Find companies:
SCOTIABANK
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
378 reviews

SCOTIABANK Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place of Employment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), St. Marys, ONApril 15, 2014
Pros: talk to customers every day
I had an excellent experience at Scotiabank, I loved every minute of it, even when it got stressful. My co-workers were amazing and were always willing to help when you needed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
multi-cultural company
SENIOR ANALYST - FINANCE (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 6, 2014
lots of opportunities; very stable; multi-cultural working environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
From Call Center to Account Manager Small Business
Account Manager Small Business (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 4, 2014
Pros: training, promotions, team that feels like family, managers who support you
Cons: pay is weak, weak resolution program for internal conflict with supervisors
I started with Scotiabank in their Calgary Call Center in 1999 and earned a promotion to Account Manager Small Business in the branch system.

Why did I leave? While the pay is the lower end of the big 5 Canadian banks, it was a poor fit with my supervisor that caused me resign from BNS. I took my issues through the resolution channels and they had – more... nothing they could do and so rather than resent my career, I resigned, that aside, BNS is a phenomenal employer.

If you are looking for an organization that rewards performance with promotions and will provide you all the training you can take - Scotiabank is your spot. I loved my 5 years with Scotiabank and would go back in a second. Once a Scotiabank, always a Scotiabanker. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt alot as totally new position to my previous jobs .
Customer Representative/Teller (Former Employee), Regina, SKMarch 25, 2014
Pros: dealing with different people, challenging, informative .
Cons: weekend hours, salary
Was in training so had to do module of exams most day . Responsible for cash handling for bank and customers . On tellers position you deal with helping customers and deal with there problems as most of time you are their first point of contact . Have to be particular and accurate with bank procedures, information given to customers and with dealing – more... with cash . I learned that customers can challenge you but due to my experience over the years have learned to manage these situations . I love meeting people and trying to give them 100% at all times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
vigorous and fast paced
Senior account officer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 25, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: long hours
challanging and fast paced

margins and exposures

good management

helpful co-workers

deadlines

the people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK Workplace
Customer Support Rep & Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Regina, SKMarch 24, 2014
Pros: good fun staff to work with
Cons: underpaid for the flack you have to take from customer.
You are underpaid for the type of customer flack you have to deal with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great workplace
Mortgage Underwriter (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 10, 2014
Pros: free parking, cafeteria on site
I enjoy going to work, not every day is the same. It keeps me challenged. I learned to work with different personalities and to become a better communicator. My co-workers are great to work with and everyone gets along.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scotiabank Front Line
Customer Service & Support Representative (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 8, 2014
I have enjoyed the connections I have made while being employed at Scotiabank. I believe you can make great references and collect a lot of diverse experience at any level you are employed at. There are multiple ways to advance in the company depending on what your strong suits are.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operational risk analyst
Operational Risk Analyst - Intern (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 27, 2014
As an intern my duties included simplifying risk monitoring and identification process of key risk indicators and building a database to track and manage process-based risk control self assessments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Manager, Finance (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: log hours
Excellent place to work. Great work/life balance, good benefits. Great opportunities for advancement. Competitive salaries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Customer Service Officer (Current Employee), CalgaryFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: very good management & training team
Cons: hours are not flexible always
Learned a lot about financial sector. Scotiabank has good growth opportunity. Just prove yourself to your manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Branch Redirect Officer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: work life balance
Cons: terrible management
Scotiabank is a great place to work if you are a recent graduate, stay at home mom or someone who just doesn't want to retire just yet. With that said, I am niether which is why I'm choosing to move on with the company and its vision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Longterm staff, with great benefits for regular employees.
Project Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 18, 2014
Longterm staff, with great benefits for regular employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved being a Scotiabanker as a support rep
Customer Support Representative (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: good benefits, reasonable pay, company social parties, room to advance
Cons: some managers micro manage
I loved working at Scotiabank. I was always busy, sometimes too busy. The hardest part of my job was the amount of the work load, it was a lot for just one person. My co-workers were great, helpful, friendly, and kind.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and enjoyable place to work
Bank Teller (Current Employee), Richmondhill, ONFebruary 6, 2014
I enjoy going to work when i am scheduled, i feel welcome, and i know i will have help if i need it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Personal Banking Advisor (Former Employee), OntarioFebruary 5, 2014
Management is extremely supportive and the job culture is fantastic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive environment
Senior Business Analyst (Current Employee), Toronto, OnJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: positive
Very productive and engaging environment, contractors are treated like full time employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for a stepping stone, just don't get stuck there for too long (>1yr)- pay is not worth it
Small Business Accounts Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 29, 2014
Not progressive, old school mgmt mentality, poor salaries, hight employee turnover
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very customer focused and diverse work place
Program Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: ability to travel and meet clients
- I work directly with corporate and commercial clients on projects to deplay payment solutions.
- I work with our vendors to help deliver the project and manage action items to ensure the overall project is deployed in time and under budget.
- I meet with stakeholders to review these payment solutions, online softwares and work with them to constantly – more... improve our products.
- I work with a support team and other product manager
- I enjoy the relationships that I've built and the ability to solve peoples problems – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Teller (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: they were always there for you .
Cons: sometimes it was hard to change shifts.
Typical day was to be there 30 min before open for a morning meeting , we then went to our work stations, helped customers had a wonderful communication with out co-worker.When 3:30 came we closed up our cash.
I learned to work fast and efficient. Communication and listening skills were very important.hardest part was when the bank was at it's high – more... peak and there were a lot of customer and sometime very inpatient. The enjoyable part was working in a wonderful workplace were you were excepted and had wonderful co-workers that at the end of the day you could consider a friend. – less

About SCOTIABANK

Scotiabank is a leading financial services provider in over 55 countries and Canada's most international bank. Since welcoming – Read more