Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 464 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good First Job
Community Donation Centre Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ON27 December 2016
Having worked here for 3 years, I have thoroughly enjoyed my time at the company. Wages are fair and the schedule is very flexible for students.
Pros
Good schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers and co-workers nice, job sucked
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON26 December 2016
Work felt more like a janitors job most of the time

Some people who donated were rude

items donated were mostly dirty, partly destroyed, disgusting

trying to keep bags and boxes organized on carts were OK but after many, many donations things get crowded.

Good thing was when working with another person, things went faster.

Lots of things change day to day, like tasks, acceptable/ non-acceptable items, etc

When nothing else to do, SWEEP, DUST, CLEAN and log it
Pros
co-workers were pretty awesome
Cons
shifts tend to vary in length, changes happen frequently, more janitorial then other things
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value Village
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 December 2016
This was my first job and I had wonderful time when i first started. Halloween is a lot of fun and everyone is trying to have fun and dress up. Some customers make it horrible and then some are amazing and really care about the workers. Management was very poor at one point and it was a mess with schedules. it got better once new management began.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive Job with Customers in a Fast Paste Environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB21 December 2016
Typical Day at work:
Cleaning, organizing, helping customers find what they are looking for, count the cashes

What I learned: Reliability skills and patience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of experience and responsibility!
Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 December 2016
- I was on the main floor and was in charge of assisting customers and getting them what they requested, sometimes making suggestions.
- I had to remember the layout of the store and where things were located so I could point customers in the right direction of what they were looking for.
- I also had the responsibility of keeping the store neat (picking clothes up off the ground, rehanging things, bringing clothing racks back and forth from the back room to the aisles, putting merchandise in their respective locations, taking care of spare hangers or fetching extras from the back room)
- My managers would assign me to specific locations sometimes (e.g. on Halloween the sweater racks were joined together and it was my responsibility to shadow customers and rehang what they rejected)
- I was a co op student so I was not paid. I got along well with everyone but I did not do much socializing as I was there to work.
- The hardest part of the job was the repetition.
- The most enjoyable part of the job was assisting customers. I love to help people! I am also a fashion student and it was fun to be around clothes and build outfits in my head.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work place.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  North York, ON15 December 2016
Horrible work environment with negative management.
I was constantly treated poorly by almost all of the management and i would never work here again.
Pros
50 percent discount
Cons
Horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gone down the Drain
Retail Sales Manager/ Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 December 2016
They really don't care about there team members. They say to use the open door policy, but normally they would side on the side of the management. That open door should say shut the door. They work you like slaves, and are quick to call out your flaws and does not recognize your sucesses. They are a cold company, in a sense where they know they want to fire you, use you to train the person thats going to take your position and then can you! Value Village is the WORST place you could work for!!!! I give them two thumbs, and 8 fingers DOWN as a company!
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned very valuable work skills
Cashier/Team member (Former Employee) –  Mission, BC9 December 2016
The job it self was really good but most of the team memebers and management didn't seem to take the job very seriously making It harder on those who actually did.
Pros
always gave us free food on sale days or when we did a good job
Cons
team didnt work well together
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always changing environment, and always learning
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 November 2016
My days are very busy because we are dependant on donations and Non-profit partners to get product to the floor. It is a production environment where Team Members need to work efficiently by getting a specific quota out daily. We have a specific way of merchandising and managing the salesfloor in order to keep it shoppable for our customers. I manage 30 people daily and the most challenging part of that is to keep them motivated to achieve their daily/weekly quotas. We constantly are watching to ensure that TM's are following best practices and working at a steady pace. The best part of the job is how much we recycle as a company. Most of what we don't sell, gets recycled and sent to 3rd world countries for reuse. The company also has a very good work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay starting up place
Production Team Memeber (Current Employee) –  Kanata, ON23 November 2016
Good managers that are understanding, nice co workers, low pay, very dirty atmosphere, people get sick a lot, rude customers, some customers make you feel uncomfortable
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, unrealistic dealines
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC19 November 2016
Great team members to work with, but management makes the team feel so miserable and over worked that everyone end up wanting to leave. Management is constantly changing their mind and make you feel like you don´t know your job.
A lot of pressure and unrealistic deadlines are a daily stress. Benefits could be better in such big company.
Terrible environment for those who are allergic.
Lots of shoplifters, making you feel frustrated and unsafe.
Pros
Benefits, employee discount, stability
Cons
Unsafe, dirty, very demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abusive Place to Work
Clothing Production (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC17 November 2016
I worked in production and saw favouritism, job advancement went only to a select few, harassment, abuse - yelling, calling names, shoes thrown at other members and racism.

Unsafe conditions to work in. Management are either incompetent or bullies or both.

The job causes stress, stomach aches and medical problems. A rat was found in the front and no one moved it for days.

Since they changed the sorters to another location, the main store is a junk yard. Customers complain how messy the store is.
Pros
close to home
Cons
being treated like a human
Was this review helpful?Yes15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Fulfillment
Sales and Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON14 November 2016
Great place to work!
Very fulfilling Care about people and the environment!
Excellent benefits paid vacation...product discount
medical and dental
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people, always something to do.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 November 2016
Flexible hours if you are part time. Hard you get more house if you are able to work more. Pay is not the greatest. Customers/coworkers are great to work with.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Not great pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun environment
designated Pricer in Production (Current Employee) –  Penticton, BC11 November 2016
Overall I really enjoy working for Savers. I've learned alot during my 3years, and the hours are amazing. My co-workers are my life and have helped me grow. Management on the other side have been a bit of a struggle, don't get me wrong, they're great at their job, but do not treat myself and the other workers with the respect that we deserve as hard, powerful workers. A typical day at work is full of laughter.
Pros
hours
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that does give back
Front End Supervisor/ Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON10 November 2016
Savers does what it says: They give to their Non-profit partners; they give to the communities the stores are in; and they give back to the planet with the recycling programs. They are a for profit company and don't lie or hide behind it.
Pros
discounts, team member respect
Cons
always wants growth, and more
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and the discounts are awesome!!
sales and customer service (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 November 2016
The best part of working at Savers/Value Village is the discounts, your co-workers and the people that come in almost all the time who you get to know on a first name basis. You are making a huge difference in the community and environment.
Pros
Free lunches on sales days!!
Cons
Can be long hrs and days.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with reliable co-workers and benefits
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Stony Creek, ON6 November 2016
I enjoy working in production. The work is consistent, there are many positions to learn and plenty of experience to gain. I've yet to meet a co-worker yet that I don't like, and the environment is more often than not very positive.
Pros
Positive environment, great co-workers and management
Cons
Commuting
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working there
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON6 November 2016
i loved working there the staff where friendly and always whiling to help when you need it the management where awesome i loved working with them
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Designated cashier (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK4 November 2016
It was a good place to work when I started but now it's to the point I don't want to go to work. They say you can advance within the company ya right. I have been asked over and over for the last 4 yrs ( come Dec. ) if im interested im becoming a supervisor and i keep saying yes and I am always put on the back burner when the opportunity comes up. now there are 2 people who haven't even been there for 6 months training for supervisor. IT'S all favortizim not experience or synority . Turn around is very high always new staff. time to find a new job cant work were your not appreciated.
Pros
Made some friends
Cons
Cant get a regular shift. to much favortizim
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers/Value Village. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,452 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3