Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 330 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABDecember 29, 2015
In a days shift one must handle cash, maintain the store clean,accept donations,solve queries of customers.I learned to handle cash and I learned managerial skills from my managers by observing them at work in how they deal with customers.Co-workers are good.Hardest part of job is standing outside in cold at times to accept donations from customers.Most enjoyable part is the food that sometimes the management provides.Getting proper hours is another problem there.Job working hours are flexible which is very good if you are a student.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ffun, well paced
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ONDecember 17, 2015
loved working here, food is amazing staff is fun and out going and the people are good too.

thhe lunch deals are amazing and you not a far walkk from the
beautiful germain park wherre youuu can tae a stroll
Pros
llnch, pay. food
Cons
bar next door sometimes gets loud
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ONDecember 9, 2015
I loved working for value village, the only reason i left was because i wasnt getting enough hours to make ends meet. i have absolutely nothing bad to say about this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very satisfying to see how much of the proceeds went to the non-profit charity.
Merchandiser/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ONDecember 7, 2015
There was a lot of variety in what I did each day, and co-workers were very helpful in training. Due to my performance, was promoted twice in the short time I was there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front end cashier sales associate
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONDecember 5, 2015
your basically treating straight up rude, smelly, senseless people like royalty here. They come everyday to complain, and create a MESS like no other. So your job is to deal deal with stupidity and rudeness and clean up after their destructive trail. For some reason people dont realize this is a THRIFT store that sells 95% USED items, and 5% might be brand new, so basically if there is ANY defects like a small pencil size mark, a thread is loose, a almost unnoticeable stain.. ANYTHING... they want a discount because they expect everything to be brand new mint condition. Not only that, value village has rules for no reason, rules are bended constantly for these customers because when they hear "sorry we can't do that", it's a fight. Management is stupid as well, on top of that lazy and slow. They have no problem making people do 500 jobs and just watch while things are too much, like can you help instead of just standing there telling people to move faster? We only can do so much when we are up against senseless shoppers.
Pros
Some fun co-workers to go through the war with
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, friendly place to work with a strive for daily excellent customer satisfaction
Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ONDecember 5, 2015
A typical day of work would include getting assigned a cash register for the day. My first 2 hours of my shift would be spent on cash. I would say the most enjoyable and hardest part of my job is talking to the customers. I love talking to people from all walks of life. I learn new things from my customers on a daily basis. I like complementing them on their purchases. Sometimes making a simple compliment can make anybody's day. On the other hand, some customers can be a real handful. They easily can get upset if their coupons have expired or they don't like the prices. I have learned patience while dealing with these customers. There is no sense making the situation worse by getting frustrated. I calmly talk to them and if the situation gets worse then I simply call a manager. The management is wonderful. They treat the employees well and back them up when an unpleasant situation arises.
Pros
I get along with everyone that I work with, I have been praised for my work by both my managers and customers
Cons
Not getting hours, not all employees do their fair share of the work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
operations (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABDecember 2, 2015
Was a relaxing work environment.
Staff was great to work with.
I had very flexible hours

Cons- Working evening I was shorted hours to 11 hours a week due too students working and not having enough hours to give me.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment with a focus on profit instead of Community
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ONNovember 30, 2015
I joined this company thinking that it's objective was to use it's profits to help the community, environment and less fortunate countries. Through insight, I realized that this is not true. The focus is on paying the non-profits as little as possible, and only recycling the things they can sell to middle men. Training is non-existent. I was given an outdated book and told to find time to "figure it out". Lack of communication makes the day very stressful as mixed messages and lack of direction cause team members to become upset and lash out. The hardest part of the job is finding the motivation to push the team members to fulfill impossible quotas. The most enjoyable part of the job is when someone comes to me with a problem and I am able to help them. I like my job but most days I am not able to do it.
Pros
Benefits, Job security and Advancement, great team members
Cons
Poor Management Communication, Poor training, focus on quotas and top Management bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice treats every Friday
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKNovember 29, 2015
Fun place to work, especially during Halloween and Christmas. People are friendly and you build relationships with regular customers
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transfer
Assistant Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 26, 2015
Good company to work for paid to transfer me across the country gave me managment jobs and provided me with the skills to move on throught out my life worked with alot of charities in helping people get what they needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff is very nice to work with
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BCNovember 25, 2015
Overall, not too bad. It's mostly about working with your fellow employees and they are all good. We help each other, get the job done and handle the stressors together that comes in every day.

Sometimes if we did a good quota, we got to go home earlier, and of course, everyone liked that.

The hardest part of the job is hauling out the clothing racks. The wheels are small and they are constantly clogged with thread and dust and dirt, which made it very hard to pull the racks around the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Operations - Victoria store
Operations Clerk - Part-time (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BCNovember 23, 2015
Rude Management - no people skills at all. Some Supervisors extremely lazy and treat staff and customers poorly at the front end. Co-workers fun even though over-worked and lack of motivation. Mgmt won't meet shift requests at all, only if you are a "favourite." This kind of behavior makes all the videos you have to watch a complete joke. Value Village corporation as a whole - very good. Victoria management/supervision - very poor.
Pros
Got some training on cash.
Cons
Poor management and supervision.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good
cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 17, 2015
I made a lot of friends. I learned how to talk to people and work as a cashier. There was a friendly environment, but there was a case of stealing and some mistrust.
Pros
Friendly Enviroment, made lots of firends
Cons
Some Mistrust, and sometimes bad supervison
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun work enviroment
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ONNovember 16, 2015
Fast paced enviroment with lots of multi-tasking and constant attention to detail. Been shown training methods as well as opening and closing procedures from all levels of management. Very close, friendly and knowledgable staff. Must keep up with sometimes very physical task requirements as well as keeping things organized and supervised properly. Enjoying being able to help customers as well as give back to the community throught our charity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Community involved
operations (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 12, 2015
Was a great opportunity for getting to know my community.
I was involved with the Community Donations Center and was cross trained to work in operations.
They are very flexible and a great team to work with.
Pros
Very flexible
Cons
Managment Shifts and schedules where inconsitant. ex 11hrs a week. then 20hrs the next.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My typical day at Value Village
Assistant Operation Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ONNovember 4, 2015
Typical work day would be to open the store get the cash registers balance for the day. Take the prior deposits to the office do daily morning paper work for the previous day. When all is done back to floor to get morning cashier cashed on. Then proceed to the daily tasks of the store making sure that all job tasks are done with staff and customers.
t
Pros
Bonuses every quarter if sales match, discounts at store level and other stores
Cons
Long hours family life being neglected.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work there if you must.
Soft Goods (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONNovember 2, 2015
With few exceptions, the management at Value Village are an incompetent lot who bully and threaten their workers.
The actual work in the production department is not for people who are squeamish but it is alright.
Co-workers are pleasant enough to work with and will help you if you need it.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production.
production worker (Former Employee) –  2112 winnipeg mbOctober 28, 2015
I worked here for 2 months before I quit! I have a monotoned face so my supervisors thought I hated the place so they treated me like garbage and constantly wrote me up! So if you're not smiling 24/7 don't expect to have a permanent job! You get written up for the stupidest things, you don't get proper training and are constantly being moved from station to station!
Pros
Direct deposit
Cons
Management and employees
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome coworkers
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BCOctober 24, 2015
Working at Value Village was fun. Lots of great coworkers. Great customers. Never a dull moment. Always something to keep busy with. Customers, putting back clothes. Really looked forward to October. Halloween is Huge with Value Village. Staff allowed to dress up, too.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly workplace
Sales Representative/Customer service(Cashier) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 24, 2015
coworkers are very nice and helpful. Management was not supportive. lost my job because i had to go back for an emergency. they did not take me back in the company even thought i was a very old employee
Was this review helpful?Yes5No

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 945 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture