Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 353 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKMarch 8, 2016
fun to interact with customers. Diversity was encouraged. the best part of the job was pricing the products. it was a great learning experience and fun to organize donation drives.
Pros
free pizza lunch once every week
Cons
long hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst placed I've worked
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BCMarch 6, 2016
I've done plenty of labor related jobs in the past and I've never worked for a company that cares less about their employees. Minimum wage for production and recycling workers even though its a labor intensive job, lousy benefits and impossible to reach bonus incentives. Raises were laughable and insulting.

There is barely the needed amount of safety precautions in place, hazards are everywhere. Staff is not supplied with all they need to do the job safely and efficiently. Management is hostile and condescending towards staff, favoritism is rampant towards select staff. The work environment is poor and moral is almost never up. Do yourself a favor and don't bother applying for anything related to working with this company.

Best part about the whole job was the steady hours and the few decent staff that worked there.
Pros
Steady Hours
Cons
Low pay, Poor and unsafe work environment, Bullying management
Was this review helpful?Yes16No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an alright job
hanger, pricer, tagger, roller, sorter (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BCFebruary 26, 2016
I worked in production and although the hours were good and I liked getting done work at 4pm every day there were also quite a few things I really disliked about working at Value Village. First off the management was very unorganized and inconsistent. They put me on so many different jobs while I worked there and they worked me to my full potential but didn't pay me a dime extra, even for the more difficult jobs! I didn't feel that was fair. The pay is also horrible. The low pay is the reason why I could not continue working there anymore. it just wasn't even worth getting out of bed in the morning.
Pros
great coworkers
Cons
too much back-breaking work for almost no money
Was this review helpful?Yes14No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast past job
Customer Service/Trainer/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ONFebruary 26, 2016
it a fast past job and different position to learn, it a job that you fill satisfied ,good customer , always something new to discover
Pros
get free lunch on occation
Cons
hrs get cut down in winter time
Was this review helpful?YesNo5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly
Part-time Productions Team Member (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ONFebruary 25, 2016
awesome work environment and amazing staff. Management is extremely caring. Customers are always friendly. You'll always manage to find unique and fun stuff here at Value Village.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Designated cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 19, 2016
They are overall pretty great, they do as best as they can to protect and serve for the community and they are know for their astounding amount of volunteering work.
Pros
lunches, meeting new people
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team, pretty easy work, your typical retail experience
Front End Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa East, ONFebruary 10, 2016
I work in operations, the team that manages the front of the store.

It's your typical retail job; working the cash, cleaning up after customers, hanging clothes, etc. You get the occasional grumpy, messy customers who push your buttons but that's any retail job. Value Village is no different. It's pretty easy work.

Pay is good, starts at minimum and every year depending on how you do you get a bonus (a fairly good one if you've been a good employee.) Full time (32 hours a week or more) get benefits which is nice. Upward movement is an option if you're a solid employee.The location I work at have pretty good management. Not many complaints.

My only issue is with the consistency of the rules and pricing. A lot of the times managers will break 90% of the rules to please customers resulting in a lot of that "if you scream loud enough at the cashier you get what you want" mentality from the return customers. You say no (because it's your job to) and then they scream and the manager says yes to appease them.

Be prepared for constant price haggling and price checks. All in all, good place to work.
Pros
Good management, room for promotion, easy work
Cons
Typical retail experience of dealing with bad customers, take the brunt of customer anger
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 10, 2016
I had a blast working at Value Village! I loved the atmosphere but the work was very intense and stressful at times. Although, the place taught me a lot about myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must meet or exceed quota
Full Time Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONFebruary 5, 2016
All departments have a daily and weekly quota - including cashiers. Must be able to exceed in order to keep your job. Stressful when you fail.
Cons
Dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was not the best experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 2, 2016
For a first job it was good... but management and supervisors did not treat lesser employees fairly. Hours were good. However i would never go back to work there.
Pros
full time hours
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first place to get a job
SALES CLERK (Former Employee) –  Regina, SKJanuary 30, 2016
Everyone got along with each other, the pay was really well. After 6 months of working there, you would get benefits which was great.
Pros
Friendly, fun
Cons
Staff change constantly
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice benefits, hard work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONJanuary 25, 2016
If you are planning to apply, take this into consideration; having worked in both areas of a store, I recommend the front end of the store.
Of course, working with the public can be hard and stressful, it's nothing compared to working in the back area.
Depending on the location and the management, you have to prepare yourself for high performance and meeting set quotas each day.
You do get some information on how items are priced before they reach the sales floor. And see some of the 'garbage' that people donate.
Many of the others you work with can be very friendly. It can be a fun place to work, but be careful of what you say.
One of the great benefits is getting discounts on the items you buy. But you have to wait 48 hours after it hits the sales floor before you are able to consider buying it. The customers get first choice and pick. I would consider myself lucky if an item I wanted to buy was still there after the 2 day waiting period.
Pros
discounts on merchandise
Cons
language barriers, 'I rate' customers
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Part time sales associate (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONJanuary 21, 2016
Working in Value Village was always an amusing time. From the amazing co-workers to the costumers. There was always a great friend ship.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thrift Shop
Cashier and customer service representative (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ONJanuary 14, 2016
Easy and interesting minimum wage job. Some lack of professionalism. Build rewarding bonds with regular customers. Help non-profits and work for a corporation founded on green mentalities like recycling and reusing.
Pros
Opportunity for job advancement.
Cons
Lack of professionalism and organization within management and team members.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Retail Job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa West, ONJanuary 13, 2016
Let me first start this review with a little personality of myself, I'm a very easy man, I don't have high expectations and I don't think to much about things that don't require it. I rated this job as neutral as possible because I knew what I was going into, I knew there was no amazing salary or job security or advancement, my expectations going into this job was it was better than nothing. I have no complaints about Value Village, I could nitpick but that's not my personality.

A typical day at work involved punching in and punching out, going to the working supervisor to see your duties for the day, and you did those duties and whatever else the supervisor needed done for your shift. I don't think I learned to much that can be carried over from job to job. But I do think I grew as a person, I can now help anyone I see in need, I can quickly think on my feet and I'm more outgoing within respect to the workplace.

Management has always been fine and I've never had any problems with them nor have they had any problems with me, they're all great in my eyes regardless of how others see them. My co-workers also go hand in hand with my sentences above for management, they are all great and I have no issues with anyone.

I think the hardest part of my job is either getting every donation inside before the store closes (in the summer it gets insane with the donations) and or the actual process of going to work. Its not a very fulfilling place, as you might imagine its a retail store and eventually you'll want to move on to bigger, better, more interesting things.

My most
  more... enjoyable times at work are 100% caused by the friends I've made there, in no doubt without my co-workers and friends I would of not enjoyed it as much there.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, efficient
Clothes sorter (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BCJanuary 11, 2016
Fun relaxed environment, the hardest part of the job was when people didn't show up for their shifts. the most enjoyable part was finishing everything on time.
Pros
had pizza parties sometimes
Cons
People wouldn't show up for work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horribly Managed, Unorganized and vulgar work place.
Forklift Operator/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Waterdown, ONJanuary 11, 2016
Hated this place. I only accepted the job to pay the bills for the time being as I was laid off. They tell you a luxurious position that you will get and once hired it is not at all what they said. Management uses the paper you signed when hiring against you at every chance and if you are not 100% on point you will get wrote up as these managers are new and trying to gain power. The co-workers were amazing, the pay was terrible and there was smoking mirrors with the "benefits" package. The hardest part of my job was showing up every day to such a terribly managed work place. I would suggest edits to the back however were turned down. The hazardous area isn't even properly cleaned or set up, the HOTZ people came and nearly fainted at the sight of their set up.
Such a terrible backroom warehouse set up, terrible hours, not flexible and the job security is inaccurate as hours were always fluctuating once hired.
Pros
Received a Pay every 2 Weeks.
Cons
Hazardous Work Place, Never Fully Trained, Falsified Hiring Information.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ONJanuary 10, 2016
Value Village is not a bad place to work at but the employees and managers make the place look bad. Customers make you hate your job sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers fun and easy to work with
Salesclerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJanuary 9, 2016
Cash handling
Debit and credit transactions
Organized products for customer ease
Cleaned and maintained high traffic areas
Provided helpful information to customer
Assisted with finding items
Received and allocated donations
Pros
Fun and busy environment
Cons
Benefits available to fulltime staff only
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ONJanuary 8, 2016
I enjoyed working at zellers until it closed and terminated all employees While it was open it was a great place to shop and help customers find what they were looking for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,001 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Savers/Value Village Reviews by Location