Schlumberger Employee Reviews

Found 90 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work and fun
System Engineer (Former Employee) –  work at Schlumberger EgyptOctober 20, 2013
A first thing to do is to check mail to see if a server has send an error notification, then check log for all servers and disk storage to see a warning or fatal error if a major error exist we begin to deal with it immediately by our team . after the daily check , I open the web to take the users ticket ( Intouch tickets) and solve them.It is a good thing to learn how to manage your time to deal with all problems in a way to be sure that things done 100% in the right way without errors,
the preferable part that if a problem appears, all the team deals with it together to eliminate any possibility that an error occur. The hardest part of the job is when we plan for total shutdown of the center to do an upgrade (software or hardware) that continue for more than one day in a weekend, and the most enjoyable part is that we always install the latest technologies for servers or big data storage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am senior field specialist in Schlumberger D&M working in UK.
Directional Drilling Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, SCTMay 18, 2013
I have more than 12 years services with Schlumberger D&M. I am supervisor in my company with highest grade as Field specialist. I have done different type of the deviated and horizontal wells. Also in my company I had world record in longest drilling section.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, poor communication
Laboratory Technician (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, albertaJuly 7, 2012
Woeking with SLB (Schlumberger) has been very educational and a challenge. The excessive on-call and the lack of clear future have taken a toll on my personal being and I need change. Wonderful company, it is me that needs the change
Pros
large and places to go
Cons
long hours and excessive on-call
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, long hours required
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, ABMarch 20, 2013
The pay while working at Schlumberger was great, although the tradeoff was long hours and a 15 on, 6 day off schedule. Having 6 days off in a row was great, although some people might prefer a different schedule.
Pros
great pay
Cons
long work hours (12-16 hour days)
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Bulk Plant Administrator (Former Employee) –  LLoydminster ABMarch 23, 2015
Schlumberger was a good company to work with . They ensured that you had most of the training that you needed to do the job that you were hired to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its the oil patch .what else can you expect
Operator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, ABFebruary 9, 2014
Good job ,tons of schooling,room for advancement. poor home life .lots of alcoholics of the crews.
Pros
money.advancement.free living in hotels.job bonuses.
Cons
away from home alot.too many alcoholics on crews.politics.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Schlumberger is a solid company
Wireline Geomarket Marketing & Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Algiers but now I leave in CalgarySeptember 7, 2012
It is worth persuing a career with Schlumberger as long as it doesn't clash with your personnel plans
Pros
fast learning through exposure
Cons
life work balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Fracker (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, ABMarch 2, 2015
Hard day when rigging in and out. I learned how to use my time properly. Everybody works as a team and gets the job done together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Installed and tested logging systems in wireline trucks
Electronic Technologist (Former Employee) –  Nisku, ABOctober 30, 2012
Preformed Q-checks and repaired open hole tools
Trained and supervised new and junior staff
Pros
enjoyed working in a team enviroment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for advancement but poor work/life balance
MWD specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 5, 2012
Very large multinational company with vast areas for career advancement throughout the world. Good pay and benifits but the no set work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
oil field work
HEAVY INDUSTRY OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, ABNovember 8, 2013
Long hours and very dangerous but good salary.The oilfield is unstable and you may find yourself out of work for months at a time. Not stable employment.
Pros
good wage
Cons
too dangerous
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management
Cenent helper (Former Employee) –  Ft St John BCSeptember 19, 2013
Short time there but great training company. Always busy which is great for job security. Up for sending its people anywhere to get the training they need.
Pros
training
Cons
long long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Operator 1 (Former Employee) –  WhiteCourt AlbertaSeptember 18, 2012
great company to work for. money can be great to if you get on coil tubing or fracing i was a cementer and work long hours some time for no much pay off
Pros
great guys
Cons
not so good money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field Engineer Trainee activities
FIELD ENGINEER TRAINEE (Former Employee) –  Las Morochas, VenezuelaJune 9, 2014
At that time my job was to be trained and prepared for developing my career as a Wireline Engineer.
Pros
learning.
Cons
working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People Technology Profits
Well Integrity Domain Champion (Current Employee) –  KuwaitMay 27, 2014
People Technology Profits. Very challenging environment with diversity as the people motor.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
bad managment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AlbertaJanuary 19, 2013
This was a term contract position. I gained valuable experience and knowledge working in such a large company base.
Pros
team building
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning environment
driver/supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 16, 2013
learned alot in the years that i was there . Spent many months in training and specializing my engineering diploma
Pros
team oriented
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People were nice
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, ABDecember 26, 2013
Long hours, On call 24/7, out doors, co-workers were nice, lots of responsibility operating equipment on minimal sleep
Pros
good pay
Cons
on call 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good training
Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 3, 2014
generally a very good company to work as an engineer lots of travelling and field experience performed in house training for new employees,
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Readings
o Well service Lab supervisor (Current Employee) –  EGYPT PortsaidMarch 22, 2012
- No Life Style in Schlumberger
- hard Life
- In Schlumberger Egypt it is not A real Schlumberger , it is look like Local Company
Pros
n?a
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,811 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9