Savers/Value Village

875 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My typical day at Value Village
Assistant Operation Supervisor (Current Employee), Owen Sound, ONNovember 4, 2015
Pros: Bonuses every quarter if sales match, discounts at store level and other stores
Cons: Long hours family life being neglected.
Typical work day would be to open the store get the cash registers balance for the day. Take the prior deposits to the office do daily morning paper work for the previous day. When all is done back to floor to get morning cashier cashed on. Then proceed to the daily tasks of the store making sure that all job tasks are done with staff and customers.
t
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is not as chaotic as you would think.
Production Manager (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONMarch 12, 2013
Pros: great crew of team members, great salary, discounts
Cons: can get a little messy at times
Value Village was a chance to manage a large crew and drive performance standards through strict goal setting and follow up. There is a large responsibility to our customers and to our charitable partners to provide the best quality thrift merchandise at the best value. It was a job i took a great deal of pride in. I managed a great crew of people who were committed to that same vision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice part-time job while studying
Clerk (Former Employee), MonctonMay 12, 2015
Pros: discount at the store, free dessert on special occasion
Cons: short hours
A typical day at work was to be a cashier, help the customer and to clean the store. The job was fun, i had a really good relationship with the management, the co-workers and they enjoyed the work i was doing and was really understanding of my schedule at the university. The hardest part of the job was to manage my work and school at the same time and the most enjoyable part of the job was interactive with the co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oakville, ONApril 2, 2015
Pros: Staff contests ie) wearing Halloween costumes new/old to promote sales.
Cons: Working late especially in the winter months.
Greeted customers in a friendly manner and assisted them with services, I was taught how to process transactions using cash register. When I needed some assistance from management they were close by. I enjoyed working with my co-workers which made my day even more enjoyable to go to work each and everyday! I can't recall a hard part about the job that I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Person/Cashiering
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Surrey, BCDecember 11, 2014
Pros: worked as a team
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day as a sales person at value village would start by me opening my till and helping customers.I would greet them and help them find what they are looking for.My co-workers were very helpful in many ways they were able to answer all my questions and made me feel like I was part of a team.The hardest part of the job was not getting enough hours.I loved this job being as I was able to do alot of customer service and always meeting new people daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically demanding but never boring
Backroom Team Member (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONFebruary 8, 2015
Pros: never boring
Cons: dirty work
Everyday there was something new to do. The job was never the same. Some days extremely stressful and busy, but others incredibly calm and slow. I worked in the back, behind the scenes. Organizing and cleaning all the backstock and loading/unloading the trucks. The hardest part was maintaining all your duties, there was alot for us to handle especially in busy times of the day. The was a big help and everyone boosted eachother up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun work enviroment
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Belleville, ONNovember 16, 2015
Fast paced enviroment with lots of multi-tasking and constant attention to detail. Been shown training methods as well as opening and closing procedures from all levels of management. Very close, friendly and knowledgable staff. Must keep up with sometimes very physical task requirements as well as keeping things organized and supervised properly. Enjoying being able to help customers as well as give back to the community throught our charity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Job
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), winnipeg, ManitobaAugust 18, 2013
Pros: flexible hours, team building, positive environment
Cons: not a lot of room to advance
I had basic cashier and stock duties that involved customer service and taking stock on and off the floor.

It was a positive environment, environmentally conscious, flexible hours, raise every three months, and the staff were always in a good mood.

If you're a student or looking for hours that fit you, this is the perfect place to work - the discount is as great as the experience I had there!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When everybody start singing.
Production Staff (Former Employee), Clark and Venables Vancouver B.C.October 29, 2012
Pros: free coffee, sometimes lunch, christmast party
Cons: sometimes
Our day always start with a short meeting after that we go to our designated station. Working in the office and working physically. The kind of people you deal with. When the daily quota goes higher and higher specially during halloween season. It has to be done with a certain time. The most enjoyable part is during payday and everytime we recieved bonus.And when management recognized a job well done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gossipy Store Managers
CASHIER/PRODUCTION (Former Employee), Sault Ste. Marie, ONOctober 30, 2013
Pros: customers
Cons: management
The tandem of older women running the store were unpredictable and hung out in their own clique. The Managers gossiped about my age being much older than i look, and eventually thought they need employees CASHIERS, terminated me before my probation was over, I had worked production and cash and after a not-work-related shoulder dislocation, I asked if i could do cash, but my next day they said they did need to give a reason for dismissal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldn't recommend it.
Cashier / Clerk (Former Employee), MontrealFebruary 12, 2015
Pros: good coworkers and discount
Cons: inflexible management, your schedule is given at the beginning of the week
It's OK for a first job.
By the end of your first day, you'll want to cry coz your feet are way too sore.
Management was good until they all quit and the company decided to be stricter.
You can't really talk to the customers, coz the manager is staring at you. So you have to interact with customers while putting clothes back on the hangers. Which is quite rude to customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an alright job
Customer service (Former Employee), Belleville, ONMarch 12, 2014
Cons: management
Everyday I would be helping take in donations
and bringing them to the back of the store

I didnt learn much, just how to stack donations the value village way.

Management was horrible at value village. Not a whole lot of communication. none of them got along with each other.

I had very nice co-workers that would help me out lots when needed

The hardest part was dealing with the managers

The enjoyable part was making money and making friends at the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Reciever (Former Employee), Sydney, NSJanuary 26, 2015
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: low wages
Met customers and receiving donations from 1 bag/box to a few truck loads. Stacked them on assigned carts and transported to production area. Management at the store was exceptionally great. Easy place to work for. Co-workers were very knowledgeable and helpful when needed. Hardest part dealing with the low wages trying to support a family of 4 children. Most enjoyable was giving the customers a great experience when coming to the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced And Coworkers Are Great
Lead Donation Ambassador (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: free pizza on sale days
Cons: long hours during busy and short hours during slow season
The best part of the job is meeting interesting people, while either accepting donations at the back or cashing people out.

My coworkers make it a great place to work. Everyone is friendly and we all work together very well.

The most challenging part of the job is when it gets very busy. I've learned better time management skills and to prioritize.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Shipper Receiver/Cashier (Former Employee), Chatham, ONJune 18, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits package.
I worked here for three years.

It was an excellent place to work; as long as you did your job and performed as expected manangement did not hassle you. If you could balance having fun while work and accomplishing your daily quotas it could be a really fun shift!

Most enjoyable part of working at Value Village was getting to see all the things people used to own. Everyday you saw something you'd never seen before!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always fun working with co-workers
Part time sales clerk (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 8, 2012
Pros: having free meals at work site provided by the company
Cons: overtime work hours
*Tuesdays Seniors sales day.
*Learned to use cash machine and learned to scan items or merchandise.
*Always be polite to customers and always call supervisor for difficult customers.
*Friendly co-workers.
*When customers complains about pricing high yet still they buy it.
*Meeting a lot people and having a quick talk while scanning the items they buy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job EVER
Cashier (Former Employee), Kitchener OntarioSeptember 12, 2015
Pros: Coworkers
Cons: Everything else
Horrible place to work. If i could i would rate negative stars. Store manager is a b!tch that doesn't care about anything unless it benifits her. Puts so much pressure on the supervisors therefore supervisors go hard on staff. Every employee there is miserable and all looking for a new job. They claim to promote within. But that's bullsh!t. I witnessed it happen to coworkers. Best thing I did was leave that helľ whole.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Production department (Current Employee), St. Albert, ABJanuary 7, 2015
Pros: nice coworkers
Cons: management
Start the day at 7:30 am going on the floor to clean up and get rid of old stock. Go back to production and start unpacking donations make quota a must or you get told is not good enough is actually never good enough. People quit every day and management is the worst a lot of people leave within days of stating is very dirty and the heat is unbearable. The only good part of this job are the team members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 10, 2013
The most enjoyable part of my job would be working with the customers. It's always a nice feeling to know that you've helped them in some way, especially when you have your regulars come in often looking for you. My co-worker were also very nice and east ro get along with, as for the management team, i find it to be a bit unorganized at times. Other than that this was a good first experience that i felt was needed in order for me to learn and grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Operations team member/Cashier (Former Employee), Oshawa, OntarioApril 1, 2014
I definitely enjoyed working at Value Village, my managers were very accommodating when it came to my school schedule and booking time off. My coworkers were very helpful when I first started working there. I enjoyed being part of a team where we really worked together and helped each other out. Overall my experience was a great one and if I were to go back I would hope for a similar experience.
Claim this company page
Headquarters
Bellevue Washington, United States
Industry
    Links
    Savers/Value Village website