life balance and good compensation
Very positive working environment

SDL plc is a multinational software and professional services company headquartered in Maidenhead, UK. SDL specializes in; digital marketing software and services, structured content management and language translation software and services (including interpretation services). SDL are listed on the London Stock Exchange. SDL is an abbreviation for "Software and Documentation Localization".
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work environment
Marketing (Current Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape10 August 2017
Wonderful work environment. Good incentives. Friendly supportive staff. The day to day duties differ. Get to meet new people every day. Most enjoyable are the fun staff meetings.
Pros
Very flexible working hours
Cons
Travel often
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
FUNCTIONAL TEST ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Superior, CO1 June 2017
Worked as an independent contractor
-Had Work Life balance
-Good Management
-Received my pay checks on time
-multilingual work culture
-Pay is moderate
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They treat you like family
National Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Hawthorne, NJ12 May 2017
i learned everything i know about sales from sdl. i leaned about life as well. i was there for 20 years and have made life long friends. They know what they are doing and anyone would be lucky to work for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TX10 May 2017
Great company with new investment and a solid plan for moving into the future. I look forward to working with my immediate team and collaborating with other business units.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sdl
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Maidenhead, UK25 April 2017
A fantastic company to work for, very friendly staff and a great environment. Leant on how to cope with large batches of invoices , working for this large Software Company has given me great new skills.

Definitely recommend this company in terms of career progression.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Independent Contractor (Current Employee) –  Superior, CO22 March 2017
great place for career growth, making friends. It's so fun! . One of my favorite parts about is our employer's emphasis on employee wellness and work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with children
k5 paraeducator (Current Employee) –  Lancaster pa27 February 2017
My career working with children was amazing and is still is it is challenging and over powering but it's a succeeding career. Making sure that the teachers paper work is done and supervise the children at all times. Bilingual is a plus to help families that needed to speak to teachers and staff.
Pros
Learning, help children and a good future
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic environmnet
Operation Executive (Former Employee) –  Singapore25 January 2017
Good experience working with 3rd party logistics. You learnt that not all people are the same. Long day at works with no work life balance. Very stress environment however I do like working the operation staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same as the other review
Architecture Painter (Former Employee) –  Jagodina7 October 2016
This is actually the same company as the other one ("DOO in Jagodina") , just a duplicate made from a technical error.
So, this the reason we are typing here again
Pros
Same as the other review
Cons
Same as the other review
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiance familiale
Chauffeur produit sanguin (Current Employee) –  Ivry-sur-Seine (94)25 September 2016
Une expérience riche oui j'ai acquis énormément de qualités
- savoir gérer mon temps de travail
- être réactif
- être sérieux et motivé
Pros
Repas gratuits primes
Cons
horaires contraints
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly team, fun work, poor managememt
Laser Operator, printer, admin (Current Employee) –  Burnley5 April 2016
a typical day at work was fun, busy and enjoyable, days went really quick and the people you work with are really nice.

i learned alot working at sdl group.

management is poor.
Pros
experiance
Cons
no appriciation, no prospects, under paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work; lots of benefits
Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chilwell4 April 2016
SDL is a great place to work because of in house benefits provided to the employees.
Company events/parties are also a very good incentive.
Pros
Free lunches, excellent company events
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Senior Designer (Current Employee) –  Burnley1 March 2016
Good place to work
Fast paced - working on multiple projects
Great experience
Opportunities to work on all areas
Friendly, hard working and experienced team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with a great environment!
Associate Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Superior, CO17 October 2015
Great work environment, good company culture, great benefits and opportunities to advance.

Training was pretty comprehensive, localization is definitely an industry that requires a lot of learning.

Fun management that is understanding of the learning process.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very lively and productive environment to work
Senior Testing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, KA27 July 2015
Loved the time I worked for SDL.
All my colleagues were best people from different fields to work with.
Managers were super supportive while I was working and also when I requested to the relieved due to family commitment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sdl
Annotator, Linguist (Current Employee) –  Cluj, Romania23 July 2015
Working with SDL is a great experience. The project management is excellent and the team members are adepts of communication. The jobs focusing on linguistics and annotation have training on the job, which is a motivating way to start to learn something new. As for the salary, I can say it is decent and acceptable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CA15 July 2015
Management is good and friendly co-workers. The hardest part of the job was to meet deadlines. The most enjoyable part of the job was compensation and job flexibility.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Brief breaks & didn't allow time-off
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SDL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 39 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6