Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 397 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with management and staff.
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 October 2015
Savers is a great company they provide good benefits and there is diversity in the workplace, they give trainings to team members with high potential for management and treats employees fair. Salary was not that great when it comes to management positon but ok for starting for management positons.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
cashier/ G worker (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON27 May 2016
A typical day at work is I go to my till and I ring people through all day. If I am working G I clean up the floor and fix the hangers.

What I have learned working at value village is that I don't like working retail, I do not enjoy doing on calls either.

My co-workers are very understanding and very talkative.

The hardest part of the job is when people give you a hard time about a price of an item. Working G is just painful, you would walk up and down the same isle for hours fixing the same thing over and over again.

The most enjoyable part of working at value village is making new friends
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work and underpaid
customer service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 May 2016
its hard work your underpaid and no one cares about you. i hated working for the company. i loved the work but always hearing your not meeting the goals all the time and if your group keeps it up you will be fired was not fun. if you missed the goal by 1 or 500 you got told that weekly. I was the only one on my side meeting my goal as i printed my own tags and could see what i was doing every day. I still got this speech.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an alright job
hanger, pricer, tagger, roller, sorter (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC26 February 2016
I worked in production and although the hours were good and I liked getting done work at 4pm every day there were also quite a few things I really disliked about working at Value Village. First off the management was very unorganized and inconsistent. They put me on so many different jobs while I worked there and they worked me to my full potential but didn't pay me a dime extra, even for the more difficult jobs! I didn't feel that was fair. The pay is also horrible. The low pay is the reason why I could not continue working there anymore. it just wasn't even worth getting out of bed in the morning.
Pros
great coworkers
Cons
too much back-breaking work for almost no money
Was this review helpful?Yes17NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool job with lots of diversity amongst both its customers and its employees.
Operations Team Member (Former Employee) –  Saint John21 September 2015
Not a bad place to work, got to drive a Uhaul van sometimes as much as twice a week. Felt respected. Felt like I should have been given more opportunities to advance.
Pros
Got to drive uhaul, good health benefits, heavy lifting, organization
Cons
Shifts were sporadic, lack of professionalism in management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job EVER
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kitchener Ontario12 September 2015
Horrible place to work. If i could i would rate negative stars. Store manager is a b!tch that doesn't care about anything unless it benifits her. Puts so much pressure on the supervisors therefore supervisors go hard on staff. Every employee there is miserable and all looking for a new job. They claim to promote within. But that's bullsh!t. I witnessed it happen to coworkers. Best thing I did was leave that helľ whole.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people, difficult workload
Sales Clerk / Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 September 2016
For an entry level retail position the location I work at packed a punch. One person is expected to do five jobs nearly at all times. Customers should always be prioritized but staff members at times forget that due to the pressure of the workload.
Company model is to make all sheduling decisions with a sales vs labour formula. At times this can leave team members frustrated as their hours are cut or they are forced to stay late as their supervisor (who is responsible for the whole store) cannot count their register down until there is coverage.
Customers will always have questions and always demand a service that will not always be available to them in this sort of environment. Customers were often forced to wait to be served due to training and cashiers have little freedom. At times two to four people can be waiting for managerial approval and there is often only one manager in a large location.
This job will keep you fit and your skills sharp until you burn out due to unrealistic expectations.
My sincere advice for the hardworking bee, please work somewhere else for your minimum wage.
This business expects you to excell at everything at all times vs have an area or department of expertise and perform very highly at one thing.
The culture here was very nitpicky both by management and by customers. It seems my entire shift was prioritizing and reprioritizing. Everyone in this building prefers to react to trouble instead of being prepared in advance.
Pros
sales quarter bonuses, free lunches on sale days, christmas draw for prizes, occasional gift certificates, partnering with a local charity
Cons
often having a heavy workload, standing entire shifts, sometimes having to give up holidays, missing breaks and lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON31 August 2016
Value Village is a very fun place to work and I have learned a lot there, specially how to handle customers when they are unhappy. It is a very challenging job at sales days, and the team members are very friendly and protective.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
NA
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy for summer time
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 August 2016
Good environment, the super manager and great colleagues, good conditions to work, perfect schedule, perfect job for students.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun experience in the workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON8 September 2016
i enjoyed working at value village and i was thankful to gain retail and customer service experience. my coworkers were really geneourus and the staff were friendly.
Pros
great staff
Cons
less hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a Front End Supervisor
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON15 June 2016
My typical day starts in the morning coming to work do the banking deposits and then processing previous days paper work. Count the safe and balance the registers for the coming day store opening.
Make sure cashiers are aware of the coming day activities and that they know when breaks and lunches are. Dealing customers compliants and feedbacks.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay starting up place
Production Team Memeber (Current Employee) –  Kanata, ON23 November 2016
Good managers that are understanding, nice co workers, low pay, very dirty atmosphere, people get sick a lot, rude customers, some customers make you feel uncomfortable
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ordinary place to work for but for a good cause
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK26 June 2016
Customer service experience indeed at value village was nice I made friends there all over company cause is nice as they help Canadian diabetes association .
It was a nice short experience but too much physical work which can make your body tired.
Pros
Free food on sale day
Cons
schedule is not flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in the work place, bad management
SALES CLERK (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON16 July 2016
Fun days
Friendly Employees
Great employee customer interaction
Good hours
Paid breaks
Miss Communication between managers
The most enjoyable part of the job was being on cash
Pros
Friendly Staff
Cons
miss communication in withing the managers
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, demanding work environment
High Potential Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Chatham14 May 2014
Able to dress-up in different costumes and be apart of competitions and even a catwalk, during the peak shopping months of August through October.
Company receives loads of new merchandise daily, there is something for everyone.
Able to change positions to different areas of the store to further knowledge of the business and become an asset to the company.
Management notices work habits and rewards good efforts with more hours leading to full-time employment with benefits.
Management also takes time to listen, train and re-train where necessary
Pros
Employee Discount and Incentives
Cons
Little to no management turnover, no availability for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun team environment with great benefits
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON12 July 2016
My co-workers and meeting interesting and fun customers were the best part of my job.
My day typically consisted of maintaining the store appearance, organizing, hanging, and cashier work.
Pros
Discounted store items
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, not so great management.
PRODUCTION TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON14 January 2014
I worked for value village for 3 months before they let me go without notice the day before my 3 month probation wa suppose to end. My friend was suppose to get a raise for the referral if I lasted that long, go figure. Management here is so disorganized. They complain about not having enough staff then they fire people left, right and centre. I showed up every single day, on time, and even stayed later if needed. They let go a few people who did their job properly and chose to keep people who took time off constantly. For waste your time. Apply up on the mountain.
Pros
Coworkers were fantastic, decent hours, okay pay
Cons
Poorly managed, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful , not a place I would reccomend
Production worker/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC28 February 2014
The job per Se is a great job, interesting to say the least, it's the unethical treatment from management which is deplorable. You are given a high goal to do in your shift, if you can not attain that goal you are threatened with the loss of your job. Considering the nature of the donations that is not always feasible, quite often you are dealing with pure garbage or unacceptable items. Broken dishes, burnt or filthy pots and pans, small appliances that don't work. How ever that is not an acceptable response when questioned as to why you didn't achieve your goal. Most enjoyable aspect of the job was seeing all the neat things come in especially the antiques.
Pros
benefits, paycheque, co workers
Cons
being threatened with the loss of your job if you don't reach your goals
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment but can be stressful
Sales Clerk/Cashier (Current Employee) –  North York, ON4 January 2016
A typical day at work would be providing customer service and performing general maintenance of the merchandises around the sale's floor. I learned how to perform cashiering duties and use a switch board to direct people's calls. The management is very laid-back and sometimes their work ethics can be very unprofessional. My co-workers are very friendly and we often enjoy working with each other. The hardest part of the job would be maintaining the cleanliness of the sale's floor during rush busy times and this sometimes can be very stressful. However, the most enjoyable part of the job is to see all the various unique merchandise being put out to the sales floor as well to provide excellent customer service to the frequent regular shoppers.
Pros
Increase wage every work anniversary
Cons
Dealing sometimes with rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ON5 July 2016
It is difficult sometimes dealing with customers of this magnitude but necessary in progression of your own self interest and respect. It taught me values I thought didn't existed.
Cons
uncertain hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,217 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Savers/Value Village Reviews by Location