Schlumberger Employee Reviews

Found 231 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company to work with.
Various positions as per resume (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 September 2016
- Challenging work
- Individual responsibility
- Yearly work assessment and review
- Accountability
- Financial budgets & targets set well ahead of the year
- Very good Leadership & motivation
- Excellent Managerial skills
- Management information systems
- Team work and job excellence
- Job Training & skills
Pros
Quick promotions, work recognition and salary increases.
Cons
Travelling with family around the world, education for children being effected
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work environment and experience
Geophysical Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 September 2016
I was told " You think too much". And " That's how we've always done it". Upper management had wonderful and logical ideas and goals but middle management were always just covering their bottom lines, and not in the most efficient and fair manner. I really don't understand how anything gets done.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy company with opportunity for advancement
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 August 2016
i really do not wish to publicly review a company. i feel that my opinions are better kept on a personal level, and can be communicated on a one on one basis with those truly interested.
Cons
Life away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB23 August 2016
Schlumberger is a great place to work. They really strive to create a balanced work home life. There is plenty of room for advancement as I have seen over my career. The training is endless due to the significant importance focused on safety.
Pros
training
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to start your professional career
Field Service Manager in Charge (Former Employee) –  Venezuela20 August 2016
SLB is an awesome company to start your professional career, they offer you awesome training and development of your skills, you can follow a career path clear and straight forward. I adquired great skills working with them and was a blessing in my life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent environment, but a bit too high pressure.
Remote Connectivity Manager - staff (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 August 2016
High pressure with poor direction and vision. Management was overly strict.

Every employees is expected to be a salesperson which, if you aren't comfortable doing this, is hard and created unnecessary pressure.
Pros
Decent pay, good benefits and ok environment.
Cons
High pressure, stress and poor direction from management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB29 July 2016
I work evening shift, I learned a lot from my area. I became team leader. My co- workers are hardworking and easy to get along. The hardest part of the the when the machines breaks down. the most enjoying of the job when everybody are working hard together .
Pros
free dinner once a month
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed it there
Engineer-in-training (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB14 July 2016
lots of training, quality training, focuses creating a work life balance. Only place i have seen that encourages dating internally...weird, not a fan of the idea..but probably a strong business plan, if you have a married couple working there, the company only has to pay for one relocation.
if you don't fit in their idea of a perfect box, you will find yourself unemployed.
Pros
pay, schedule
Cons
if you get sick, or hurt, you become unemployed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slum
store keeper (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 July 2016
in this company you are just a number, you might work your hardest for 6 months and they will let you go because they can find cheaper labor around the world, no union to support any employees, and one of the top companies to cut down jobs in alberta so the CEO can still make his billion of dollar of bonus
Pros
n/a
Cons
no training, no job bonuses, not alot of travel allowance, no gurantee of a job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity and development career
Fluid Engineer (Former Employee) –  venezuela30 June 2016
A typical day of work is very hard but with amazing satisfaction
Im learned technology in fluids and estimulation, I-committed.
In the area of management the are superior.
Good co-workers and excellent ambient.
The hardest part of this job is to give at client the best service with total responsibility.
The enjoyable part of the job is to have stunning experience with different cultures.
Pros
Knwolege
Cons
little bit time free
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oil & Gas Services Company
Lead Mechanical Technician (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 June 2016
Schlumberger offers an excellent benefits package. As it is in the Oil and Gas industry job security is dependent upon the markets and layoffs are regular occurrences.

The size of the company provides room for growth and advancement.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Job Security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Wellhead operations and Cement Operator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB23 June 2016
I worked here in coil tubing and fracing. This a great company and recommend it to anyone in the oilfield. These guys are the leader of the oil industry and the sky is the limit
Pros
lots of room for advancement
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall SLB experience
Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Egypt21 June 2016
The job taught me a lot regarding working under balance, managing people from different background, dealing with customers with different backgrounds and mentalities and maintaining good and long term relationships with them.
Pros
Experience gaining
Cons
Long work hours, work-life not very balanced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Schlumberger
Field Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster20 June 2016
-Great training program and chances to work in various locations. -Management could use more training.
- Not suited for everyone due a lot of traveling and being in remote locations
-
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive meetings
Technical Sales Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 June 2016
My last assignment was very interesting.
We had every week meetings and reviews, to improve the marketing approach to improve the sales of the department. we constantly work to improve our technology, and introduce it to the client.
Pros
learn about marketing skill
Cons
Too many meetings in a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Product lead (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 June 2016
Schlumberger is the largest Oil and Gas Services company in the world. Job advancement and internal growth are encouraged.
They have a comprehensive benefits package and share purchase plan. Being in the Oil and Gas industry it is subjection industry volatility and job security is iffy at best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A best in class oilfield service company. Enlightened an employee to high end business practices and culture.
Planning manager and HSE Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 May 2016
Expectations and work objective for an employee are known and reviewed quarterly. This is beneficial, if there is clarity for task it is easier to achieve the best outcome. Monetary compensation, salary and benefits, were competitive within the industry.
Pros
Excellent exposure to high end business policies and practices
Cons
VP's for different organization functions can have conflicting objectives, creating stress to employees that could cross report within both corporate functions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and friendly management in Canada, bad work/life balance
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB30 May 2016
Worked two years in Alberta, Canada and also two years in Middle-East (UAE). Great management in Canada especially our direct managers but was quite bad in the middle east (Abu Dhabi, UAE). Due to nature of the job work life balance a bit at low side.
Pros
Good trainings and safety.
Cons
Some night works, average payrate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun at all
Systems / Network Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 May 2016
extremely unstable and loots of preasure

i felt insecure all the time, lots of laid offs all year , people was upset all the time, they took benefits very slowly ,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenges
Materials Management Specialist (Former Employee) –  Midland, TX24 May 2016
Good company to work with due to their training and certification.I enjoyed the work and those people i worked with .Ability to use what i have trained and be able to put it into practise
Pros
be smart
Cons
you can solve it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Schlumberger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 3,681 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9