Find companies:
Savers/Value Village
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
702 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Hanger (Former Employee), Coquitlam, BCMay 29, 2015
Management and co-workers were all lovely, except I was a student at the time and when I asked for fewer hours I was denied.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work for them (Angry environment)
Production Associate (Former Employee), Victoria bcMay 21, 2015
Pros: NONE
Cons: co-workers are nice but treated poorly by management
Angry supervisors. Lazy Supervisors, hard to find.
Treat employees very poorly. They do not care about employees self esteem. The back is ran like a SWEAT SHOP.

Don't work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no fun at all just hard work
sorter (Former Employee), edmontonMay 20, 2015
Pros: everyone was friendly
Cons: not many hours
people were nice friendly if I as to stay in the city I would stay there I recommended too anyone for a nice stay . its really nice not to be around all the noise .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Markham and 14thMay 13, 2015
Pros: Employees were very friendly
Cons: Some people gave really dirty things that smelt horrible
Before i started working at value village i thought the clothes that people donated were given to people in Africa for free because they don't have the money to buy new ones. After working there for a bit i realized that the clothes that they ship to Africa aren't donated their also sold there. When people go donate their clothes they think that its going to the poor and going to be given to them becasue they have minimal things. Some people who have generous hearts give some of things that they never wore thinking its going to a good cause Value village just resells the new goods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice part-time job while studying
Clerk (Former Employee), MonctonMay 12, 2015
Pros: discount at the store, free dessert on special occasion
Cons: short hours
A typical day at work was to be a cashier, help the customer and to clean the store. The job was fun, i had a really good relationship with the management, the co-workers and they enjoyed the work i was doing and was really understanding of my schedule at the university. The hardest part of the job was to manage my work and school at the same time and the most enjoyable part of the job was interactive with the co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy enough job with bad management culture.
Team Member (Former Employee), Oakville, ONMay 12, 2015
Great job with good benefits and opportunities for bonuses. However, they will give the maximum hours possible without giving full time. In addition, after taking initiative to complete a number of tasks as needed, I became the go-to person for these (unpleasant) tasks, despite being more qualified than others for the regular job and expressing my dissatisfaction with this practice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), St. Albert, ABMay 8, 2015
Pros: Fun staff events
Cons: Pour management
Management needs to be more organized and on top of things. The actual work is enjoyable knowing you are helping customers and helping the environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 5, 2015
Pros: good for students
Cons: wonky hours
- co-workers and management is ok
- It can become very repetitive
- During Halloween you may have to wear a costume (pro or con you decide)
- no set schedule
- your hours change with the season (low in winter - high in summer)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Poor Treatment of Staff
Production Team Member (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, AlbertaMay 4, 2015
Pros: No Pros...
Cons: Negative and unhealthy work environment.
This specific location is very poorly managed and staff are disrespected and bullied consistently. Irrational expectations in production and management operates based on extreme prejudice. They do not follow or promote any safety guidelines and push their staff to the extreme. If you work here, prepare for your "confidential" information to be shared with anyone who is currently on the manager's good side. This company has wasted more time writing people up inconsistently and unfairly and trying to "squeeze" the higher paid staff (or anyone who may be a potential threat to management since they obviously run their store based on their own insecurities) that they are losing money and hard working staff members who actually drank the purple kool-aid and believed that they were making a difference in people's lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Company that gives back to the Community
Production Manager (Current Employee), Saint John, NBMay 2, 2015
Pros: Co -Workers
Cons: Very Long Hours - Leadership
I have learned many skills with Value Village through a previous manager at Value Village that provided knowledge with his experience with the company. He was my mentor and I feel he developed me to be promoted in my positions from Production Supervisor to a Retail Manager, Production Manager,
Typical day at work is meeting with Supervisors and going over the plans for the day and week. Communicating with Supervisors and Team members the needs to be successful in achieving targets. Meeting with Supervisors to talk about successes and where we need to improve. Monitoring and assessing
Co- workers are the most pleasant part of my day, without them I would not of advanced in my positions with the company.
The hardest part of the job is to work with poor leadership.
I enjoy working with my team and Supervisors, I enjoy to see them be successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but rewarding
General Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 29, 2015
Pros: Doing something good and making a difference
Cons: Dirty dusty work conditions.
This is a good company to work for, lots of room for advancement.
Its hard work but the rewards are there.
If you are young and want to get some experience in Management, this is the place. The logistics, people, and the many things you have to juggle will teach you really fast how to manage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Retail Sales Manager (Former Employee), Sherwood ParkApril 28, 2015
The staff at all of the stores I worked at were incredible. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming to new staff. The management was very supportive of me as I tried to move up the ranks to join the management team. The reviews I had were honest and fair. The hardest part of the job was the customer service aspect but it was also the most rewarding part of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lovely place to work with great management
Floor Worker (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 28, 2015
Pros: Lovely management
Cons: environment of work
It was a great working experience. The job was a little bit of a challenge however given the resources they provided, it was a fine experience. Lovely coworker, great management, and decent hours. Hardest part of the job was dealing with the cleanliness of the environment given it received second hand items. Best part was that it was for a charity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with great people.
Sales Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 19, 2015
Busy and sometimes challenging, learned that patience and respect is very important when working retail. Hard working management with open door policy, co-workers were some of the nicest people I have ever got to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
secure and stable work environment
Sales Representative (Former Employee), calgaryApril 15, 2015
Pros: fun places to work with co workers
Cons: work life balance
my job included handling the tills, merchandising, stocking and shelving. We also had to manage the floor. at any given time there were at least 3 cashiers. It was a fun places to work as we worked as a team to accomplish the tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and welcoming environment
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONApril 13, 2015
Pros: Meeting lots of people and establishing professional relationships.
Cons: Receiving garbage in donations
Enjoyed the environment. Very welcoming and understanding. Loved being busy from the start of my shift to the end, there was always something I could be doing. Loved how I was never at a stand still.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working there
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABApril 11, 2015
Pros: we had alot of free lunches lol
Cons: poor management
I would work 8 hours a day. I would hang clothes, keep front of the store clean, and tidy, as well as cash. I enjoyed senior's day I just love dealing with senior's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oakville, ONApril 2, 2015
Pros: Staff contests ie) wearing Halloween costumes new/old to promote sales.
Cons: Working late especially in the winter months.
Greeted customers in a friendly manner and assisted them with services, I was taught how to process transactions using cash register. When I needed some assistance from management they were close by. I enjoyed working with my co-workers which made my day even more enjoyable to go to work each and everyday! I can't recall a hard part about the job that I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Production worker (Former Employee), Chatham,ONMarch 30, 2015
Pros: some free lunches
Cons: miss guiding instructions
Could be slow pace or very busy usually around Halloween. I learned a lot about production and woking with employees. Management i=s friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced,unorganized
Sorter (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 26, 2015
A typical day at work would consist of hanging up to 1700 items of clothing. I learned a lot about clothing and identifying real labels versus knock off brands. I was unsatisfied with the performance of my management. Safety issues were unadressed and employees unsupervised. Expectations were also unclear until after the fact. This position was stressful. The hardest part of the job was the work load and no assistance.

1 2 3 4 5

About Savers/Value Village

Savers is no ordinary thrift store. As a leader and pioneer in the retail thrift industry, we're a place where people from all – Read more

Savers/Value Village Photos

Customers looking to buy items
Waiting to go to work