Find companies:
SCOTIABANK
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
428 reviews

SCOTIABANK Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and enjoyable place to work
Bank Teller (Current Employee), Richmondhill, ONFebruary 6, 2014
I enjoy going to work when i am scheduled, i feel welcome, and i know i will have help if i need it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Personal Banking Advisor (Former Employee), OntarioFebruary 5, 2014
Management is extremely supportive and the job culture is fantastic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive environment
Senior Business Analyst (Current Employee), Toronto, OnJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: positive
Very productive and engaging environment, contractors are treated like full time employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for a stepping stone, just don't get stuck there for too long (>1yr)- pay is not worth it
Small Business Accounts Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 29, 2014
Not progressive, old school mgmt mentality, poor salaries, hight employee turnover
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very customer focused and diverse work place
Program Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: ability to travel and meet clients
- I work directly with corporate and commercial clients on projects to deplay payment solutions.
- I work with our vendors to help deliver the project and manage action items to ensure the overall project is deployed in time and under budget.
- I meet with stakeholders to review these payment solutions, online softwares and work with them to constantly – more... improve our products.
- I work with a support team and other product manager
- I enjoy the relationships that I've built and the ability to solve peoples problems – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Teller (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: they were always there for you .
Cons: sometimes it was hard to change shifts.
Typical day was to be there 30 min before open for a morning meeting , we then went to our work stations, helped customers had a wonderful communication with out co-worker.When 3:30 came we closed up our cash.
I learned to work fast and efficient. Communication and listening skills were very important.hardest part was when the bank was at it's high – more... peak and there were a lot of customer and sometime very inpatient. The enjoyable part was working in a wonderful workplace were you were excepted and had wonderful co-workers that at the end of the day you could consider a friend. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and advance in the company.
Master Terminal Operator (Former Employee), TorontoJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: good atmosphere.
Cons: night shift work.
Shift review.
Review changes for the night
Checked health status of systems.
Checked emails
Monitor applications
Shutdown online applications for daily night batch run
Monitor batch jobs
Constant communications with application support
Great atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioJanuary 8, 2014
Call Center environment, no physical work, excellent phone skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with good advancment and wonderful co-workers
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Bayview and HightechDecember 30, 2013
Working at Scotiabank has helped me develop myself as a person in regards to becoming more knowledgeable and more helpful to others. I am able to assist customers in becoming more financially stable and secure. Management is always helpful and ready to assist with any questions and helpful with advancement. My favorite part is interacting and helping – more... many people save money and become more financially healthy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great advancement opportunities. Low Pay old systems
Personal Banking Officer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 28, 2013
Pros: great advancement opportunities
Cons: low pay old systems
Great Advancement opportunities. Low pay old systems

Long hours because of old systems

Management gets on your back about everything. Volunteer work in addition to normal hours too much.

Job for life if you want it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Customer Representative (Current Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 19, 2013
Pros: free lunches, staff parties
Cons: not the most competitive wages
It has a fun atmosphere and lots of opportunity. Working in team atmosphere with both individual and collective goals and targets. rewards for reaching and exceeding techniques. Great opportunities for development of skills such as leadership, teamwork, and responsibility. Great for working on problem solving techniques and analyzing new information – more... and developing analyzing process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good values good environment
Associate Business Analyst (Former Employee), TorontoDecember 17, 2013
Scotiabank provided an enjoyable work environment with many opportunities to learn and grow. Environment would vary by department however. Overall great company for which to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to push your self to new limits
Home Financing Advisor (Current Employee), TorontoDecember 2, 2013
Pros: freedom to build your business the way your like and very good pay
Cons: you are on call 24/7, your pay is determined not by getting a deal but by the underwritter approving the loan
This is a role where you will learn truly what your strengts and weakness are. You will have to be able to problem solve issues as they arise and at the last minute.

Your day will start with prospecting and setting up meetings with Centres of Influence to grow your business and build new relationships.

Competency and sound financial advise is the – more... key to the success of this role. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Accounting Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 28, 2013
Friendly co-workers and great management. Learned lots of computer and accounting skills. Worked about 8am-4pm. Loved it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
CARDS Officer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 23, 2013
Good Place to work at. Opportunities to grow, friendly co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff and customers.
Teller (Current Employee), Leduc AlbertaNovember 17, 2013
Pros: friendly staff and customers
Cons: casual
A typical day would be all activities that apply to a bank teller, deposits, withdrawals, drafts, money orders, and all aspects of banking. Everyone is enjoyable and fun to work with and I really can't think of anything that is overly hard. There are times I have run into banking situations that I have not done before but they always get explained and – more... completed. The most enjoyable part of the job are my customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Banking
Personal Banking Officer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 13, 2013
Great opportunity to learn the banking systems in Canada. Lots of room for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding job, but excellent company to work for!
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 7, 2013
Pros: regular treat days, great benefits, great bonus.
Cons: very demanding work, can get stressful.
I love Scotiabank. The culture is very friendly, shifts are quite flexible, however the job is very demanding, very little down time with the exception of breaks. Be prepared to really work! Lots of opportunity to grow for those in the banking field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A life learing experience
Currently retired (Former Employee), Gander, NLNovember 7, 2013
Pros: i met people from different countries. i was working during 9-11, heartbreaking but in goose bay, nl, we were a welcoming place .
Cons: long hours, but they were my choice. i wanted to do an outstanding job.
My days started early, ended late. From opening all of the cash safe for the various staff, reports, daily staffing, customer contact. Staff issues, customer complaints, turning lemons into lemonade is a great saying. I worked well with others including management. My co workers knew from day one, I was someone they could turn to, be objective, find – more... a balance, and be trusted to keep a confidence, and have a silly song going on at the end of the day when the doors were closed. The hardest part of any job is trying to leave it at work. I retired too early, I miss the work environment. Definitely the most enjoyable part of my job was knowing I did my best each day, and tomorrow I got to do it all over again, with a few twists, with some great co workers. I would be remiss, if I did not say that meeting people, customers and staff, from all walks of life was the most interesting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scotiabank is a great place to work
Personal Banking Officer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 5, 2013
Pros: good work environment
Cons: i can't think of any
I learned about financial analysis and data modeling. I learned about administrative support system used by Scotiabank and learned how to manage multiple projects.

About SCOTIABANK

Scotiabank is a leading financial services provider in over 55 countries and Canada's most international bank. Since welcoming – Read more