Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 330 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NBOctober 8, 2015
Valuable learning,, awesome team, great benefits, enjoyed the challenges of production hitting processing targets and operations reaching sales targets
Pros
great team
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place To Work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONAugust 12, 2015
Typical day to day at Savers I would organize the store floor for customer use after we opened. We would sort everything into colour block and where the item belonged in categories (towels, blankets, etc), then I would help in the back until I went home at 11 as I worked part time.

Working at Savers was pretty awesome, other than the incredibly long bus ride to and from work and after a while it felt like my work was a waste of time. We would clean the store and not two hours later customers would come in a destroy it.

Not a place to work if you don't like getting your hands dirty. It's not uncommon to open up bags of garbage in the bag while sorting through donated things.

My co-workers and managers were always really nice but in the end I ended up quitting because of finding something closer to home as the Value Village I worked at was way out of my way.
Pros
Fun workplace and co-workers, relatively simple work
Cons
Felt like work was waste of time sometimes, was too far from my home personally
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
price chopper
Production/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONJune 20, 2015
i liked this job because it taught me all my vegetables and fruits at a young age of 15 16 years old and how to trim or cut or store them
i also learned a good amount of my costumer service skills from working here because people all like there food a certain way always have to keep people satisfied with the food they are eating
Was this review helpful?Yes1No16
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace environment
team member/sales associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 10, 2015
-flexible hours
-There's usually something to do so you don't get bored
-Great team members
-Cool benefits
-Hardest part is working at the donation center and having to lift really heavy furniture if no one else is able to help.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
late hours during halloween
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fun workplace
Bed and Bath pricing (Current Employee) –  Vernon, BCOctober 3, 2015
Friendly and fun workplace.
Exciting work environment
You meet a lot of people
Favourite store for seniors
Tuesday our challenging day
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Markham and 14thMay 13, 2015
Before i started working at value village i thought the clothes that people donated were given to people in Africa for free because they don't have the money to buy new ones. After working there for a bit i realized that the clothes that they ship to Africa aren't donated their also sold there. When people go donate their clothes they think that its going to the poor and going to be given to them becasue they have minimal things. Some people who have generous hearts give some of things that they never wore thinking its going to a good cause Value village just resells the new goods.
Pros
Employees were very friendly
Cons
Some people gave really dirty things that smelt horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes16No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice part-time job while studying
Clerk (Former Employee) –  MonctonMay 12, 2015
A typical day at work was to be a cashier, help the customer and to clean the store. The job was fun, i had a really good relationship with the management, the co-workers and they enjoyed the work i was doing and was really understanding of my schedule at the university. The hardest part of the job was to manage my work and school at the same time and the most enjoyable part of the job was interactive with the co-workers.
Pros
discount at the store, free dessert on special occasion
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Merchandiser / Receiving Coordinator & RF Scanner (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 9, 2015
With laid back hours and and upbeat evironment that play music everyday Value Village was the perfect place of employment while I was attending full time school.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy enough job with bad management culture.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ONMay 12, 2015
Great job with good benefits and opportunities for bonuses. However, they will give the maximum hours possible without giving full time. In addition, after taking initiative to complete a number of tasks as needed, I became the go-to person for these (unpleasant) tasks, despite being more qualified than others for the regular job and expressing my dissatisfaction with this practice.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
l like this company
production lines (Former Employee) –  ottawa ontarioJuly 22, 2015
l learned to do different department at value village and work fast too
sorting out shoes bed and bath and hanging clothes and also working sorting out boxes and pricing items to sell in the store and dealing with customers too
Was this review helpful?YesNo5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for community
Donations Representative (Former Employee) –  Concord, ONAugust 15, 2015
I liked how the community benefited from this company. People benefited from low prices for quality clothing and the charity benefited from donations.
Pros
bonus's
Cons
normal bs
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  London, ONJune 18, 2015
Very friendly and happy environment to work at.... i enjoyed going to work everyday and working with the associates that worked there it was like my second family... They are very welcoming and willing to help you to better your work experience and help you to succeed
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lovely place to work with great management
Floor Worker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 28, 2015
It was a great working experience. The job was a little bit of a challenge however given the resources they provided, it was a fine experience. Lovely coworker, great management, and decent hours. Hardest part of the job was dealing with the cleanliness of the environment given it received second hand items. Best part was that it was for a charity.
Pros
Lovely management
Cons
environment of work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
physically demanding
Recycler/CDA Ambassador/Furniture Pricer (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ONJune 24, 2015
A typical day at work involves a lot of lifting, twisting and walking. You will be on your feet all day; and most importantly you will be dealing with customers all day. If you like interacting with people this is the job for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced enviroment
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 18, 2015
This job was very fast paced and physical. The best part as the customers you got to interact with on a daily basis.The hardest part of the job was the closing shift, you never knew what time you would be clocking out at because the floor had to be cleaned every night.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but rewarding
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 29, 2015
This is a good company to work for, lots of room for advancement.
Its hard work but the rewards are there.
If you are young and want to get some experience in Management, this is the place. The logistics, people, and the many things you have to juggle will teach you really fast how to manage.
Pros
Doing something good and making a difference
Cons
Dirty dusty work conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Retail Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Sherwood ParkApril 28, 2015
The staff at all of the stores I worked at were incredible. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming to new staff. The management was very supportive of me as I tried to move up the ranks to join the management team. The reviews I had were honest and fair. The hardest part of the job was the customer service aspect but it was also the most rewarding part of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse environment
Customer Service Clerk (P.T.) (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ONJune 19, 2015
I enjoy working at Value Village and there is opportunity for advancement. The staff make you feel like your part of a team at Value Village.
Pros
free lunches for reaching goals
Cons
staff calling in and not being responsible for shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ONApril 2, 2015
Greeted customers in a friendly manner and assisted them with services, I was taught how to process transactions using cash register. When I needed some assistance from management they were close by. I enjoyed working with my co-workers which made my day even more enjoyable to go to work each and everyday! I can't recall a hard part about the job that I did.
Pros
Staff contests ie) wearing Halloween costumes new/old to promote sales.
Cons
Working late especially in the winter months.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to be with coworkers and customers but not with Backroom Management
Recycler/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ONMarch 23, 2015
Decent flexible hours that worked out well, but very physically demanding and hard to meet expectations that are set very high. Great coworkers, learned to use a few heavy machinery, but management in the back are beyond stubborn to work with (i.e going against company protocol, lying, employee targeting) and the job is beyond dirty and health hazardous. Take this job at own risk.
Pros
fit great with personal timeline, great hours to work with
Cons
management is chaotic to work with, expectations set too high, very dirty; very physically demanding, overall stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 947 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture