Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 373 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn more about saving money
Front End Manager (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABMay 12, 2016
> Good to work . Learned about Big brothers and sisters. how to reuse things and save money, pricing, learned about management skills.
Cons
racism with staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place if you need a job
CDC worker (Former Employee) –  Regina, SKMay 27, 2016
Its a good place to hone customer service skills. The work isn't very mentally stimulating or difficult, and is easy to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Prodution Worker (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, ABMay 31, 2016
Co-workers are great, easy going and easy to get along with.
I don't always agree with how the management runs things but I do as I am told.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Teamwork
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ONOctober 19, 2014
A typical day consisted of showing up to work on time and not having freedom to do your job right. I often took extra shifts, stayed past my 8 hour shift and worked double my work load when other employees wouldn't show up and never got a raise. I had one amazing supervisor who would allow you to multitask instead of standing around doing nothing at cash. Co-workers often took your shift, but wouldn't show up so you got written up for it, you were promised a certain position and then they gave it to someone else. There was no room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My typical day at Value Village
Assistant Operation Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ONNovember 4, 2015
Typical work day would be to open the store get the cash registers balance for the day. Take the prior deposits to the office do daily morning paper work for the previous day. When all is done back to floor to get morning cashier cashed on. Then proceed to the daily tasks of the store making sure that all job tasks are done with staff and customers.
t
Pros
Bonuses every quarter if sales match, discounts at store level and other stores
Cons
Long hours family life being neglected.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Merchandiser, Customer Service, Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lawrence Ave. EastJuly 9, 2014
If you love finding random stuff like furnitures, house wares, clothing shoes and accessories. This is the right place for you. It's like treasure hunting and working at the same time.

The hardest part of the job is being in a dusty environment and unstable weather workplace. In the winter, you have to really dress warm because they open the garage and the donations door wide open, you're exposed to the cold weather, the air-condition in the summer isn't that great, you feel all dusty and sticky by the end of the shift. Always keep an eye for bed bugs too, you encounter anything in this workplace.

The company is great, with exeptional purpose and give good benefits. Their system towards operation and production is incredibly organize and systemize, the CORE values is great, but the managers made it look so bad and un consistent.
Pros
great company
Cons
managers don't reflect this
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Operations - Victoria store
Operations Clerk - Part-time (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BCNovember 23, 2015
Rude Management - no people skills at all. Some Supervisors extremely lazy and treat staff and customers poorly at the front end. Co-workers fun even though over-worked and lack of motivation. Mgmt won't meet shift requests at all, only if you are a "favourite." This kind of behavior makes all the videos you have to watch a complete joke. Value Village corporation as a whole - very good. Victoria management/supervision - very poor.
Pros
Got some training on cash.
Cons
Poor management and supervision.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not somewhere you really want to be.
Production Team member (Former Employee) –  FlamboroughApril 7, 2014
What started out as a good place to work, became very cold and distrustful. They became obsessed with driving more results, and making more and more money. The whole team suffered because of this. They became more and more uncaring of injuries that were being sustained and telling employees to "just suck it up". They even went so far as to tell a full time employee who sustained a great deal of damage to their leg from having more than 1000lbs fall on them to just suck it up or get out. They cut that employees working hours from 30 (barely legal fulltime) to 15 hours a week. They consistently do not pay their employees appropriate wages for their positions. The only good side to working in that place is the benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting company with excellent values but hard to organized as dependent on public donation
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BCAugust 13, 2013
Arrive check work stations for supplies needed for day of processing.
Check emails for updates from head office.
Work out how much weight needed to meet quota for day.
Poll tills from night before, bid total floats in each till, and in safe.
Start floor maintenance to have room for new items that day.
Prepare for production start and deliveries of donations.
Do floor walk to look for growth opportunities.
Pros
discount purchasing
Cons
salary and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people to work with
Recycling team member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 20, 2016
The job is fun but the work is too much for the money.
the people make it fun and it has a great working environment but its too much work for little money.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people, difficult workload
Sales Clerk / Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 14, 2016
For an entry level retail position the location I work at packed a punch. One person is expected to do five jobs nearly at all times. Customers should always be prioritized but staff members at times forget that due to the pressure of the workload.
Company model is to make all sheduling decisions with a sales vs labour formula. At times this can leave team members frustrated as their hours are cut or they are forced to stay late as their supervisor (who is responsible for the whole store) cannot count their register down until there is coverage.
Customers will always have questions and always demand a service that will not always be available to them in this sort of environment. Customers were often forced to wait to be served due to training and cashiers have little freedom. At times two to four people can be waiting for managerial approval and there is often only one manager in a large location.
This job will keep you fit and your skills sharp until you burn out due to unrealistic expectations.
My sincere advice for the hardworking bee, please work somewhere else for your minimum wage.
This business expects you to excell at everything at all times vs have an area or department of expertise and perform very highly at one thing.
The culture here was very nitpicky both by management and by customers. It seems my entire shift was prioritizing and reprioritizing. Everyone in this building prefers to react to trouble instead of being prepared in advance.
Pros
sales quarter bonuses, free lunches on sale days, christmas draw for prizes, occasional gift certificates, partnering with a local charity
Cons
often having a heavy workload, standing entire shifts, sometimes having to give up holidays, missing breaks and lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun work enviroment
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ONNovember 16, 2015
Fast paced enviroment with lots of multi-tasking and constant attention to detail. Been shown training methods as well as opening and closing procedures from all levels of management. Very close, friendly and knowledgable staff. Must keep up with sometimes very physical task requirements as well as keeping things organized and supervised properly. Enjoying being able to help customers as well as give back to the community throught our charity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value VIllage
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ONSeptember 26, 2015
Would get to work, over look sales and production numbers from previous day, seeing where we had opportunities. Than I would look at the staff schedule working and training the Production Manager to ensure that all targets and metrics were going to be met for that day. I would than follow up on business opportunities within the store (space to sales, floor plans, departments trending down). I would work along side my management staff to help them grow and learn what I had noticed. i would also deal with the day to day functions of the business dealing with all team member relations, hiring and recruiting needs of the store while ensuring a positive customer experience in my store. I would also deal with one on one training and developing, and roll out all practices or policies from head office.
Pros
Able to learn and grow with my company
Cons
Informatin wouldn't get pass down to MGMT in a timily manner
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 5, 2016
working for value village was like working with a family. at least that is the feeling that i got when i was there. i was a cashier and worked in the back. it was sooo much fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast past job
Customer Service/Trainer/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ONFebruary 26, 2016
it a fast past job and different position to learn, it a job that you fill satisfied ,good customer , always something new to discover
Pros
get free lunch on occation
Cons
hrs get cut down in winter time
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Place for Good People
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONSeptember 13, 2015
It starts off as a great place to work. There are quarterly bonuses, lots of staff lunches, breaks every two hours. The first two or three weeks will seem great until management decides if they like you or not. To be good with management you are required to bully other staff members, and kiss managements butts. The store manager at my location was the worst person I have ever met in my life. She allowed not only favouritism, but work place bullying. It soon became a hostile environment for many employees, and the turn over was outrageous. It got to the point that they could not find anyone that wanted to work there, so the employees they did have, were required to work extra quick to make up for the lack of staff. If you are a person with morals or good nature, this is not the place for you.
Pros
Bonus' and Free Lunches
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKMarch 8, 2016
fun to interact with customers. Diversity was encouraged. the best part of the job was pricing the products. it was a great learning experience and fun to organize donation drives.
Pros
free pizza lunch once every week
Cons
long hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Job
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  winnipeg, ManitobaAugust 18, 2013
I had basic cashier and stock duties that involved customer service and taking stock on and off the floor.

It was a positive environment, environmentally conscious, flexible hours, raise every three months, and the staff were always in a good mood.

If you're a student or looking for hours that fit you, this is the perfect place to work - the discount is as great as the experience I had there!
Pros
flexible hours, team building, positive environment
Cons
not a lot of room to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entire store is run well but has some problems in it.
Sales Associate (full-time) (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BCOctober 1, 2015
Typical day -Accepting donation's and helping customers.
- I Learned little to nothing at the job but the procedures.
- Management was constantly in a mess when I was employed there, they kept messing up the schedules &
- My co-workers were friendly and helpful the entire time I was there
- Hardest part of my job was dealing with management.
- I enjoyed the stacking of the donations and greeting, talking with the customers who donated.
Pros
Bonus on check, free lucnhes sometimes, 30/50% off in store items.
Cons
Messy Management, Can't purchase anything on a sale day.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review for working at value village
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSJune 16, 2015
hello i worked as a cashier at value village love meeting new people and got asked to help the customers find what they needed my coworkers were fun to work with we were like one big happy faimly i felt very welcomed in this job the management was good to the place was always clean and tidy we worked together as a team and helped one another with the task we had to do the hardest part of the job was it always had to be cleaned all the time but i enjoyed the challenge the most fun part of the job was helping the customers find outfiits
Pros
friendly people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,058 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Savers/Value Village Reviews by Location