Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 549 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service is Key
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Leamington, ON14 September 2017
Value Village was one of my first 'grown up jobs'. I was with the company for two years. They not only have great opportunity for employees but they also better the community in more ways then one would think.
Cons
sale days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 September 2017
Nice people, managers expected to much from employees though expected us to work past time we were scheduled to finish without pay, also do other peoples job when they werent there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Company to start your career
Team Lead - Customer Donation Centre (CDC) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 September 2017
A very nice organization with very talented management and work force. You always get motivation to excel further and work hard to reach at the higher position of your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work, the management needs to be removed and have a fresh start.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BC9 September 2017
Horrible place to work, management is awful, and like robots not to upset of the boss....
the place reeks of mold and at times masks were worn. the pricing is ridiculous and the stuff thrown away is unreal. Brand new items thrown in the garbage as they are not allowed to sell them but instead should be offering to shelters etc. sickening the waste out of there.
I will never donate there again, i prefer the churches
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST place to be a cashier.
Front End Cashier/Production worker (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC8 September 2017
You're better off seeking employment as a cashier at a grocery store where they pay the same but you wont have to cope with the constant stress of rude,( sometimes aggressive- in your face yelling at you) entitled customers who complain and try to bargain with the prices.Management should take this into consideration since the turnover rate for front end employees is very high yet they pay the minimum.

For a company that receives a large portion of their merchandise for free from on site donations, they certainly could afford to pay their employees a decent portion over minimum wage yet they do not. Clearly they don't value their employees. I would not recommend applying here especially if you are just starting out in the work force.

Working in the back for production is hardly any better. You stand all day doing the same thing trying to meet a ridiculous quota while the management tells you to go faster. It feels like a being a robot or working in a first world legalized sweatshop,no AC in a hazardous work environment -being exposed to mold, dust and other unknown potentially harmful toxins. The only thing that made it durable are the wonderful co workers which was just luck.
Pros
friendly staff and supervisors
Cons
minimum pay for hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
as a student this is a perfect job for you.
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 September 2017
working here was great while going to school. but after graduation there was not a lot of advancement opportunities. my co workers were amazing but management needs some help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers were fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON4 September 2017
I have met some of the nicest people at Value Village, but the company doesn't seem to know where it wants to go. Customers were rude and entitled just because it's second hand, they think they should pay practically nothing for it. It's a business, stop begging for discounts. It became a toxic environment.
Pros
Friendly team members
Cons
customer emtitlement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dead end workplace, bad management, low pay, work hard for nothing
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Canada31 August 2017
huge turnover rate here, you work really hard and go nor get anywhere. Management sits in the office on their phones doing nothing but watch staff on camera instead of helping.
Pros
we get lunches rarely
Cons
all of the above.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Cashier/Jewellery Examiner (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON28 August 2017
not the greatest place to work, the workers like to slack as soon as front end supervisor is out of site, loves to play favorites, depending if you work in the back or front you may or may not get a goof manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company you can stand behind, but needs to practice better work allocation within company
Front-End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON23 August 2017
The company has management staff working for similar wages to what minimum wage will be soon, and for work that is far more than expected in general retail. Management for Value Village is basically running an entire warehouse of staff and stock, but for the pay of minimum wage. It's not basic retail, and the pay needs to match it. Otherwise, the company has a great ethic and a message you can get behind. But the pay doesn't make it worth it. Customers too are allowed to get away with anything because, "it's all second-hand", so they belittle staff and haggle as if it's a flea market.
Pros
Benefits to full-timers
Cons
Too much work for not enough pay, customers are the worst of the worst.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very positive work environment
Seasonal employee (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo Bc22 August 2017
Whilst working at value village (Savers) as a halloween department temporary worker, I experienced excellent kindness from my fellow staff and relatively many customers, you are going to have to deal with some shoplifters but other than that it's an amazing experience.
Pros
Understanding management
Cons
Shoplifters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice employees, interesting customers.
Salesclerk (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON22 August 2017
Customers can be nice, but are often very rude and neurotic, sometimes demanding that prices be reduced as a special just for them. There are a few customers that have to be observed by employees when they enter the store, as they are often caught trying to steal from the store, which takes away the employee's time to get other work finished.
Pros
Monthly birthday celebrations, christmas lunch
Cons
crazy people, insane customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, fast paced
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 August 2017
fast paced environment with lots of friendly co workers. it was tough work doing the same thing all day but was nice to be able to talk to people while being on the table, and the attitude of everyone else there was enjoyable.
Pros
occassional free lunches, nice people
Cons
repetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developing new skills in a Department
Production Team Member (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON18 August 2017
At Value Village, as an individual, who didn't had the background knowledge of the store and the history at first was pretty tough. As well, it was difficult to remember the ideal model of the store to help make my work better, but as I kept working and working, I have learned to develop new skill traits. Plus, I got to meet great people who helped me along my journey. Overall, it was a great experience working at the store.
Pros
Bonus Pizza Parties, 50% Employee Discount, Friendly Environment
Cons
Management was stiff and tough at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Retail Sales Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON18 August 2017
Fun environment
Fast paced
Great team members
Good Management Staff
Clean and safe place to work
Flexible with hours
Daily cash handling
Daily cash balancing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
OSD Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON15 August 2017
man I really goofed by not keeping this job, I was like 17 and thought it was hard but it was my first job and I had noooooo idea what a hard job was like. would go back in a heartbeat
Pros
easy
Cons
people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 August 2017
A typical day at Value Village you're either on cash, doing general recovery or in fitting room. we have our regular customers who are very nice you grow to love them then you have the rude ones. Management is awesome, they are very understanding when it comes to booking days off, being sick or when things pop up within the family. They try the best they can to help you out. Hours are very good. The best part of working at Value Village is you meet new people that potentially become your great friends and every moment there is enjoyable. There is not a day i wake up and decide im not going in.. only when im sick.
Pros
good hours, bonuses, people you meet
Cons
rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Okay
Operations Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 August 2017
Its okay. The people are nice, unfortunately you have to deal with people being upset over prices and angry old people on seniors day. The job is easy and at times can be fun,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, entertaining
Cashier/Production Team Member (Current Employee) –  Newton, BC9 August 2017
lots of running around but worth it if you like to stay moving on your feet through out the day ! mangement is awesome.
Everyone is nice. customers are ok.
Pros
time goes by so fast
Cons
really sleepy after work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
face paced busy unappreciative unstable
Cashier/CustomerService (Former Employee) –  bloor street9 August 2017
my overall experience at value village was great. however it wsas never organized agt my location. i was treated very bad at that place and i did nothing but work very hard. i was very uncomftorble with my supervisor and even though i was there for a year i was treated as if i wasnt. i wasnt recognized for my hard work however new co workers were even the ones on training. when i brought it to head manager the problem wasnt resolved. my co workers were friendly , the hardest part of the job were those busy sale days but we always got through them. customers loved me there.my most enjoyable part was getting compliments from the customer they made my day most of the time.
Pros
pizza lunch on sale days
Cons
understaff and always being asked to stay longer. rude supervisor and manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers/Value Village. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,696 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3