Scotiabank

590 reviews

Scotiabank Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't think of a worse job
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 20, 2015
Pros: Life will no longer seem like it goes by too fast
Cons: Management, long hours, salary, expectations, not appreciated, everything you can think of that would make a job suck
Horrible leadership. Unrealistic expectations and targets. Long hours. Salary is so abysmal that the cleaners (who were contracted from another company) got paid more per hour than I did. After a record-breaking – more... year in profits, management responded by drastically cutting our benefits. Everybody is stressed out all the time, it's not uncommon at all see your fellow coworkers break down into tears or take stress leaves. If anybody is thinking of working for this company, avoid it all costs. Being homeless would probably still be a better lifestyle than being a Scotiabank employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful yet fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Montréal, QCAugust 18, 2015
Pros: Mostly nice people to work with.
Cons: Salary and risks of hold ups
Very productive as a senior I was always busy. At times too much red tape however in Banking that's usually expected. My favorite part of my job was the research I was asked to conduct when there were issues in customer accounts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scotiabank was a very good place to learn about the banking and finanancal industry and move within the company.
Accounts Payable Supervisor (Former Employee), 1 Adelaide St e Toronto OntarioAugust 18, 2015
supervised team of eight
reviewed and approved payment entries
ran daily payment run cheques, EFT and wires
submitted weekly metrics
submitted monthly reconciliations reports to sr. manager
supervising – more... team can be taxing with the different cultures, personalities and life styles.
enjoyable part was to see that the work was completed in a timely manner and that my staff was happy and content in their workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank Life
Prime Services Facilitator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 15, 2015
If you are looking for a relatively stable position with decent pay and good benefits, then head to the bank. Scotiabank is still trying to figure out a work/life balance but depending on the department – more... you are in, you may leave on time at 5pm. Be prepared for many levels (4+) of management and for people who may have less experience to advance before you. Scotiabank is all about networking so be positive, outgoing and you'll do great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good expereience
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), TorontoAugust 10, 2015
Manage information flow of trading activities and provide analysis of P&L and Risk Metrics and investigate and resolve all discrepancies/differences in a timely manner, as required.
Ensure risks within portfolios covered are correctly measured, aggregated, and analyzed in accordance with established and approved market risk policies
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place to expand and learn
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Markham, ONAugust 5, 2015
great benefits
good opportunities to grow
fast pace working environment
co-workers are pleasant and nice to work with. Always willing to help and expand the growth process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and fun work environment
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 4, 2015
Team oriented environment with the opportunity for self development. Adaptable workplace providing equal opportunity for all staff members by providing the resources and to meet goals and objectives
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, Pretty good place to work
Senior Analyst (Current Employee), Toronto OntarioAugust 3, 2015
Pros: Nice people
Cons: Lower salary
My experience here has been pretty good. A lot of politics and compensation is less than other banks. The job security used to be pretty good, but due to restructuring, this is not the case anymore.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 29, 2015
I worked 8 Hours a Day 5 Days a week. My co-workers were great to work with and I enjoyed meeting new people. I enjoyed getting to know the staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales driven environment
Personal Banking Officer (Former Employee), Windsor, ONJuly 28, 2015
i found that it was very, very difficult to keep sales totals in today's economy. I was fortunate to have had amazing coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job security and newly renewed push towards technology
Programmer Analyst Senior (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 26, 2015
Overall a good company to work for if not the most exciting positions. Great job security assuming you know what you are doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment and learning new things
Assisting customers (Current Employee), Etobicoke, ONJuly 21, 2015
Pros: Occasional Free lunch and occasional One hour lunch break
Cons: Asked to do favors by management who does not show appreciation
- Preparing the banks cash for the days use.
- I have learned a lot of financial accounts and which would be best for specific types of needs and learned processed a lot faster as I got to perform them – more... more.
- Management was not easy to work with, they are not always there to support staff and if something were to go wrong they are quick to shift blame.
- The team itself is a pleasure to work with
- Interacting with managers who do not support you when they should.
- Interacting with the public and learning new things and seeing the customer satisfaction after transaction has been complete. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comments
Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 20, 2015
Low Salary, to much is expected for the salary. Unrealistic expectation. Overall, great job security. Good job to meet new people, good advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing excellent customer service
Customer Service Representative (part-time) (Current Employee), Newmarket, ONJuly 19, 2015
In my time working as a customer service representative, I have learned to be attentive to what customers need and how to provide solutions to their inquiries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull environment
Financial Advisor (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 14, 2015
Pros: Job security
Cons: Extreme workload, stress
Stressful environment, low salary and extreme workload which leads to constant unpaid overtime. Unsupportive management, which does not care about its employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Inviting workplace
CUSTOMER REPRESENTATIVE/FINANCIAL ADVISOR TRAINEE (Former Employee), Alliston, ONJuly 14, 2015
Pros: Good lunches, good coworkers
My time at Scotiabank was a great learning experience learning about the financial industry and the various jobs that come with it. My main focus was customer experience ensuring every customer left satisfied – more... with the service I provided them, whether it was completing a transaction or just answering general inquiries on subjects I was able to educate on. Learned a lot about confidentiality, security, and professionalism. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank Environment
Director of Global (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 13, 2015
They provide good Bank Perks that employees can advantage of especially banking fees and so on...
They provide good Bank Perks that employees can advantage of especially banking fees and so on...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review
Senior Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Kelowna, B.C.July 9, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, working with the public, hours good, acknowledgement of successes.
Cons: very busy, sometimes not enough hours in the day
Started our day off by checking our agenda's and preparing for the day. Then usually followed by a morning staff meeting where we discussed our successes, any unfortunate situations which may of occurred, – more... product knowledge, etc. This helped with motivating our peers and kept us all on top with our product knowledge. Management had an open door concept to ensure their staff, they were always available for any concerns or questions that they may have. Easily interacted with co-workers both on a personal and professional basis.
The hardest part of my job was to have to have to decline a customer for a credit product when they did not qualify. The most enjoyable part of my job was the interaction with my clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stagnent
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oakville, ONJuly 7, 2015
Good place to work,
room for growth, but difficult to without backing from superior management,
customer service suffered most, but with little pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work and sales targets
Bank Teller (Current Employee), Grande Prairie, ABJuly 1, 2015
Setup own sales target for each day to achieve monthly goals. Earned lots of commission in busy months, at the end of the year , figured out that one sales person can earn more money than manager with – more... one's hardwork and consistency at work. Help co-workers to achieve their targets and earn good money. Customer service, and clerical jobs are my passion, I love working with MS-Office. I enjoyed help customer to get satisfaction of products and customers helped my with referrals. – less
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
Toronto, ON
Revenue
more than $10bn (CAD)
Employees
10,000+
Industry
Links
Scotiabank website
Scotiabank one of 2014 World’s Best Multinational Workplaces