Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 359 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Operations - Victoria store
Operations Clerk - Part-time (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BCNovember 23, 2015
Rude Management - no people skills at all. Some Supervisors extremely lazy and treat staff and customers poorly at the front end. Co-workers fun even though over-worked and lack of motivation. Mgmt won't meet shift requests at all, only if you are a "favourite." This kind of behavior makes all the videos you have to watch a complete joke. Value Village corporation as a whole - very good. Victoria management/supervision - very poor.
Pros
Got some training on cash.
Cons
Poor management and supervision.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good
cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 17, 2015
I made a lot of friends. I learned how to talk to people and work as a cashier. There was a friendly environment, but there was a case of stealing and some mistrust.
Pros
Friendly Enviroment, made lots of firends
Cons
Some Mistrust, and sometimes bad supervison
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun work enviroment
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ONNovember 16, 2015
Fast paced enviroment with lots of multi-tasking and constant attention to detail. Been shown training methods as well as opening and closing procedures from all levels of management. Very close, friendly and knowledgable staff. Must keep up with sometimes very physical task requirements as well as keeping things organized and supervised properly. Enjoying being able to help customers as well as give back to the community throught our charity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Community involved
operations (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 12, 2015
Was a great opportunity for getting to know my community.
I was involved with the Community Donations Center and was cross trained to work in operations.
They are very flexible and a great team to work with.
Pros
Very flexible
Cons
Managment Shifts and schedules where inconsitant. ex 11hrs a week. then 20hrs the next.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My typical day at Value Village
Assistant Operation Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ONNovember 4, 2015
Typical work day would be to open the store get the cash registers balance for the day. Take the prior deposits to the office do daily morning paper work for the previous day. When all is done back to floor to get morning cashier cashed on. Then proceed to the daily tasks of the store making sure that all job tasks are done with staff and customers.
t
Pros
Bonuses every quarter if sales match, discounts at store level and other stores
Cons
Long hours family life being neglected.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work there if you must.
Soft Goods (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONNovember 2, 2015
With few exceptions, the management at Value Village are an incompetent lot who bully and threaten their workers.
The actual work in the production department is not for people who are squeamish but it is alright.
Co-workers are pleasant enough to work with and will help you if you need it.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production.
production worker (Former Employee) –  2112 winnipeg mbOctober 28, 2015
I worked here for 2 months before I quit! I have a monotoned face so my supervisors thought I hated the place so they treated me like garbage and constantly wrote me up! So if you're not smiling 24/7 don't expect to have a permanent job! You get written up for the stupidest things, you don't get proper training and are constantly being moved from station to station!
Pros
Direct deposit
Cons
Management and employees
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome coworkers
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BCOctober 24, 2015
Working at Value Village was fun. Lots of great coworkers. Great customers. Never a dull moment. Always something to keep busy with. Customers, putting back clothes. Really looked forward to October. Halloween is Huge with Value Village. Staff allowed to dress up, too.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly workplace
Sales Representative/Customer service(Cashier) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 24, 2015
coworkers are very nice and helpful. Management was not supportive. lost my job because i had to go back for an emergency. they did not take me back in the company even thought i was a very old employee
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an enjoyable place to work
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBOctober 17, 2015
Value Village for a typical day at work would consists of cleaning and assisting customers, allowing you to work different stations and interacting with employees as well as customers.
Pros
Friendly employees, positive atmosphere
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seeking a better opportunity
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg,ManitobaOctober 13, 2015
Friendly and cooperative work environment.
Good to start as a beginner.
However need to get maximum use of knowledge and skills which I posses for better opportunity.
Pros
good and friendlyenvironment for working
Cons
need a better opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NBOctober 8, 2015
Valuable learning,, awesome team, great benefits, enjoyed the challenges of production hitting processing targets and operations reaching sales targets
Pros
great team
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with management and staff.
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBOctober 5, 2015
Savers is a great company they provide good benefits and there is diversity in the workplace, they give trainings to team members with high potential for management and treats employees fair. Salary was not that great when it comes to management positon but ok for starting for management positons.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fun workplace
Bed and Bath pricing (Current Employee) –  Vernon, BCOctober 3, 2015
Friendly and fun workplace.
Exciting work environment
You meet a lot of people
Favourite store for seniors
Tuesday our challenging day
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entire store is run well but has some problems in it.
Sales Associate (full-time) (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BCOctober 1, 2015
Typical day -Accepting donation's and helping customers.
- I Learned little to nothing at the job but the procedures.
- Management was constantly in a mess when I was employed there, they kept messing up the schedules &
- My co-workers were friendly and helpful the entire time I was there
- Hardest part of my job was dealing with management.
- I enjoyed the stacking of the donations and greeting, talking with the customers who donated.
Pros
Bonus on check, free lucnhes sometimes, 30/50% off in store items.
Cons
Messy Management, Can't purchase anything on a sale day.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value VIllage
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ONSeptember 26, 2015
Would get to work, over look sales and production numbers from previous day, seeing where we had opportunities. Than I would look at the staff schedule working and training the Production Manager to ensure that all targets and metrics were going to be met for that day. I would than follow up on business opportunities within the store (space to sales, floor plans, departments trending down). I would work along side my management staff to help them grow and learn what I had noticed. i would also deal with the day to day functions of the business dealing with all team member relations, hiring and recruiting needs of the store while ensuring a positive customer experience in my store. I would also deal with one on one training and developing, and roll out all practices or policies from head office.
Pros
Able to learn and grow with my company
Cons
Informatin wouldn't get pass down to MGMT in a timily manner
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people, and the managment was decent.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABSeptember 24, 2015
Working at Value Village was great, lots of things to do an the people were fantastic. Managers were nice but there were a lot of people in authority and the communication wasn't always the best. Safety was always Key and there were regular meetings on it as well as how the company was doing as an over all.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool job with lots of diversity amongst both its customers and its employees.
Operations Team Member (Former Employee) –  Saint JohnSeptember 21, 2015
Not a bad place to work, got to drive a Uhaul van sometimes as much as twice a week. Felt respected. Felt like I should have been given more opportunities to advance.
Pros
Got to drive uhaul, good health benefits, heavy lifting, organization
Cons
Shifts were sporadic, lack of professionalism in management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn.
Cashier and customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BCSeptember 19, 2015
I found Value Village a great place to learn, the supervisors were very patient with me as I learned new things. I had a blast working halloween as a costume consultant and dressing in crazy costumes. Almost everyone was alot of fun to work with and there was alot of team work.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable workplace
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Prince Albert, SKSeptember 16, 2015
the company was great, great people, great management and overall just a great place to work. I learned a great deal while working there and the other fellow co-workers treated me with respect as I did them.
Pros
Great work hours
Cons
need longer lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,028 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Savers/Value Village Reviews by Location