Find companies:
SCOTIABANK
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
299 reviews

SCOTIABANK Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long standing company
Mortgage Business Development Manager (Current Employee), Victoria, BCApril 24, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: flexibility
good benefits, well known brand, many branches for relocation, annual charity commitment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Summary
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Waterloo/Kitchener, ONApril 22, 2013
- Provide prompt, accurate and professional service to all retail customers.
- Responsible for meeting customers' day to day transactional needs, general inquiries and directing sales opportunities to the appropriate sales officer

- Management and coworkers generally friendly and supportive

- Hardest part of job is dealing with customers in difficult – more... financial situations, or irate customers

- Enjoyable when able to satisfy customers through service, saving them money, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun department
Senior Reconciliation Officer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 21, 2013
Pros: free food
fun department to work for, overall the company is really fun to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scotiabank is a wonderful place to work.
Banking Officer (Former Employee), Toronto Customer Contact CentreApril 15, 2013
Its all in me resume. Always finding ways to provide excellent customer service and make the customer happy. Going above and beyond in all areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weighted Responsibility
Quality Assurance Testing (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 10, 2013
Pros: working environment
Cons: computer screens
Worked with a team to create and develop Visa card chips, while also testing the product and working out any bugs. Was tasked with the huge responsibility of being a part of the team responsible for the release of the new Visa card chips. Taught how to; code, develop and manage advanced computer systems as well as improved my overall knowledge and technical – more... skills in these particular fields. Had the proper qualifications to be admitted onto this team, due to my vast knowledge of the inner workings of this particular software. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staff made every work day enjoyable
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 9, 2013
Pros: great hours
Amazing management and staff, made each day enjoyable and fun. I enjoyed interacting with customers and providing exceptional service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work - Scotiabank really is a People's Bank!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 9, 2013
Pros: working in a team setting
Working with a team setting, department helped me as I did others.
My area had one team and one goal..helping eachother and we were a success.

Management changed often, however you got the help needed to learn and grow.
Co-workers were great. They were your co-workers and your friends/family.

Hardest part probably was the volume of work at busy times.
Enjoyable – more... part was helping staff – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing management and amazing jobs
Marketing Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 5, 2013
Pros: kind employees, responsibility, interesting work
You are given immediate responsibility and work to do. Employees are amazing and work is extremely enjoyeable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good compensation, tedious work
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee), Halifax, NSMarch 31, 2013
I really enjoyed the team environment and the dedication to good training that Scotiabank fosters. I found my work at the Contact Center a bit tedious personally, but after putting in some time they do offer opportunities for advancement and travel in a large organization. It is a very structured environment, but the management is dedicated and overall – more... they compensate their employees well and strive for quality. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leaves a lot to be desired
Senior Admin Clerk (Current Employee), OntarioMarch 20, 2013
Pros: safe atmosphere (administrative building, no robberies!) and the team i work with is wonderful.
Cons: see below
It takes a minimum of 3 years to become a permanent employee (when starting from the bottom). Salary and benefits (recently changed and costing much more than previously) are at the very low end of the industry despite record profits. A lot of favouritism for advancement (if a manager doesnt want you in their department, you will never get in there – more... even if you are the most qualified) or even starting out (eg current employees relatives somehow get in ahead of outside applicants). Posting of internal job opportunities, then applicants being told that the position isnt being filled due to low volumes. Management do not show any flexibility regarding family obligations such as ill children, snow days or restrictions on hours due to child care availablilty. Letting contract employees go with no notice is not unheard of.

Coaching and development is being pushed a lot lately (may be good or bad depending on your outlook). Very helpful Ombuds office. Many different committees, volunteer and charity activities available to take part in throughout the year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun/educational
Personal Banking Officer (Former Employee), Windsor, ONMarch 19, 2013
Great company. The pay was not as high as the demands set forth for you, if you are at a branch that doesn't produce numbers, you'll have your manager constantly breathing down your neck. "Sell them Visas".
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing with peers having breakfast together in the morning, once a week
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONMarch 13, 2013
Pros: great peers working with and become friends
Cons: working long hours
My most enjoyable part of the job was doing preparations in the morning with one of my peers. Because we both have productively conversations regards to anything including our life and work at the same time. We get to know each other better and we got having time to plan how to run our work load for the rest of the day smoothly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly Good people to work with
Analyst (Current Employee), 720 King Street WestMarch 13, 2013
- Always something new to learn
- Excel VBA, Advance Function of Excel, Project Management
- Co-workers are great
- Most Enjoyable Part of the Job - Learning new Skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience
Head Teller (Former Employee), Picton, ONMarch 13, 2013
Developed great customer service skills. Enjoyed being able to help people, specially the elderly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hectic workplace,
Call Centre Agent (Former Employee), CalgaryMarch 10, 2013
Pros: good coworkers, good way to learn about banking
Cons: very low salary despite the bank think they are very generous, lousy benefits
very hectic work environment, a lot of daily changes to keep up to date with. Poor documentation and resources.
Old technology.
Want agents to be super agents but with poor support and resources
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The bank just slashed employee benefits and workforce is in state of turmoil
Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 2, 2013
Pros: good co-workers.
Cons: do not provide you the tools for success.
I used to like to work for the bank. I beleived that the culture put people first. Now the bank has made a masked pay cut in the form of reduced benefits. People voted 95% against the new package and management has been dismisive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for interdisciplinary collaboration in an individual and team environment.
Customer Service Representative-Sales and Services (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: chances to meet with different peoples in various backgrounds, learning financial knowledge.
Cons: difficult and demanding customers
• Contributing to the overall success of the branch by meeting negotiated goals through responding to customer requests
• Meeting walk-in customers' transactional needs, resolving their service and maintenance related inquiries and directing sales opportunities to the appropriate sales officer
• Generating quality referrals for the sales team, and contributing – more... to the provision of human, straightforward and knowledgeable service through daily interactions to foster a relationship of mutual trust and confidence with customers

From this job I learned basic knowledge of banking products and how finance apply in real world, and how to communicate with customers effectively. The hardest part of the job would be handling demanding and difficult customers. The most enjoyable part of the job would be when I get compliments from customers for excellent customer service provided. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
DIRECTOR (Former Employee), Montréal, QCFebruary 18, 2013
High paced motivating environment where I enjoy the staff, the leadership team and the culture. I have perfected my competencies in managing teams at opposing sides of the country and have enjoyed tremendous success in building high performing teams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feels like extended family
Call Centre Credit Card Specialist (Former Employee), Scarborough, OnFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: resources are almost limitless
Cons: too few to think of
A very supportive environment, as well as a great place to start your career in finance as well as a good example of a comfortable working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a bank teller preforming day to day banking for clients
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), East York, ONFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: the branch was located inside a mall with many food choices for lunch, i was able to complete errands after work.
Cons: when the 4 month contract was up, the branch didn't have any opening to be filled.
-I worked at Scotiabank as an intern to gain customer service experience while face to face, and utilizing various denominations of money.
-I learned how to deal with clients in a professional manor
-My co-workers were great to work with on a daily basis and I enjoyed the branch setting.
-One of the more challenging aspects of the job was to be sure – more... that I balanced at the end of every shift.
-The most enjoyable part of my job was to be dealing with a different client each time of the day. – less

About SCOTIABANK

Scotiabank is a leading financial services provider in over 55 countries and Canada's most international bank. Since welcoming – Read more