Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 449 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers and co-workers nice, job sucked
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON26 December 2016
Work felt more like a janitors job most of the time

Some people who donated were rude

items donated were mostly dirty, partly destroyed, disgusting

trying to keep bags and boxes organized on carts were OK but after many, many donations things get crowded.

Good thing was when working with another person, things went faster.

Lots of things change day to day, like tasks, acceptable/ non-acceptable items, etc

When nothing else to do, SWEEP, DUST, CLEAN and log it
Pros
co-workers were pretty awesome
Cons
shifts tend to vary in length, changes happen frequently, more janitorial then other things
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place
Storefront Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB1 January 2017
Management wasn't great, and they didn't work well with my availability. Knew I was in school full time, hired as part time and had me working 6+ hours every day that I was done school at 3 and had 8 hours on days I had off of school.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some fun ppl others are snakes
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB14 March 2017
Dust is a major factor for this job and the unrealestic expectations they have set out for the oks and production gossip everywere ppl talking ish behind others backs dry snitches evey were theres favorites most staff dont care there making 12 a hr they care more about chocolet and treats alot of two face action
Complaints about small things chose to quit and walk away worst job ever had in my employment hostory
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Everything about this place
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
Cashier/Operations (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 February 2017
At the start of the shift the float had to be counted. Then the purchases of the customers accurately scanned, returning the correct change for cash paying customers, processing card transaction. If not busy at the cash register we would help the other team members at the changing room, returning product to the floor, and keeping carts organized.
The team members were great to work with and we all helped each other in the smooth running of the work place.
The hardest part of the job was to keep the floor neat and tidy
Pros
Free lunches on sales days
Cons
Part time work
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nope
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS7 September 2016
So much nope here you can't begin to imagine. NOT a good place to work - the management are straight up bullies and hateful people. They have NO compassion for personal crisis or emergency - as evidenced by certain managers who don't care at all if your Aunt dies or if your cousin gets hit by a car.

The employee turnover rate is so bad they're constantly trying to hire people and people are constantly walking out after a week/week and a half. Just don't work here unless you're desperate.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON8 February 2017
The main floor manager made life at work very uncomfortable and uneasy. The other managers were kind and helpful though.
Pros
Cheap clothes
Cons
Bad salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Designated cashier (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK4 November 2016
It was a good place to work when I started but now it's to the point I don't want to go to work. They say you can advance within the company ya right. I have been asked over and over for the last 4 yrs ( come Dec. ) if im interested im becoming a supervisor and i keep saying yes and I am always put on the back burner when the opportunity comes up. now there are 2 people who haven't even been there for 6 months training for supervisor. IT'S all favortizim not experience or synority . Turn around is very high always new staff. time to find a new job cant work were your not appreciated.
Pros
Made some friends
Cons
Cant get a regular shift. to much favortizim
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work place.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  North York, ON15 December 2016
Horrible work environment with negative management.
I was constantly treated poorly by almost all of the management and i would never work here again.
Pros
50 percent discount
Cons
Horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best ever.
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 September 2016
Everything was great, discounts, great people, great customers, and awesome management.

The only problem was one manager whom every time felt threatened would get really close to your face, and I mean within kissing distance. Sometimes it was his finger, and honestly if I hadn't lost my temper..
Pros
Everything.
Cons
One manager who literally sticks his finger in your face, then gets offended when asked to back away.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working there
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON6 November 2016
i loved working there the staff where friendly and always whiling to help when you need it the management where awesome i loved working with them
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB13 February 2017
The management was the worst, they were not friendly or understanding of anything. I would not recommend this job to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my first job on warehouse
Production worker\various possitions (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 October 2016
Value village was a simple but demanding job, since i was one of the only recyclers on the floor they had me going around doing almost everything that needed to be done, i sometimes felt overloaded, not because of not being able to handle high pressure but because there was 3 supervisors telling me what to do at all times and all had different requests and needed to be done "immediately''. Of course i got experience in many things likedriving the big joe and to be organized and careful as well as handling high work loads, what i liked the most was the diversity of objects and merchandise u could see sometimes, some really interesting and fun things
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of experience and responsibility!
Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 December 2016
- I was on the main floor and was in charge of assisting customers and getting them what they requested, sometimes making suggestions.
- I had to remember the layout of the store and where things were located so I could point customers in the right direction of what they were looking for.
- I also had the responsibility of keeping the store neat (picking clothes up off the ground, rehanging things, bringing clothing racks back and forth from the back room to the aisles, putting merchandise in their respective locations, taking care of spare hangers or fetching extras from the back room)
- My managers would assign me to specific locations sometimes (e.g. on Halloween the sweater racks were joined together and it was my responsibility to shadow customers and rehang what they rejected)
- I was a co op student so I was not paid. I got along well with everyone but I did not do much socializing as I was there to work.
- The hardest part of the job was the repetition.
- The most enjoyable part of the job was assisting customers. I love to help people! I am also a fashion student and it was fun to be around clothes and build outfits in my head.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horribly Managed, Unorganized and vulgar work place.
Forklift Operator/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Waterdown, ON11 January 2016
Hated this place. I only accepted the job to pay the bills for the time being as I was laid off. They tell you a luxurious position that you will get and once hired it is not at all what they said. Management uses the paper you signed when hiring against you at every chance and if you are not 100% on point you will get wrote up as these managers are new and trying to gain power. The co-workers were amazing, the pay was terrible and there was smoking mirrors with the "benefits" package. The hardest part of my job was showing up every day to such a terribly managed work place. I would suggest edits to the back however were turned down. The hazardous area isn't even properly cleaned or set up, the HOTZ people came and nearly fainted at the sight of their set up.
Such a terrible backroom warehouse set up, terrible hours, not flexible and the job security is inaccurate as hours were always fluctuating once hired.
Pros
Received a Pay every 2 Weeks.
Cons
Hazardous Work Place, Never Fully Trained, Falsified Hiring Information.
Was this review helpful?Yes21NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people, difficult workload
Sales Clerk / Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 September 2016
For an entry level retail position the location I work at packed a punch. One person is expected to do five jobs nearly at all times. Customers should always be prioritized but staff members at times forget that due to the pressure of the workload.
Company model is to make all sheduling decisions with a sales vs labour formula. At times this can leave team members frustrated as their hours are cut or they are forced to stay late as their supervisor (who is responsible for the whole store) cannot count their register down until there is coverage.
Customers will always have questions and always demand a service that will not always be available to them in this sort of environment. Customers were often forced to wait to be served due to training and cashiers have little freedom. At times two to four people can be waiting for managerial approval and there is often only one manager in a large location.
This job will keep you fit and your skills sharp until you burn out due to unrealistic expectations.
My sincere advice for the hardworking bee, please work somewhere else for your minimum wage.
This business expects you to excell at everything at all times vs have an area or department of expertise and perform very highly at one thing.
The culture here was very nitpicky both by management and by customers. It seems my entire shift was prioritizing and reprioritizing. Everyone in this building prefers to react to trouble instead of being prepared in advance.
Pros
sales quarter bonuses, free lunches on sale days, christmas draw for prizes, occasional gift certificates, partnering with a local charity
Cons
often having a heavy workload, standing entire shifts, sometimes having to give up holidays, missing breaks and lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable enviornment
Seasonal sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON3 January 2017
Working at Value Village you will encounter a lot a people with different tastes in clothing, bed and bath, books and much more. Helping out customers and being able to approach them with confidence is what you will be able to accomplish at Value Village. The co workers are amazing and every one of them is ready to help you get to the next level to be better. No one is put down and respect is a major key.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Hard to keep up on tasks on a very busy day
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Fulfillment
Sales and Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON14 November 2016
Great place to work!
Very fulfilling Care about people and the environment!
Excellent benefits paid vacation...product discount
medical and dental
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers and customers great, bad managemnet
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC17 June 2016
If you are NOT a pricer this is a very good job. If you are then you will hate it after 6 months. Management Will be nice at first and then get horrible after 5ish months.
Pros
Co-workers, benefits, occasional free lunch
Cons
Management sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team based company
Retail Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC27 May 2016
deal with customers, communicate to the team about the day.

We learn about new customers and different kinds of products that come in the store.

We have a strong management team that works together.

We have a great team we are more like a family that like to be their for each other.

the hardest part of the job is having to let people go when they have to many cash issues.

The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to help out people that are less fortunate and down on their luck.
Pros
met great people thru out the 12 years on the job.
Cons
When other people don't help out with the team work like they should
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 March 2017
Good people to work with, under .50 wage increase per 1/yr. Not enough pay for the physical work they require, the work will eventually take it's toll on your body, back especially. During quiet season expect to loose hours as well.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Poor pay/wage increases, physical work, hours cut during quiet season
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,396 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3