Find companies:
Schurman Retail Group - PAPYRUS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Schurman Retail Group - PAPYRUS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice products, managment needs help
Store Manager (Current Employee), CaliforniaApril 12, 2014
Pros: great employee discount
Cons: no concern for employees
This was a wonderul place to work. The customers are great and the products are amazing. They decided to cut budgets by cutting full time positions. Corporate only looks at the numbers on paper, they do not take into consideration the economics of the city the store is in nor do they have much concern for their own employees. While advancement is possible – more... it is unlikely and they have no issue taking it away at their convience. The corporate office really needs to think beyond a sheet of paper and come up with better ways to cut budgets like: stop opening new stores when the older ones aren't doing well, stop sending product that doesn't sell and forces the product that sells to the back, if you say you are going back to basics then actually go back to basics. Senior management doesn't listen to store management and doesn't visit the stores so they never see where the problems are and how they can be solved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good upbeat team
Custom print specialist/ Key Employee (Current Employee), Los Gatos, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: nice lication, very spacious
Cons: only one person on shift at all times, difficult to take breaks
I enjoyed working with all of my customers and clients. All the employees were very up beat and enthusiastic to work. Due to budget costs my employment was no longer needed, therefore I am now currently seeking full time employment else where
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quirky and Fun Place to Work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Plano, TXMarch 29, 2014
I loved my 2 years at Papyrus. It's a great place with great management and coworkers. There will always be a downside as it's retail but overall this is an awesome company to be a part of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYMarch 7, 2014
Pros: left alone, free weekends, discount
Cons: standing and part time mostly
good days card management 1 more employee so youll get along fast..hardest part standing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee), floridaJanuary 2, 2014
Papyrus is the worst company to work for. If you want to be overworked and underpaid this is the place for you to work. They have no problem with management and upper management mistreating employees even if you complain everything is swept under the rug, they find every reason not to give you a raise. they keep opening stores instead of compensating – more... the employees that make the money for the company. All this company does is take,take take and they don't give anything back to their workers.They will have part time employees for 3 hours the whole week its ridiculous! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful product
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Sacramento, CANovember 29, 2013
Pros: beautiful product, good benefits, great customer interaction
Cons: slow pace, job advancement
PAPYRUS is a really beautiful place to work with and interact with customers. They sell greeting cards, gift wrap, gifts, and also do custom printing. The atmosphere is very relaxing and it's typically slower pace than other shops. It was great to be able to interact and connect with customers on a personal level (specially with the custom printing – more... customers) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), McLean, VAOctober 28, 2013
It is a smaller staffed retail company but you also make great connections with the people you work with!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assistant Manager/Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 4, 2013
Pros: finding that perfect invitations
Cons: cold weather
help people pick out wedding invitations, I think was my favorite part of the job. The worst was running a gift wrapp booth in freezing weather
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful work environment full of creativity
Assistant Manager/Key holder (Former Employee), Stamford, CTSeptember 25, 2013
• Responsible for opening and closing store.
• Managed team of 8 of professionals.
Surpassed revenue goals in four consecutive quarters.Trained, coached and mentored staff to ensure
smooth adoption of new program.Served as mentor to junior team members.

• Computed sales prices, total purchases and processed payments.
• Greeted customers and ascertained – more... customers' needs.
• Recommended merchandise based on customer needs.
Used item numbers to properly stock backroom,Attached identifying tags to boxes Placed special orders and
called other stores to find desired items.

• Packed boxesRecorded numbers of units handled and moved, using daily production sheets or work tickets.
• Sorted cargo before loading and unloading. and re-pack damaged containers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace, understanding management, and great co-workers
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), South Windsor, CTSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: a great employee discount, flexible scheduling
Cons: financial compensation, poor severence package
My schedule was always very flexible, my boss was amazing at her job and always offered help when I struggled with a task. Training was quite easy, the workplace was always organized and neat. My co-workers were very friendly, and good at their jobs. The hardest part of the job was breaking down the store when they let us know they were closing the – more... branch. We were responsible for liquidating the stock, and sending out the merchandise to other stores. The most enjoyable part of the job was when my boss made me a key-holder, and entrusted me with opening the store solo. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Key Holder, Entry Level Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 14, 2013
It is a fast paced environment which I am able to work well in. Team effort is strongly encouraged and comes naturally amongst our team members. We all work very well together and complete tasks quickly and efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small store packed with beautiful, handmade products offering a wide variety of Custom Printing paper goods.
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Berkeley, CAMay 16, 2013
Pros: short business day compared to most other retailers, 25% discounts on merchandise
Cons: small staff, lack of consistent or updated training for development
I was able to develop strong analytical skills during my time at Papyrus while mastering their Custom Printing department. Working with so many outside vendors allowed me the opportunity to develop my professional skills and gain an understanding of what top quality customer service really means. Working in such a small store location, there was often – more... down time to spend perfecting in store and window displays where I learned valuable merchandising skills. Since my time with Papyrus I have worked with other retailers that implement quarterly training meetings with the staff and I believe that even a small company such Papyrus could benefit from such training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience with Papyrus
Key Holder/Sales associate (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIApril 2, 2013
Pros: beautiful cards/stationary
Cons: busy holiday season
Working for Papyrus was a pleasure and a challenge.

During the off-season, (non-holiday season), work was very enjoyable and casual. It was fun helping guests plan and prepare for special occasions. However, with the busy-season (November-January) work was very busy and stressful.

Overall, I enjoyed working for Papyrus; it is one of my favorite shops – more... and I recommend it to friends and family often. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I met some nice people.
Key Holder (Former Employee), Danbury, CTApril 1, 2013
Pros: job stabilty
Cons: not enough hours.
I enjoyed stock sales, assisting customers. I like setting up displays. I felt great after I did task well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security, Goal oriented sales
Retail Store Manager (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAMarch 29, 2013
Pros: amazing upper management
Cons: unorganized corporate directives
make daily cash deposits
design a daily sales rally for team members to abide by
stage a list of tasks to complete within a given time frame
control inventory entry
staging new/old inventory per corporate design
schedule team members to best fit the needs of the store
train and hire new talent
create wedding invitations for soon to be bride
present – more... promotions to clientele
resolve any customer issues – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A most pleasant job experience; if had not been sold back to corporate would go back in a minute.
p/t retail sales (Former Employee), Lafayette, CAFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: relaxed work environment-hours-flexibility-location
Open store for business
Straighten merchandise,check for special orders and appointments
guide customers through ordering engraved stationery, wedding
invitations, announcements, ets
Checking in merchandise, in-putting same
Arranging above in tasteful displays

Enjoyed my co-workers from high school students, college and those
younger than I

Hardest – more... part for me was learning new computer skills since I did not
grow up in that age

Most enjoyable--staff and wonderful repeat customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work that generates pride, uneven distribution of work hours
Keyholder (Current Employee), ParamusOctober 30, 2012
I like working at Papyrus, generally speaking. I love that I am quickly given instruction when I am in need of correction, as well as given praise when a job is done well. I like my employees as Papyrus makes it a point to hire people who are cheerful, friendly, and motivated, as well as find it enjoyable to work in a visually pleasing workspace with – more... customers who enjoy their shopping experience there.
My only issues is that as a recent graduate, I am not given what I see as a fair share of the hour distribution. I work part time, but some weeks I only work 4 hours collectively while other employees who are also keyholders work anywhere from 20 to 30 hours a week. I know it is not because I am a bad employee nor is there any form of favoritism from our manager, so the number of hours I receive compared to other employees concerns me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 24, 2012
While the main focus is customer service which involves a little underground security, answering questions, wrapping presents and helping people save money if I possibly can; other duties include replenishing, merchandising and cleaning the store when needed. The management is very patient and helpful when training new associates, as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't fun
Supervisor (Former Employee), Los Angeles,CAJuly 21, 2012
So many people quit when I was working there. The manager was unbearable to work with. I found out that he had gotten so many complaints from numerous associates. The only reason why he still had a job was because he was bringing in money. It wasn't until later I found out he got fired.

The only thing that made this job a bit easier was the asst manager. – more... She was great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting workplace to provide excellent customer service
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Wheaton, ILJuly 19, 2012
Daily tasks included meeting consumer needs, provide personal suggestions on products, and put forth excellent customer service to walk-in customers. I maintained both an incredibly friendly yet professional relationship with management, which made for an open line of communication at all times. There were few difficult parts of this position and the – more... most enjoyable was being able to have such a great relationship with co-workers, making the daily environment an exciting one. – less

Schurman Retail Group - PAPYRUS Photos