Schlumberger Employee Reviews

Found 189 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it can be fun at times
Maintenance Mechanic / Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary27 September 2015
Pay is decent but you are overworked with very little appreciation
from the Management Team. I learned allot on my 2 years working there, allot of training. Got laid off when the Oil Bug hit
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Specialized Services Top in Industry
XPert Field Specialist (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB25 September 2015
Great place to pursue a career. Due to falling oil prices and low activity, layoffs are part of the focus right now. Decent amount of red tape and politics, but this is expected of a big company.
Pros
Training and development for career progression
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work atmosphere
Onsite IT Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Qatar24 September 2015
Professional company with repute for following ethics in all business transactions and local laws as prescribed by authorities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alot of on the job safety
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB22 September 2015
I liked the on the job safety I learned from the company.
Management wasn't always good for communication but I learned a lot from the training and would recommend it to people looking for more training on their class1.
Pros
Trainers were easy to get along with.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place. Doing their best during the slow down
Field Specialist Level 3/CoilTOOLS Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie21 September 2015
-wake up
-swear
-go to work
-continue to swear
-go to camp/hotel
-swear until bed
-dream of work
-wake up crying/swearing
-nap until alarm
-repeat until days off

Great people to work with though. Management in coil is great!
Pros
great benifts, long term benifits
Cons
work/life horrible. Stress. GJMC (you will see)
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional company
Field service Engineer (Current Employee) –  Toronto21 September 2015
Schlumberger is a very professionally run company with excellent perks. I have spent good times working here. It is a multinational firm with branched world wide.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but rewarding
Well tester (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen10 September 2015
Good development opportunities and help progression, never standing still.

The company expects complete dedication but you are rewarding for your efforts.
Pros
travel the world
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most of the time will be spent in the field.
General Field Engineer (Engineer-In-Charge) (Current Employee) –  Sub Saharan Africa8 September 2015
There is virtual no job security.Most of the time will be spent in the field. If you are lucky you get to see your family once a month.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learn experience
Distribution Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 September 2015
It was a pleasure working for Schlumberger. I was able to learn more and gained experience within supply chain.
It was family oriented, great management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for when the industry is strong
Geoscience Consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta18 August 2015
Schlumberger is a great company to work for that offers a lot of career training and advancement opportunities in all parts of the world.
Pros
Great benifits for employees and their families.
Cons
Heavy workload that cuts into your free time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment, work ethic rewarded
Field Engineer, Wireline (Former Employee) –  Brooks, AB6 August 2015
Rigorous training program gave trainees a strong sense of comradeship and accomplishment. Good benefits and fair compensation.
Pros
-fixed step training program
Cons
-work life balance -inconsistent working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Safety First
Bulk Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB30 July 2015
I work in Schlumberger and its great to work there. I stop work due to economic down turn in oil industry and got shortness of labor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for fresh out
Senior Directional Driller & OSE Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 July 2015
Worked over 8 years with slb. enjoyed the training system as well as hard working time in the field. I gained both operations experience and valuable skills, that provides me solid foundation to competently work in both oil field and office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Worst
HSE Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB21 July 2015
Moved myself and family across the country only for my job to last 4 months. Not sure if they let me go because the manager was head strong or if that they realized that they have no leadership and social skills. Biggest relief when i got let go, hated the place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, long hours, great benefits, good bonus system.
Equipment operator/Cementer (Former Employee) –  Whitecourt, AB30 June 2015
Good company to work for:
- Great bonus system
-All right salary
- Good amount of days off 15 on 6 off
- Training is good but needs work
- Management needs work but works hard to get the answers for you
-hardest part is being on call and be woken up around midnight onwards.
Pros
great pay, great benefits, good amount of time off
Cons
long hours, on call for 15 days without much warning.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work for beginners
Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 June 2015
Nice place to work for beginners. Good training, good money. Travel a lot. Not really paying attention to performance when it comes to lay offs.
Pros
Training
Cons
No life/work balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for advancement but no life
Wireline General Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Nisku, AB19 June 2015
Room for advancement but terrible work/life balance. Work a lot of hours. Management is always changing sometimes making it very difficult to deal with so many different managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace with different multinationals
Maintenance Supervisor in Charge of Akpo (Former Employee) –  Harcourt, ON19 June 2015
A good workplace where emphasis on training and retraining of personnel. A workplace with different multinationals in achieving a desire goal. It's one the best in Oilfield services world wide, that provide quality services to clients.
Cons
Long hours while on the field
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commitment,Leadership and accountability
Qatar - Drilling Technician (Former Employee) –  industrial Area,Doha15 June 2015
It has been an absolute joy working for a well known company such as Schlumberger , where is the opportunity to build up your career whilst working and making good money.
Every day i learn new experience in my job techniques;how to do it right first time and every time,challenging the time in a safe working environment.
it am really proud of it.
Pros
Free lunches, Vouchers and awards
Cons
Call out jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  International Mobile7 June 2015
Overall Shclumberger was a great place to start, especially for new engineers just coming out of college. They're willing to teach you from scratch. With that being said, they will expect a lot of you. Long hours, days, weeks and even months away from home are the norm as this is the oil & gas industry norm.

I give them kudos for promoting from within in the company and rising through the ranks. The only reason I left was that I simply felt that the job and industry just wasn't what I wanted for a career.
Pros
High paying salary, travel, experience
Cons
Long hours, remote locations, away from family and home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,889 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9
80%

CEO Approval

Based on 898 ratings
Add your rating