Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 353 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production.
production worker (Former Employee) –  2112 winnipeg mbOctober 28, 2015
I worked here for 2 months before I quit! I have a monotoned face so my supervisors thought I hated the place so they treated me like garbage and constantly wrote me up! So if you're not smiling 24/7 don't expect to have a permanent job! You get written up for the stupidest things, you don't get proper training and are constantly being moved from station to station!
Pros
Direct deposit
Cons
Management and employees
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome coworkers
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BCOctober 24, 2015
Working at Value Village was fun. Lots of great coworkers. Great customers. Never a dull moment. Always something to keep busy with. Customers, putting back clothes. Really looked forward to October. Halloween is Huge with Value Village. Staff allowed to dress up, too.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly workplace
Sales Representative/Customer service(Cashier) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 24, 2015
coworkers are very nice and helpful. Management was not supportive. lost my job because i had to go back for an emergency. they did not take me back in the company even thought i was a very old employee
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an enjoyable place to work
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBOctober 17, 2015
Value Village for a typical day at work would consists of cleaning and assisting customers, allowing you to work different stations and interacting with employees as well as customers.
Pros
Friendly employees, positive atmosphere
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seeking a better opportunity
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg,ManitobaOctober 13, 2015
Friendly and cooperative work environment.
Good to start as a beginner.
However need to get maximum use of knowledge and skills which I posses for better opportunity.
Pros
good and friendlyenvironment for working
Cons
need a better opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NBOctober 8, 2015
Valuable learning,, awesome team, great benefits, enjoyed the challenges of production hitting processing targets and operations reaching sales targets
Pros
great team
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with management and staff.
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBOctober 5, 2015
Savers is a great company they provide good benefits and there is diversity in the workplace, they give trainings to team members with high potential for management and treats employees fair. Salary was not that great when it comes to management positon but ok for starting for management positons.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fun workplace
Bed and Bath pricing (Current Employee) –  Vernon, BCOctober 3, 2015
Friendly and fun workplace.
Exciting work environment
You meet a lot of people
Favourite store for seniors
Tuesday our challenging day
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entire store is run well but has some problems in it.
Sales Associate (full-time) (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BCOctober 1, 2015
Typical day -Accepting donation's and helping customers.
- I Learned little to nothing at the job but the procedures.
- Management was constantly in a mess when I was employed there, they kept messing up the schedules &
- My co-workers were friendly and helpful the entire time I was there
- Hardest part of my job was dealing with management.
- I enjoyed the stacking of the donations and greeting, talking with the customers who donated.
Pros
Bonus on check, free lucnhes sometimes, 30/50% off in store items.
Cons
Messy Management, Can't purchase anything on a sale day.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value VIllage
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ONSeptember 26, 2015
Would get to work, over look sales and production numbers from previous day, seeing where we had opportunities. Than I would look at the staff schedule working and training the Production Manager to ensure that all targets and metrics were going to be met for that day. I would than follow up on business opportunities within the store (space to sales, floor plans, departments trending down). I would work along side my management staff to help them grow and learn what I had noticed. i would also deal with the day to day functions of the business dealing with all team member relations, hiring and recruiting needs of the store while ensuring a positive customer experience in my store. I would also deal with one on one training and developing, and roll out all practices or policies from head office.
Pros
Able to learn and grow with my company
Cons
Informatin wouldn't get pass down to MGMT in a timily manner
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people, and the managment was decent.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABSeptember 24, 2015
Working at Value Village was great, lots of things to do an the people were fantastic. Managers were nice but there were a lot of people in authority and the communication wasn't always the best. Safety was always Key and there were regular meetings on it as well as how the company was doing as an over all.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool job with lots of diversity amongst both its customers and its employees.
Operations Team Member (Former Employee) –  Saint JohnSeptember 21, 2015
Not a bad place to work, got to drive a Uhaul van sometimes as much as twice a week. Felt respected. Felt like I should have been given more opportunities to advance.
Pros
Got to drive uhaul, good health benefits, heavy lifting, organization
Cons
Shifts were sporadic, lack of professionalism in management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn.
Cashier and customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BCSeptember 19, 2015
I found Value Village a great place to learn, the supervisors were very patient with me as I learned new things. I had a blast working halloween as a costume consultant and dressing in crazy costumes. Almost everyone was alot of fun to work with and there was alot of team work.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable workplace
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Prince Albert, SKSeptember 16, 2015
the company was great, great people, great management and overall just a great place to work. I learned a great deal while working there and the other fellow co-workers treated me with respect as I did them.
Pros
Great work hours
Cons
need longer lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Place for Good People
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONSeptember 13, 2015
It starts off as a great place to work. There are quarterly bonuses, lots of staff lunches, breaks every two hours. The first two or three weeks will seem great until management decides if they like you or not. To be good with management you are required to bully other staff members, and kiss managements butts. The store manager at my location was the worst person I have ever met in my life. She allowed not only favouritism, but work place bullying. It soon became a hostile environment for many employees, and the turn over was outrageous. It got to the point that they could not find anyone that wanted to work there, so the employees they did have, were required to work extra quick to make up for the lack of staff. If you are a person with morals or good nature, this is not the place for you.
Pros
Bonus' and Free Lunches
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job EVER
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kitchener OntarioSeptember 12, 2015
Horrible place to work. If i could i would rate negative stars. Store manager is a b!tch that doesn't care about anything unless it benifits her. Puts so much pressure on the supervisors therefore supervisors go hard on staff. Every employee there is miserable and all looking for a new job. They claim to promote within. But that's bullsh!t. I witnessed it happen to coworkers. Best thing I did was leave that helľ whole.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
up's and down's
Sorter, Cashier, Donation Accepter, Recycler (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BCSeptember 12, 2015
I have been thoroughly trained in almost all aspects of the job except management and i can say with certainty that the job has its up's and down's there will be good days and bad days, now you can say that of every job, but some of the downs are a little lower then I would have liked
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry Level, Seasonal work
Costume Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONSeptember 11, 2015
Friendly caring environment, focused on assisting the clients in a clean and friendly environment. I was able to learn skills pertaining to retail, staging, and displays. Management was understanding and fair, never showing favoritism, addressing each employee's needs respectively. I loved to interact with each customer, and assisting them in their unique needs. The most difficult aspect of the position was remembering the total layout of the premises as it changed throughout the season.
Pros
Flexible shifts, Willing to work around university Classes
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work.
Soft goods production staff (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABAugust 29, 2015
No gratitude from the management.
treated like a nothing.
Worst EMPLOYERS EVER.
Health risk, they tell you to smell in the mouldy bags of clothes, and they are very mouldy.
Place is a health hazard.
I would definitely not recommend working for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Job That Never Gets Old
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 25, 2015
Typical day consists of me checking what my task would be, bidding into a register in case of back up or being the main cashier for that day and doing what is expected of me and beyond. I learned that having time management and being quality focused is key in the retail department. Management is usually fair with small mistakes but sometimes not so much. My co-workers are great. Most of them do what they need to do so the whole team is not held up by the end of the night. Ive learned how to deal with the hard customers accordingly and keeping my cool. The most enjoyable part about my job is the customers. Its good and bad depending on the day. I usually have nice and respectful customers that treat the staff and everyone else well.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,002 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Savers/Value Village Reviews by Location