Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 434 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work place.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  North York, ON15 December 2016
Horrible work environment with negative management.
I was constantly treated poorly by almost all of the management and i would never work here again.
Pros
50 percent discount
Cons
Horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working there
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON6 November 2016
i loved working there the staff where friendly and always whiling to help when you need it the management where awesome i loved working with them
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON8 February 2017
The main floor manager made life at work very uncomfortable and uneasy. The other managers were kind and helpful though.
Pros
Cheap clothes
Cons
Bad salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my first job on warehouse
Production worker\various possitions (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 October 2016
Value village was a simple but demanding job, since i was one of the only recyclers on the floor they had me going around doing almost everything that needed to be done, i sometimes felt overloaded, not because of not being able to handle high pressure but because there was 3 supervisors telling me what to do at all times and all had different requests and needed to be done "immediately''. Of course i got experience in many things likedriving the big joe and to be organized and careful as well as handling high work loads, what i liked the most was the diversity of objects and merchandise u could see sometimes, some really interesting and fun things
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horribly Managed, Unorganized and vulgar work place.
Forklift Operator/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Waterdown, ON11 January 2016
Hated this place. I only accepted the job to pay the bills for the time being as I was laid off. They tell you a luxurious position that you will get and once hired it is not at all what they said. Management uses the paper you signed when hiring against you at every chance and if you are not 100% on point you will get wrote up as these managers are new and trying to gain power. The co-workers were amazing, the pay was terrible and there was smoking mirrors with the "benefits" package. The hardest part of my job was showing up every day to such a terribly managed work place. I would suggest edits to the back however were turned down. The hazardous area isn't even properly cleaned or set up, the HOTZ people came and nearly fainted at the sight of their set up.
Such a terrible backroom warehouse set up, terrible hours, not flexible and the job security is inaccurate as hours were always fluctuating once hired.
Pros
Received a Pay every 2 Weeks.
Cons
Hazardous Work Place, Never Fully Trained, Falsified Hiring Information.
Was this review helpful?Yes19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people, difficult workload
Sales Clerk / Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 September 2016
For an entry level retail position the location I work at packed a punch. One person is expected to do five jobs nearly at all times. Customers should always be prioritized but staff members at times forget that due to the pressure of the workload.
Company model is to make all sheduling decisions with a sales vs labour formula. At times this can leave team members frustrated as their hours are cut or they are forced to stay late as their supervisor (who is responsible for the whole store) cannot count their register down until there is coverage.
Customers will always have questions and always demand a service that will not always be available to them in this sort of environment. Customers were often forced to wait to be served due to training and cashiers have little freedom. At times two to four people can be waiting for managerial approval and there is often only one manager in a large location.
This job will keep you fit and your skills sharp until you burn out due to unrealistic expectations.
My sincere advice for the hardworking bee, please work somewhere else for your minimum wage.
This business expects you to excell at everything at all times vs have an area or department of expertise and perform very highly at one thing.
The culture here was very nitpicky both by management and by customers. It seems my entire shift was prioritizing and reprioritizing. Everyone in this building prefers to react to trouble instead of being prepared in advance.
Pros
sales quarter bonuses, free lunches on sale days, christmas draw for prizes, occasional gift certificates, partnering with a local charity
Cons
often having a heavy workload, standing entire shifts, sometimes having to give up holidays, missing breaks and lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers and customers great, bad managemnet
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC17 June 2016
If you are NOT a pricer this is a very good job. If you are then you will hate it after 6 months. Management Will be nice at first and then get horrible after 5ish months.
Pros
Co-workers, benefits, occasional free lunch
Cons
Management sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team based company
Retail Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC27 May 2016
deal with customers, communicate to the team about the day.

We learn about new customers and different kinds of products that come in the store.

We have a strong management team that works together.

We have a great team we are more like a family that like to be their for each other.

the hardest part of the job is having to let people go when they have to many cash issues.

The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to help out people that are less fortunate and down on their luck.
Pros
met great people thru out the 12 years on the job.
Cons
When other people don't help out with the team work like they should
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB13 February 2017
The management was the worst, they were not friendly or understanding of anything. I would not recommend this job to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of experience and responsibility!
Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 December 2016
- I was on the main floor and was in charge of assisting customers and getting them what they requested, sometimes making suggestions.
- I had to remember the layout of the store and where things were located so I could point customers in the right direction of what they were looking for.
- I also had the responsibility of keeping the store neat (picking clothes up off the ground, rehanging things, bringing clothing racks back and forth from the back room to the aisles, putting merchandise in their respective locations, taking care of spare hangers or fetching extras from the back room)
- My managers would assign me to specific locations sometimes (e.g. on Halloween the sweater racks were joined together and it was my responsibility to shadow customers and rehang what they rejected)
- I was a co op student so I was not paid. I got along well with everyone but I did not do much socializing as I was there to work.
- The hardest part of the job was the repetition.
- The most enjoyable part of the job was assisting customers. I love to help people! I am also a fashion student and it was fun to be around clothes and build outfits in my head.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Fulfillment
Sales and Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON14 November 2016
Great place to work!
Very fulfilling Care about people and the environment!
Excellent benefits paid vacation...product discount
medical and dental
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun environment
Production Assoc. & Operations CSR (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 September 2016
Meet all kinds of people, from diverse backgrounds. Learned new ways to manage time and increase productivity. Most co-workers were good to work with, except some of the new hires that were new to the country. The hardest part of working there was the language barriers put up by some of the new immigrants, which tended to cause conflict with the rest of the crew. Most enjoyable part of the job is the people(customers and co-workers alike), and HALLOWEEN season! It is like having full access to Mr. Dressups Tickle Trunk! Not to mention the great treasures to be found!
Pros
Group activities: Monthly potluck or free lunches, and games to keep co-workers involved with the team.
Cons
Repeatative work at times. Dust and poor ventilation.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL13 July 2016
on a daily basis we would have a great team and great regulars (customers) to work with. The service was good, but management could have been a bit better. I used to love going into work there because of my colleagues, but after a few repeated failed promises from management it became unsatisfactory. I would recommend this as a place to work for people looking absolutely and harbor no hate or animosity towards the company / people working for it!
Pros
great staff, good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable enviornment
Seasonal sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON3 January 2017
Working at Value Village you will encounter a lot a people with different tastes in clothing, bed and bath, books and much more. Helping out customers and being able to approach them with confidence is what you will be able to accomplish at Value Village. The co workers are amazing and every one of them is ready to help you get to the next level to be better. No one is put down and respect is a major key.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Hard to keep up on tasks on a very busy day
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team, pretty easy work, your typical retail experience
Front End Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON10 February 2016
I work in operations, the team that manages the front of the store.

It's your typical retail job; working the cash, cleaning up after customers, hanging clothes, etc. You get the occasional grumpy, messy customers who push your buttons but that's any retail job. Value Village is no different. It's pretty easy work.

Pay is good, starts at minimum and every year depending on how you do you get a bonus (a fairly good one if you've been a good employee.) Full time (32 hours a week or more) get benefits which is nice. Upward movement is an option if you're a solid employee.The location I work at have pretty good management. Not many complaints.

My only issue is with the consistency of the rules and pricing. A lot of the times managers will break 90% of the rules to please customers resulting in a lot of that "if you scream loud enough at the cashier you get what you want" mentality from the return customers. You say no (because it's your job to) and then they scream and the manager says yes to appease them.

Be prepared for constant price haggling and price checks. All in all, good place to work.
Pros
Good management, room for promotion, easy work
Cons
Typical retail experience of dealing with bad customers, take the brunt of customer anger
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun, but overwhelming
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON23 September 2016
I've made a lot of friends working for this company and I have a great support system through my many co workers. Management is unorganized most of the time, but when we work as a team I love my job.
Pros
Halloween season
Cons
Unsteady hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment with a focus on profit instead of Community
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 November 2015
I joined this company thinking that it's objective was to use it's profits to help the community, environment and less fortunate countries. Through insight, I realized that this is not true. The focus is on paying the non-profits as little as possible, and only recycling the things they can sell to middle men. Training is non-existent. I was given an outdated book and told to find time to "figure it out". Lack of communication makes the day very stressful as mixed messages and lack of direction cause team members to become upset and lash out. The hardest part of the job is finding the motivation to push the team members to fulfill impossible quotas. The most enjoyable part of the job is when someone comes to me with a problem and I am able to help them. I like my job but most days I am not able to do it.
Pros
Benefits, Job security and Advancement, great team members
Cons
Poor Management Communication, Poor training, focus on quotas and top Management bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very charitable company
Production Worker, (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 September 2016
Lots of quotas to make on impossible deadlines
Company did a lot of charitable work with the community
Worked overtime on a constant basis when quotas for the company were not met
Pros
Good shift times
Cons
Bad management and safety practices
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wilson, ON27 September 2016
Working at Valve Village was okay, didin't really met well with the team but they'er there to help if i needed. Management was fine not everyone knew what their role was, everyone was really jumping around.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Team Member (Former Employee) –  New Minas, NS18 August 2016
Management has zero respect for the rules and you're treated like a lapdog. Very negative environment and not worthy for anyone. Do not be fooled by the company's donation spiel, it's all a big scam. Work for a company that respects it's policies, this company does not.
Pros
None
Cons
Manipulative, dishonest, unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,351 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3