Find companies:
Savers/Value Village
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
467 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting workplace
Bagger, Roller, Priced, Trainer (Former Employee), guelph ontarioSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: ignorant employees
a typical day at work would include bringing stock to the floor a not so typical day would include a birthday cake for a fellow employee.

i learned that there is much more to this store then what you see on the floor.

the hardest part was leaving my past job there, i liked it alot.

my co-workers were interesting i enjoyed being around most of them.

management – more... was finnicky there were quite a few transfers and one of them always expected us to have enough donations for quota which i thought was unfair due to the fact that employees can only tell so many people to donate as well that we as employees do not control what comes in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My current employment
Production worker (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 10, 2013
I only work part time right now and I need something else part time. or another position full time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun I really enjoyed it
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Northern AvenueAugust 25, 2013
Change of management occurred and so did staff members, I enjoyed it sales, stocking shelves, assisting customers, announcements to customer in store
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Job
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), winnipeg, ManitobaAugust 18, 2013
Pros: flexible hours, team building, positive environment
Cons: not a lot of room to advance
I had basic cashier and stock duties that involved customer service and taking stock on and off the floor.

It was a positive environment, environmentally conscious, flexible hours, raise every three months, and the staff were always in a good mood.

If you're a student or looking for hours that fit you, this is the perfect place to work - the discount – more... is as great as the experience I had there! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting company with excellent values but hard to organized as dependent on public donation
Production Supervisor (Current Employee), Kamloops, BCAugust 13, 2013
Pros: discount purchasing
Cons: salary and long hours
Arrive check work stations for supplies needed for day of processing.
Check emails for updates from head office.
Work out how much weight needed to meet quota for day.
Poll tills from night before, bid total floats in each till, and in safe.
Start floor maintenance to have room for new items that day.
Prepare for production start and deliveries of donations.
Do – more... floor walk to look for growth opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced- Fun
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), barrieAugust 7, 2013
Pros: on my feet
I quite enjoyed my time at Value Village, as I made some friends, and Iwas on my feet all day, the hours varied, and they would change it up almost every shift so you weren't a main cashier every night, or a cdc every night, my favourite part of value village was being able to interact with customers no matter where i was on shift, i enjoy talking to – more... customers alot, and helping them with costumes, or gift ideas for grandkids, etc, the hardest part of the job was the cdc's but that's because i have no muscle to lift heavy bags, or boxes, but that was my favourite place to be stationed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty, ran down building
Operations/Production Worker (Former Employee), London, ONJuly 30, 2013
Pros: employee discount
Cons: dirty, always dusty, dead animals in walls, lunch room in basement
The store I worked at went through at least 10 different managers during my time there. Not much for advancement. Found dead animals in the walls.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting stuff and good hours
pricer (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONJuly 22, 2013
Pros: hours
Cons: poor employee moral
went threw three store managers in a year
made min wage had increasing quotas placed on us
advertised values different from actual values
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2 star
Production worker (Former Employee), Windsor, ONJuly 19, 2013
Typical day of work was sorting used cloths, nothing to be exited about. I din not learned anything.
Job was only temporary.
Co-workers were ok.
Managment not ok
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It had its moments
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), North York, ONJuly 17, 2013
Pros: i got paid
Cons: many workers unhappy but, that is the path happiness
It's work, you get paid on time.
I learned many things about myself and others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier/ customer service
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 11, 2013
stocked shelves with items .. assisted customers with locateing merchandise in the store... cleaned isles
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), london ontarioJuly 4, 2013
Pros: bbq
Cons: closing then opening
very good company to work for, training is good, they really invest in you
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fairly busy work place
Operations worker (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJuly 2, 2013
work days vary each day, co-workers were sometimes very helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to learn about the Retail Sector
Production Assistant (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJune 3, 2013
Pros: the core values of the company
if you are interested in part time work, Value Village is a good place to work for as you are helping conserve the environment and the company also pays local charities which helps them intrun carry on important and valuable work for their communities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good intention, hidden process
Team Member - Front Store (Former Employee), Metro Vancouver/Fraser Valley, BCJune 1, 2013
Pros: schedule flexibility, approachable management/coworkers, benefits, charity business, discount
Cons: repetitiveness, heavy lifting, micromanagement, sanitation, throw-away policy, 48h policy, expensive price-point.
I liked the motto Savers/VV works behind. However, despite the premise of reusing and reducing, more does go straight into a compactor. In fact, if something were mildly scratched or even just a waste of space to put on the floor it would be thrown away. Virtually, we served as a free trash disposal for the general public (and people often abused it). – more... Expect heavy lifting and constant movement.

Although I only worked for a short period (during the summer in between school terms), I could see someone easily getting physically sick by directly dealing with the merchandise. All items are donated at random and not washed before put out (sometimes steam dried). If you are visibly male, you'll most likely be an OSD attendant (directly handling donations off the street), if female you'll be put on cash. This was for front store, but I noticed it to be a constant regardless of your preference.

Management could be difficult at times but generally very accommodating to scheduling and approachable. Your breaks are scheduled for you, and expect to announce them over PA. I also noticed their prices have significantly rose over the past few years, which you're sure to hear complaints about.

In positive regards, the atmosphere was light-hearted. Co-workers were pleasant to work with, the job was relatively straight forward and you were often recognized for your efforts. Benefits were awesome for full-time employees and your first week is entirely paid training, slowly enabling you into your full day's work - I loved that. You get a 50% discount on merchandise that's been out for 48h on the floor and for the most part you're working for charities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treasure Hunting For The Descerning Shoppers
Assistant Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONMay 29, 2013
Pros: cost effictive bennifits for full time staff.
Cons: high turn over
Value village aids the community through recycling and aids the Canadian Diabetes Society. It was a fun place to work with a cheery staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and hard work
Pricer (Former Employee), Abbotsford, BCMay 13, 2013
Pros: free chistmas dinners with prizes
Cons: management
Loved working their. My co-workers were very nice. Management was sometimes hard to deal with but I always had a smile. I learned about how quotas and sales reflect on company sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good place to work
Production worker/Supervisor (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONMay 1, 2013
was a greatplace to work until you get management in there that wants to change evrything when nothing was wrong and doesn't like it when you can do your job without asking lots of questions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More goes in the garbage than one might believe
Sorter (Former Employee), Windsor, ONApril 30, 2013
A typical day for those that worked in the back of the store involves opening donation boxes/bags and sorting through the items to find the "sellable" goods. Often managers would be much pressure on us to sort faster, their thought was that by doing so there would be a greater amount of sellable items. Despite this we cannot control what is donated – more... or the condition it comes in. The standards set in many employees' options were extreme and ridiculous. Unless the item was in near perfect or brand new condition it often went in the trash much to the unknowing and unsuspecting persons that donated.The backroom was often filled with dust and debris making the conditions something to get use to. Policies there changed often but not always for the better and many employees were quite disgruntled, understandably. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place and staff
Cashier (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, ONApril 28, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
A typical day at Value Village, that would consist of going in in the morning and sweeping, empty garbages, and get the store ready for shopping. I have learned many new things there, such as dealing with customers, and their needs, for making their shopping experiance more enjoyable and remembering that a happy customer is a good customer. The managment – more... and my co-workers are great people, we all work as a team as well as a family to get things accommplished. I dont think i have found a hard part of the job yet as any and every new thing is a challenge and a learning experince that i enjoy, always looking to learn new things. I love meeting new people that come into the store and helping them in every way possible. If they leave our store happy then I know i have done my job and i am satisfied. – less

About Savers/Value Village

Savers is no ordinary thrift store. As a leader and pioneer in the retail thrift industry, we're a place where people from all – Read more

Savers/Value Village Photos