Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 413 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Sorter and Price checker (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON12 July 2016
Busy
Pricing/Putting product out quicky and timely
Good Managment
Great Staff
None always a learning experience
Coffee time with everyone and good customers
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very positive environment, real steady and great place to work!
"CDC Ambassador/Recycler/Sorter/Pricer" (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB17 April 2016
"Value Village/Savers" was an exciting and excellent daytime job to have. They kept us busy and I was trained in many departments as time went on. The staff and management were very polite, welcoming and appreciative.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an alright job
hanger, pricer, tagger, roller, sorter (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC26 February 2016
I worked in production and although the hours were good and I liked getting done work at 4pm every day there were also quite a few things I really disliked about working at Value Village. First off the management was very unorganized and inconsistent. They put me on so many different jobs while I worked there and they worked me to my full potential but didn't pay me a dime extra, even for the more difficult jobs! I didn't feel that was fair. The pay is also horrible. The low pay is the reason why I could not continue working there anymore. it just wasn't even worth getting out of bed in the morning.
Pros
great coworkers
Cons
too much back-breaking work for almost no money
Was this review helpful?Yes20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON30 May 2016
always providing training
co-workers were great to work with
some unnecessary rules
always end late
too lenient with customers
unfair scheduling
Pros
bonuses
Cons
never close on time, unfair Schedualing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and team
Cashier and Community Donation Centre Ambassador (Former Employee) –  St. Jacobs, ON8 April 2016
It was a great experience working at Value village. The team was great and always encouraging of each other. Everyone always helped each other when needed, and was accepting and helpful for each others strengths and weaknesses.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
value village team
Retail Sales (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON28 April 2016
-great friendly team
-fast work pace, time management, character building
-great management friendly and helpful
-hardest part of the job was unloading carts of cloths in a very short time window
-putting the price tags into the items
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad work environment
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK16 March 2016
Strenuous work, dirty work, working with old moldy clothes with out proper protection. Management always expecting you to exert yourself, and everyone gets pulled down if only certain others are not putting in their share of work.
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
Management, dirty/tiring work
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Box Company...
Store Standards (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON2 July 2016
They treat you like garbage. The hours suck and the people suck. Worst job I have had to date. Interview process sucked as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst placed I've worked
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC6 March 2016
I've done plenty of labor related jobs in the past and I've never worked for a company that cares less about their employees. Minimum wage for production and recycling workers even though its a labor intensive job, lousy benefits and impossible to reach bonus incentives. Raises were laughable and insulting.

There is barely the needed amount of safety precautions in place, hazards are everywhere. Staff is not supplied with all they need to do the job safely and efficiently. Management is hostile and condescending towards staff, favoritism is rampant towards select staff. The work environment is poor and moral is almost never up. Do yourself a favor and don't bother applying for anything related to working with this company.

Best part about the whole job was the steady hours and the few decent staff that worked there.
Pros
Steady Hours
Cons
Low pay, Poor and unsafe work environment, Bullying management
Was this review helpful?Yes30No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job
Production Team Member (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB2 June 2016
High stress job. Lots of employees working in the processing area got to be chaotic at times. Very fast paced to keep up to hight daily quotas.
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON21 March 2016
I definitely enjoyed working at Value Village very much. I got along well with both coworkers and management. I actually miss working there because I loved being a team member and I always had a good time when I worked my shifts. A lot of the customers were very nice, as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working there
Cashier, Sales (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON3 June 2016
loved working with all types of customers, Supervisors are great to work with. I picked up the new cash registers fast. People I worked with are great.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the retail Industry.
Customer Service and Cashiering (Current Employee) –  8930 - 82nd ave16 March 2016
Retail is again one of the best business to get in touch with customers. Building relationship. Challenging somedays. The management where i work at is Excellent.
Pros
Fun workplace, no pressure on you at work.
Cons
Hours of work is limited.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn more about saving money
Front End Manager (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB12 May 2016
> Good to work . Learned about Big brothers and sisters. how to reuse things and save money, pricing, learned about management skills.
Cons
racism with staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Production/processing Room (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK14 March 2016
I enjoyed working production because you are always busy. The
management team is great as well as the co-workers. The customers are the most enjoyable part for me. The hardest part of the job is repetition.
Pros
good hours
Cons
taxing on mind and body
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 December 2015
In a days shift one must handle cash, maintain the store clean,accept donations,solve queries of customers.I learned to handle cash and I learned managerial skills from my managers by observing them at work in how they deal with customers.Co-workers are good.Hardest part of job is standing outside in cold at times to accept donations from customers.Most enjoyable part is the food that sometimes the management provides.Getting proper hours is another problem there.Job working hours are flexible which is very good if you are a student.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thrift Shop
Cashier and customer service representative (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ON14 January 2016
Easy and interesting minimum wage job. Some lack of professionalism. Build rewarding bonds with regular customers. Help non-profits and work for a corporation founded on green mentalities like recycling and reusing.
Pros
Opportunity for job advancement.
Cons
Lack of professionalism and organization within management and team members.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place if you need a job
CDC worker (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK27 May 2016
Its a good place to hone customer service skills. The work isn't very mentally stimulating or difficult, and is easy to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Prodution Worker (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB31 May 2016
Co-workers are great, easy going and easy to get along with.
I don't always agree with how the management runs things but I do as I am told.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people to work with
Recycling team member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 April 2016
The job is fun but the work is too much for the money.
the people make it fun and it has a great working environment but its too much work for little money.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,282 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3