Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 504 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a mess
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS9 February 2017
Everyone working against each other and good work unrewarded while good employees are punished. A corrupt system run by corrupt people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON8 February 2017
The main floor manager made life at work very uncomfortable and uneasy. The other managers were kind and helpful though.
Pros
Cheap clothes
Cons
Bad salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy good social committee
Cashier/Front end in Production (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB2 February 2017
Fast paced
More about Value Village about their recycle process
1 manager 5 supervisors Overall good but couldn't please one
I went back to work too soon had an injury which wasn't healed yet but felt I still kept up with the pace
The customers
Pros
Always having something going on for the staff. Draws, potlucks, BBQs etc
Cons
where watched constantly on cameras
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with excellent management staff
Cashier/General Recovery (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON1 February 2017
Every work day is usually exceptionally positive thanks to the welcoming staff and wonderful regulars. You learn a lot about money handling and the hard work that comes with some retail establishments but most importantly, people and customer service. The management team are great and always have your best interests at mind. They're understanding and very motivating. The culture overall is laid back but everyone works at their best pace to make sure the job gets done. The hardest part of the job would be time management, focus and awareness at all times. You're always on the go the whole day so you need to maintain those skills at all times to make sure your performing to the best of your ability. The most enjoyable part of my job though is getting the first look at all the treasurers that come through our store and making great friends with the people I work with and how they make my day easy with their positive vibes.
Pros
Lots of free food
Cons
lots of standing and physical labor
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to meet many new people!
Cashier / Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BC30 January 2017
A great place for thrifty shopping & treasure hunting ,

Awesome people place, great working environment..

Worked as Cashier/ Sales Associate/ Production Worker,
Hours went by quickly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working there for over 5 years
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 January 2017
Great place, great discount, when i went away to school my job was waiting when i came back. mostly awesome managers. understanding if you are a student
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
custodial work for the store and offices
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON28 January 2017
did cleaning of store and offices on weekends. I did cleaning during high school years. Enjoyed the work environment and enjoyed the extra money I earned.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
not a permanent job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was ok ,but was not what I wanted to do
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK28 January 2017
The work was easy, but I didn't like the people that complained about their job or the people they worked with, other then that I had no other problems with the company.
Pros
work was easy
Cons
negative work enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cheerful and positive environment
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON26 January 2017
working at value village has been one great experience. the management is great; very understanding and cheerful. the staff is amazing as well. the only thing the store lacks is decent cleaning services, other than that - one of my favorite jobs.
Pros
free lunches, understanding management, great sense of humor with all the staff
Cons
store cleanness
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great people to work with
RsmIT (Former Employee) –  London, ON23 January 2017
Took too long for training to be completed, 8 moths and still was not done. Right hand had a hard time talking and communicating with the left. Store manager was awesome and so was the Production Manager.
Pros
Team atmosphere
Cons
training never fully completed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great ppl to work with
Production Member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 January 2017
company has many benefits
nice staff to deal with
company does alot of charitable work and donations
production crew has many different depts to work in:
fast pace, each dept has a daily quota to make: in some cases impossible quotas:
had to work some Saturdays on a regular basis ;without much notice given:
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working with the people
Service Crew (Current Employee) –  Sudbury, ON13 January 2017
Have a very nice way of dealing with others that helps in making good customer relations and also helps build the good reputation of the company as a whole.
Pros
Very helpful in
Cons
Short Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and Caring Company
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON11 January 2017
Value Village was one of the best experiences of my life. They took me on when i was going through a bad time with my health and were completely understanding and flexible with hours when I needed to take days off or call in sick. Since then I have gotten my health back and had to unfortunately leave this amazing company due to moving, but I will forever look back on this company as the glue that held me together when everything was falling apart. I worked at the Ajax location, and the co-workers and management are unbelievably kind and make you feel like family there. The best part was seeing regulars and developing a good work relationship with both customers and my co-workers. Would certainly reccommend working here to anyone who values learning good customer service skills, working in a fast paced environment, and amazing people by your side. :)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Evening Recycler (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 January 2017
All team members get a long great, managers are stern but fair. The hours are long but time flies when things get busy. Typically customers are polite and easy to deal with.
The hardest part of the job was heavy lifting, but there's always someone around to help.
Pros
Easy going, lots of down time
Cons
Sale days are busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun to work at.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 January 2017
the team members were a fun bunch to work with. Everyone treats you well, very friendly. I enjoyed my time there, and enjoyed helping people find what they were looking for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace environment
Clothing Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS4 January 2017
Fast Paced Environment, full time hours however low wages, weekends off. Work as team. Learn multiple skills and ability to move within departments within the company.
Pros
weekends off
Cons
high work load low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable enviornment
Seasonal sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON3 January 2017
Working at Value Village you will encounter a lot a people with different tastes in clothing, bed and bath, books and much more. Helping out customers and being able to approach them with confidence is what you will be able to accomplish at Value Village. The co workers are amazing and every one of them is ready to help you get to the next level to be better. No one is put down and respect is a major key.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Hard to keep up on tasks on a very busy day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place
Storefront Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB1 January 2017
Management wasn't great, and they didn't work well with my availability. Knew I was in school full time, hired as part time and had me working 6+ hours every day that I was done school at 3 and had 8 hours on days I had off of school.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC29 December 2016
Dirty and very small work environment with a very demeaning management team. I found the staff miserable, you are pushed to exceed your quotas every day by management, and its supposedly a "non profit". Very big disappointment with this company.
Pros
weekends off
Cons
Very poor working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Customer service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 December 2016
Everything was ok. Fast pace environment. Too busy to notice co workers. It was the hardest job ever working with savers.

The most enjoyable part was communicating with customers. Management not too bad.
Pros
Take food to work
Cons
6 to 8 hrs a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers/Value Village. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,566 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

70%
508 ratings
Add your rating