Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews in Canada

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seeking a better opportunity
Team Member (Current Employee), Winnipeg,ManitobaOctober 13, 2015
Pros: good and friendlyenvironment for working
Cons: need a better opportunity
Friendly and cooperative work environment.
Good to start as a beginner.
However need to get maximum use of knowledge and skills which I posses for better opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
up's and down's
Sorter, Cashier, Donation Accepter, Recycler (Current Employee), Prince George, BCSeptember 12, 2015
I have been thoroughly trained in almost all aspects of the job except management and i can say with certainty that the job has its up's and down's there will be good days and bad days, now you can say that of every job, but some of the downs are a little lower then I would have liked
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to work at Value Village, even if it was only a 1 week temp
Receiver / Sorter (Temp Placement) (Former Employee), Prince George, BCAugust 6, 2015
Pros: Decent pay. Learning what happens in backroom at Value Village.
Cons: No air conditioning in back room.
Worked in the back room, shipping receiving, sorting through donations, cleaning and maintaining work area.
Worked out on floor and organized books and other donations on sales floor and keeping place clean and tidy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front end cashier sales associate
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 5, 2015
Pros: Some fun co-workers to go through the war with
Cons: everything
your basically treating straight up rude, smelly, senseless people like royalty here. They come everyday to complain, and create a MESS like no other. So your job is to deal deal with stupidity and rudeness and clean up after their destructive trail. For some reason people dont realize this is a THRIFT store that sells 95% USED items, and 5% might be brand new, so basically if there is ANY defects like a small pencil size mark, a thread is loose, a almost unnoticeable stain.. ANYTHING... they want a discount because they expect everything to be brand new mint condition. Not only that, value village has rules for no reason, rules are bended constantly for these customers because when they hear "sorry we can't do that", it's a fight. Management is stupid as well, on top of that lazy and slow. They have no problem making people do 500 jobs and just watch while things are too much, like can you help instead of just standing there telling people to move faster? We only can do so much when we are up against senseless shoppers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONDecember 9, 2015
I loved working for value village, the only reason i left was because i wasnt getting enough hours to make ends meet. i have absolutely nothing bad to say about this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide good hours and benifits
Production Team Member (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 27, 2015
The schedule is good for people with children. Overall it is hard work with a small wage. The work is based on a daily quota so it is a lot of fast paced repetitive work. There are quarterly bonuses based on sales and a Christmas bonus. After one year employees receive two weeks vacation. The busiest time of year is Halloween and you will be expected to work some Saturdays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable workplace
Production Worker (Current Employee), Prince Albert, SKSeptember 16, 2015
Pros: Great work hours
Cons: need longer lunch breaks
the company was great, great people, great management and overall just a great place to work. I learned a great deal while working there and the other fellow co-workers treated me with respect as I did them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Current Employee), Windsor, ONJanuary 10, 2016
Value Village is not a bad place to work at but the employees and managers make the place look bad. Customers make you hate your job sometimes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced working environment with nice co workers
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBJuly 13, 2015
Pros: free lunch on sale days, nice co workers
Cons: not enough hours
Value Village is a great place to work. A typical work day would be cleaning the sales floor, organizing the fitting rooms and putting clothes back on the floor, putting items back in their correct spots, and ringing customers through your till.
The hardest part is keeping the floor clean when the store is busy.
Only bad thing really is how one week you get a lot of hours, and the next week you hardly get any.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work.
Soft goods production staff (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABAugust 29, 2015
No gratitude from the management.
treated like a nothing.
Worst EMPLOYERS EVER.
Health risk, they tell you to smell in the mouldy bags of clothes, and they are very mouldy.
Place is a health hazard.
I would definitely not recommend working for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, friendly place to work with a strive for daily excellent customer satisfaction
Sales Clerk (Current Employee), Kingston, ONDecember 5, 2015
Pros: I get along with everyone that I work with, I have been praised for my work by both my managers and customers
Cons: Not getting hours, not all employees do their fair share of the work
A typical day of work would include getting assigned a cash register for the day. My first 2 hours of my shift would be spent on cash. I would say the most enjoyable and hardest part of my job is talking to the customers. I love talking to people from all walks of life. I learn new things from my customers on a daily basis. I like complementing them on their purchases. Sometimes making a simple compliment can make anybody's day. On the other hand, some customers can be a real handful. They easily can get upset if their coupons have expired or they don't like the prices. I have learned patience while dealing with these customers. There is no sense making the situation worse by getting frustrated. I calmly talk to them and if the situation gets worse then I simply call a manager. The management is wonderful. They treat the employees well and back them up when an unpleasant situation arises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
employee (Former Employee), edmonton, ABJuly 28, 2015
Pros: ?
Cons: on-call shift (you have to call them so not paid if they dont need you), for closing shifts you have to stay an hour later. Store really disgusting and unsanitary.
from my experience, employees are really nice, there's always something to do, but always the 3-4 same tasks over and over.
although only two of the managers are nice and the other ones are really rude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice treats every Friday
Cashier (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKNovember 29, 2015
Fun place to work, especially during Halloween and Christmas. People are friendly and you build relationships with regular customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review for working at value village
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Halifax, NSJune 16, 2015
Pros: friendly people
Cons: long hours
hello i worked as a cashier at value village love meeting new people and got asked to help the customers find what they needed my coworkers were fun to work with we were like one big happy faimly i felt very welcomed in this job the management was good to the place was always clean and tidy we worked together as a team and helped one another with the task we had to do the hardest part of the job was it always had to be cleaned all the time but i enjoyed the challenge the most fun part of the job was helping the customers find outfiits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place To Work
Production Worker (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONAugust 12, 2015
Pros: Fun workplace and co-workers, relatively simple work
Cons: Felt like work was waste of time sometimes, was too far from my home personally
Typical day to day at Savers I would organize the store floor for customer use after we opened. We would sort everything into colour block and where the item belonged in categories (towels, blankets, etc), then I would help in the back until I went home at 11 as I worked part time.

Working at Savers was pretty awesome, other than the incredibly long bus ride to and from work and after a while it felt like my work was a waste of time. We would clean the store and not two hours later customers would come in a destroy it.

Not a place to work if you don't like getting your hands dirty. It's not uncommon to open up bags of garbage in the bag while sorting through donated things.

My co-workers and managers were always really nice but in the end I ended up quitting because of finding something closer to home as the Value Village I worked at was way out of my way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team
Store Manager (Current Employee), Saint John, NBOctober 8, 2015
Pros: great team
Cons: none
Valuable learning,, awesome team, great benefits, enjoyed the challenges of production hitting processing targets and operations reaching sales targets
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team, pretty easy work, your typical retail experience
Front End Cashier (Current Employee), Ottawa East, ONFebruary 10, 2016
Pros: Good management, room for promotion, easy work
Cons: Typical retail experience of dealing with bad customers, take the brunt of customer anger
I work in operations, the team that manages the front of the store.

It's your typical retail job; working the cash, cleaning up after customers, hanging clothes, etc. You get the occasional grumpy, messy customers who push your buttons but that's any retail job. Value Village is no different. It's pretty easy work.

Pay is good, starts at minimum and every year depending on how you do you get a bonus (a fairly good one if you've been a good employee.) Full time (32 hours a week or more) get benefits which is nice. Upward movement is an option if you're a solid employee.The location I work at have pretty good management. Not many complaints.

My only issue is with the consistency of the rules and pricing. A lot of the times managers will break 90% of the rules to please customers resulting in a lot of that "if you scream loud enough at the cashier you get what you want" mentality from the return customers. You say no (because it's your job to) and then they scream and the manager says yes to appease them.

Be prepared for constant price haggling and price checks. All in all, good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace environment
team member/sales associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 10, 2015
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: late hours during halloween
-flexible hours
-There's usually something to do so you don't get bored
-Great team members
-Cool benefits
-Hardest part is working at the donation center and having to lift really heavy furniture if no one else is able to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
price chopper
Production/Customer Service (Former Employee), Whitby, ONJune 20, 2015
i liked this job because it taught me all my vegetables and fruits at a young age of 15 16 years old and how to trim or cut or store them
i also learned a good amount of my costumer service skills from working here because people all like there food a certain way always have to keep people satisfied with the food they are eating
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fun workplace
Bed and Bath pricing (Current Employee), Vernon, BCOctober 3, 2015
Friendly and fun workplace.
Exciting work environment
You meet a lot of people
Favourite store for seniors
Tuesday our challenging day
Claim this company page
Headquarters
Bellevue Washington, United States
Links
Savers/Value Village website