Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 343 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job EVER
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kitchener OntarioSeptember 12, 2015
Horrible place to work. If i could i would rate negative stars. Store manager is a b!tch that doesn't care about anything unless it benifits her. Puts so much pressure on the supervisors therefore supervisors go hard on staff. Every employee there is miserable and all looking for a new job. They claim to promote within. But that's bullsh!t. I witnessed it happen to coworkers. Best thing I did was leave that helľ whole.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with management and staff.
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBOctober 5, 2015
Savers is a great company they provide good benefits and there is diversity in the workplace, they give trainings to team members with high potential for management and treats employees fair. Salary was not that great when it comes to management positon but ok for starting for management positons.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment with a focus on profit instead of Community
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ONNovember 30, 2015
I joined this company thinking that it's objective was to use it's profits to help the community, environment and less fortunate countries. Through insight, I realized that this is not true. The focus is on paying the non-profits as little as possible, and only recycling the things they can sell to middle men. Training is non-existent. I was given an outdated book and told to find time to "figure it out". Lack of communication makes the day very stressful as mixed messages and lack of direction cause team members to become upset and lash out. The hardest part of the job is finding the motivation to push the team members to fulfill impossible quotas. The most enjoyable part of the job is when someone comes to me with a problem and I am able to help them. I like my job but most days I am not able to do it.
Pros
Benefits, Job security and Advancement, great team members
Cons
Poor Management Communication, Poor training, focus on quotas and top Management bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ONJanuary 8, 2016
I enjoyed working at zellers until it closed and terminated all employees While it was open it was a great place to shop and help customers find what they were looking for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transfer
Assistant Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 26, 2015
Good company to work for paid to transfer me across the country gave me managment jobs and provided me with the skills to move on throught out my life worked with alot of charities in helping people get what they needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good
cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 17, 2015
I made a lot of friends. I learned how to talk to people and work as a cashier. There was a friendly environment, but there was a case of stealing and some mistrust.
Pros
Friendly Enviroment, made lots of firends
Cons
Some Mistrust, and sometimes bad supervison
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool job with lots of diversity amongst both its customers and its employees.
Operations Team Member (Former Employee) –  Saint JohnSeptember 21, 2015
Not a bad place to work, got to drive a Uhaul van sometimes as much as twice a week. Felt respected. Felt like I should have been given more opportunities to advance.
Pros
Got to drive uhaul, good health benefits, heavy lifting, organization
Cons
Shifts were sporadic, lack of professionalism in management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome coworkers
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BCOctober 24, 2015
Working at Value Village was fun. Lots of great coworkers. Great customers. Never a dull moment. Always something to keep busy with. Customers, putting back clothes. Really looked forward to October. Halloween is Huge with Value Village. Staff allowed to dress up, too.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people, and the managment was decent.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABSeptember 24, 2015
Working at Value Village was great, lots of things to do an the people were fantastic. Managers were nice but there were a lot of people in authority and the communication wasn't always the best. Safety was always Key and there were regular meetings on it as well as how the company was doing as an over all.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Part time sales associate (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONJanuary 21, 2016
Working in Value Village was always an amusing time. From the amazing co-workers to the costumers. There was always a great friend ship.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Place for Good People
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONSeptember 13, 2015
It starts off as a great place to work. There are quarterly bonuses, lots of staff lunches, breaks every two hours. The first two or three weeks will seem great until management decides if they like you or not. To be good with management you are required to bully other staff members, and kiss managements butts. The store manager at my location was the worst person I have ever met in my life. She allowed not only favouritism, but work place bullying. It soon became a hostile environment for many employees, and the turn over was outrageous. It got to the point that they could not find anyone that wanted to work there, so the employees they did have, were required to work extra quick to make up for the lack of staff. If you are a person with morals or good nature, this is not the place for you.
Pros
Bonus' and Free Lunches
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn.
Cashier and customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BCSeptember 19, 2015
I found Value Village a great place to learn, the supervisors were very patient with me as I learned new things. I had a blast working halloween as a costume consultant and dressing in crazy costumes. Almost everyone was alot of fun to work with and there was alot of team work.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value VIllage
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ONSeptember 26, 2015
Would get to work, over look sales and production numbers from previous day, seeing where we had opportunities. Than I would look at the staff schedule working and training the Production Manager to ensure that all targets and metrics were going to be met for that day. I would than follow up on business opportunities within the store (space to sales, floor plans, departments trending down). I would work along side my management staff to help them grow and learn what I had noticed. i would also deal with the day to day functions of the business dealing with all team member relations, hiring and recruiting needs of the store while ensuring a positive customer experience in my store. I would also deal with one on one training and developing, and roll out all practices or policies from head office.
Pros
Able to learn and grow with my company
Cons
Informatin wouldn't get pass down to MGMT in a timily manner
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Job That Never Gets Old
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 25, 2015
Typical day consists of me checking what my task would be, bidding into a register in case of back up or being the main cashier for that day and doing what is expected of me and beyond. I learned that having time management and being quality focused is key in the retail department. Management is usually fair with small mistakes but sometimes not so much. My co-workers are great. Most of them do what they need to do so the whole team is not held up by the end of the night. Ive learned how to deal with the hard customers accordingly and keeping my cool. The most enjoyable part about my job is the customers. Its good and bad depending on the day. I usually have nice and respectful customers that treat the staff and everyone else well.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
operations (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABDecember 2, 2015
Was a relaxing work environment.
Staff was great to work with.
I had very flexible hours

Cons- Working evening I was shorted hours to 11 hours a week due too students working and not having enough hours to give me.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an enjoyable place to work
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBOctober 17, 2015
Value Village for a typical day at work would consists of cleaning and assisting customers, allowing you to work different stations and interacting with employees as well as customers.
Pros
Friendly employees, positive atmosphere
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly workplace
Sales Representative/Customer service(Cashier) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 24, 2015
coworkers are very nice and helpful. Management was not supportive. lost my job because i had to go back for an emergency. they did not take me back in the company even thought i was a very old employee
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ONJanuary 10, 2016
Value Village is not a bad place to work at but the employees and managers make the place look bad. Customers make you hate your job sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seeking a better opportunity
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg,ManitobaOctober 13, 2015
Friendly and cooperative work environment.
Good to start as a beginner.
However need to get maximum use of knowledge and skills which I posses for better opportunity.
Pros
good and friendlyenvironment for working
Cons
need a better opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
up's and down's
Sorter, Cashier, Donation Accepter, Recycler (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BCSeptember 12, 2015
I have been thoroughly trained in almost all aspects of the job except management and i can say with certainty that the job has its up's and down's there will be good days and bad days, now you can say that of every job, but some of the downs are a little lower then I would have liked
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 973 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture