Schlumberger Employee Reviews

Found 173 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Completion Field Expert (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB13 May 2015
I had a good experience working for Schlumberger, they have a good training and development courses. As a former employee I can say that this company deserves to be number one among service companies.
Pros
Trainings
Cons
Salary and bonuses are lower than average
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love Schlumberger
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 March 2016
Schlumberger is filled with gifted people. I love the company but they do expect the best from their people.

I would recommend Schlumberger to anyone.
Pros
Professional culture
Cons
Endlessly pile work on their employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to have a career
Service Delivery Manager (Former Employee) –  Worldwide locations2 June 2015
It a good company with nice benefits, and the opportunity to work overseas. Its challenging regardind job but it compensates with a wonderful work environment
Pros
Good salary, good benefits, good training
Cons
Not stable when crisis happens
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good place to work
CNC Lathe Operator (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB22 October 2014
I enjoyed my time here. My trainer was patient and kind, I enjoyed the work. They even built me a change room as I was the only female working in the shop! The life/work balance was really good. The benefits of working for such a large company was great.

The work itself could be physically demanding but I enjoyed that immensely.
Pros
free lunches at the safety meeting, good pay, nice environment, nice coworkers, safe, clean
Cons
loud, noisy, physically demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was really good
Equipment Operator/Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB17 January 2015
This was a great place to work. Excellent benefits, profit-sharing, discounted stock program, and a real culture of learning and advancement. Hours can be very long. Really dependent on volatile oil prices as to how much you work and earn.
Pros
long term pay
Cons
work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place to begin carreer
Completion/Production Engineer (Former Employee) –  Worldwide6 November 2014
Perfect company to join from university. Good salary, fast progressing and personal development. However, life work balance is badly affected. 2940 working hours a year topped with few month of training is the way above what regular person can outlive.
Pros
Corporate courses
Cons
Long hours, overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coil Tubing
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB10 February 2015
Over all the crew that you work with is your family, if that sound like the environment for you then your in good hands, Management went through many changes and overall was great, hardest part was adapting if you have never worked in the oil fields before.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
12 hour days 15 days strait
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Money and Great Company Large Workload
Equipment Operator Trainee (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB7 November 2014
Great Benefits and Great Culture and work environment. Great money to be made. Very patient staff and strong balance of both professionalism but interpersonal skills. Sometimes work load can be overwhelming and also sites and weather conditions make or break you. Great opportunity for some but not all.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB1 April 2016
Awesome place to work. Treat employees well with a lot of opportunity to grow within.

The pay and benefit packages are also really good.
Pros
money
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe, honest and used to 24 hour work environment
Bulk Plant Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort St John, BC4 March 2016
I am retired.
I am not used to sitting around doing nothing.
I need to be busy and have a purpose.
I work well with others and I can work alone.
Safety in the work place is one of my priorities.
I enjoy people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it can be fun at times
Maintenance Mechanic / Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary27 September 2015
Pay is decent but you are overworked with very little appreciation
from the Management Team. I learned allot on my 2 years working there, allot of training. Got laid off when the Oil Bug hit
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fellow employees are great to work with.
Transport Driver (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB28 April 2013
When out in the field I work hard, I enjoy physical work. Co-workers are great, some safety issues, are being worked on. The most enjoyable part is driving.
Pros
Great benefits and pay when out in the field.
Cons
Down time, spring break-up.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work
Electrical/electronic Technologist (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB6 March 2016
Schlumberger has well-logging operation in Canada. People are friendly. Lots of new technologies to learn. Good benefit, and the company is very tough on quality and safety.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best employer ever
Chief Observer (Former Employee) –  Worldwide9 September 2014
A excellent company for job advancement and benefits.
Its management system is one of the best in the oilfield services industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alot of on the job safety
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB22 September 2015
I liked the on the job safety I learned from the company.
Management wasn't always good for communication but I learned a lot from the training and would recommend it to people looking for more training on their class1.
Pros
Trainers were easy to get along with.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
oil field work
HEAVY INDUSTRY OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB8 November 2013
Long hours and very dangerous but good salary.The oilfield is unstable and you may find yourself out of work for months at a time. Not stable employment.
Pros
good wage
Cons
too dangerous
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing benefits
Heavy equipment mechanic (Former Employee) –  Sexsmith, AB10 March 2016
perform service and minor repair work in shop and field. Equipment is very well maintained. Clean work environment where nobody is rushed. Boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for advancement but poor work/life balance
MWD specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 January 2012
Very large multinational company with vast areas for career advancement throughout the world. Good pay and benifits but the no set work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet easy going place to work
heavy duty equipment mechanic (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB25 January 2016
Worked as a Heavy duty mechanic in the shop servicing, maintaining and repairing various types of FRAC equipment. Was an easy going place to work for as long as work that needed to be completed got done and the people were good to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for advancement but no life
Wireline General Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Nisku, AB19 June 2015
Room for advancement but terrible work/life balance. Work a lot of hours. Management is always changing sometimes making it very difficult to deal with so many different managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,587 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9