Find companies:
Savers/Value Village
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
462 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place To Work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: not being able too spend alot of time with my family
I loved working at Value Village. A typical day at work would start at 7:30am with some cleaning on the sales floor, then once cleaning was done we had to start our pricing of clothes and all different kinds of merchandise. Value Village is a second hand store which is different from an actual retail such as Shoppers Drug Mart, Old Navy etc. Loved working – more... with my co workers it was a fun environment. The management team was great tried too help out as much as possible when it was needed. I was with Value Village for 11 and a half years. Had to leave Value Village due to my third pregnancy with some health issues due to the store being a second hand store which isn't a very clean environment to work in. Trying to find something a little different love working. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience of retails and thrift
Retail Sales Manager (Current Employee), Oakville, ONFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: learning
Cons: slow growth
Very fast pace environment
Development plans
Thrift and non-profit experience
Community services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dusty atmosphere, too many managers, no job security
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: it's a job...even if temporary
Cons: no future at this company
Typical day at work is hard on your feet on concrete, bending, reaching and sometimes climbing very high up in the back. Mundane, tedious work. The customers have no respect for the employees, dropping and leaving clothing all over the place.

Management have a high and mighty type of air to them. This corporation uses people for their high seasons, – more... tells them they aren't only hiring for the busy season and then lets you go a couple of days shy of your probation period.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the customers at the cash register.
Worst part of the job is the mess the customers leave you with constantly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun working with other people and communicating with them at work.
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), 1495 Venables St, VancouverJanuary 17, 2014
Finishing my task everyday.
I learned that the recycling goes to the undeveloped country s.
Management was unorganized.
They were fun to work with
Was finishing the task everyday.
Making people smile and meeting new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, not so great management.
PRODUCTION TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee), Stoney Creek, ONJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: coworkers were fantastic, decent hours, okay pay
Cons: poorly managed, no job security
I worked for value village for 3 months before they let me go without notice the day before my 3 month probation wa suppose to end. My friend was suppose to get a raise for the referral if I lasted that long, go figure. Management here is so disorganized. They complain about not having enough staff then they fire people left, right and centre. I showed – more... up every single day, on time, and even stayed later if needed. They let go a few people who did their job properly and chose to keep people who took time off constantly. For waste your time. Apply up on the mountain. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with friendly staff
Customer Service, Cashier, General Cleanup (Former Employee), Coquitlam, BCJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: all the staff felt like family
Cons: being on my feet for a full 8 hours
I worked in production as well as store front. In production I did many different task from sorting through products when they first come into the store to pricing them and rolling them to the sales floor. In store front I worked on cash and did some general cleanup. I learned how to deal with customer complaints and keep a positive attitude when the – more... store got busy and stressful. The hardest part may have been having to be on my feet for 8 hours a day and repetitive bending over to pick things up. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to work with the friendly staff. I was happy to go to work and see the other employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers are very nice
Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: supervisors provide free lunch on sales day
It is a fun place to be and co-workers are very helpful.
it is a nice workplace and the co-workers care about you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun place to work, great job if it's your first time getting a job
DESIGANTED CASHIER (Current Employee), Yorkton, SKJanuary 4, 2014
Great place to work, great benefits and very flexible hours if your going to school or have another job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but not for long time in production
Team Member (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: free lunch and treats
Cons: ---
Learn how to work long hours doing weight lifting and heavy work in cold. nice experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service/Cashier
CASHIER/CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee), North Bay, ONDecember 22, 2013
Pros: received discount on items purchased
Cons: always changing managers
Completed work on floor regarding cleaning up and organizing all shopping area's in store.
Completed customer service aiding to find items or accents of clothing.
Completed cash balance end of shift.
Trained new staff on floor details necessary for shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair.
Customer service (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCDecember 19, 2013
Pros: it was work.
Cons: mismanagement.
sorting clothing and hanging on racks to be priced for going out on the floor for resale.
Management was not understanding and professional.
co-workers were great.
nothing hard about the job at all.
customer service/ corresponding with co-workers/ customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value Village
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONDecember 7, 2013
Pros: free lunches sometimes.
Cons: rude management
at value village the mangement staff hides upstairs and doesnt follow proper protocall. they let underage people use equipment such as bailers without proper protection on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Worker - Clothes Hanger
Production Worker (Current Employee), Sarnia, ONNovember 15, 2013
Pros: free lunches on sale day
Cons: labor intensive and fast paced
On a typical work day, I am responsible to hang approximately 420 items in an hour and sort a certain amount of bags (donations) off of a donation cart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, Advancement
Cashier (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABNovember 13, 2013
I enjoyed this job, the management treated us as equals and the pay was great, was hired full time, stable and advancement opportunities always available, flexible hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gossipy Store Managers
CASHIER/PRODUCTION (Former Employee), Sault Ste. Marie, ONOctober 30, 2013
Pros: customers
Cons: management
The tandem of older women running the store were unpredictable and hung out in their own clique. The Managers gossiped about my age being much older than i look, and eventually thought they need employees CASHIERS, terminated me before my probation was over, I had worked production and cash and after a not-work-related shoulder dislocation, I asked – more... if i could do cash, but my next day they said they did need to give a reason for dismissal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some of the employees are nice to work with
OSD attendant (Former Employee), Brampton, ONOctober 16, 2013
The work is very slow at times but I will always usually find something to work on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sale Associate (Former Employee), Naperville, ILOctober 16, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: not equal work between employees
Savers was a good place to work as a sales associate , I had a good time working here before I got offered the dental assisting job. A typical day at work will be on the floor as cleaning the store and keeping it neat or be in the register. I learned how to talk to custmers and how to approach difficult situations when there was a problem. My co-workers – more... were fun to be around with we all work as a team to try to have the store neat and make customers happy. I don't believe this job was hard it had challenges that I needed to accomplish and learn, but the job was not hard. The most enjoyable part was making customers happy and knowing they knew the saved up money by shopping at Savers! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More laid back customer oriented retail business
Retail Sales Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: good wages, full benefits and an awesome crew to work with.
Cons: did not feel that we received the support needed to fully take business to its fullest potential.
I managed the sales floor and was responsible for all associates from hiring through their departure if that was the case. Although my assistant managers were exceptional and always on board to try something new to improve business, I did not feel the same way about upper management. They sometimes made me feel that they were not necessarily interested – more... in bettering the business and were not always open to change. The hardest part of the position was working in an atmosphere where my allergies were getting the best of me. Most of the items for sale were used and most had been cleaned before being donated. I am allergic to perfumes and some laundry softeners and I eventually ended having to leave the position because of this. Customer service was again the most enjoyable part of the job. As sales manager I could alter and change prices and would be able to assist some not so financially secure customers with prices that they could afford. Enjoyed knowing that I could help and give customers that special one on one service. Had many customers return and say that they enjoyed the shopping experience. I also enjoyed the fact that we were recycling not only here in Canada but had a system set up to take anything not sold here to some third world countries where these goods would be used to better other peoples lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting workplace
Bagger, Roller, Priced, Trainer (Former Employee), guelph ontarioSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: ignorant employees
a typical day at work would include bringing stock to the floor a not so typical day would include a birthday cake for a fellow employee.

i learned that there is much more to this store then what you see on the floor.

the hardest part was leaving my past job there, i liked it alot.

my co-workers were interesting i enjoyed being around most of them.

management – more... was finnicky there were quite a few transfers and one of them always expected us to have enough donations for quota which i thought was unfair due to the fact that employees can only tell so many people to donate as well that we as employees do not control what comes in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My current employment
Production worker (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 10, 2013
I only work part time right now and I need something else part time. or another position full time.

About Savers/Value Village

Savers is no ordinary thrift store. As a leader and pioneer in the retail thrift industry, we're a place where people from all – Read more

Savers/Value Village Photos