Savers/Value Village

880 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast pace enviornment that helps people buy garments or house hold items at reasonable prices
CDC (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABApril 15, 2013
Pros: inbetween school and home
Cons: working till 9 at night
I would get to work and start off collecting a donation or cleaning the back and front of the store, sorting through donations, weighing donations on carts, casually pricing donations, helping customers and I casually worked till. I learned how to work in a large company with multiple co-workers. My co-workers were awesome, I made so many awesoem friends at Value Village. The hardest part working at Value Village was working till 9 on school nights and the most enjoyable part of the job was all the AWESOME people I met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cashier/Producation (Former Employee), Windsor, ONJuly 18, 2012
Working for Value Village was fun. I started off as working as a cashier, working with customers and having a lot of fun. During Halloween season I would be in charge of the whole department which was a lot fun helping people design a costume. I had then moved to the back production area, which is were everything happens. I was in charge of running the forklift, unloading trucks as they came in, and clearing and cleaning the area in the back. I had then transfer to a new store they were opening in Leamington and helped with the training of each and every employee for the production area. Everyone there got along very well and we all worked really well together helping when we needed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review for working at value village
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Halifax, NSJune 16, 2015
Pros: friendly people
Cons: long hours
hello i worked as a cashier at value village love meeting new people and got asked to help the customers find what they needed my coworkers were fun to work with we were like one big happy faimly i felt very welcomed in this job the management was good to the place was always clean and tidy we worked together as a team and helped one another with the task we had to do the hardest part of the job was it always had to be cleaned all the time but i enjoyed the challenge the most fun part of the job was helping the customers find outfiits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Production (Former Employee), Chatham OntarioMarch 6, 2013
Pros: steady days/shifts, free lunch on sale days.
Cons: dirty/dusty, rude management, strict timelines, rude co-workers.
Worked in the production backroom area, and sorted through customer donations. Had one production manager(who was never there), and an assistant that ran around like her head was cut off. Co-workers were two-faced and always had gossip about other employees, hardest part dealing with bed bugs(which management did nothing about), soiled clothing, rotten food/garbage/moldy clothes, no air ventilation and very dusty. One enjoyable thing was the Monday-Friday day shift steady hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Markham and 14thMay 13, 2015
Pros: Employees were very friendly
Cons: Some people gave really dirty things that smelt horrible
Before i started working at value village i thought the clothes that people donated were given to people in Africa for free because they don't have the money to buy new ones. After working there for a bit i realized that the clothes that they ship to Africa aren't donated their also sold there. When people go donate their clothes they think that its going to the poor and going to be given to them becasue they have minimal things. Some people who have generous hearts give some of things that they never wore thinking its going to a good cause Value village just resells the new goods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entire store is run well but has some problems in it.
Sales Associate (full-time) (Former Employee), Penticton, BCOctober 1, 2015
Pros: Bonus on check, free lucnhes sometimes, 30/50% off in store items.
Cons: Messy Management, Can't purchase anything on a sale day.
Typical day -Accepting donation's and helping customers.
- I Learned little to nothing at the job but the procedures.
- Management was constantly in a mess when I was employed there, they kept messing up the schedules &
- My co-workers were friendly and helpful the entire time I was there
- Hardest part of my job was dealing with management.
- I enjoyed the stacking of the donations and greeting, talking with the customers who donated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff is very nice to work with
Production Worker (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCNovember 25, 2015
Overall, not too bad. It's mostly about working with your fellow employees and they are all good. We help each other, get the job done and handle the stressors together that comes in every day.

Sometimes if we did a good quota, we got to go home earlier, and of course, everyone liked that.

The hardest part of the job is hauling out the clothing racks. The wheels are small and they are constantly clogged with thread and dust and dirt, which made it very hard to pull the racks around the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced working environment with nice co workers
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBJuly 13, 2015
Pros: free lunch on sale days, nice co workers
Cons: not enough hours
Value Village is a great place to work. A typical work day would be cleaning the sales floor, organizing the fitting rooms and putting clothes back on the floor, putting items back in their correct spots, and ringing customers through your till.
The hardest part is keeping the floor clean when the store is busy.
Only bad thing really is how one week you get a lot of hours, and the next week you hardly get any.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oakville, ONApril 2, 2015
Pros: Staff contests ie) wearing Halloween costumes new/old to promote sales.
Cons: Working late especially in the winter months.
Greeted customers in a friendly manner and assisted them with services, I was taught how to process transactions using cash register. When I needed some assistance from management they were close by. I enjoyed working with my co-workers which made my day even more enjoyable to go to work each and everyday! I can't recall a hard part about the job that I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Person/Cashiering
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Surrey, BCDecember 11, 2014
Pros: worked as a team
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day as a sales person at value village would start by me opening my till and helping customers.I would greet them and help them find what they are looking for.My co-workers were very helpful in many ways they were able to answer all my questions and made me feel like I was part of a team.The hardest part of the job was not getting enough hours.I loved this job being as I was able to do alot of customer service and always meeting new people daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong working and helpfull job
Production assistant (Former Employee), North Bay, ONApril 16, 2013
Pros: lots of customers
Cons: quiet workplace at nightime
A typical day at work would start off with a meeting and coffee between all team members. As we finished we would then get to work and help customers.My co-workers were always happy and making Value village a great place to work. There were no hard parts to the job only easy parts that's actually what i found to be most enjoyable about the job as well. Management wasn't bad apart from the manager almost never being there to help with product management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, fast paced work environtment.
Material Handler/OSD attendant (Former Employee), North Bay, ONFebruary 18, 2015
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: hours fluctuated way too much
Working at Value Village was a good experience, for the most part. My co workers were easy to get along with a friendly. Management was also easy to get a long with but at times it seemed like they didn't listen to the employees. I enjoyed the work itself. Moving donations from the door to the sales floor was easy work for me and it kept me busy. The toughest part was trying to figure out a temporary solution to some problems while management was trying to work out a permanent solution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 10, 2013
The most enjoyable part of my job would be working with the customers. It's always a nice feeling to know that you've helped them in some way, especially when you have your regulars come in often looking for you. My co-worker were also very nice and east ro get along with, as for the management team, i find it to be a bit unorganized at times. Other than that this was a good first experience that i felt was needed in order for me to learn and grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting company with excellent values but hard to organized as dependent on public donation
Production Supervisor (Current Employee), Kamloops, BCAugust 13, 2013
Pros: discount purchasing
Cons: salary and long hours
Arrive check work stations for supplies needed for day of processing.
Check emails for updates from head office.
Work out how much weight needed to meet quota for day.
Poll tills from night before, bid total floats in each till, and in safe.
Start floor maintenance to have room for new items that day.
Prepare for production start and deliveries of donations.
Do floor walk to look for growth opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced, family environment.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Prince George, BCDecember 18, 2012
Pros: yes free lunches...
Cons: not enough hours
Start on time, say hi to everyone as i walk into work, I learn alot about people on how ther day is going and what they do that day, and every day is different, management is great and helpful, co-workers are the best, i get along great with everyone. I would say the hardest part of the job is trying to do 3 jobs at once when short staff... I like getting called in for extra hours...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Team Member (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 29, 2015
In a days shift one must handle cash, maintain the store clean,accept donations,solve queries of customers.I learned to handle cash and I learned managerial skills from my managers by observing them at work in how they deal with customers.Co-workers are good.Hardest part of job is standing outside in cold at times to accept donations from customers.Most enjoyable part is the food that sometimes the management provides.Getting proper hours is another problem there.Job working hours are flexible which is very good if you are a student.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Operations - Victoria store
Operations Clerk - Part-time (Former Employee), Victoria, BCNovember 23, 2015
Pros: Got some training on cash.
Cons: Poor management and supervision.
Rude Management - no people skills at all. Some Supervisors extremely lazy and treat staff and customers poorly at the front end. Co-workers fun even though over-worked and lack of motivation. Mgmt won't meet shift requests at all, only if you are a "favourite." This kind of behavior makes all the videos you have to watch a complete joke. Value Village corporation as a whole - very good. Victoria management/supervision - very poor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job EVER
Cashier (Former Employee), Kitchener OntarioSeptember 12, 2015
Pros: Coworkers
Cons: Everything else
Horrible place to work. If i could i would rate negative stars. Store manager is a b!tch that doesn't care about anything unless it benifits her. Puts so much pressure on the supervisors therefore supervisors go hard on staff. Every employee there is miserable and all looking for a new job. They claim to promote within. But that's bullsh!t. I witnessed it happen to coworkers. Best thing I did was leave that helľ whole.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCAugust 31, 2012
Pros: working with customers
Cons: getting propane sprayed all over me
at shell i learned many things i was a gas jockey propane attendent cashier and lotto attendent. doing this gave me the experience on 2 different till systems a propane certificate and a lotto certificate. the hardest part of my job was learning the saftey involved with the propane. My coworkers were a very friendly bunch and I enjoyed working with them emensly. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with the public i am a people person and enjoy nothing more then being able to associate with others
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My typical day at Value Village
Assistant Operation Supervisor (Current Employee), Owen Sound, ONNovember 4, 2015
Pros: Bonuses every quarter if sales match, discounts at store level and other stores
Cons: Long hours family life being neglected.
Typical work day would be to open the store get the cash registers balance for the day. Take the prior deposits to the office do daily morning paper work for the previous day. When all is done back to floor to get morning cashier cashed on. Then proceed to the daily tasks of the store making sure that all job tasks are done with staff and customers.
t
Claim this company page
Headquarters
Bellevue Washington, United States
Industry
    Links
    Savers/Value Village website