Find companies:
Savers/Value Village
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
508 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very clickie
Production Worker (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCMarch 28, 2014
got in trouble if didnt make quota 2000 lbs sorting
management had favorites that didnt have to work late on sales days
they write you up at the drop of a hat
pets never got writtrn up
was racially attacked managment did nothing about it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tiring but have fun talking to co-workers
Cashier and customer service (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 28, 2014
Pros: usually hit quarterly or halloween bonus
Cons: if donations were left out too long the would start to stink the place up
I really enjoyed unloading the trucks of donations because it was a straight 2 hour job and all the truck drivers were very kind and polite. Everyone was very easy to work with and very polite. I appreciated the management because they all treat you equally and respectively. I learned how to be a cashier, customer service, and a recycler which also – more... made me not so shy. As a recycler I would clear all the donations in the morning and place the donations on one of three carts(cloth, miscellaneous and books). I would then weigh them and record them. I would also make sure ever station had a fresh garbage bin to sort with. As a cashier I would balance my till and cash people by cash,debit or mastercard/visa. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 23, 2014
Pros: working with clothes
Cons: bad management
I had long hours working here, didn;t really like my management, they couldn't fit around my hours. Didn't really have the best experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When under good management Value Village can be a great place to work.
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 22, 2014
I have worked for Value Village for 5 years and I have had the opportunity to work with some truly amazing people. I loved my job. Like any job it had its ups and downs but my co-workers and I always tried to make it fun. Unfortunately my rating is based on the last few months of my employment. My store came under new management and I had problems of – more... my own. I had lost 2 family members in one year and had taken a couple days over the 10 sick days that I was allowed to take. My manager had a discussion with me the day after I had gone to a family member’s funeral. He told me that I could no longer take sick days at all, but that I could not come back to work until I had found a solution. There was no solution to be found because there was no true problem. After that I was insulted, harassed, and threatened with my job in any other meetings with my manager. HR refused to mediate the situation and my regional manager would no longer respond to me after my initial complaint. I was finally forced to quit my job due to a hostile work environment and harassment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced environment with plenty of opportunities to grow.
Community Donation Centre Ambassador (Current Employee), Oakville, Ontario.March 13, 2014
Pros: 50% off discount on clothing and 30% off of furniture and electronics.
Cons: strong contrasts in regards to workload (slow nights with nothing to do, other nights there would be so much to do you would not know where to start.)
A typical day at work on a weekday (Monday through Friday shifts) would involve asking management about any impending deliveries for the day from the C.D.A. (Canadian Diabetes Association) and the quota of what still needs to be unloaded from the truck delivery for the day.

When the truck arrives I am expected to get someone to take over my duties – more... at the Donation Center door by informing the manager on duty of the arrival of the truck. Once that is done I am expected to take the quota off of the truck and weigh the donations on a large cart to determine if we have met or exceeded the quota for the day.

Once that is complete I return to my regular duties of servicing customers who come directly to the store by unloading their vehicles of furniture and donations of all varieties in addition to informing them about the nature of the store's partnership with the CDA as well as upcoming events and promotions occurring in the store such as upcoming sale days at the front end of the store.

I worked by myself on weekdays unless the workload exceeded my capabilities such as a couch needed to be unloaded from a delivery truck at which point I would need to communicate to a manager I am in need of assistance and they would send me a retail sales worker from the front end to help me to accomplish the task in question.

On weekends I worked alongside 1-2 other workers who held the same position as I do and would service customers and the front end of the store equally, but the frequency of customers coming to the donation center and the volume of donations would be much higher then the weekday shifts which could be described as "slow" in comparison. One Saturday in 2012 in a twelve hour time-frame the store received approximately 13,500 lbs. of donations not including refuse and trash we disposed of directly into the compactor or the furniture we received or sold and subsequently carried out.

The hardest part of my job is the pacing and the workload. On some nights I would be looking for something to accomplish to make the time pass but there would be little to no work to be done, and on others the workload would be impossible for one person to handle, let alone 2-3 others.

The most enjoyable part of my job would be the independence to determine my own break schedule and the co-workers whom I worked alongside with who were as diverse as the items we received. Stories could be told, communication freely given and I felt truly part of a team while employed there while working alongside others because a mutual goal was shared. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an alright job
Customer service (Former Employee), Belleville, ONMarch 12, 2014
Cons: management
Everyday I would be helping take in donations
and bringing them to the back of the store

I didnt learn much, just how to stack donations the value village way.

Management was horrible at value village. Not a whole lot of communication. none of them got along with each other.

I had very nice co-workers that would help me out lots when needed

The – more... hardest part was dealing with the managers

The enjoyable part was making money and making friends at the job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Enviornment with potential for growth and good compensation
Supervisor (Current Employee), Oakville, ONMarch 9, 2014
Good Enviornment with potential for growth and good compensation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful , not a place I would reccomend
Production worker/Cashier (Former Employee), Kamloops, BCFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: benefits, paycheque, co workers
Cons: being threatened with the loss of your job if you don't reach your goals
The job per Se is a great job, interesting to say the least, it's the unethical treatment from management which is deplorable. You are given a high goal to do in your shift, if you can not attain that goal you are threatened with the loss of your job. Considering the nature of the donations that is not always feasible, quite often you are dealing with – more... pure garbage or unacceptable items. Broken dishes, burnt or filthy pots and pans, small appliances that don't work. How ever that is not an acceptable response when questioned as to why you didn't achieve your goal. Most enjoyable aspect of the job was seeing all the neat things come in especially the antiques. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funny workplace
Sales (Former Employee), Sydney, NSFebruary 21, 2014
During this time I gained valuable on-the-job experience, including helping customers to find the products they looking for and describe the promotions to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace setting, organized, clean store
Cashier / sales associate (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: easy work
Cons: too many managers, confusion at times.
Typical day: Working shift on cash, cleaning up change rooms, rolling clothing, sorting clothing, sweeping floors of items out of place. Organizing shoe displays

I learned how to manage time well, and work on a team better.

Management: A lot of people in charge of one company. I had 5 different supervisors each week. Can get confusing.

Co workers: – more... Nice for the most part. Got along with them well, some more motivated than others but were there to help out.

Hardest part of the job: Busy day, having to work cash and clean change rooms while trying to roll clothing.

Most enjoyable: Working cash, talking with customers and making their day a bit better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team
Retail Sales Manager (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABFebruary 15, 2014
It was a good place to work alot of challenges learning my new role within the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place To Work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: not being able too spend alot of time with my family
I loved working at Value Village. A typical day at work would start at 7:30am with some cleaning on the sales floor, then once cleaning was done we had to start our pricing of clothes and all different kinds of merchandise. Value Village is a second hand store which is different from an actual retail such as Shoppers Drug Mart, Old Navy etc. Loved working – more... with my co workers it was a fun environment. The management team was great tried too help out as much as possible when it was needed. I was with Value Village for 11 and a half years. Had to leave Value Village due to my third pregnancy with some health issues due to the store being a second hand store which isn't a very clean environment to work in. Trying to find something a little different love working. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience of retails and thrift
Retail Sales Manager (Current Employee), Oakville, ONFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: learning
Cons: slow growth
Very fast pace environment
Development plans
Thrift and non-profit experience
Community services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dusty atmosphere, too many managers, no job security
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: it's a job...even if temporary
Cons: no future at this company
Typical day at work is hard on your feet on concrete, bending, reaching and sometimes climbing very high up in the back. Mundane, tedious work. The customers have no respect for the employees, dropping and leaving clothing all over the place.

Management have a high and mighty type of air to them. This corporation uses people for their high seasons, – more... tells them they aren't only hiring for the busy season and then lets you go a couple of days shy of your probation period.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the customers at the cash register.
Worst part of the job is the mess the customers leave you with constantly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun working with other people and communicating with them at work.
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), 1495 Venables St, VancouverJanuary 17, 2014
Finishing my task everyday.
I learned that the recycling goes to the undeveloped country s.
Management was unorganized.
They were fun to work with
Was finishing the task everyday.
Making people smile and meeting new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, not so great management.
PRODUCTION TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee), Stoney Creek, ONJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: coworkers were fantastic, decent hours, okay pay
Cons: poorly managed, no job security
I worked for value village for 3 months before they let me go without notice the day before my 3 month probation wa suppose to end. My friend was suppose to get a raise for the referral if I lasted that long, go figure. Management here is so disorganized. They complain about not having enough staff then they fire people left, right and centre. I showed – more... up every single day, on time, and even stayed later if needed. They let go a few people who did their job properly and chose to keep people who took time off constantly. For waste your time. Apply up on the mountain. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with friendly staff
Customer Service, Cashier, General Cleanup (Former Employee), Coquitlam, BCJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: all the staff felt like family
Cons: being on my feet for a full 8 hours
I worked in production as well as store front. In production I did many different task from sorting through products when they first come into the store to pricing them and rolling them to the sales floor. In store front I worked on cash and did some general cleanup. I learned how to deal with customer complaints and keep a positive attitude when the – more... store got busy and stressful. The hardest part may have been having to be on my feet for 8 hours a day and repetitive bending over to pick things up. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to work with the friendly staff. I was happy to go to work and see the other employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers are very nice
Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: supervisors provide free lunch on sales day
It is a fun place to be and co-workers are very helpful.
it is a nice workplace and the co-workers care about you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun place to work, great job if it's your first time getting a job
DESIGANTED CASHIER (Current Employee), Yorkton, SKJanuary 4, 2014
Great place to work, great benefits and very flexible hours if your going to school or have another job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but not for long time in production
Team Member (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: free lunch and treats
Cons: ---
Learn how to work long hours doing weight lifting and heavy work in cold. nice experience

About Savers/Value Village

Savers is no ordinary thrift store. As a leader and pioneer in the retail thrift industry, we're a place where people from all – Read more

Savers/Value Village Photos