Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 414 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Team Member (Former Employee) –  New Minas, NS18 August 2016
Management has zero respect for the rules and you're treated like a lapdog. Very negative environment and not worthy for anyone. Do not be fooled by the company's donation spiel, it's all a big scam. Work for a company that respects it's policies, this company does not.
Pros
None
Cons
Manipulative, dishonest, unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wilson, ON27 September 2016
Working at Valve Village was okay, didin't really met well with the team but they'er there to help if i needed. Management was fine not everyone knew what their role was, everyone was really jumping around.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Waterdown, ON6 January 2016
Overall, savers was a fun and good company to work for. They had good hours and good pay. Fun staff, and good benefits. Learned many different skills such as cash an fitting rooms. Hardest part was maintaing a clean store, but with a good group we were able to complete all jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first place to get a job
SALES CLERK (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK30 January 2016
Everyone got along with each other, the pay was really well. After 6 months of working there, you would get benefits which was great.
Pros
Friendly, fun
Cons
Staff change constantly
Was this review helpful?Yes3No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I encountered different persons in my workplace, I learned many things that i considered as my experience.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Unicity 3629 Portage Avenue Winnipeg MB R3K 2G630 May 2016
I worked full time at my previous job, funny because lots of joke on break time, i learned how to price the product, sort, check the quality if it is salable or not, management sometimes good, sometimes not because there's a favoritism, co-workers some good some not it is usual in work place, the dusty part because of the dust i got an allergy.
Pros
we have a good relationship and sometimes we have a potluck
Cons
always in time at work
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced, fun
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 April 2016
-Fast paced organizing and rolling merchandise onto the floor.
-I learned how to communicate with all different types of people as well as developed my organization skills.
-Managent was very kind, but I sometimes had difficulty with them giving me the correct work hours in which I was available for.
-All co-workers were very nice and welcoming
-The most difficult part of the job was the fast pace. It took some time getting used to, but eventually I got the hang of it.
-The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to see all of the amazing products that come into the store as well as being able to develop my communication skills.
Pros
Cake once a month
Cons
communication problems with management at times
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very fun place
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC21 June 2016
The management was very disorganized and I did not feel like a valued team member. The training was unprofessional. They had me learn to put clothes away for a bunch of my shifts. I was scheduled for a shift where it's required to wear steel toes without warning me. I got in trouble on my first day of learning cash register because a manager wasn't around to help me learn or watch me.
Pros
50% off clothing
Cons
Poor training and management
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and demanding
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  #380 800 15th St. E, Prince Albert, SK S6V 8E322 May 2016
morning meetings, stretches , setting up rag bins and hanger racks for the morning work and then recycling for the rest of the day

I Learned that teamwork is the key to a successful day of work

Management is the best, they actually go beyond

Co-workers are fun and hard workers

the hardest part of the job is that when a team member is out for the day

the most enjoyable part of my job is that knowing that i make a difference in production
Pros
very demanding, fast days
Cons
very demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team working environment
Team Member--Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK2 July 2016
A fast paced, ever busy environment
Offering a great deal on setting and meeting targets and deadlines
A very supportive management style
Very friendly and motivating co-workers
Managing a sales day seem to me the hardest part of the job
Meeting the targets and deadlines comes with some incentives.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworkers, good cause.
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 August 2016
The people I worked with were friendly and outgoing. The management team listened when we brought things to their attention.
Pros
non profit company, charitable.
Cons
difficult to move up the ladder.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profits driven
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB4 July 2016
Management doesn't care about its employees - no matter what they try to tell you. So long as they're making a profit - employees are safe. Otherwise, the rotating door will continue with employees, whether they be in management for the store, or the grunt workers who work very hard.
Pros
Discounts on products
Cons
Your mental & physical well-being are in jeopardy.
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, easy going environment
Customer Service/General Labour (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON30 March 2016
a typical day at work would be starting out on cash and moving to the back to handle donations to cover the person on break or just be in the back for the whole shift.
I learned that the Canadian Diabetes Association is partner of Value Village
The co-workers were great, easy to get along with, fun and energetic
the management was amazing, never felt uncomfortable going to the manager for help, all members of management were very approachable.
The hardest part of the job was to deny the acceptance of items we couldn't take ex. mattresses, lighters firearms etc.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working the back and seeing what great stuff people would donate to us.
Pros
great area, great staff, great time
Cons
commuting to ajax
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun to work at.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 January 2017
the team members were a fun bunch to work with. Everyone treats you well, very friendly. I enjoyed my time there, and enjoyed helping people find what they were looking for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Retail Job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON13 January 2016
Let me first start this review with a little personality of myself, I'm a very easy man, I don't have high expectations and I don't think to much about things that don't require it. I rated this job as neutral as possible because I knew what I was going into, I knew there was no amazing salary or job security or advancement, my expectations going into this job was it was better than nothing. I have no complaints about Value Village, I could nitpick but that's not my personality.

A typical day at work involved punching in and punching out, going to the working supervisor to see your duties for the day, and you did those duties and whatever else the supervisor needed done for your shift. I don't think I learned to much that can be carried over from job to job. But I do think I grew as a person, I can now help anyone I see in need, I can quickly think on my feet and I'm more outgoing within respect to the workplace.

Management has always been fine and I've never had any problems with them nor have they had any problems with me, they're all great in my eyes regardless of how others see them. My co-workers also go hand in hand with my sentences above for management, they are all great and I have no issues with anyone.

I think the hardest part of my job is either getting every donation inside before the store closes (in the summer it gets insane with the donations) and or the actual process of going to work. Its not a very fulfilling place, as you might imagine its a retail store and eventually you'll want to move on to bigger, better, more interesting things.

My most
  more... enjoyable times at work are 100% caused by the friends I've made there, in no doubt without my co-workers and friends I would of not enjoyed it as much there.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working with the people
Service Crew (Current Employee) –  Sudbury, ON13 January 2017
Have a very nice way of dealing with others that helps in making good customer relations and also helps build the good reputation of the company as a whole.
Pros
Very helpful in
Cons
Short Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  New Minas, NS25 July 2016
Was told that if I didn't want to come in Saturday it was fine. Im a single parent working what was told to me a monday to Friday work week. I spent the weekends that I don't work with my kid. When to work on the monday for the production shift and worked from 8am to 2pm and then was let go all because I didn't call in, when I thought I didn't need too.
Pros
None
Cons
Lack of communication. Lack of respect. Lack of empathy.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive Job with Customers in a Fast Paste Environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB21 December 2016
Typical Day at work:
Cleaning, organizing, helping customers find what they are looking for, count the cashes

What I learned: Reliability skills and patience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people, difficult workload
Sales Clerk / Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 September 2016
For an entry level retail position the location I work at packed a punch. One person is expected to do five jobs nearly at all times. Customers should always be prioritized but staff members at times forget that due to the pressure of the workload.
Company model is to make all sheduling decisions with a sales vs labour formula. At times this can leave team members frustrated as their hours are cut or they are forced to stay late as their supervisor (who is responsible for the whole store) cannot count their register down until there is coverage.
Customers will always have questions and always demand a service that will not always be available to them in this sort of environment. Customers were often forced to wait to be served due to training and cashiers have little freedom. At times two to four people can be waiting for managerial approval and there is often only one manager in a large location.
This job will keep you fit and your skills sharp until you burn out due to unrealistic expectations.
My sincere advice for the hardworking bee, please work somewhere else for your minimum wage.
This business expects you to excell at everything at all times vs have an area or department of expertise and perform very highly at one thing.
The culture here was very nitpicky both by management and by customers. It seems my entire shift was prioritizing and reprioritizing. Everyone in this building prefers to react to trouble instead of being prepared in advance.
Pros
sales quarter bonuses, free lunches on sale days, christmas draw for prizes, occasional gift certificates, partnering with a local charity
Cons
often having a heavy workload, standing entire shifts, sometimes having to give up holidays, missing breaks and lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay starting up place
Production Team Memeber (Current Employee) –  Kanata, ON23 November 2016
Good managers that are understanding, nice co workers, low pay, very dirty atmosphere, people get sick a lot, rude customers, some customers make you feel uncomfortable
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with management and staff.
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 October 2015
Savers is a great company they provide good benefits and there is diversity in the workplace, they give trainings to team members with high potential for management and treats employees fair. Salary was not that great when it comes to management positon but ok for starting for management positons.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,287 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Savers/Value Village Reviews by Location