Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 397 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but little opportunity for advancement and limited payscale
Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 September 2016
Fast-paced
Requires autonomous decisions and autonomy for work during much of the day
Team work also required
My job requires I move about 7000+ pounds of merchandise per day. I am in control of the entire receiving department. My job is essential to good flow through of all production for the store's operation.
I enjoy the fast pace and the autonomy. The toughest part of the job can be poor communication from management about shipments coming in; happens rarely but can affect movement of merchandise.
In this position I have learned I am very organized and I am capable of extremely fast, heavy work.
This job has helped me become very fit and I have discovered a love for physical fitness.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
No room for advancement; ltd pay
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Recycler (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 September 2016
It's an okay place to work if you NEED the job. Besides having full time hours of 7:30-4 and monday-friday it's not very enjoyable. Pay scale is too low for the expected work. Hazards all around the warehouse, and it's a very unsafe work environment in general. Management doesn't care for your safety or well being, they just want you to make quota. Lots of drama within the workplace which all leads back to management putting lots of stress on everyone to work harder. Best part of the day is at 4 o'clock when I get to leave, lol. What I learned from working at Value village is that I have lots of patience, and that's something you need if you work there.
Pros
Fun with coworkers, full time work
Cons
Bad management, Low pay, High stress work environment, Lack of training
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, unrealistic dealines
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC19 November 2016
Great team members to work with, but management makes the team feel so miserable and over worked that everyone end up wanting to leave. Management is constantly changing their mind and make you feel like you don´t know your job.
A lot of pressure and unrealistic deadlines are a daily stress. Benefits could be better in such big company.
Terrible environment for those who are allergic.
Lots of shoplifters, making you feel frustrated and unsafe.
Pros
Benefits, employee discount, stability
Cons
Unsafe, dirty, very demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abusive Place to Work
Clothing Production (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC17 November 2016
I worked in production and saw favouritism, job advancement went only to a select few, harassment, abuse - yelling, calling names, shoes thrown at other members and racism.

Unsafe conditions to work in. Management are either incompetent or bullies or both.

The job causes stress, stomach aches and medical problems. A rat was found in the front and no one moved it for days.

Since they changed the sorters to another location, the main store is a junk yard. Customers complain how messy the store is.
Pros
close to home
Cons
being treated like a human
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great production team work
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg20 October 2016
Starting of the day I make agame plan to ensure that every dept is being taken care of with atm. Will have a meting with the production team for what is expected to be done for the day. Throughout the day will touch base which each tm by coaching on pricing, items put out and to answer any question each tm will have. Will look at reports and have a mgmt meeting with my 2 production supervisor.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
At the long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers can be nice
Front-End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON11 May 2016
Overall, this company offers lots of opportunity to learn. Customers can be hard to deal with. Management acts very much like high school students. Always talking about someone, how to get them fired. Complain a lot.Discount is good as well as benefits. Sometimes the expectations are set too high and you end up feeling like you can never do good enough. No positive feedback for management.
Pros
Benefits, Good discounts, lots to learn
Cons
Poor training, Insecure management team, no positive feedback for management
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a Fun Place to Work
Hard Goods (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC7 August 2016
It is fun to work for Value Village, team members are like family, nice and helpful, getting along great too :) A typical day at work is like joking around but u still get your job done. If you have any problems, let management know and I don't think maybe the hardest part would be the rolling of bagging items if you are the bagger for example and you have to do it yourself plus have the quota done but I know I can do it!! :))
Pros
free lunches, barbeques
Cons
more pay, long hours but go by fast..
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB12 October 2016
Great place to work, nice and friendly stuff and management. Salary is too low. Not bad to start your career or part-time for students. I can recommend them.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst placed I've worked
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC6 March 2016
I've done plenty of labor related jobs in the past and I've never worked for a company that cares less about their employees. Minimum wage for production and recycling workers even though its a labor intensive job, lousy benefits and impossible to reach bonus incentives. Raises were laughable and insulting.

There is barely the needed amount of safety precautions in place, hazards are everywhere. Staff is not supplied with all they need to do the job safely and efficiently. Management is hostile and condescending towards staff, favoritism is rampant towards select staff. The work environment is poor and moral is almost never up. Do yourself a favor and don't bother applying for anything related to working with this company.

Best part about the whole job was the steady hours and the few decent staff that worked there.
Pros
Steady Hours
Cons
Low pay, Poor and unsafe work environment, Bullying management
Was this review helpful?Yes25No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are a liked by management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON4 August 2016
Good benefits and over all an amazing team of people, but managers and supervisors tend to walk around doing nothing and gossip a lot about other employees, they act very immature and childish towards some customers. Sales staff is great.
Pros
great benefits, if you are liked by management you will enjoy it.
Cons
management gossips, picks favourites and can be rude to customers
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always changing environment, and always learning
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 November 2016
My days are very busy because we are dependant on donations and Non-profit partners to get product to the floor. It is a production environment where Team Members need to work efficiently by getting a specific quota out daily. We have a specific way of merchandising and managing the salesfloor in order to keep it shoppable for our customers. I manage 30 people daily and the most challenging part of that is to keep them motivated to achieve their daily/weekly quotas. We constantly are watching to ensure that TM's are following best practices and working at a steady pace. The best part of the job is how much we recycle as a company. Most of what we don't sell, gets recycled and sent to 3rd world countries for reuse. The company also has a very good work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not nice place to work!
Production Team Member (Current Employee) –  New Minas, NS9 October 2016
Where to begin ,management intimidation ,working Saturdays ,no overtime ,constant go faster be more productive with no safety regard ,no room to work packed like sardines, either sweating or freezing ,bugs , no rotation ,management lies ,spied on with cameras ,people quitting daily ,no team spirit ,management likes to favor suck ups. Customers unhappy complaining about high prices which management then blames on employees ,by the way we have strict management guidelines on pricing! Employees do not price product like advertised. They hid behind we help charity ,while tossing glassware ,house ware etc in the garbage ,NOT recycled. I would not recommend this job to my worst enemy ,has already got a reputation and has barely opened ,good luck if you end up here ,I will read your review shortly!
Pros
50% off, co workers
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales floor is active and exciting
Retail Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Penticton, BC30 August 2016
Most days start with doing all cash functions for previous days sales. This would be one of the first things learned in training.
Continual and ongoing training for cashiers and supervisor on a hands on style every day. I had an awesome team who picked up on required programs with a minimum of difficulty.
Store management focus tended to be on the production room and as a consequence we did not interact as much as I would have preferred.
The most difficult part of this position was finding people who were interested in working for us.
The most enjoyable part was seeing the results of training team members and the privilege of promoting from within.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworkers and supervisors, hard working
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Pickering, ON31 August 2016
Always on my feet and working, must multitask and be organized. Interactive with coworkers and keeping morale up. As well as assisting customers when approached.
Pros
If fulltime, good benefits
Cons
Long hours, laborous work for little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment to work in, always feel welcome in my place of work
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON28 August 2016
while at value village I learned how to get along with co-workers along with building a tolerance towards all customers. The management team was always very understanding when it came to there employees. The hardest part of the job was always the fitting rooms considering it was always busy due to the high amount of customers. The most enjoyable part of the job is always the team meetings. Its always great to spend time with the people you work with being able to create a bond with one another
Pros
discounts on store merchandise
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but stressful
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON15 September 2016
company is now out of business partially due to intense competition but also inablitity to properly manage individuals managing some of the store locations.
Pros
staff discount, free promotional items
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different in every workplace
Processing/sorting (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB9 September 2016
I just got hired a few weeks ago, and I have nothing but good things to say about the store, my fellow co-workers, and managers. All I have to say is reviews can be very deceiving. Every workplace is different. I know there are a few Value Village stores in my city that look to have awful environments and staff but it's a chance you take when applying. You'll never know what it's like unless you try. You could miss out on a wonderful opportunity with savers because you read a bunch of negative reviews.
Pros
EXCELLENT benefits for full time
Cons
can be tedious work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun environment
designated Pricer in Production (Current Employee) –  Penticton, BC11 November 2016
Overall I really enjoy working for Savers. I've learned alot during my 3years, and the hours are amazing. My co-workers are my life and have helped me grow. Management on the other side have been a bit of a struggle, don't get me wrong, they're great at their job, but do not treat myself and the other workers with the respect that we deserve as hard, powerful workers. A typical day at work is full of laughter.
Pros
hours
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great learning environment
TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 October 2016
sales achievements for the previous day is announced during a 15 minute morning meeting before work starts.
I learnt how to to grade products and select quality products for customer satisfaction.
I was trained on the work safety practices and also how to build customer relations.
The hardest part of the job was during seasonal changes where we had to re-structure the sales floor.
I enjoyed the great teamwork and friendly management directions
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nope
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS7 September 2016
So much nope here you can't begin to imagine. NOT a good place to work - the management are straight up bullies and hateful people. They have NO compassion for personal crisis or emergency - as evidenced by certain managers who don't care at all if your Aunt dies or if your cousin gets hit by a car.

The employee turnover rate is so bad they're constantly trying to hire people and people are constantly walking out after a week/week and a half. Just don't work here unless you're desperate.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,229 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3