Find companies:
Schlumberger
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
527 reviews

Schlumberger Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am senior field specialist in Schlumberger D&M working in UK.
Directional Drilling Supervisor (Current Employee), Aberdeen, SCTMay 18, 2013
I have more than 12 years services with Schlumberger D&M. I am supervisor in my company with highest grade as Field specialist. I have done different type of the deviated and horizontal wells. Also in my company I had world record in longest drilling section.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 year career in heavy industry best darn outfit I ever worked for "bar none"
Industrial Mechanic (Current Employee), Red Deer, ABMay 12, 2013
Pros: covered in previous
Cons: long hours and uncertainty otherwise no cons
Extremely diverse workforce all races colors and creeds not to mention ages!!!!!!!(more my thing) lol
Awesome management they will find a fit for your level of experience and expand on it if you are willing to put in the effort
Great benefits
Although there seems to be a high turnover rAte even those that are here for a short period of time show great – more... potential I think due to Schlumberger training
Great programs for employee development!
Opportunity to travel the world if so desired
Write your own paycheck. At least in my department (work as much overtime as you want or as little as you want as you desire! Absolutely in heard of.
Continual improvement ( within reason of course)
Company is a bit cheAp with resources but pays people well
Tools and equipment is not shiny but the people realy do shine!!
Concerns with work always seem to be dealt with in a speedy and effective manner. No beating around the bush and no hidden agendas. Management is always willing to listen. I think this is because management is developed from a grassroots level
I have thought of leaving but quite honestly I dont think there is much or any better out there – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking, team player and be able to work alone.
Trainee Instrumentation Engineer (Former Employee), NigeriaMarch 26, 2013
I love the job,the people i worked with and the management.I love having challenges at work because i am hardworking and knows how to deal with it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, long hours required
Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Medicine Hat, ABMarch 20, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: long work hours (12-16 hour days)
The pay while working at Schlumberger was great, although the tradeoff was long hours and a 15 on, 6 day off schedule. Having 6 days off in a row was great, although some people might prefer a different schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dynamic due to the nature of the activities
HEALTH, SAFETY AND ENVIRONEMENT ADVISOR/MANAGER (Former Employee), Last assignment in Airdrie, AB CanadaMarch 13, 2013
Pros: benefit: free lunch
Cons: long hours as manager
From 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Learned how to manage a facility
Good relationship with co-workers
Dealing with new employees
I enjoyed achieving my individual and company objectives
Enjoy managing the Health, Safety and Environment System
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Implementation Chapion (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: salary international experience
Cons: long work hours
It offers great training and package. But you will specialized in its products or services only
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning environment
driver/supervisor (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: team oriented
Cons: long hours
learned alot in the years that i was there . Spent many months in training and specializing my engineering diploma
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was nice working with schlumberger
Internship (Former Employee), Islamabad, PISFebruary 3, 2013
I spent my 4 weeks in schlumberger, it was very informative and very safe working with it, management was good, environment was awesome, human values were given priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Operator (Former Employee), AlbertaFebruary 2, 2013
Pros: massive company
Cons: idiots
Got boring. Expected way more then you can physically do. The company thinks its the safest when in reality its not.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaJanuary 19, 2013
Pros: team building
Cons: n/a
This was a term contract position. I gained valuable experience and knowledge working in such a large company base.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to learn
Directional Driller Trainee (Current Employee), Villahermosa, TABDecember 4, 2012
Pros: good field experience as good training
Cons: bad work/life balance
It is the best place to learn. The training is very good. The security and the mentality it does to you really is applied in any field. The work/ life balance is not good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good firm
PETROPHYSICIST & ENGINEER (Former Employee), NorwayNovember 17, 2012
- very good firm
- good training program
- good payment
- good managemenet system
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Installed and tested logging systems in wireline trucks
Electronic Technologist (Former Employee), Nisku, ABOctober 30, 2012
Pros: enjoyed working in a team enviroment
Cons: long hours
Preformed Q-checks and repaired open hole tools
Trained and supervised new and junior staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Schlumberger
Coil Tubing Field Supervisor (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABOctober 29, 2012
Pros: advanvced experience
Cons: working away from home
Great group of people both in the field and office, very hard working culture. Schlumberger has the reputation world wide as one of the leading well servicing providers, and in Grande Prairie our division of coil tubing was held to the same title. We frequently would work long term contracts for high profile companies such as Imperial, Encana, Nexen, – more... etc. This working environment was very demanding and helped shape me into the person I am today. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad company to work for
Wire line Operator (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABOctober 29, 2012
Pros: golf tournament
Cons: long hours is an understatement, on job from 18 hrs to36 plus hrs
shop, maintain tools, truck inspection,drive to lease, rig up, run winch to lower tools into well, rig out, drive back or stay in camp, or hotel.
co workers hard to work with not allowing you to get your hands dirty.
direct sunlight with heat and humitity
enjoyed learning different and new things
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
key post
ASSISTANT DRILLER (Former Employee), Syria and PakistanOctober 24, 2012
Pros: well control issues and well killing.
Cons: no time of meals.
take job as challenge.
Like Compton.
Real please to learn down hole problems.
Run operations as per company procedures and policies.
I like well control situations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning about the industry on a daily bases
Well Logging Engineer (Former Employee), ABOctober 19, 2012
Pros: freedom out in the bush
Cons: lonely at times went waiting for triping which is down time to loggers.
It was a good place which provided good training ground for a young man like me to learn the technical side as well as drilling operations of the industry
I do not see any downside, enjoyed the free working environment being out in the field and the length od time rests allowed in between jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Operator 1 (Former Employee), WhiteCourt AlbertaSeptember 18, 2012
Pros: great guys
Cons: not so good money
great company to work for. money can be great to if you get on coil tubing or fracing i was a cementer and work long hours some time for no much pay off
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The reason am looking for this job is that there has been slow down in business
senior wireline crewchief (Current Employee), Masila & marib.September 12, 2012
looking for a new carrier
There are so many typical days in the field especially with long hours of working & the ex stream climates on a very sensitive job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Schlumberger is a solid company
Wireline Geomarket Marketing & Sales Manager (Current Employee), Algiers but now I leave in CalgarySeptember 7, 2012
Pros: fast learning through exposure
Cons: life work balance
It is worth persuing a career with Schlumberger as long as it doesn't clash with your personnel plans

About Schlumberger

Schlumberger┬áhas the know-how to get oil and gas drillers out of a┬áslump. One of the world's largest oilfield services companies, – Read more