Find companies:
Savers/Value Village
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
748 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enjoyable Workplace
Cashier, General Recovery (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCFebruary 28, 2015
Pros: pleasant team, good hours, overall enjoyable
Cons: customers can be ignorant & disrespectful, lots to clean
Typical day at work: Cashier and general recovery for the majority of the day - Picking up + hanging clothing items, completing transactions, Keeping fitting rooms organized, items shelved etc. Sometimes had to run donations center for the day - Taking donations/greeting & thanking as well as stocking donation room and carts.

Learned how to operate the cash register tills + improved social skills with the public

Management is fantastic. Incredibly nice people whom run the store efficiently.

Hardest part was constant bending up and down to clean the store of fallen items - repetitive movement can takes it toll on the spine

Most enjoyable part was working with the team, interacting with bright and happy customers and just overall the job itself is fairly enjoyable - as much as work can be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work environment.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONFebruary 25, 2015
Pros: a pro would be the employee appreciation pizza parties.
Cons: a con would be the long hours on my feet.
A typical day at work includes interacting with customers and providing excellent customer service while performing cash, fitting room and general recovery duties.

At this job I have learned that time management is very important as well as being able to multi task and work on a team.

For the most part the managers and supervisors are encouraging, supportive, and are there to assist us with our daily duties.

The hardest part of he job would be the standing on my feet in one place for hours on end.

The most enjoyable part of the job is that I get to work with a group of energetic and welcoming people. Being at work is fun because most of the employees get along really well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive And Fun enviroment
Sales Assicoate (Current Employee), 2050 Rogers RdFebruary 25, 2015
Pros: flexiable shifts
Cons: to many on call shifts
A typical day includes starting off with a floor check and maintaining restrooms.Going on to cash and handleing all transcactions for exp.cash,credit,debt also handling coupons and discounted prices if there are any promotions for that sales day.Maintaing all departments clean and organized.Attending fitting room to help customers if no one is there to assist.
Co-Workers are friendly and productive it is a team effort everytime I work.I enjoy assisting customers in a polite manner and always providing excellent customer service .Mangement is open and friendly and lets you voice your opinion and takes you into considration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and flexible hours.
Roller (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 24, 2015
Pros: managers are understanding.
I am a roller. I start at 8 am and finish at around 2-4 pm 3-5 days out of the week. My coworkers are all friendly and look out for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Up and Downs
Customer Service and Sales Representative (Former Employee), Brampton, ONFebruary 21, 2015
Pros: long hours that were enjoyable
Cons: lunches that weren't given when needed
Just like any other day at work it has its up and down's, also you're real fast/busy and then there's the empty days with any of the ways were 100 percent enjoyable.
best thing I learn from this job would have to be my communication skills, to have more encouragement, to earn customers Honesty, Faith, and Trust cause not having that then I wouldn't be working in the right place. My Co-Wokers and Management team was the best every Fun, Caring and Open Minded. The only thing that I would have to say was the hardest part of my job working
there was for my to Smile and the easiest and enjoyable part is working with the best team of co-workers and meeting alot of new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disrespectful
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Sherwood ParkFebruary 20, 2015
Pros: the company is good but cetain stores are not
Cons: to many to list
Employees cannot work hard enough to satisfy management.
Manager has a hit list all the time , all though they are always telling supervisors to build the team. the company has great recycle programs ect. But the management is awful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, fast paced work environtment.
Material Handler/OSD attendant (Former Employee), North Bay, ONFebruary 18, 2015
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: hours fluctuated way too much
Working at Value Village was a good experience, for the most part. My co workers were easy to get along with a friendly. Management was also easy to get a long with but at times it seemed like they didn't listen to the employees. I enjoyed the work itself. Moving donations from the door to the sales floor was easy work for me and it kept me busy. The toughest part was trying to figure out a temporary solution to some problems while management was trying to work out a permanent solution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very friendly environment
Pricer (Former Employee), Windsor, ONFebruary 16, 2015
Pros: employee discounts (50% off)
Cons: sorting the goods could be difficult as it was donations and not a constant
On a typical work day we would price items to be stocked and sold to the customers. A quota of 40 carts a day were to be placed out for customers. Management was great at listening to customers and employee needs.
Hardest part of the job would be the carts. They could be loaded with very heavy items and hard to push.
The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know the customers that were in very frequently, their needs and giving them what they were looking for
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job experience
Customer Service (Former Employee), Surrey BCFebruary 12, 2015
Pros: getting experience
Cons: no remuneration
Sorting and hanging up clothes.
Helping customers, Work independently and as a team player.
Self motivated . Enjoyed helping out customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldn't recommend it.
Cashier / Clerk (Former Employee), MontrealFebruary 12, 2015
Pros: good coworkers and discount
Cons: inflexible management, your schedule is given at the beginning of the week
It's OK for a first job.
By the end of your first day, you'll want to cry coz your feet are way too sore.
Management was good until they all quit and the company decided to be stricter.
You can't really talk to the customers, coz the manager is staring at you. So you have to interact with customers while putting clothes back on the hangers. Which is quite rude to customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Material Handler (Former Employee), calgary, abFebruary 10, 2015
Pros: good to start work in canada
Cons: no overtime
company has less salaries and more work to do, management is too rude, specially supervisors, 1 employee with lot of responsibilities..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically demanding but never boring
Backroom Team Member (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONFebruary 8, 2015
Pros: never boring
Cons: dirty work
Everyday there was something new to do. The job was never the same. Some days extremely stressful and busy, but others incredibly calm and slow. I worked in the back, behind the scenes. Organizing and cleaning all the backstock and loading/unloading the trucks. The hardest part was maintaining all your duties, there was alot for us to handle especially in busy times of the day. The was a big help and everyone boosted eachother up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, high volume job with little fun.
Sales Assciate (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 6, 2015
Pros: great co-workers.
Cons: bad management.
A typical day at work depended on what area you were in that day. For instance, fitting room attendants were in charge of keeping their area of the store clean, leaving no clothes in the fitting room, putting merchandise back on the floor. Cashiers were responsible for making announcements and cashing out customers. When it was slow we were to clean the front of the store. If you were doing general recovery (putting things where they belonged or hanging up clothes, general cleaning) it was their job to have the back portion of the store clean by the end of the night. I learned a lot about working quickly and dealing with customers properly. Management was very rude and disrespectful towards team members. My co-workers are the best part of the job, I really enjoy working with them. The hardest part of the job is constantly getting belittled by management and customers, and the most enjoyable part of my job is seeing customers children leave happy when they get a new toy or new clothes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producticve, fun work environment
Cashier/Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Guelph, ONFebruary 3, 2015
A typical day at work would be, going to lunch room to change, then go out to the floor and start my shift. I would start up the cash register then go to my supervisor and ask her what she wants me to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace,
Sorter (Current Employee), Coquitlam, BCFebruary 2, 2015
Cons: low wages, poor management
the hardest part of the job is to keep up with the quota every day, with a less then understanding or empathetic manager. the best part of the job would be getting to engage with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all fairly good
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), mississaugaFebruary 2, 2015
Pros: free halloween lunch
Cons: almost double shifts
learning has no end ; I've learnt lots and still on the path of progress; in short I started as a part time miscel sorter and today I am in management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
value village
Cashier, Stalking (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBFebruary 2, 2015
Pros: easy job
Cons: dust
I would start as cashier that's what I did most of the day , I cleaned the store , worked the floor, and stalked products. I was always busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardworking, fast paced and down to business
Recycler (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJanuary 31, 2015
Pros: full time hours
Cons: heavy lifting and cold weather in the early morning
My experience at Value Village has been a very interesting one.
I loved the hours we would work. The way you would be so busy that time would go by. The people at Value Village I have to say new the word team! We would always work together no matter what it was. We would motivate each other. It was a real pleasure working their.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Reciever (Former Employee), Sydney, NSJanuary 26, 2015
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: low wages
Met customers and receiving donations from 1 bag/box to a few truck loads. Stacked them on assigned carts and transported to production area. Management at the store was exceptionally great. Easy place to work for. Co-workers were very knowledgeable and helpful when needed. Hardest part dealing with the low wages trying to support a family of 4 children. Most enjoyable was giving the customers a great experience when coming to the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Osd attendant (Former Employee), Charlottetown, PEJanuary 25, 2015
this company is not a company that i would recomend any one too this company has no staff apprishation as well as there prices and discount suck. this company has no intentions of making you happy for what you do.

About Savers/Value Village

Savers is no ordinary thrift store. As a leader and pioneer in the retail thrift industry, we're a place where people from all – Read more

Savers/Value Village Photos

Customers looking to buy items
Waiting to go to work