Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 520 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different things to see
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON18 April 2017
You see tons of different things coming out on the floor everyday, and get to work cash, or on the line bringing the clothes out onto the sales floor!
Pros
friendly customers
Cons
working with used clothing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
few
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  ancaster14 April 2017
funny team work environment and enjoyable place you ever experience everyone is welcoming and acceptable place a place you can call your second home to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company ! Current Manger is archaic in management style and does not value his managemet team
Retail Sales Manager .Operations Head (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON, Waterdown On7 April 2017
I have worked for this company for six years and have now been transferred and at my new location for almost a year do to a lateral move withing the company . I have not enjoyed working for my current store manager . His management style of micro managing and old school technique of negative reinforcement creates a highly stressful atmosphere .
Pros
bonus opportunities
Cons
extreme micro managing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Friendly Emvironment
Cashier/Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  London, ON5 April 2017
Great team environment. Everyone is supportive. Good work/life balance. A few issues with upper management. Fun team building events. Great staff discount.
Pros
Great Discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Cashier And Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  Ontario4 April 2017
Value village is a friendly place to work in.
Managers are friendly and understanding.
I love working with them.
It's a workplace that gives you the feeling that you will always have the opportunity to develop and grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Standard Operating Procedure
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 April 2017
While working there, the warehouse production managers were so obtuse. The price that they want us to put were not worthy to on those donated items that we're going to sell.

So may hazardous spots like boxes behind you that could fall and objects on the floor.

(But it was before. I hope that they change)
Cons
very dirty environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and productive workplace. Always room for opportunity.
Retail sales manager IT (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON31 March 2017
In a typical day, there is always review with the SM, as to what is needed to be done for that day, along with upcoming deadlines. there is planning and focus needed to organize the day, around break coverage, or meetings scheduled. then the execution of the daily plans. Through the ISM, our weekly sales plan, there needs to be planning and thought put into it. Any product that is on sale, that is not placed in the proper setting throughout the store can negatively affect your sales goals. there is always opportunity for movement of product through the store. Being in the " Hard lines" part of the store, organization is a must. Signage must be checked or changed daily, for weekly sales, or daily deals. Motivating the team to stay focused and lending help when needed is always a must. the team we have in the store makes for a positive atmosphere. We always have fun, and try to keep it more of a family as a work place. we like everyone to feel comfortable coming to work.
Pros
more like a family
Cons
Store closing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with my co-workers and giving the best customer service to our customers.
P/T Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON29 March 2017
I love working in our store. I get to know a lot of people and most of our customer knows me. I like the management too and how they have flexible hours suited for a student like me. They are approachable and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON28 March 2017
very unprofessional and disorganized. Management are not very helpful and are rude and inconsiderate. worst working experience of my life. They make you feel like your wanted then turn around and dont even tell you that you were let go and not needed.
Pros
50% off clothing
Cons
horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company for Students
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC27 March 2017
Value Village was very accommodating to my schedule as a student, numerous promotions are possible if you have the drive and display a specific skill set.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place but very productive
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK22 March 2017
Always something to be done, never sitting around. Lots of hands on working, so much inspiration and commitment from that place. Overall a wonderful work environment.
Pros
Family like people
Cons
Lots of hands on work like lifting and walking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Workplace
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON14 March 2017
Management is average, the people there are friendly and helpful. Typical days on Tuesdays are one of the busiest because of senior day which means that senior above the age of 60+ get 30% off. I learned so far to manage customers who are in help with something and learned to manage the cash register as a cashier.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some fun ppl others are snakes
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB14 March 2017
Dust is a major factor for this job and the unrealestic expectations they have set out for the oks and production gossip everywere ppl talking ish behind others backs dry snitches evey were theres favorites most staff dont care there making 12 a hr they care more about chocolet and treats alot of two face action
Complaints about small things chose to quit and walk away worst job ever had in my employment hostory
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Everything about this place
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in paradise
Production Team Member (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB8 March 2017
Start time is at 7:30 and you finish at 4. There are 3 breaks. The store needs to be cleaned out before it opens up, that is part of my job. After we process donations, and determine if the item is sell able or not. The hardest part of y job is the dust, and how dirty it is. The fun part is the customers and some co-workers are fun and enjoyable to be around.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
long list
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managment doesn't have a clue
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON8 March 2017
they have unreasonable speed expectations if you are in production. very dirty place to work, you are often given household garbage because the Canadian diabetes association don't check the bags before picking them up from the curb.
Pros
cake day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 March 2017
Good people to work with, under .50 wage increase per 1/yr. Not enough pay for the physical work they require, the work will eventually take it's toll on your body, back especially. During quiet season expect to loose hours as well.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Poor pay/wage increases, physical work, hours cut during quiet season
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working here and I really liked helping the people.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  cambridge ontario7 March 2017
I really like working here and I really liked helping the people.But the last few months that I was there we got a new manager and he was very verbally abusive. So I could take no more and decided to leave. I was there for almost 8 years.
Pros
Close to home and working with people.
Cons
verbal abuse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a satisfactory student job
Production Team Member (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON6 March 2017
The job itself is good, and it is sufficient for a student. I'm looking for something that is more engaging and something that pays more, and am definitely willing to work hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Team member (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS4 March 2017
A good place to work and get to know people, as the store is big you get to move around quite a bit and that if you're on the floor you would be moving between the stacks arranging the dresses and items because it tends to get messy, otherwise a good place to work and go shopping
Pros
don't know
Cons
don't know
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Team members are what kept me there for so long.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 March 2017
At Value Village the team members are what kept me there we all got along so great and became so close. I would often not like going to work but when i got there my mood would quickly change because i was basically going to see my friends. The managers will push you to do soo much work and it's not fair. They would hire little people so that they meet the bonus and work us out. Where i worked no one really liked our managers because they acted as if they owned us which they do but over working us wasn't cool. My schedule was Friday, Sat, Sun, Monday & Tuesday and i was only 16 and it was too much i would ask for less hours but would still receive the same amount. Also when you work there your hands will smell so bad after a shift and your clothes would smell funny too. Sometimes the managers were cool though.
Pros
Bonus, cool team members
Cons
Not reasonable hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers/Value Village. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,608 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3