Find companies:
Savers/Value Village
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
514 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It had its moments
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), North York, ONJuly 17, 2013
Pros: i got paid
Cons: many workers unhappy but, that is the path happiness
It's work, you get paid on time.
I learned many things about myself and others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier/ customer service
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 11, 2013
stocked shelves with items .. assisted customers with locateing merchandise in the store... cleaned isles
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), london ontarioJuly 4, 2013
Pros: bbq
Cons: closing then opening
very good company to work for, training is good, they really invest in you
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fairly busy work place
Operations worker (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJuly 2, 2013
work days vary each day, co-workers were sometimes very helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to learn about the Retail Sector
Production Assistant (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJune 3, 2013
Pros: the core values of the company
if you are interested in part time work, Value Village is a good place to work for as you are helping conserve the environment and the company also pays local charities which helps them intrun carry on important and valuable work for their communities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job and always exciting
Sporting Goods/Load & Unload Truck/Sales/Cashier (Former Employee), Windsor CanadaJune 3, 2013
Unloading and loading trucks and helping customers. People were always helpful and enjoyed helping each other out
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good intention, hidden process
Team Member - Front Store (Former Employee), Metro Vancouver/Fraser Valley, BCJune 1, 2013
Pros: schedule flexibility, approachable management/coworkers, benefits, charity business, discount
Cons: repetitiveness, heavy lifting, micromanagement, sanitation, throw-away policy, 48h policy, expensive price-point.
I liked the motto Savers/VV works behind. However, despite the premise of reusing and reducing, more does go straight into a compactor. In fact, if something were mildly scratched or even just a waste of space to put on the floor it would be thrown away. Virtually, we served as a free trash disposal for the general public (and people often abused it). – more... Expect heavy lifting and constant movement.

Although I only worked for a short period (during the summer in between school terms), I could see someone easily getting physically sick by directly dealing with the merchandise. All items are donated at random and not washed before put out (sometimes steam dried). If you are visibly male, you'll most likely be an OSD attendant (directly handling donations off the street), if female you'll be put on cash. This was for front store, but I noticed it to be a constant regardless of your preference.

Management could be difficult at times but generally very accommodating to scheduling and approachable. Your breaks are scheduled for you, and expect to announce them over PA. I also noticed their prices have significantly rose over the past few years, which you're sure to hear complaints about.

In positive regards, the atmosphere was light-hearted. Co-workers were pleasant to work with, the job was relatively straight forward and you were often recognized for your efforts. Benefits were awesome for full-time employees and your first week is entirely paid training, slowly enabling you into your full day's work - I loved that. You get a 50% discount on merchandise that's been out for 48h on the floor and for the most part you're working for charities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treasure Hunting For The Descerning Shoppers
Assistant Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONMay 29, 2013
Pros: cost effictive bennifits for full time staff.
Cons: high turn over
Value village aids the community through recycling and aids the Canadian Diabetes Society. It was a fun place to work with a cheery staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and hard work
Pricer (Former Employee), Abbotsford, BCMay 13, 2013
Pros: free chistmas dinners with prizes
Cons: management
Loved working their. My co-workers were very nice. Management was sometimes hard to deal with but I always had a smile. I learned about how quotas and sales reflect on company sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good place to work
Production worker/Supervisor (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONMay 1, 2013
was a greatplace to work until you get management in there that wants to change evrything when nothing was wrong and doesn't like it when you can do your job without asking lots of questions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More goes in the garbage than one might believe
Sorter (Former Employee), Windsor, ONApril 30, 2013
A typical day for those that worked in the back of the store involves opening donation boxes/bags and sorting through the items to find the "sellable" goods. Often managers would be much pressure on us to sort faster, their thought was that by doing so there would be a greater amount of sellable items. Despite this we cannot control what is donated – more... or the condition it comes in. The standards set in many employees' options were extreme and ridiculous. Unless the item was in near perfect or brand new condition it often went in the trash much to the unknowing and unsuspecting persons that donated.The backroom was often filled with dust and debris making the conditions something to get use to. Policies there changed often but not always for the better and many employees were quite disgruntled, understandably. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place and staff
Cashier (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, ONApril 28, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
A typical day at Value Village, that would consist of going in in the morning and sweeping, empty garbages, and get the store ready for shopping. I have learned many new things there, such as dealing with customers, and their needs, for making their shopping experiance more enjoyable and remembering that a happy customer is a good customer. The managment – more... and my co-workers are great people, we all work as a team as well as a family to get things accommplished. I dont think i have found a hard part of the job yet as any and every new thing is a challenge and a learning experince that i enjoy, always looking to learn new things. I love meeting new people that come into the store and helping them in every way possible. If they leave our store happy then I know i have done my job and i am satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and shop
floor sales (Former Employee), sudburyApril 28, 2013
Pros: nice people to work with, everyone got along great
Cons: not many hours
My tasks were helping customers find clothing, pricing clothing, assisting customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
CASHIER (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 25, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: long hours
I had experience a high stress environment workplace but i managed to handle it wisely at calm to do consistent excellent customer service. I had a great time with my co workers and managers because we worked as like a family in my worked place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Community Donation Center Employee (Former Employee), Barrie, ONApril 24, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
I enjoyed working here for a bit. Mainly because of the staff who were awesome other then some supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher Postion
Assistant Operational Supervisor (Former Employee), Dartmouth, NSApril 23, 2013
Pros: discount, co-workers
Cons: store manager, wasteful
I enjoyed working here for the most part my fellow co-workers were great i stayed so long because of them.

I experience moving store locations while working there. I never knew they were so wasteful while moving to new locations. what didn't get sold in sale was thrown away. which goes agents their store polices.

the store manager was awful, she would – more... try to make you respect her with fear, or threats. Try to rule your life in and outside of work. make you work late nights (12 am) then really early mornings (5 am)
She would let the male workers getting away with everything but one trip up from a female worker and get yelled at.

The hardest part of the job was working for and with the store manager

I really enjoyed working with my fellow co-workers, being a Supervisor was nice, making up the scheduled and the bank deposits
The discount we got working there was also a nice bonus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong working and helpfull job
Production assistant (Former Employee), North Bay, ONApril 16, 2013
Pros: lots of customers
Cons: quiet workplace at nightime
A typical day at work would start off with a meeting and coffee between all team members. As we finished we would then get to work and help customers.My co-workers were always happy and making Value village a great place to work. There were no hard parts to the job only easy parts that's actually what i found to be most enjoyable about the job as well. – more... Management wasn't bad apart from the manager almost never being there to help with product management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast pace enviornment that helps people buy garments or house hold items at reasonable prices
CDC (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABApril 15, 2013
Pros: inbetween school and home
Cons: working till 9 at night
I would get to work and start off collecting a donation or cleaning the back and front of the store, sorting through donations, weighing donations on carts, casually pricing donations, helping customers and I casually worked till. I learned how to work in a large company with multiple co-workers. My co-workers were awesome, I made so many awesoem friends – more... at Value Village. The hardest part working at Value Village was working till 9 on school nights and the most enjoyable part of the job was all the AWESOME people I met. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), sarnia, ontarioApril 12, 2013
Worked in back rooim
dirty environment
lack of pay
recycled used goods
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tiring work conditions, no room for advancement
Recycler (Former Employee), Moncton, NBApril 11, 2013
Pros: mon-fri 8-430 shifts, weekends off(must work the odd weekend)
Cons: horrible management skils, supervisors are untouchableable, unsafe work conditions, low pay, no room for advancement, inproper training for said duties, unreasonable expectations of staff, ungratefulness towards its employees, and dare i say, unethical business practices to the point of breaking criminal laws.
Fun place to work, until management beats you down with verbal abuse. Has potential to be a great place as the work itelf is a challenge, but too many unprofessional, unsafe and harrsing conditions.

Place has no issues with leaving the fire exits covered in snow(back exits) no respect to work safe conditions as per labour code of Canada. Will not fire – more... someone for not being of value...must keep around for months nd essentially abuse the person to the point of demoralizing there values and beliefs.

Discrimination runs rampant. Promotes a welcoming environment, but does opposite. Turn over rate is horrible, yes, some have been there for years, but those ladies are also the ones who are in favor of management through personal relationships.

Overall, place has its good moment, but the negatives far outweight the positives tenfold. – less

About Savers/Value Village

Savers is no ordinary thrift store. As a leader and pioneer in the retail thrift industry, we're a place where people from all – Read more

Savers/Value Village Photos