Science North Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal fast pace fun place to work
Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON6 September 2017
-prepare for the days visitors

-learned what it takes to keep things running smoothly for visitors
to Science North from the time they enter the building to the
time they leave. It was important to make sure they have the great
experience

-is fast pace in summer and long time standing

-meeting visitors from all over the world
Pros
time went by quick when it was busy
Cons
Can be long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, but disorganized
Science Demonstrator (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON1 May 2017
Science North was a great place to work with great people.
Lots of highschool student coworkers
Learned tons about biology and sudbury
greatly increased communication skills
disorganized in sense of units dont always talk to eachother, and dont to communicate with hr
must be bilingual to advance positions
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good flexibility and room for advancement
Staff Scientist - Outreach program (Current Employee) –  Sudbury, ON30 April 2017
The company is large allowing for movement within Science North. They we're very accommodating and flexible when it came to taking time off.
They have a great pension plan and go out of their way make their workers feel valued ( work lunches and gatherings).
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON28 March 2017
The kitchen at Science North is always face paced and busy, always talking with customers over the line while taking orders and cleaning when possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting colabrative atmosphere to work in
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON23 February 2017
I worked at Science North on a 5 month contract filling in for their most senior graphic designer, who was on leave. It was an amazing place to work where every day was a new challenge. The marketing unit I worked in was a very cohesive group made up of various age groups.

While I was their I learnt a lot about some of the newer marketing trends with the use of social media.

The most difficult part of the job was managing expectations that other departments had in regards to time frames for getting various jobs printed.

I really enjoyed the opportunity to help launch new exhibits at the Science Centre and to contribute as a photographer as well as a designer.
Pros
Discounts at other Ontario museums and Science centres
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing, always learning something new.
Cashier / Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON12 April 2016
My typical day was getting to meet a variety of different people around the world and getting to interact with them. I was always learning new ways to interact with different cultures and how to handle things with different customers. My management was great, they where easy going and a lot of fun. Also, my co-workers where amazing as well, we always had a fun time and there was never a dull moment. The hardest part was that if there was more then one french customer in the store, I was the only one able to speak french so I was always the one handling them. Overall, the most amazing part of my job was getting to meet so many new people from around the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and outgoing Workplace
Salesperson at Elements (Current Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON16 May 2013
On a typical day i am a cashier that cleans the tables, floors, counters, and i put out the trash in the dinning room. I have learnt how to work a cash register. My co-workers are very helpful when needed. There is no hard parts in this job, although i make it look easy. The most enjoyable part of the job is that i get to see familiar faces everyday i work, plus i get to see smiles on everyones faces.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work, would love to work there again.
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON20 September 2012
All round good work environment. Employees are help full and kind .
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Science North. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0

Science North Reviews by Location