Find companies:
Savers/Value Village
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
506 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), Orleans, ONMay 23, 2014
Pros: opportunitites to learn
Cons: no real advancement in field
The team was a great one to work with. The customers became friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and welcoming atmosphere. Approachable managers and friendly co-workers.
On-Site Donations Attendant (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONMay 22, 2014
My job would involve accepting donations to the thrift store from customers.
At Value Village I learned valuable team working skills. How to communicate with other employees to help get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Solid Part-Time Job
Customer Service and Donation Ambassador (Current Employee), Hamilton, OntarioMay 17, 2014
As a donation ambassador at Savers I greet donors, tell them a bit about us (how their donation is helping our non-profit partners), help unload and receive their donations. I process the donations into our receiving area to be brought to our production team. Additionally I help load and unload trailers of donations (hard and soft goods).
As a donation – more... center ambassador you are also responsible to price and organize the furniture, and the furniture section of the store.
Through my experience here at Value Village; I have learned how to: operate a forklift; according to safety standards and efficiently, a bailer. I have learned much in regard to the value of furniture pieces and other miscellaneous things. The environment at my job can sometimes be pretty negative in regard to other employees, but with the co-workers in my section we work together fairly well and we have a good relationship with each other. My management has also been very understanding and willing to work with me in regard to the full schedule I used to have. Along with always treating me with respect and professionally. The position can be very difficult to bear during the summer months where the volume of donations and items to process is multiple times over more voluminous. The best part of the job, I would say, is the time you get to spend together with your other team members in our area, many hilarious conversations and moments have taken place that I will never forget. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, demanding work environment
High Potential Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), ChathamMay 14, 2014
Pros: employee discount and incentives
Cons: little to no management turnover, no availability for advancement
Able to dress-up in different costumes and be apart of competitions and even a catwalk, during the peak shopping months of August through October.
Company receives loads of new merchandise daily, there is something for everyone.
Able to change positions to different areas of the store to further knowledge of the business and become an asset to the company.
Management – more... notices work habits and rewards good efforts with more hours leading to full-time employment with benefits.
Management also takes time to listen, train and re-train where necessary – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting and enjoyable
Supervisor (Current Employee), ottawaMay 14, 2014
Pros: exciting place
Cons: lunchins
I have worked for this company for one year and I have enjoyed every minute of it. Meeting new customers and learning new things on a day to day basis. Managing my team and helping them grow within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of Management
Production Manager (Former Employee), EtobicokeMay 12, 2014
Pros: alot to learn, and you feel good about what you are accomplishing.
Cons: no security
Great company to work for, They do many great things for the community.
A typical day would be arriving at 7:30am, reviewing the previous days sales, schedules, trucks and quotas.
We would then have a morning meeting informing the team of the previous days goals that were hit.
It is a fast placed enviroment with alot of different departments to learn.
The – more... most enjoyable part was the team members and the customers. The hardest part was not hitting our quotas and telling everyone we did not get bonus when they all tried so hard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate and Production Team Member (Former Employee), Brantford, ONMay 10, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job is watching the clients grow, which I was able to do during this internship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hands on, efficiently run business
Production Manager (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBMay 7, 2014
Pros: monday-friday 7- 430
Cons: inconsistent product delivery to the store
I have 32 team members and one supervisor that reports to me. The team members' jobs are to get items to the salesfloor efficiently. Every department has a quota to make in a certain time frame. The hardest part of the job is keeping all the team members on track. They require hourly follow up, constant coaching on the spot, then recognition when consistently – more... hitting their goals. I have to maintain a great working relationship with my non-profit partners so that we can have product delivered to our stores on a consistent basis. I work closely with the Front End Manager to maintain a shoppable salesfloor and providing excellent customer service while ringing in a transaction or taking in a customers donation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great sense of community among co-workers. Productive and fast paced.
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Windsor, ONMay 6, 2014
Learned many things about retail in general since this was my first job in retail. Most enjoyable part was recycling items.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service is a must in order to grow your sales and customer growth
Retail Sales Manager (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONApril 28, 2014
Pros: growing sales and growing customer base
I have learned so much from selling and working with a Non-Profit organization. It is not always easy due to the fact that I have worked in Retail for so long and selling used merchandised is very different. I have grown my Customer Growth by 62% sales were up and bonuses were achieved. Many targets for our monthly sales were up and that is with great – more... planning and execution.
I have also learned by SPH (Sales per hour ) to control the Team Member budget by ensuring we were not over spending and keeping our costs down by showing and leading how to be effective. Salesfloor maintenance is also part of a Retail Sales Manager how to display and maintain in order to give the best shopping experience to our "Guests". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place, terrile management
Production Worker (Former Employee), victoria, bcApril 26, 2014
Pros: good employees
Cons: they are abusing the tfwp
the worst place and worst management I have ever encountered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Production Team Member (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONApril 16, 2014
Pros: bonus, lunches, company discount
Cons: miscomunication between management
- Always busy, never the same thing
- Learned a great deal about how a company is managed, non profit organizations and what donations can do to help the environment.
- Co-workers are like an extended family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Cashier, Customer Service (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 10, 2014
This job is alright if you are about having some fun in your work life but their salary isn't very high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very simple place to work, but very low interpersonal people
Floor Supervisor , Cashier (Former Employee), Ajax, ONApril 7, 2014
Pros: provided food
Cons: cast members
I would recover the floor, sometimes i would help out with cash. But i found that the manager were unorganized and my co workers mad me feel like an out kast most of the time. The hardest part was working long hours with short breaks, but i love the independence of the job,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not somewhere you really want to be.
Production Team member (Former Employee), FlamboroughApril 7, 2014
What started out as a good place to work, became very cold and distrustful. They became obsessed with driving more results, and making more and more money. The whole team suffered because of this. They became more and more uncaring of injuries that were being sustained and telling employees to "just suck it up". They even went so far as to tell a full – more... time employee who sustained a great deal of damage to their leg from having more than 1000lbs fall on them to just suck it up or get out. They cut that employees working hours from 30 (barely legal fulltime) to 15 hours a week. They consistently do not pay their employees appropriate wages for their positions. The only good side to working in that place is the benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the people I work with. the job is stressing on the mined.
Supervisor (stepped down now I am the yard guy) (Current Employee), Kelowna, BCApril 2, 2014
Pros: good hrs and benifits
Cons: bad pay, no basic maintenance, bad with safety
great job for students and kids.
not a place to have a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre workplace, productive and has a lunchroom
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 2, 2014
Pros: lot's of places to dine nearby.
Cons: long hours, rude customers, not much help from supervisors and managers.
My typical day at work consisted of, cashing out customers, taking phone calls and making sure the overall store was clean. Management was ok, but could be more effective in some areas. The hardest part of the job was dealing with customers who give attitude and the long hours of repetitive tasks. My co-workers were ok, I had my mix of those who actually – more... work and those who don't do much. We all had the same opinion about our job. Most enjoyable part of the job was probably dressing up for Halloween. It's my favorite time of year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Operations team member/Cashier (Former Employee), Oshawa, OntarioApril 1, 2014
I definitely enjoyed working at Value Village, my managers were very accommodating when it came to my school schedule and booking time off. My coworkers were very helpful when I first started working there. I enjoyed being part of a team where we really worked together and helped each other out. Overall my experience was a great one and if I were to – more... go back I would hope for a similar experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Costume Consultant (Former Employee), Fredericton, NBMarch 31, 2014
Pros: free mug
was fun and easy going. great people. it was fun to organize and dress up in halloween costumes. people reacted well to the help of the costume consultants.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing coworkers and unique customers
Halloween Consultant (Former Employee), Oshawa, OntarioMarch 29, 2014
Pros: very fun and creative, joyous to watch the excitement of costumers when they found the perfect item
Cons: sometimes the halloween shop would be completely empty of customers, and we were not allowed to leave to shop, therefore it would get boring, and i felt unproductive.
A typical day at work consisted of helping numerous unique individuals find their perfect Halloween costume, either by selling them on one already complete costume, or helping them build their own with items found around the store. I also dealt with handling back stock (refilling shelves as items were sold) and GR's (garment returns).

About Savers/Value Village

Savers is no ordinary thrift store. As a leader and pioneer in the retail thrift industry, we're a place where people from all – Read more

Savers/Value Village Photos