Find companies:
Savers/Value Village
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
748 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and hard work
Production Team Member (Current Employee), Newmarket, ONJanuary 21, 2015
Pros: sale day lunches, very friendly people, good managment
Cons: not enough money, can be very demanding
you have to work fast and keep up, high quotas not enough time to fill them, gives you help when you don't need it but doesn't when you do need it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at Work
Human Resource Team Member (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 20, 2015
Pros: the store discount, great management team, flexible hours
Cons: slow to advance up the ladder
I really value the tricks of the trade i learnt here from my supervisor. One thing i will always remember...." Its not what you do...its all about how you do it. That's what differentiates you."
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Merchandise Processor (Current Employee), Kingston, ONJanuary 13, 2015
Everyone is very friendly.
Customers are sweet and kind.
Very fast pace
Great hours and benefits
Could be a couple changes with current set up of work area, but other than that love working for Value Village and glad I've got given the chance to work for such a great team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Production department (Current Employee), St. Albert, ABJanuary 7, 2015
Pros: nice coworkers
Cons: management
Start the day at 7:30 am going on the floor to clean up and get rid of old stock. Go back to production and start unpacking donations make quota a must or you get told is not good enough is actually never good enough. People quit every day and management is the worst a lot of people leave within days of stating is very dirty and the heat is unbearable. The only good part of this job are the team members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exceptional staff, great place to work
OSD Ambassador/Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Victoria, BCJanuary 7, 2015
The place is great!
Sale days are super busy and exciting
They help the surrounding community
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Job
Material Handler (Current Employee), Whitby, ONJanuary 5, 2015
Pros: free lunches
Great place to work! The management team is easy to work with and takes the time to understand you. The most enjoyable part of Value Village is working with all these great people and delevoping friendships with them that will last a live time. I would recommend working here to anyone who wants to advance in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced job
supervisor (Current Employee), BurnabyJanuary 3, 2015
Pros: team party's, sales bonus, good experiance
Cons: long hours, low wage
this is a fast based job, being able to plan and priorities on the fly is an everyday occurrence. I love the team we have put together as well as dealing with the diverse amount of people i can interact with everyday at my job. They give you school equivalent business management training with on the job training. Great place to get experiance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Productuction Worker (Current Employee), Dartmouth, NSJanuary 3, 2015
It is a very fast pace job, which reqires you to be on your feet the whole day. I learned many things from my job experience. My favorite part of the job is knowing that all items that are unsold get sent away to other countries for them to use. Everything gets recycled.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working with great employees
Production Pricer (Current Employee), Stoney Creek, ONDecember 31, 2014
* Communicate effectively with customers to help meet various needs

* Assist in sorting through and organizing merchandise

* Worked in a team environment as well as independently
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable
Productions Associate (Former Employee), Courtenay, BCDecember 11, 2014
Pros: free coffee, had pizza and donuts for staff from donations sometimes.
Cons: management was changed significantly in my last 3 months there, and while i enjoyed my co-workers and the position, i didn't like how things progressed and the atmosphere.
-Would start the morning by maintaining shelves from the previous days customer shopping, removing old items, cleaning up clutter and messy areas, by pulling off items if there were too many.

-Then I would bring out any merchandise out to the floor if it had not been finished the previous day.

-Then for the remainder of the the shift (6hrs) would cycle between sorting through donation carts often – more... weighing between 750-1000lbs, and would test electronics, clean dirty items, tag items that couldn't have stickers, and keep bringing out new priced merchandise when there was enough to go out, All well providing quality customer service and assisting customers when on the sales floor.

-I enjoyed the management, and especially the co-workers, I had good standing relationships with the majority of co-workers and worked excellent with my 2 teammates in my department (Housewares Productions)

-The hardest part of the position was balancing the many tasks that needed to be done, and estimating the time needed and carrying it out, all while preparing for unexpected situations, such as helping a large volume of customers, making sure i get everything rolled to the sales floor, and get back to the housewares production table. I also did many extra things, I would sometimes be put in the back of the trailer to build donation carts if one of the "recyclers" showed up. I also often worked voluntary and mandatory weekends and overtime.

-There was a period of 2 months where I was doing two positions, we had lost an employee in housewares and I had to cover his job as a sorter, as well as my own as a tester/sorter and also had to bring all items to the sales floor myself, often reaching 800-1000 items in a day.

-The funnest part of the job was sorting through the items, I had found many different things, the possibilities were endless, I found a silver plate for example that was worth a significant amount of money, I also enjoyed helping customers, even if it were a simple question, it always felt good to help people.

It was overall an enjoyable time working there, sometimes it was challenging, but I enjoyed the challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Person/Cashiering
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Surrey, BCDecember 11, 2014
Pros: worked as a team
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day as a sales person at value village would start by me opening my till and helping customers.I would greet them and help them find what they are looking for.My co-workers were very helpful in many ways they were able to answer all my questions and made me feel like I was part of a team.The hardest part of the job was not getting enough hours.I loved this job being as I was able to do alot of customer service and always meeting new people daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST JOB EVER
Production (Former Employee), Abbotsford, BCDecember 6, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: horrible supervisor
Worst place I have ever worked at by far, discriminate against you, treat you like complete garbage.. does not care about you one bit, unfair to ALL employees, except the one or two favourited employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), winnipeg mbDecember 6, 2014
Pros: the staff
Cons: dusty
put stock on shelfs priced product loved working with the staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work fast fun and proffessional
Quality Controller (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 2, 2014
Pros: many extras cake, lunches bonuses, discounts
I loved working at Value Village I took pride in making the store organized and the staff there where all great people to work with I really enjoyed working with the public and had many regular customers, I was very impressed with how the management worked closely and caringly with the staff overall review It was a great experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very clean and well organized for a thrift store.
Operations Team Member (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONNovember 23, 2014
Cons: not enough hours, no full time operations positions except in special cases (biased).
Typically perform cashier duties as well as general recovery and tidying on floor as well as accepting donations.
I learned over the course of my employment a little bit about the partnership with non-profit organizations.
Management could be better organized.
Co-workers were for the most part friendly, co-operative and polite.
The hardest part of the job would be dealing with customers who decide to take out the bad day they're having on the customer service operations employees.
The most enjoyable part of the job for me was accepting donations and sharing information about non-profit partnerships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONNovember 13, 2014
All though the hours aren't that long, it is quite an experience in the Retail/Thrift field. A very nice working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hecktic environment
Recycler (Former Employee), Owen SoundNovember 11, 2014
Ensuring the constant flow of product through the store without fail
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Burlington, ONNovember 11, 2014
VV is a decent work place. Hours are pretty good. Coworkes are good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun place to work
Team member (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 4, 2014
Pros: easy work
Cons: hard work on the body and not intellectual challenge
The environment is good most of the time. We just need to be very fast at processing merchandise. I would say that dealing with speed is the hardest think about this job. We work under pressure all the time, trying to achieve our quotas. Other than that I think the managers do their best creating a nice and safe work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Excellent Start to a Rewarding Retail Career
Production Team Member (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 3, 2014
A typical day of work at Value Village consists of working in one of two sections of the store: Operations, which are the storefront employees, cashiers, Storefront Management, and CDC (Community Donation Centre) workers. They are responsible for selling items, ensuring the store is well merchandised, cashier duties, working the fitting rooms, and providing all around good Customer Service. If you – more... work in Production (like I did), then you will be one of the numerous workers in the back of the store that are responsible for the sorting, pricing, and merchandising of all received sellable items based on their department (i.e. Bed & Bath, Clothing, etc). My department was Books & Media, so I was responsible for all the books, magazines, records, CDs, and movies that were donated.

During my time there, I was able to garner a lot of very useful tools for customer service, sales, promotion, and marketing. I also learned the importance of functioning well both with a team and alone.

The management is very down to earth, and always approachable regardless of the topic of conversation. They set realistic goals for themselves and their employees, and aid them in achieving targets. My co-workers were one of the best parts of the job experience. No matter what demographic you fit in to, there is always a smile and a friendly face ready to help you with work, or to be a generally good friend. Make no mistake, the culture of Value Village comes directly from the team members; after all, they are the ones choosing the items to supply! They help to foster and maintain a friendly and positive environment.

The toughest part of my job was dealing with certain customers. These types of stores always have regulars, and generally, most are friendly. That being said, there were certain ones who made me and other co-workers and customers feel uneasy. Diffusing these situations is often difficult, regardless of position within a company. But we always dealt with it as best we could. I personally often ensured to provide additional positive customer service to these people that was not necessarily required. It made the customers especially happy to have someone attend to them more personally, and my co-workers appreciated being able to focus on their tasks.

All in all, I highly recommend Value Village to anyone looking to gain valuable sales and retail experience. They offer good wages, room for growth, and even incentives such as Health Benefits and Profit Sharing for employees. Next time you find yourself shopping there, ask one of the employees what it is like to work in such a place, and they are sure to start their description of work life with a big smile. – less

About Savers/Value Village

Savers is no ordinary thrift store. As a leader and pioneer in the retail thrift industry, we're a place where people from all – Read more

Savers/Value Village Photos

Customers looking to buy items
Waiting to go to work