Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 359 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONMay 30, 2016
always providing training
co-workers were great to work with
some unnecessary rules
always end late
too lenient with customers
unfair scheduling
Pros
bonuses
Cons
never close on time, unfair Schedualing
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Sorter and Price checker (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ONJuly 12, 2016
Busy
Pricing/Putting product out quicky and timely
Good Managment
Great Staff
None always a learning experience
Coffee time with everyone and good customers
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy for summer time
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 5, 2016
Good environment, the super manager and great colleagues, good conditions to work, perfect schedule, perfect job for students.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Job That Never Gets Old
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 25, 2015
Typical day consists of me checking what my task would be, bidding into a register in case of back up or being the main cashier for that day and doing what is expected of me and beyond. I learned that having time management and being quality focused is key in the retail department. Management is usually fair with small mistakes but sometimes not so much. My co-workers are great. Most of them do what they need to do so the whole team is not held up by the end of the night. Ive learned how to deal with the hard customers accordingly and keeping my cool. The most enjoyable part about my job is the customers. Its good and bad depending on the day. I usually have nice and respectful customers that treat the staff and everyone else well.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
value village team
Retail Sales (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ONApril 28, 2016
-great friendly team
-fast work pace, time management, character building
-great management friendly and helpful
-hardest part of the job was unloading carts of cloths in a very short time window
-putting the price tags into the items
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and team
Cashier and Community Donation Centre Ambassador (Former Employee) –  St. Jacobs, ONApril 8, 2016
It was a great experience working at Value village. The team was great and always encouraging of each other. Everyone always helped each other when needed, and was accepting and helpful for each others strengths and weaknesses.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Box Company...
Store Standards (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONJuly 2, 2016
They treat you like garbage. The hours suck and the people suck. Worst job I have had to date. Interview process sucked as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job
Production Team Member (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, ABJune 2, 2016
High stress job. Lots of employees working in the processing area got to be chaotic at times. Very fast paced to keep up to hight daily quotas.
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working there
Cashier, Sales (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ONJune 3, 2016
loved working with all types of customers, Supervisors are great to work with. I picked up the new cash registers fast. People I worked with are great.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job EVER
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kitchener OntarioSeptember 12, 2015
Horrible place to work. If i could i would rate negative stars. Store manager is a b!tch that doesn't care about anything unless it benifits her. Puts so much pressure on the supervisors therefore supervisors go hard on staff. Every employee there is miserable and all looking for a new job. They claim to promote within. But that's bullsh!t. I witnessed it happen to coworkers. Best thing I did was leave that helľ whole.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry Level, Seasonal work
Costume Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONSeptember 11, 2015
Friendly caring environment, focused on assisting the clients in a clean and friendly environment. I was able to learn skills pertaining to retail, staging, and displays. Management was understanding and fair, never showing favoritism, addressing each employee's needs respectively. I loved to interact with each customer, and assisting them in their unique needs. The most difficult aspect of the position was remembering the total layout of the premises as it changed throughout the season.
Pros
Flexible shifts, Willing to work around university Classes
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production.
production worker (Former Employee) –  2112 winnipeg mbOctober 28, 2015
I worked here for 2 months before I quit! I have a monotoned face so my supervisors thought I hated the place so they treated me like garbage and constantly wrote me up! So if you're not smiling 24/7 don't expect to have a permanent job! You get written up for the stupidest things, you don't get proper training and are constantly being moved from station to station!
Pros
Direct deposit
Cons
Management and employees
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn more about saving money
Front End Manager (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABMay 12, 2016
> Good to work . Learned about Big brothers and sisters. how to reuse things and save money, pricing, learned about management skills.
Cons
racism with staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place if you need a job
CDC worker (Former Employee) –  Regina, SKMay 27, 2016
Its a good place to hone customer service skills. The work isn't very mentally stimulating or difficult, and is easy to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Prodution Worker (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, ABMay 31, 2016
Co-workers are great, easy going and easy to get along with.
I don't always agree with how the management runs things but I do as I am told.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Up and Downs
Customer Service and Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONFebruary 21, 2015
Just like any other day at work it has its up and down's, also you're real fast/busy and then there's the empty days with any of the ways were 100 percent enjoyable.
best thing I learn from this job would have to be my communication skills, to have more encouragement, to earn customers Honesty, Faith, and Trust cause not having that then I wouldn't be working in the right place. My Co-Wokers and Management team was the best every Fun, Caring and Open Minded. The only thing that I would have to say was the hardest part of my job working
there was for my to Smile and the easiest and enjoyable part is working with the best team of co-workers and meeting alot of new people
Pros
long hours that were enjoyable
Cons
lunches that weren't given when needed
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people to work with
Recycling team member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 20, 2016
The job is fun but the work is too much for the money.
the people make it fun and it has a great working environment but its too much work for little money.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work environment.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ONFebruary 25, 2015
A typical day at work includes interacting with customers and providing excellent customer service while performing cash, fitting room and general recovery duties.

At this job I have learned that time management is very important as well as being able to multi task and work on a team.

For the most part the managers and supervisors are encouraging, supportive, and are there to assist us with our daily duties.

The hardest part of he job would be the standing on my feet in one place for hours on end.

The most enjoyable part of the job is that I get to work with a group of energetic and welcoming people. Being at work is fun because most of the employees get along really well.
Pros
a pro would be the employee appreciation pizza parties.
Cons
a con would be the long hours on my feet.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, demanding work environment
High Potential Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  ChathamMay 14, 2014
Able to dress-up in different costumes and be apart of competitions and even a catwalk, during the peak shopping months of August through October.
Company receives loads of new merchandise daily, there is something for everyone.
Able to change positions to different areas of the store to further knowledge of the business and become an asset to the company.
Management notices work habits and rewards good efforts with more hours leading to full-time employment with benefits.
Management also takes time to listen, train and re-train where necessary
Pros
employee discount and incentives
Cons
little to no management turnover, no availability for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work there if you must.
Soft Goods (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONNovember 2, 2015
With few exceptions, the management at Value Village are an incompetent lot who bully and threaten their workers.
The actual work in the production department is not for people who are squeamish but it is alright.
Co-workers are pleasant enough to work with and will help you if you need it.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,030 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Savers/Value Village Reviews by Location