Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 343 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I encountered different persons in my workplace, I learned many things that i considered as my experience.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Unicity 3629 Portage Avenue Winnipeg MB R3K 2G6May 30, 2016
I worked full time at my previous job, funny because lots of joke on break time, i learned how to price the product, sort, check the quality if it is salable or not, management sometimes good, sometimes not because there's a favoritism, co-workers some good some not it is usual in work place, the dusty part because of the dust i got an allergy.
Pros
we have a good relationship and sometimes we have a potluck
Cons
always in time at work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
cashier/ G worker (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONMay 27, 2016
A typical day at work is I go to my till and I ring people through all day. If I am working G I clean up the floor and fix the hangers.

What I have learned working at value village is that I don't like working retail, I do not enjoy doing on calls either.

My co-workers are very understanding and very talkative.

The hardest part of the job is when people give you a hard time about a price of an item. Working G is just painful, you would walk up and down the same isle for hours fixing the same thing over and over again.

The most enjoyable part of working at value village is making new friends
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team based company
Retail Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Chilliwack, BCMay 27, 2016
deal with customers, communicate to the team about the day.

We learn about new customers and different kinds of products that come in the store.

We have a strong management team that works together.

We have a great team we are more like a family that like to be their for each other.

the hardest part of the job is having to let people go when they have to many cash issues.

The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to help out people that are less fortunate and down on their luck.
Pros
met great people thru out the 12 years on the job.
Cons
When other people don't help out with the team work like they should
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and demanding
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  #380 800 15th St. E, Prince Albert, SK S6V 8E3May 22, 2016
morning meetings, stretches , setting up rag bins and hanger racks for the morning work and then recycling for the rest of the day

I Learned that teamwork is the key to a successful day of work

Management is the best, they actually go beyond

Co-workers are fun and hard workers

the hardest part of the job is that when a team member is out for the day

the most enjoyable part of my job is that knowing that i make a difference in production
Pros
very demanding, fast days
Cons
very demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers can be nice
Front-End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONMay 11, 2016
Overall, this company offers lots of opportunity to learn. Customers can be hard to deal with. Management acts very much like high school students. Always talking about someone, how to get them fired. Complain a lot.Discount is good as well as benefits. Sometimes the expectations are set too high and you end up feeling like you can never do good enough. No positive feedback for management.
Pros
Benefits, Good discounts, lots to learn
Cons
Poor training, Insecure management team, no positive feedback for management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very fun place
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BCJune 21, 2016
The management was very disorganized and I did not feel like a valued team member. The training was unprofessional. They had me learn to put clothes away for a bunch of my shifts. I was scheduled for a shift where it's required to wear steel toes without warning me. I got in trouble on my first day of learning cash register because a manager wasn't around to help me learn or watch me.
Pros
50% off clothing
Cons
Poor training and management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced, fun
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 20, 2016
-Fast paced organizing and rolling merchandise onto the floor.
-I learned how to communicate with all different types of people as well as developed my organization skills.
-Managent was very kind, but I sometimes had difficulty with them giving me the correct work hours in which I was available for.
-All co-workers were very nice and welcoming
-The most difficult part of the job was the fast pace. It took some time getting used to, but eventually I got the hang of it.
-The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to see all of the amazing products that come into the store as well as being able to develop my communication skills.
Pros
Cake once a month
Cons
communication problems with management at times
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work and underpaid
customer service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 4, 2016
its hard work your underpaid and no one cares about you. i hated working for the company. i loved the work but always hearing your not meeting the goals all the time and if your group keeps it up you will be fired was not fun. if you missed the goal by 1 or 500 you got told that weekly. I was the only one on my side meeting my goal as i printed my own tags and could see what i was doing every day. I still got this speech.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, easy going environment
Customer Service/General Labour (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONMarch 30, 2016
a typical day at work would be starting out on cash and moving to the back to handle donations to cover the person on break or just be in the back for the whole shift.
I learned that the Canadian Diabetes Association is partner of Value Village
The co-workers were great, easy to get along with, fun and energetic
the management was amazing, never felt uncomfortable going to the manager for help, all members of management were very approachable.
The hardest part of the job was to deny the acceptance of items we couldn't take ex. mattresses, lighters firearms etc.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working the back and seeing what great stuff people would donate to us.
Pros
great area, great staff, great time
Cons
commuting to ajax
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a Front End Supervisor
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ONJune 15, 2016
My typical day starts in the morning coming to work do the banking deposits and then processing previous days paper work. Count the safe and balance the registers for the coming day store opening.
Make sure cashiers are aware of the coming day activities and that they know when breaks and lunches are. Dealing customers compliants and feedbacks.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ordinary place to work for but for a good cause
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SKJune 26, 2016
Customer service experience indeed at value village was nice I made friends there all over company cause is nice as they help Canadian diabetes association .
It was a nice short experience but too much physical work which can make your body tired.
Pros
Free food on sale day
Cons
schedule is not flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 8, 2016
A typical day at work would be picking out a costume and dressing up for the day to help promote the costumes to children. What I learned is that you need to have fun in order to like your job with what you do. The hardest part of the job is to find a specific costume someone is looking for and the most enjoyable is have a person leave with a costume.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an alright job
hanger, pricer, tagger, roller, sorter (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BCFebruary 26, 2016
I worked in production and although the hours were good and I liked getting done work at 4pm every day there were also quite a few things I really disliked about working at Value Village. First off the management was very unorganized and inconsistent. They put me on so many different jobs while I worked there and they worked me to my full potential but didn't pay me a dime extra, even for the more difficult jobs! I didn't feel that was fair. The pay is also horrible. The low pay is the reason why I could not continue working there anymore. it just wasn't even worth getting out of bed in the morning.
Pros
great coworkers
Cons
too much back-breaking work for almost no money
Was this review helpful?Yes13No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, and enjoying it
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONApril 14, 2016
I have no real complaints other than false promises made by management. Asked to learn something different within, said that they'll train me but never did. They are very flexible with scheduling around my hours which is greatly appreciated.
Pros
Supportive management
Cons
False promises
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very positive environment, real steady and great place to work!
"CDC Ambassador/Recycler/Sorter/Pricer" (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBApril 17, 2016
"Value Village/Savers" was an exciting and excellent daytime job to have. They kept us busy and I was trained in many departments as time went on. The staff and management were very polite, welcoming and appreciative.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and team
Cashier and Community Donation Centre Ambassador (Former Employee) –  St. Jacobs, ONApril 8, 2016
It was a great experience working at Value village. The team was great and always encouraging of each other. Everyone always helped each other when needed, and was accepting and helpful for each others strengths and weaknesses.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers and customers great, bad managemnet
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BCJune 17, 2016
If you are NOT a pricer this is a very good job. If you are then you will hate it after 6 months. Management Will be nice at first and then get horrible after 5ish months.
Pros
Co-workers, benefits, occasional free lunch
Cons
Management sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst placed I've worked
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BCMarch 6, 2016
I've done plenty of labor related jobs in the past and I've never worked for a company that cares less about their employees. Minimum wage for production and recycling workers even though its a labor intensive job, lousy benefits and impossible to reach bonus incentives. Raises were laughable and insulting.

There is barely the needed amount of safety precautions in place, hazards are everywhere. Staff is not supplied with all they need to do the job safely and efficiently. Management is hostile and condescending towards staff, favoritism is rampant towards select staff. The work environment is poor and moral is almost never up. Do yourself a favor and don't bother applying for anything related to working with this company.

Best part about the whole job was the steady hours and the few decent staff that worked there.
Pros
Steady Hours
Cons
Low pay, Poor and unsafe work environment, Bullying management
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad work environment
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Regina, SKMarch 16, 2016
Strenuous work, dirty work, working with old moldy clothes with out proper protection. Management always expecting you to exert yourself, and everyone gets pulled down if only certain others are not putting in their share of work.
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
Management, dirty/tiring work
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABDecember 29, 2015
In a days shift one must handle cash, maintain the store clean,accept donations,solve queries of customers.I learned to handle cash and I learned managerial skills from my managers by observing them at work in how they deal with customers.Co-workers are good.Hardest part of job is standing outside in cold at times to accept donations from customers.Most enjoyable part is the food that sometimes the management provides.Getting proper hours is another problem there.Job working hours are flexible which is very good if you are a student.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 974 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture