Schlumberger Employee Reviews

Found 173 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly employers
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB2 April 2016
Columbian chemical is a good company to work for, you will learn a lot about the product they produce which is a by product of petroleum( Carbon Black).
A company that delivers it is product on time and has a good service to their customer. a company that believes customer comes first.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB1 April 2016
Awesome place to work. Treat employees well with a lot of opportunity to grow within.

The pay and benefit packages are also really good.
Pros
money
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing co-work very easy to interect and learn from co-workers
Technician (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB31 March 2016
every day at work was just fun and the energy among us was just amazing

An example of our great team is:

I remember one day there was a tornado alarm at work, so every one was call to the general lunch room, for a quick safety meeting.
unfortunately I had my ear plugs on, and the back of the shop, and I didn't here the siren sound,
due to our amazing team work protocols in place a head count was implement by my team and I was able to attend the meeting
Pros
before every long weekend
Cons
busy days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at Schlumberger
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 March 2016
The company has about 90,000 employees in more than 30 different countries and very often in many locations there are a shift of the management team every 1 - 2 years which brings new attitudes and orientations.
Pros
nice work culture
Cons
Constant management changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing benefits
Heavy equipment mechanic (Former Employee) –  Sexsmith, AB10 March 2016
perform service and minor repair work in shop and field. Equipment is very well maintained. Clean work environment where nobody is rushed. Boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work
Electrical/electronic Technologist (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB6 March 2016
Schlumberger has well-logging operation in Canada. People are friendly. Lots of new technologies to learn. Good benefit, and the company is very tough on quality and safety.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, Work life balance may depend on position
Electronics Technician (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB5 March 2016
The company will generally train you for what you need to advance within the company. Once you are in it is up to you. There is a lot of hurry up and wait and a lot of bureaucracy. As a service company, you may be asked to be ready for Monday, then, hurry up and be ready for Sunday, then find out at the last minute that the job has been pushed to Wednesday. If you can deal with that, the management is generally reasonable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good multi calture company
Senior Production Operations Consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 March 2016
I enjoyed working with Schlumberger Software Integrated Solutions and would suggest others to join SIS.
Good work environment, smart colleagues and high technology, but no job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love Schlumberger
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 March 2016
Schlumberger is filled with gifted people. I love the company but they do expect the best from their people.

I would recommend Schlumberger to anyone.
Pros
Professional culture
Cons
Endlessly pile work on their employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe, honest and used to 24 hour work environment
Bulk Plant Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort St John, BC4 March 2016
I am retired.
I am not used to sitting around doing nothing.
I need to be busy and have a purpose.
I work well with others and I can work alone.
Safety in the work place is one of my priorities.
I enjoy people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet easy going place to work
heavy duty equipment mechanic (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB25 January 2016
Worked as a Heavy duty mechanic in the shop servicing, maintaining and repairing various types of FRAC equipment. Was an easy going place to work for as long as work that needed to be completed got done and the people were good to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very physically and mentally demanding
environmental specialist (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL21 January 2016
A typical day starts with a tool box talk we discuss and assign responsibilities for the day. Then we identify all the potential hazards associated with task and how to mitigate it. I learned to work with various tools and equipment and also to concentrate on assigned task.
Pros
Never boring lots to learn
Cons
Long hours 12hr/21 days straight
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace, multy culture, international
Butler Dean Construction, Calgary, AB (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 December 2015
Performed production testing, monitor gages, operated a high and low stage tanks.calculated water, gas and oil pumped per hour
Pros
loa
Cons
outdoors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Schlumberger work experience.
Directional Driller Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Europe and Africa6 December 2015
Worked at Schlumberger for 15 years. Has been a good company to work for. Recent pay cuts, and massive layoffs. Good benefit package, and salary at industry standards. Excellent training, and growth to learn new technologies.
Pros
Technology is advanced, good work rotation.
Cons
Massive layoffs, management can be top heavy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB4 December 2015
Gained valuable hands on experience in the field. Met and worked with many great people. I would recommend this company to others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work with.
Technical Lab manager for western (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB27 November 2015
Normal day is around 10 to 12 hours if you in a managerial role.
I learnt all parts of Schlumberger business.
Technial- Lab Operations-Marketing-Sales-Target account Selling-Personnel-HSE and working in different business environment.
Co-wokers are good people with similar goals and trainings so it is very easy to work with them and achieve desired results.
It is a 24/7 typae of job due to operations involvement.
They work in over 100 countires so one can go all over the globe and work.
Pros
Very open and friendly work culture maintaing all business ethics.
Cons
High commitment and long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 November 2015
Schlumberger bought out Lonkar Services so my job became redundant....Loved working for the oil and gas sales department, printing logs and seeing to everyone's needs.
Pros
Location
Cons
not enough work in the end
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large global company with opportunities around the world
engineer (Former Employee) –  Alberta18 November 2015
Being the largest oilfield service provider in the world, the company has many varied opportunities to offer globally.
Pros
Large global footprint
Cons
Short sighted management structure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like the people working there
Senior Machinist (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB5 November 2015
It was a very good job, work with very good people, depend too much on the price of oil in the market, not very busy at times because not enough drilling.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with great atmosphere
Heavy Duty Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB2 November 2015
A great place to work with fantastic benefits. Show up in the morning and have a job meeting with the boss. go out into the yard and grab your unit to bring in and inspect. follow the inspection sheet guidelines, order parts if needed and get her done by the book.
Pros
Long lunch, fantastic benefits
Cons
Long Days when in the field
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,592 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9