Savers/Value Village

880 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 306 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced environment with plenty of opportunities to grow.
Community Donation Centre Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Oakville, Ontario.March 13, 2014
A typical day at work on a weekday (Monday through Friday shifts) would involve asking management about any impending deliveries for the day from the C.D.A. (Canadian Diabetes Association) and the quota of what still needs to be unloaded from the truck delivery for the day.

When the truck arrives I am expected to get someone to take over my duties at the Donation Center door by informing the manager on duty of the arrival of the truck. Once that is done I am expected to take the quota off of the truck and weigh the donations on a large cart to determine if we have met or exceeded the quota for the day.

Once that is complete I return to my regular duties of servicing customers who come directly to the store by unloading their vehicles of furniture and donations of all varieties in addition to informing them about the nature of the store's partnership with the CDA as well as upcoming events and promotions occurring in the store such as upcoming sale days at the front end of the store.

I worked by myself on weekdays unless the workload exceeded my capabilities such as a couch needed to be unloaded from a delivery truck at which point I would need to communicate to a manager I am in need of assistance and they would send me a retail sales worker from the front end to help me to accomplish the task in question.

On weekends I worked alongside 1-2 other workers who held the same position as I do and would service customers and the front end of the store equally, but the frequency of customers coming to the donation center and the volume of donations would be much higher then the
  more... weekday shifts which could be described as "slow" in comparison. One Saturday in 2012 in a twelve hour time-frame the store received approximately 13,500 lbs. of donations not including refuse and trash we disposed of directly into the compactor or the furniture we received or sold and subsequently carried out.

The hardest part of my job is the pacing and the workload. On some nights I would be looking for something to accomplish to make the time pass but there would be little to no work to be done, and on others the workload would be impossible for one person to handle, let alone 2-3 others.

The most enjoyable part of my job would be the independence to determine my own break schedule and the co-workers whom I worked alongside with who were as diverse as the items we received. Stories could be told, communication freely given and I felt truly part of a team while employed there while working alongside others because a mutual goal was shared.
  less
Pros
50% off discount on clothing and 30% off of furniture and electronics.
Cons
strong contrasts in regards to workload (slow nights with nothing to do, other nights there would be so much to do you would not know where to start.)
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Excellent Start to a Rewarding Retail Career
Production Team Member (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONNovember 3, 2014
A typical day of work at Value Village consists of working in one of two sections of the store: Operations, which are the storefront employees, cashiers, Storefront Management, and CDC (Community Donation Centre) workers. They are responsible for selling items, ensuring the store is well merchandised, cashier duties, working the fitting rooms, and providing all around good Customer Service. If you work in Production (like I did), then you will be one of the numerous workers in the back of the store that are responsible for the sorting, pricing, and merchandising of all received sellable items based on their department (i.e. Bed & Bath, Clothing, etc). My department was Books & Media, so I was responsible for all the books, magazines, records, CDs, and movies that were donated.

During my time there, I was able to garner a lot of very useful tools for customer service, sales, promotion, and marketing. I also learned the importance of functioning well both with a team and alone.

The management is very down to earth, and always approachable regardless of the topic of conversation. They set realistic goals for themselves and their employees, and aid them in achieving targets. My co-workers were one of the best parts of the job experience. No matter what demographic you fit in to, there is always a smile and a friendly face ready to help you with work, or to be a generally good friend. Make no mistake, the culture of Value Village comes directly from the team members; after all, they are the ones choosing the items to supply! They help to foster and maintain a friendly and positive
  more... environment.

The toughest part of my job was dealing with certain customers. These types of stores always have regulars, and generally, most are friendly. That being said, there were certain ones who made me and other co-workers and customers feel uneasy. Diffusing these situations is often difficult, regardless of position within a company. But we always dealt with it as best we could. I personally often ensured to provide additional positive customer service to these people that was not necessarily required. It made the customers especially happy to have someone attend to them more personally, and my co-workers appreciated being able to focus on their tasks.

All in all, I highly recommend Value Village to anyone looking to gain valuable sales and retail experience. They offer good wages, room for growth, and even incentives such as Health Benefits and Profit Sharing for employees. Next time you find yourself shopping there, ask one of the employees what it is like to work in such a place, and they are sure to start their description of work life with a big smile.
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good intention, hidden process
Team Member - Front Store (Former Employee) –  Metro Vancouver/Fraser Valley, BCJune 1, 2013
I liked the motto Savers/VV works behind. However, despite the premise of reusing and reducing, more does go straight into a compactor. In fact, if something were mildly scratched or even just a waste of space to put on the floor it would be thrown away. Virtually, we served as a free trash disposal for the general public (and people often abused it). Expect heavy lifting and constant movement.

Although I only worked for a short period (during the summer in between school terms), I could see someone easily getting physically sick by directly dealing with the merchandise. All items are donated at random and not washed before put out (sometimes steam dried). If you are visibly male, you'll most likely be an OSD attendant (directly handling donations off the street), if female you'll be put on cash. This was for front store, but I noticed it to be a constant regardless of your preference.

Management could be difficult at times but generally very accommodating to scheduling and approachable. Your breaks are scheduled for you, and expect to announce them over PA. I also noticed their prices have significantly rose over the past few years, which you're sure to hear complaints about.

In positive regards, the atmosphere was light-hearted. Co-workers were pleasant to work with, the job was relatively straight forward and you were often recognized for your efforts. Benefits were awesome for full-time employees and your first week is entirely paid training, slowly enabling you into your full day's work - I loved that. You get a 50% discount on merchandise that's been out for 48h on
  more... the floor and for the most part you're working for charities.  less
Pros
schedule flexibility, approachable management/coworkers, benefits, charity business, discount
Cons
repetitiveness, heavy lifting, micromanagement, sanitation, throw-away policy, 48h policy, expensive price-point.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable
Productions Associate (Former Employee) –  Courtenay, BCDecember 11, 2014
-Would start the morning by maintaining shelves from the previous days customer shopping, removing old items, cleaning up clutter and messy areas, by pulling off items if there were too many.

-Then I would bring out any merchandise out to the floor if it had not been finished the previous day.

-Then for the remainder of the the shift (6hrs) would cycle between sorting through donation carts often weighing between 750-1000lbs, and would test electronics, clean dirty items, tag items that couldn't have stickers, and keep bringing out new priced merchandise when there was enough to go out, All well providing quality customer service and assisting customers when on the sales floor.

-I enjoyed the management, and especially the co-workers, I had good standing relationships with the majority of co-workers and worked excellent with my 2 teammates in my department (Housewares Productions)

-The hardest part of the position was balancing the many tasks that needed to be done, and estimating the time needed and carrying it out, all while preparing for unexpected situations, such as helping a large volume of customers, making sure i get everything rolled to the sales floor, and get back to the housewares production table. I also did many extra things, I would sometimes be put in the back of the trailer to build donation carts if one of the "recyclers" showed up. I also often worked voluntary and mandatory weekends and overtime.

-There was a period of 2 months where I was doing two positions, we had lost an employee in housewares and I had to cover his job as a sorter, as well as my
  more... own as a tester/sorter and also had to bring all items to the sales floor myself, often reaching 800-1000 items in a day.

-The funnest part of the job was sorting through the items, I had found many different things, the possibilities were endless, I found a silver plate for example that was worth a significant amount of money, I also enjoyed helping customers, even if it were a simple question, it always felt good to help people.

It was overall an enjoyable time working there, sometimes it was challenging, but I enjoyed the challenge.
  less
Pros
free coffee, had pizza and donuts for staff from donations sometimes.
Cons
management was changed significantly in my last 3 months there, and while i enjoyed my co-workers and the position, i didn't like how things progressed and the atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative atmosphere and condescending management.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  London, ONJuly 26, 2015
A typical day at work for me was waking up at 6am, and being at Value Village for 7:30 am. I would then do my morning reset which consisted of making sure the clothing items on the sales floor were organized accordingly to the proper tag rotation. After assuring everything was in its proper place, I would then go up to the sorting tables at 8am for the rest of the day. I would sort and hang through clothing at a very fast paced, and if behind there was consequence. The hardest part of my job was consistently using an injured shoulder to do a repetitive task. After filling out multiple FAF's, contacting WSIB and working with my doctor, I was still put on tables. I was ordered to do "light duties" by my doctor with specific instructions. The next day management assigned me to racking and rolling clothing, and my needs were no where near accommodated. This injury took place on February 28th and I still did not leave the tables position until my day of resignation, July 17th. My shoulder now has permanent damage because my management saw the opportunity to take advantage of a young student, and they certainly did. Its unfortunate because I loved my co-workers and I also had some incredible supervisors. If I received a little more respect and a little less manipulation from head manager, I certainly would of stayed. Over all great co-workers, but I got tired of coming home from work every day feeling like garbage, both mentally and physically.
Pros
Free lunches on sale day, great co-workers, vending machine
Cons
some manipulative management, negative atmoshpere, high temperture, dealing with bodily fluids and hazerdous materials
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Retail Job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa West, ONJanuary 13, 2016
Let me first start this review with a little personality of myself, I'm a very easy man, I don't have high expectations and I don't think to much about things that don't require it. I rated this job as neutral as possible because I knew what I was going into, I knew there was no amazing salary or job security or advancement, my expectations going into this job was it was better than nothing. I have no complaints about Value Village, I could nitpick but that's not my personality.

A typical day at work involved punching in and punching out, going to the working supervisor to see your duties for the day, and you did those duties and whatever else the supervisor needed done for your shift. I don't think I learned to much that can be carried over from job to job. But I do think I grew as a person, I can now help anyone I see in need, I can quickly think on my feet and I'm more outgoing within respect to the workplace.

Management has always been fine and I've never had any problems with them nor have they had any problems with me, they're all great in my eyes regardless of how others see them. My co-workers also go hand in hand with my sentences above for management, they are all great and I have no issues with anyone.

I think the hardest part of my job is either getting every donation inside before the store closes (in the summer it gets insane with the donations) and or the actual process of going to work. Its not a very fulfilling place, as you might imagine its a retail store and eventually you'll want to move on to bigger, better, more interesting things.

My most
  more... enjoyable times at work are 100% caused by the friends I've made there, in no doubt without my co-workers and friends I would of not enjoyed it as much there.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More laid back customer oriented retail business
Retail Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONSeptember 26, 2013
I managed the sales floor and was responsible for all associates from hiring through their departure if that was the case. Although my assistant managers were exceptional and always on board to try something new to improve business, I did not feel the same way about upper management. They sometimes made me feel that they were not necessarily interested in bettering the business and were not always open to change. The hardest part of the position was working in an atmosphere where my allergies were getting the best of me. Most of the items for sale were used and most had been cleaned before being donated. I am allergic to perfumes and some laundry softeners and I eventually ended having to leave the position because of this. Customer service was again the most enjoyable part of the job. As sales manager I could alter and change prices and would be able to assist some not so financially secure customers with prices that they could afford. Enjoyed knowing that I could help and give customers that special one on one service. Had many customers return and say that they enjoyed the shopping experience. I also enjoyed the fact that we were recycling not only here in Canada but had a system set up to take anything not sold here to some third world countries where these goods would be used to better other peoples lives.
Pros
good wages, full benefits and an awesome crew to work with.
Cons
did not feel that we received the support needed to fully take business to its fullest potential.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work in the book and media field
Books & Media Pricer (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ONSeptember 9, 2012
A typical day of work involves me cleaning up the book department from the previous day. Then going to the backroom and going through boxes of donated books and media. I then choose, grade and price the best quality items and place them in a large rolling cart. After a few hours I get the cart filled up. I then take the cart out on the floor to the books/media departement and place all the newest items on the sales floor. Then I repeat the process. In one day I will do this full process twice. Everyday I have to meet a certain quota of items to get out on the floor so I must move quickly.

I learned a lot about working in a fast paced, team environment.

The management is very good at maintaining every department and keeping everyone at their needed quotas.

The co-workers at my job are very hard workers and make the place run like a well oiled machine. I work alone in the book department and take care of every aspect. Other departments work in teams because of the large amount of items they have to process on a daily basis.

The hardest part of the job is trying to make sure I reach my quota everyday. Some days it is tougher when you don't get the right kind of items in from the donations.

The most enjoyable part of the job for me is working in my favorite medium of books and media. I have extensive knowledge of music/movies so I am right at home with pricing and displaying certain items which I know and understand the value.
Pros
working in the media department (my specialty)
Cons
struggling to make quota when i don't get in sellable donations
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Solid Part-Time Job
Customer Service and Donation Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, OntarioMay 17, 2014
As a donation ambassador at Savers I greet donors, tell them a bit about us (how their donation is helping our non-profit partners), help unload and receive their donations. I process the donations into our receiving area to be brought to our production team. Additionally I help load and unload trailers of donations (hard and soft goods).
As a donation center ambassador you are also responsible to price and organize the furniture, and the furniture section of the store.
Through my experience here at Value Village; I have learned how to: operate a forklift; according to safety standards and efficiently, a bailer. I have learned much in regard to the value of furniture pieces and other miscellaneous things. The environment at my job can sometimes be pretty negative in regard to other employees, but with the co-workers in my section we work together fairly well and we have a good relationship with each other. My management has also been very understanding and willing to work with me in regard to the full schedule I used to have. Along with always treating me with respect and professionally. The position can be very difficult to bear during the summer months where the volume of donations and items to process is multiple times over more voluminous. The best part of the job, I would say, is the time you get to spend together with your other team members in our area, many hilarious conversations and moments have taken place that I will never forget.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team, pretty easy work, your typical retail experience
Front End Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa East, ONFebruary 10, 2016
I work in operations, the team that manages the front of the store.

It's your typical retail job; working the cash, cleaning up after customers, hanging clothes, etc. You get the occasional grumpy, messy customers who push your buttons but that's any retail job. Value Village is no different. It's pretty easy work.

Pay is good, starts at minimum and every year depending on how you do you get a bonus (a fairly good one if you've been a good employee.) Full time (32 hours a week or more) get benefits which is nice. Upward movement is an option if you're a solid employee.The location I work at have pretty good management. Not many complaints.

My only issue is with the consistency of the rules and pricing. A lot of the times managers will break 90% of the rules to please customers resulting in a lot of that "if you scream loud enough at the cashier you get what you want" mentality from the return customers. You say no (because it's your job to) and then they scream and the manager says yes to appease them.

Be prepared for constant price haggling and price checks. All in all, good place to work.
Pros
Good management, room for promotion, easy work
Cons
Typical retail experience of dealing with bad customers, take the brunt of customer anger
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was a lot of fun!
Production Sorter (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONApril 1, 2013
I had this as a temporary/summer job. It started off as part-time, Monday to Friday, and then i went to full-time when it was needed.

I worked as production, which means i was in the back for half the day. In the back we sorted, tagged, priced and organized clothing, toys, electronics, housewares, books, and much more. It was a interesting job, there was always something different being dropped off everyday.

My management team was great, they were always willing to be on the floor working with us and helping out when/where we needed it.

The hardest part of the job was keeping up with the quota. We would sort through large carts and we had a minimum of what needed to be done. If you had a partner that you "clicked" with then it would be very easy. You would work together very well. Much like most work places you would sometimes be working beside someone you may not get along the best with. When this happened it was more difficult to meet quota and sometimes hard to coordinate yourself with the other person. In cases like this, we would just meet in the middle and try our best to get the work done.

The most enjoyable part was that everyone was very happy and fun. When we got silly stuff donated, such as masks or costumes, someone would put it on and dance around. Our management team was okay with this but only for s few minutes, and then it was back to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front end cashier sales associate
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONDecember 5, 2015
your basically treating straight up rude, smelly, senseless people like royalty here. They come everyday to complain, and create a MESS like no other. So your job is to deal deal with stupidity and rudeness and clean up after their destructive trail. For some reason people dont realize this is a THRIFT store that sells 95% USED items, and 5% might be brand new, so basically if there is ANY defects like a small pencil size mark, a thread is loose, a almost unnoticeable stain.. ANYTHING... they want a discount because they expect everything to be brand new mint condition. Not only that, value village has rules for no reason, rules are bended constantly for these customers because when they hear "sorry we can't do that", it's a fight. Management is stupid as well, on top of that lazy and slow. They have no problem making people do 500 jobs and just watch while things are too much, like can you help instead of just standing there telling people to move faster? We only can do so much when we are up against senseless shoppers.
Pros
Some fun co-workers to go through the war with
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tiring work conditions, no room for advancement
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NBApril 11, 2013
Fun place to work, until management beats you down with verbal abuse. Has potential to be a great place as the work itelf is a challenge, but too many unprofessional, unsafe and harrsing conditions.

Place has no issues with leaving the fire exits covered in snow(back exits) no respect to work safe conditions as per labour code of Canada. Will not fire someone for not being of value...must keep around for months nd essentially abuse the person to the point of demoralizing there values and beliefs.

Discrimination runs rampant. Promotes a welcoming environment, but does opposite. Turn over rate is horrible, yes, some have been there for years, but those ladies are also the ones who are in favor of management through personal relationships.

Overall, place has its good moment, but the negatives far outweight the positives tenfold.
Pros
mon-fri 8-430 shifts, weekends off(must work the odd weekend)
Cons
horrible management skils, supervisors are untouchableable, unsafe work conditions, low pay, no room for advancement, inproper training for said duties, unreasonable expectations of staff, ungratefulness towards its employees, and dare i say, unethical business practices to the point of breaking criminal laws.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When under good management Value Village can be a great place to work.
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 22, 2014
I have worked for Value Village for 5 years and I have had the opportunity to work with some truly amazing people. I loved my job. Like any job it had its ups and downs but my co-workers and I always tried to make it fun. Unfortunately my rating is based on the last few months of my employment. My store came under new management and I had problems of my own. I had lost 2 family members in one year and had taken a couple days over the 10 sick days that I was allowed to take. My manager had a discussion with me the day after I had gone to a family member’s funeral. He told me that I could no longer take sick days at all, but that I could not come back to work until I had found a solution. There was no solution to be found because there was no true problem. After that I was insulted, harassed, and threatened with my job in any other meetings with my manager. HR refused to mediate the situation and my regional manager would no longer respond to me after my initial complaint. I was finally forced to quit my job due to a hostile work environment and harassment.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horribly Managed, Unorganized and vulgar work place.
Forklift Operator/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Waterdown, ONJanuary 11, 2016
Hated this place. I only accepted the job to pay the bills for the time being as I was laid off. They tell you a luxurious position that you will get and once hired it is not at all what they said. Management uses the paper you signed when hiring against you at every chance and if you are not 100% on point you will get wrote up as these managers are new and trying to gain power. The co-workers were amazing, the pay was terrible and there was smoking mirrors with the "benefits" package. The hardest part of my job was showing up every day to such a terribly managed work place. I would suggest edits to the back however were turned down. The hazardous area isn't even properly cleaned or set up, the HOTZ people came and nearly fainted at the sight of their set up.
Such a terrible backroom warehouse set up, terrible hours, not flexible and the job security is inaccurate as hours were always fluctuating once hired.
Pros
Received a Pay every 2 Weeks.
Cons
Hazardous Work Place, Never Fully Trained, Falsified Hiring Information.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, friendly place to work with a strive for daily excellent customer satisfaction
Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ONDecember 5, 2015
A typical day of work would include getting assigned a cash register for the day. My first 2 hours of my shift would be spent on cash. I would say the most enjoyable and hardest part of my job is talking to the customers. I love talking to people from all walks of life. I learn new things from my customers on a daily basis. I like complementing them on their purchases. Sometimes making a simple compliment can make anybody's day. On the other hand, some customers can be a real handful. They easily can get upset if their coupons have expired or they don't like the prices. I have learned patience while dealing with these customers. There is no sense making the situation worse by getting frustrated. I calmly talk to them and if the situation gets worse then I simply call a manager. The management is wonderful. They treat the employees well and back them up when an unpleasant situation arises.
Pros
I get along with everyone that I work with, I have been praised for my work by both my managers and customers
Cons
Not getting hours, not all employees do their fair share of the work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chanllenging and fun enviroment ( the people)
Production worker (Former Employee) –  brandon, mbMarch 14, 2013
A typical day at work was cleaning the floor in the morning, then starting at our stations. running the back room and keeping our goals and set times in play. building carts, unloading carts, moving heavy items, loading and unloading 53''ft trailers.
I learnt how to properly lift items, to communitcate with my co-workers to finish a task. setting goals and making better changes to make the work day productive.
Management was a good team, yet they had problems with addressing the problem or error to the worker, they needed more practice on their constructive criticism.
my co-workers for the majority of them were hard workers, always striving to finish a task, great people to work with.
the hardest part of my job was the muscle building, this job required lots of physical labour, at wich I grew accustomed to.
The most enjoyable part of my job was working with great team members to get our product out to the floor for our customers.
Pros
2-15min coffee breaks(paid), one 30mins lunch, for the most part garaunteed 8 hours a day 5 days a week.
Cons
managment at times, sore muscles
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice benefits, hard work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONJanuary 25, 2016
If you are planning to apply, take this into consideration; having worked in both areas of a store, I recommend the front end of the store.
Of course, working with the public can be hard and stressful, it's nothing compared to working in the back area.
Depending on the location and the management, you have to prepare yourself for high performance and meeting set quotas each day.
You do get some information on how items are priced before they reach the sales floor. And see some of the 'garbage' that people donate.
Many of the others you work with can be very friendly. It can be a fun place to work, but be careful of what you say.
One of the great benefits is getting discounts on the items you buy. But you have to wait 48 hours after it hits the sales floor before you are able to consider buying it. The customers get first choice and pick. I would consider myself lucky if an item I wanted to buy was still there after the 2 day waiting period.
Pros
discounts on merchandise
Cons
language barriers, 'I rate' customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average workplace, Good values, Poor advancement Oppourtunities, Management issues.
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 13, 2012
The hard workers work hard, the lazy stay lazy and the management pick their favourite employees. Value Village seemed like nothing more than an employment cycle to capture and appease select workers, while the others are pushed to quit. while the retail side of the business is what it seems (an out of high school retail opportunity). the full time grind of the production employees resemble a master whipping their horse to a gallop for 8 hours (with standard government regulation breaks). A horrible 10.25$/h beginning wage is being given to men and women asked to work like their making 14-15 dollars an hour. Granted a few of the production jobs have a minimum wage feel, while the rest are more fast paced and unyielding in their physical and mental demands. Overall, throw in an average workplace, management that seems straight out of high school, and low wages for work yielded, and what do you get? Value Village...
Pros
if your lucky you will wont get yelled at too much
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place To Work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONAugust 12, 2015
Typical day to day at Savers I would organize the store floor for customer use after we opened. We would sort everything into colour block and where the item belonged in categories (towels, blankets, etc), then I would help in the back until I went home at 11 as I worked part time.

Working at Savers was pretty awesome, other than the incredibly long bus ride to and from work and after a while it felt like my work was a waste of time. We would clean the store and not two hours later customers would come in a destroy it.

Not a place to work if you don't like getting your hands dirty. It's not uncommon to open up bags of garbage in the bag while sorting through donated things.

My co-workers and managers were always really nice but in the end I ended up quitting because of finding something closer to home as the Value Village I worked at was way out of my way.
Pros
Fun workplace and co-workers, relatively simple work
Cons
Felt like work was waste of time sometimes, was too far from my home personally
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 880 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture