Find companies:
SCOTIABANK
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
428 reviews

SCOTIABANK Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room to move
Customer Service Representative, sales & service (Former Employee), Okotoks, ABSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: profit shares
Cons: no work life balance
Great environment to work in. Very fast paced and demanding. Great environment to work as a team and lots of room to move up the ladder if you work for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large employer/organization. Got lost in the hierachy at the Branch level
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 22, 2014
Not people oriented/employee at the branch where I worked.
I felt that because the Management was under pressure from those at the top to attain the bottom line, the employees were treated as robots.
That, plus management showed favouritism..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Customer Representative (Former Employee), mississaugaSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: great lunch room, with all appliances that is needed. access to clean individuals washrooms
Cons: n/a
-team work
-communication is key
-great hours
-great management team
-security is friendly
-the people are great
-get to know people from the neighbourhood
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very responsible position
Teller (Former Employee), BowmanvilleSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: only part time
Working with cash
customer service oriented position
Great co workers in Bowmanville
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic work environment.
Customer Representative (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: constant learning
A typical day at work includes dealing with customers and answering their questions while efficiently working through customer concerns.

I learned many things including the importance of clear and concise communication and many different processes within the bank.

The hardest part of the job is dealing with customers who are upset about bank policies – more... and processes.

The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to work quickly and efficiently and meeting each customer and creating an environment where they feel comfortable discussing banking, which is an uncomfortable topic for many people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No
Financial Advisor (Current Employee), AlbertaSeptember 7, 2014
Not willing to say
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Senior Personal Banking Officer (Current Employee), Kemptville, ONSeptember 2, 2014
Provide financial planning and advice to a book of assigned clients with a main focus towards credit and investments
Stay in regular contact with all clients to ensure a high level of client satisfaction, retention and to obtain new business
Ensure all personal sales goals have been exceeded in order to support the overall business objective of the – more... branch team
Minimize the bank’s exposure to risk by adhering to policies with regards to privacy, money laundering and anti-terrorism legislation
Consistently adhering to the high expectation for excellent customer service and sales abilities while presenting a professional image – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Personal Banker (Current Employee), Surrey, BCAugust 25, 2014
They are making a lot of changes to become Canadas most recommended bank. Lot of learning opportunities and career advancement growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Employer
Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 19, 2014
Bland corporate culture, great opportunity for advancement, worked under and alongside some great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent organization
Operations Assistant / Customer Service Roles (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCAugust 13, 2014
Pros: team work environment
Cons: pay scale
I have seen many different roles of the bank from various departments. Of the positions I held, I enjoyed that I was constantly being challenged. I was well supported by my co-workers and management. Management is extremely supportive of those who wish to further their career and there are many aids, courses, coaching etc. to help you get there.

The – more... hardest part of my job was when I moved into the retail banking. The environment was fast-paced and stressful much of the time. Compensation for this responsibility deserves to be higher.

What I enjoyed most was the way that staff and management worked as a team. There was a really good work environment among staff including many events, fundraisers and team building exercises. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
young and entitled staff that do not have the experience to do their jobs
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 13, 2014
Pros: great benefits, room for expansion
Cons: alot of unhappy long term staff, not a positive environment to work in, unfair treatment of staff
- micro-managed by management without the skills required to manage people.
- too many rules to be able to help customer
- not enough compassion for customers situations
- focus was not customer service, but rated on customer service
- due to a lot of changes in achieving goals, customer service went to the background
- to political
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work in for new university graduates
Associate Technical Business Analyst (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 8, 2014
Scotiabank is a great place to work for for new university graduates. Students will get valuable opportunities to work on projects that have real impact in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional
Financial Sales Representative (Former Employee), Huntsville, ONAugust 8, 2014
was a great place to work they where just hard to advance. loved working with the staff they where like family and some still are
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and strong team to be apart of
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Abbotsford, BCAugust 6, 2014
Scotiabank has been a great place to work for the past 6 years. It has been a fast paced environment that has taught me to be a professional, independent, and efficient customer representative. I have created lasting friendships with many of our clients and co-workers which has taught me a lot over the years. Our management team has always been very – more... supportive and understanding if anyone of us has had questions or concerns about our job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company with Opportunity
Personal Banking Officer (Former Employee), Kirkland, QCAugust 3, 2014
Service clients in 4 financial pillars of banking, day-to-day banking, credit, investments and protection.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, yet not demanding
Technical Specialist (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 28, 2014
A great place to work. They care about your well-being and ensure your overall happiness. They ensure they're salary is competitive and provide benefits just like the other banks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Challenging work profile
Senior Accounting Clerk - Banking Sector (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 25, 2014
Pros: challenging
Cons: system issues
Job is exciting and stressful. Environment is friendly and colleagues are cooperative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace
Security Operator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 23, 2014
Pros: interesting
Cons: night shifts
Great place to work. Interesting tasks on a daily basis that allows you to utilize your specialized skills in multitasking and risk management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but I need a change
Customer Service Officer (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 22, 2014
I've really enjoyed working here. It's got a great 'hidden paycheck' in health benefits and day to day activities. And free banking isn't bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and bad
Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Burin, NLJuly 20, 2014
Pros: great co-workers and my job is one i enjoyed
A day at work would be doing business deposits, inputing mortgage docs, GIC's,and Loans. Ordering cash and serving the public. Management are not always easy to get along with but with a little TLC it makes for a better day. Co-workers with great to work along side of. The hardest part of the day would probably be making sure all cash's balances at – more... the end of the day, the most enjoyable part of the day would be helping the public and making sure their visit was a good experience – less

About SCOTIABANK

Scotiabank is a leading financial services provider in over 55 countries and Canada's most international bank. Since welcoming – Read more