Find companies:
Savvis, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Savvis, Inc. Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This may not still apply...
Facilities Coordinator (Former Employee), Santa Clara, CANovember 18, 2014
This company was going through a major transition and overhaul while I was there which contributed to a great deal of mismanagement, volatility, multiple objective changes, and executive shuffling. The people were great, there was work/life/family support initially. They have since been purchased by CenturyLink, so I don't know what the environment – more... is like, could drastically different. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company that I've worked for during my work experience.
Sr. Cloud Engineer (Former Employee), Hastings, OKSeptember 29, 2014
Best Company that I've worked for during my work experience.

Management was fair and impartial, Company was best that I've worked for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Forward Thinking Place to Work
Facilities Technician (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 19, 2014
A typical day here would be coming in to one of the sites within the city and reviewing installs and maintenance for the facilities projecting out several months. Interfacing with the lead engineers and account managers was a big part of this. The team was very cross functional and we all new how to do every job required of the team. I learned a lot – more... of what I know now about Data Centers while working here. It was very hands on and required participation and team work to get the job done. Management typically allowed me and the team to perform our jobs, with little micromanagement. I worked very closely with my co workers. We accomplished a lot together. Most difficult part of the job was keeping up with multiple client installs at the same time, but not too difficult to handle. Most enjoyable part of the job was working with the professionals I worked with and being able to do a lot of the hands on work that helped develop skills we all now have. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Work Place
Facilities Manager (Former Employee), Herndon, VAJune 4, 2014
Pros: highly motivated
Cons: no problems
Was a nice place to work with good mangers team / sound work atmosphere.....at times was very busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great company with vertical growth in cloud computing and Hosting area network, as well as colocation facilities.
Network Solutions Architect (Current Employee), Weehawken, NJMay 16, 2014
Typically started with meetings with customer technical contact to other work specifics such as gathering details for network requirements.
Learned Data Center architecture, including load balancing, firewall rules/set-up and worked with Juniper switches.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unstable environment
Global Account Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: unstable environment; poor management
very political environment, constant turn over; the company was acquired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
R&D with SQL on Beta servers.
Senior Engineer(SQL DBA) (Current Employee), Bangalore, KAJanuary 21, 2014
Typical day at work:
After SAN migration activity some of the SQL databases pages were corrupted and application was not able to open few form.
We've fixed that issue.

The most enjoyable part of the job.
Anything related to SQL I'll enjoy lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Savvis is a high-end managed hosting company with co-lo and MPLS network
Sr. Solutions Engineer (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 9, 2014
Savvis is a high-end managed hosting company with co-lo and MPLS network. Really was a challenge to work and learn so much so fast at a highly detailed level of expertise. Will work you hard but it's rewarding to be able to use your entire skill set all the time. Very busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Better Place for Employee Growth
Senior Technical Engineer at Level 3 (Current Employee), Bangalore, KADecember 24, 2013
*Not a Better Place for Employee Growth
*Pay/Benefits are less and lots of deduction
*Company Policy is like "Just Work and GO" DO not expect any benefits/allowances
*Management Sucks
*
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people!
Senior Director Client Service Management (Former Employee), Winnersh TriangleNovember 13, 2013
Savvis is a great company to work for, great people, great products, great culture. However in recent years it has lost some of it's customer focus and strategic direction as a result of globalisation and mergers/acquisitions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment, easy to focus
Associate Engineer (Current Employee), Town and Country, MONovember 8, 2013
A typical day includes an average workload with an occasional crisis that needs handling. Plenty of time to advance your personal IT knowledge and work with others who share the same sentiment. The hardest part of the job is the technical aspect. Depending on the subject matter you can investigate further or assign to the appropriate team to get a task – more... completed. I enjoy being able to focus without distraction and advance my skillsets. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work place, responsibility for performance was very high
Network Operations Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 16, 2013
Pros: straight work week monday- friday
Cons: commute was to the lowest area of manhattan and thework shifts start very early in the a.m.
SAVVIS was responsible for carrying the Stock Exchange live all over the world, in every market. Responsibility was high and work load was very detail oriented. Triple redundancy was the corner stone to their success with keeping clients happy with the service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work as contractor to IFC
Tier II Analyst (Current Employee), IFC, Washington, D.C.August 14, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: tier ii analyst for proprietary software involves shift work
Good Company to work as contractor to IFC. Interesting and you receive calls of varying difficulty relating to proprietary software used by the World Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day was like any other fast & furious
Network Implementation Specialist (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 1, 2013
Pros: my manager provided free company polo shirts for meeting our goal.
Cons: i would get my break and lunch time in most of the time.
There was not much to learn, but I did create a training manual for my group. Management was okay. My co-workers seem to be friendly. The hard part of my job was getting use to the attitudes. Was going home for the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 years experience with Savvis
Information Security Engineer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 30, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: long hours
Great place to work, good pay and people. Worked all shifts and hours. On call responsibilities. Worked with several types of firewalls and VPN solutions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Learning Edge for Network Implementation
Solution Implementation Engineer, Hosting Services (Current Employee), Bangalore, KAJune 4, 2013
1. Configuring CISCO 6500, Junipers, F5 devives (LTM), ACE Loadbalancers, ASA base builds, FWSM builds with VIP pool addition.

2. Best in the industry learning curve .

3. Needs to focus more on the Employee benefit.

4. Productive and best working environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher Than Thou
Strategic Account Manager (Former Employee), Reston, VAMay 30, 2013
Pros: good pay, industry leading solutions, good training
Cons: old culture, no inter-company integration, complicated commission structure, long pay cycles
Savvis, an industry leader no doubt, has a very bad reputation amongst customers and potential clients for arrogance. The culture has not changed much, albeit the solutions are very mature and competent. Working at CenturyLink was a great opportunity, until I realized there are still 3 very large multi-billion dollar organizations still having difficulty – more... years later in assimilating solutions, cultures, and selling strategy. Earnings potential is great, but it just depends on how much discombobulation you can put up with. I tend to lean more towards a streamlined organization that might not pay as much on a base, but has more maneuverability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Hosting company
Senior Software Engineer at SAVVIS Communications (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 4, 2013
very secured and nice management. good growth in virtualization technolgoy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
NOC Technician (Former Employee), Atlanta, GADecember 27, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: no advancement
Monitored Data Center Systems, Devices, and configured all new customer equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun, yet challenging place to work.
Web Engineer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 22, 2012
Pros: fun culture, good opportunites to advance
Cons: work cut into personal life too much.
Working for a fortune 100 client resolving their web application issues. Management was "normal" typical corporation management. Nothing horrible but nothing shined either. Co-workers were all great, young, and smart. Hardest part of the job was a balance of work and life. The most enjoyable part was the employees were like minded and fun to be around.

About Savvis, Inc.

SAVVIS serves up a wide array of network services. The company primarily provides┬áhosting services, including data colocation – Read more