Savers/Value Village

874 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 304 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value VIllage
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ONSeptember 26, 2015
Would get to work, over look sales and production numbers from previous day, seeing where we had opportunities. Than I would look at the staff schedule working and training the Production Manager to ensure that all targets and metrics were going to be met for that day. I would than follow up on business opportunities within the store (space to sales, floor plans, departments trending down). I would work along side my management staff to help them grow and learn what I had noticed. i would also deal with the day to day functions of the business dealing with all team member relations, hiring and recruiting needs of the store while ensuring a positive customer experience in my store. I would also deal with one on one training and developing, and roll out all practices or policies from head office.
Pros
Able to learn and grow with my company
Cons
Informatin wouldn't get pass down to MGMT in a timily manner
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people, and the managment was decent.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABSeptember 24, 2015
Working at Value Village was great, lots of things to do an the people were fantastic. Managers were nice but there were a lot of people in authority and the communication wasn't always the best. Safety was always Key and there were regular meetings on it as well as how the company was doing as an over all.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool job with lots of diversity amongst both its customers and its employees.
Operations Team Member (Former Employee) –  Saint JohnSeptember 21, 2015
Not a bad place to work, got to drive a Uhaul van sometimes as much as twice a week. Felt respected. Felt like I should have been given more opportunities to advance.
Pros
Got to drive uhaul, good health benefits, heavy lifting, organization
Cons
Shifts were sporadic, lack of professionalism in management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn.
Cashier and customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BCSeptember 19, 2015
I found Value Village a great place to learn, the supervisors were very patient with me as I learned new things. I had a blast working halloween as a costume consultant and dressing in crazy costumes. Almost everyone was alot of fun to work with and there was alot of team work.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable workplace
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Prince Albert, SKSeptember 16, 2015
the company was great, great people, great management and overall just a great place to work. I learned a great deal while working there and the other fellow co-workers treated me with respect as I did them.
Pros
Great work hours
Cons
need longer lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Place for Good People
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONSeptember 13, 2015
It starts off as a great place to work. There are quarterly bonuses, lots of staff lunches, breaks every two hours. The first two or three weeks will seem great until management decides if they like you or not. To be good with management you are required to bully other staff members, and kiss managements butts. The store manager at my location was the worst person I have ever met in my life. She allowed not only favouritism, but work place bullying. It soon became a hostile environment for many employees, and the turn over was outrageous. It got to the point that they could not find anyone that wanted to work there, so the employees they did have, were required to work extra quick to make up for the lack of staff. If you are a person with morals or good nature, this is not the place for you.
Pros
Bonus' and Free Lunches
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job EVER
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kitchener OntarioSeptember 12, 2015
Horrible place to work. If i could i would rate negative stars. Store manager is a b!tch that doesn't care about anything unless it benifits her. Puts so much pressure on the supervisors therefore supervisors go hard on staff. Every employee there is miserable and all looking for a new job. They claim to promote within. But that's bullsh!t. I witnessed it happen to coworkers. Best thing I did was leave that helľ whole.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes11No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
up's and down's
Sorter, Cashier, Donation Accepter, Recycler (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BCSeptember 12, 2015
I have been thoroughly trained in almost all aspects of the job except management and i can say with certainty that the job has its up's and down's there will be good days and bad days, now you can say that of every job, but some of the downs are a little lower then I would have liked
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry Level, Seasonal work
Costume Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONSeptember 11, 2015
Friendly caring environment, focused on assisting the clients in a clean and friendly environment. I was able to learn skills pertaining to retail, staging, and displays. Management was understanding and fair, never showing favoritism, addressing each employee's needs respectively. I loved to interact with each customer, and assisting them in their unique needs. The most difficult aspect of the position was remembering the total layout of the premises as it changed throughout the season.
Pros
Flexible shifts, Willing to work around university Classes
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work.
Soft goods production staff (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABAugust 29, 2015
No gratitude from the management.
treated like a nothing.
Worst EMPLOYERS EVER.
Health risk, they tell you to smell in the mouldy bags of clothes, and they are very mouldy.
Place is a health hazard.
I would definitely not recommend working for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Job That Never Gets Old
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 25, 2015
Typical day consists of me checking what my task would be, bidding into a register in case of back up or being the main cashier for that day and doing what is expected of me and beyond. I learned that having time management and being quality focused is key in the retail department. Management is usually fair with small mistakes but sometimes not so much. My co-workers are great. Most of them do what they need to do so the whole team is not held up by the end of the night. Ive learned how to deal with the hard customers accordingly and keeping my cool. The most enjoyable part about my job is the customers. Its good and bad depending on the day. I usually have nice and respectful customers that treat the staff and everyone else well.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for community
Donations Representative (Former Employee) –  Concord, ONAugust 15, 2015
I liked how the community benefited from this company. People benefited from low prices for quality clothing and the charity benefited from donations.
Pros
bonus's
Cons
normal bs
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place To Work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONAugust 12, 2015
Typical day to day at Savers I would organize the store floor for customer use after we opened. We would sort everything into colour block and where the item belonged in categories (towels, blankets, etc), then I would help in the back until I went home at 11 as I worked part time.

Working at Savers was pretty awesome, other than the incredibly long bus ride to and from work and after a while it felt like my work was a waste of time. We would clean the store and not two hours later customers would come in a destroy it.

Not a place to work if you don't like getting your hands dirty. It's not uncommon to open up bags of garbage in the bag while sorting through donated things.

My co-workers and managers were always really nice but in the end I ended up quitting because of finding something closer to home as the Value Village I worked at was way out of my way.
Pros
Fun workplace and co-workers, relatively simple work
Cons
Felt like work was waste of time sometimes, was too far from my home personally
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ONAugust 10, 2015
The work is fun. I learned a lot from this experience improved my communication with other people. Management is done to make really well. The co-workers are amazing and give their all during work. The hardest part of the job is that sometime it becomes really busy and maintaining the store becomes harder. The most enjoyable part is the co-workers and the customer that come there to work
Pros
Free snacks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Merchandiser / Receiving Coordinator & RF Scanner (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 9, 2015
With laid back hours and and upbeat evironment that play music everyday Value Village was the perfect place of employment while I was attending full time school.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to work at Value Village, even if it was only a 1 week temp
Receiver / Sorter (Temp Placement) (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BCAugust 6, 2015
Worked in the back room, shipping receiving, sorting through donations, cleaning and maintaining work area.
Worked out on floor and organized books and other donations on sales floor and keeping place clean and tidy.
Pros
Decent pay. Learning what happens in backroom at Value Village.
Cons
No air conditioning in back room.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 29, 2015
Always great to come into work when you have great co-workers and have your back in stressful situations. I've already seen improvement and growth working here
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
employee (Former Employee) –  edmonton, ABJuly 28, 2015
from my experience, employees are really nice, there's always something to do, but always the 3-4 same tasks over and over.
although only two of the managers are nice and the other ones are really rude.
Pros
?
Cons
on-call shift (you have to call them so not paid if they dont need you), for closing shifts you have to stay an hour later. Store really disgusting and unsanitary.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide good hours and benifits
Production Team Member (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 27, 2015
The schedule is good for people with children. Overall it is hard work with a small wage. The work is based on a daily quota so it is a lot of fast paced repetitive work. There are quarterly bonuses based on sales and a Christmas bonus. After one year employees receive two weeks vacation. The busiest time of year is Halloween and you will be expected to work some Saturdays.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative atmosphere and condescending management.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  London, ONJuly 26, 2015
A typical day at work for me was waking up at 6am, and being at Value Village for 7:30 am. I would then do my morning reset which consisted of making sure the clothing items on the sales floor were organized accordingly to the proper tag rotation. After assuring everything was in its proper place, I would then go up to the sorting tables at 8am for the rest of the day. I would sort and hang through clothing at a very fast paced, and if behind there was consequence. The hardest part of my job was consistently using an injured shoulder to do a repetitive task. After filling out multiple FAF's, contacting WSIB and working with my doctor, I was still put on tables. I was ordered to do "light duties" by my doctor with specific instructions. The next day management assigned me to racking and rolling clothing, and my needs were no where near accommodated. This injury took place on February 28th and I still did not leave the tables position until my day of resignation, July 17th. My shoulder now has permanent damage because my management saw the opportunity to take advantage of a young student, and they certainly did. Its unfortunate because I loved my co-workers and I also had some incredible supervisors. If I received a little more respect and a little less manipulation from head manager, I certainly would of stayed. Over all great co-workers, but I got tired of coming home from work every day feeling like garbage, both mentally and physically.
Pros
Free lunches on sale day, great co-workers, vending machine
Cons
some manipulative management, negative atmoshpere, high temperture, dealing with bodily fluids and hazerdous materials
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 874 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture