Schlumberger Employee Reviews

Found 181 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learn experience
Distribution Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 September 2015
It was a pleasure working for Schlumberger. I was able to learn more and gained experience within supply chain.
It was family oriented, great management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for when the industry is strong
Geoscience Consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta18 August 2015
Schlumberger is a great company to work for that offers a lot of career training and advancement opportunities in all parts of the world.
Pros
Great benifits for employees and their families.
Cons
Heavy workload that cuts into your free time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment, work ethic rewarded
Field Engineer, Wireline (Former Employee) –  Brooks, AB6 August 2015
Rigorous training program gave trainees a strong sense of comradeship and accomplishment. Good benefits and fair compensation.
Pros
-fixed step training program
Cons
-work life balance -inconsistent working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Safety First
Bulk Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB30 July 2015
I work in Schlumberger and its great to work there. I stop work due to economic down turn in oil industry and got shortness of labor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for fresh out
Senior Directional Driller & OSE Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 July 2015
Worked over 8 years with slb. enjoyed the training system as well as hard working time in the field. I gained both operations experience and valuable skills, that provides me solid foundation to competently work in both oil field and office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Worst
HSE Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB21 July 2015
Moved myself and family across the country only for my job to last 4 months. Not sure if they let me go because the manager was head strong or if that they realized that they have no leadership and social skills. Biggest relief when i got let go, hated the place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, long hours, great benefits, good bonus system.
Equipment operator/Cementer (Former Employee) –  Whitecourt, AB30 June 2015
Good company to work for:
- Great bonus system
-All right salary
- Good amount of days off 15 on 6 off
- Training is good but needs work
- Management needs work but works hard to get the answers for you
-hardest part is being on call and be woken up around midnight onwards.
Pros
great pay, great benefits, good amount of time off
Cons
long hours, on call for 15 days without much warning.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work for beginners
Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 June 2015
Nice place to work for beginners. Good training, good money. Travel a lot. Not really paying attention to performance when it comes to lay offs.
Pros
Training
Cons
No life/work balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for advancement but no life
Wireline General Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Nisku, AB19 June 2015
Room for advancement but terrible work/life balance. Work a lot of hours. Management is always changing sometimes making it very difficult to deal with so many different managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace with different multinationals
Maintenance Supervisor in Charge of Akpo (Former Employee) –  Harcourt, ON19 June 2015
A good workplace where emphasis on training and retraining of personnel. A workplace with different multinationals in achieving a desire goal. It's one the best in Oilfield services world wide, that provide quality services to clients.
Cons
Long hours while on the field
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commitment,Leadership and accountability
Qatar - Drilling Technician (Former Employee) –  industrial Area,Doha15 June 2015
It has been an absolute joy working for a well known company such as Schlumberger , where is the opportunity to build up your career whilst working and making good money.
Every day i learn new experience in my job techniques;how to do it right first time and every time,challenging the time in a safe working environment.
it am really proud of it.
Pros
Free lunches, Vouchers and awards
Cons
Call out jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  International Mobile7 June 2015
Overall Shclumberger was a great place to start, especially for new engineers just coming out of college. They're willing to teach you from scratch. With that being said, they will expect a lot of you. Long hours, days, weeks and even months away from home are the norm as this is the oil & gas industry norm.

I give them kudos for promoting from within in the company and rising through the ranks. The only reason I left was that I simply felt that the job and industry just wasn't what I wanted for a career.
Pros
High paying salary, travel, experience
Cons
Long hours, remote locations, away from family and home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to have a career
Service Delivery Manager (Former Employee) –  Worldwide locations2 June 2015
It a good company with nice benefits, and the opportunity to work overseas. Its challenging regardind job but it compensates with a wonderful work environment
Pros
Good salary, good benefits, good training
Cons
Not stable when crisis happens
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and dynamic
Snr. Geosteering Geologist (Current Employee) –  Middle East30 May 2015
Challenging and dynamic work place with many intelligent people to keep you wanting to do better. It is a great place to work as long as one is ready to be a doer. The hardest part of my job is the unpredicatbility of drilling which may come during holidays and week ends. This has made me off social circles with networking badly affected
Pros
Trainings
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company for those who would like to travel
Senior Technical & Telecommunications Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 May 2015
This company is worldwide and provides the ability for one to travel in the oil and gas business. Training is provided to those who want to better themselves, and safety is highly stressed and exercised anywhere this company operates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Completion Field Expert (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB13 May 2015
I had a good experience working for Schlumberger, they have a good training and development courses. As a former employee I can say that this company deserves to be number one among service companies.
Pros
Trainings
Cons
Salary and bonuses are lower than average
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effient and self driven work force
Segment Logistics Specialist / TMS Champion (Former Employee) –  Champion, AB3 May 2015
- Long hours but alot to learn and benefit from.
- The working environment not only tuaght me the technicals but also how to deal with a diverse work force and be able to communicate with all.
- Co-Workers were supportful and self driven.
- The hardest part of the job was month end and supplier reviews.
- Working with our operatins and the client as we learned alot interacting with them.
Pros
Rewards
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going, Productive and Energetic Person
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Morochas - Venezuela29 April 2015
I had the opportunity in this company to improve many skills, such as negotiated, purchased, Managed Event for employees, prioritized task, always be attentive to solve problem and how avoid waste time and money. Oversaw people.
Pros
Be leader, member team
Cons
always busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company
Senior Purchaser (Former Employee) –  calgary, ab24 April 2015
Worked for a smaller division and was felt forgotten a lot of time. They slow things down with all their corporate interference.
Cons
too much corporate interference
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment full of operational surprises
Heavy Oil Projects Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK18 April 2015
- Long working hours schedule but gaining huge experience in oil & gas pressure pumping operations

- working with different teams of supervisors, operators, bulkplant operators, maintenance & HSE.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,718 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9