Find companies:
Savers/Value Village
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
469 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good for all the above items.
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 30, 2014
Pros: job culture very good
Cons: working conditions
I enjoyed working except for salary benefit issues were on the low side
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Production worker / Cashier (Former Employee), Chilliwack, BCJuly 29, 2014
Fast paced sorting and hanging clothing items. Handled sales transactions cash and interact
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent business and great deals for all types of people
Customer Service (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONJuly 23, 2014
Good place to work and shop, just at specific locations management can use a little work and that goes for employees also. I did learn a lot and very appreciative for the experience, just wasn't really for me
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic and progressive company to work for
Manager (Current Employee), Chatham-Kent, ONJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits and job progression
Value village is one of the most diverse companies i have ever worked for. It has a great ethical background, in recycling and providing other local non profit organisations with products that were unable to sell at value village.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Timmins, ONJuly 14, 2014
scan items and clean fitting rooms.assist customers with daily needs and concerns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Merchandiser, Customer Service, Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lawrence Ave. EastJuly 9, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: managers don't reflect this
If you love finding random stuff like furnitures, house wares, clothing shoes and accessories. This is the right place for you. It's like treasure hunting and working at the same time.

The hardest part of the job is being in a dusty environment and unstable weather workplace. In the winter, you have to really dress warm because they open the garage – more... and the donations door wide open, you're exposed to the cold weather, the air-condition in the summer isn't that great, you feel all dusty and sticky by the end of the shift. Always keep an eye for bed bugs too, you encounter anything in this workplace.

The company is great, with exeptional purpose and give good benefits. Their system towards operation and production is incredibly organize and systemize, the CORE values is great, but the managers made it look so bad and un consistent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value Village
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Surrey, BCJuly 8, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: customers
Value Village is a very dirty place to work , Full of dust and customers can be nice .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easygoing.
Costume Consultant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 7, 2014
The location I worked at was slightly disorganized, but over-all a valuable experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun enviroment.
Cashier/Team member (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 7, 2014
Pros: coffee provided
Cons: working around dust
fast pace environment.
company is involved with community
used clothing awesome finds working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Member
Team Member (Former Employee), Guelph, ONJune 27, 2014
Pros: very positive work enviroment
Cons: long hours
-General Recovery Of Sales Floor
-Work Cash
-Interact With Custumers
-Meet The Needs Of Customers
-Close Store
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Receiver (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJune 24, 2014
Picking car parts to ship to the dealer ships.Co-workers were nice, Learned how to use the RF scanner for the first time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Shipper Receiver/Cashier (Former Employee), Chatham, ONJune 18, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits package.
I worked here for three years.

It was an excellent place to work; as long as you did your job and performed as expected manangement did not hassle you. If you could balance having fun while work and accomplishing your daily quotas it could be a really fun shift!

Most enjoyable part of working at Value Village was getting to see all the things people – more... used to own. Everyday you saw something you'd never seen before! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
turned out to be something that they were not !!!
over worked employee/ Value Village Management (Former Employee), Moncton,NB CanadaJune 3, 2014
Pros: not many !!!
Cons: too many !!!
When the district manager is drinking buddies with your store manager, their open door policy becomes a joke. It also makes it very easy to be accused of behaviors that are entirely false.
This makes it very hard to trust what the manager is telling you " That what you tell me that it will go nowhere !! " mean while you can hear the store manager talking – more... on the phone with the DM and saying everything you just told the manager not to say to anyone.

the store manager will lie your face and stab you in the back and tell you that your the best one in the building ! the management staff is not to be trusted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management very supportive
Production Manager (Current Employee), Timmins, ONMay 31, 2014
Pros: atmosphere
Cons: redundant work
Timelines and lots of attention to detail. Great support from corporate office and regional managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), Orleans, ONMay 23, 2014
Pros: opportunitites to learn
Cons: no real advancement in field
The team was a great one to work with. The customers became friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and welcoming atmosphere. Approachable managers and friendly co-workers.
On-Site Donations Attendant (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONMay 22, 2014
My job would involve accepting donations to the thrift store from customers.
At Value Village I learned valuable team working skills. How to communicate with other employees to help get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Solid Part-Time Job
Customer Service and Donation Ambassador (Current Employee), Hamilton, OntarioMay 17, 2014
As a donation ambassador at Savers I greet donors, tell them a bit about us (how their donation is helping our non-profit partners), help unload and receive their donations. I process the donations into our receiving area to be brought to our production team. Additionally I help load and unload trailers of donations (hard and soft goods).
As a donation – more... center ambassador you are also responsible to price and organize the furniture, and the furniture section of the store.
Through my experience here at Value Village; I have learned how to: operate a forklift; according to safety standards and efficiently, a bailer. I have learned much in regard to the value of furniture pieces and other miscellaneous things. The environment at my job can sometimes be pretty negative in regard to other employees, but with the co-workers in my section we work together fairly well and we have a good relationship with each other. My management has also been very understanding and willing to work with me in regard to the full schedule I used to have. Along with always treating me with respect and professionally. The position can be very difficult to bear during the summer months where the volume of donations and items to process is multiple times over more voluminous. The best part of the job, I would say, is the time you get to spend together with your other team members in our area, many hilarious conversations and moments have taken place that I will never forget. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, demanding work environment
High Potential Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), ChathamMay 14, 2014
Pros: employee discount and incentives
Cons: little to no management turnover, no availability for advancement
Able to dress-up in different costumes and be apart of competitions and even a catwalk, during the peak shopping months of August through October.
Company receives loads of new merchandise daily, there is something for everyone.
Able to change positions to different areas of the store to further knowledge of the business and become an asset to the company.
Management – more... notices work habits and rewards good efforts with more hours leading to full-time employment with benefits.
Management also takes time to listen, train and re-train where necessary – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting and enjoyable
Supervisor (Current Employee), ottawaMay 14, 2014
Pros: exciting place
Cons: lunchins
I have worked for this company for one year and I have enjoyed every minute of it. Meeting new customers and learning new things on a day to day basis. Managing my team and helping them grow within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of Management
Production Manager (Former Employee), EtobicokeMay 12, 2014
Pros: alot to learn, and you feel good about what you are accomplishing.
Cons: no security
Great company to work for, They do many great things for the community.
A typical day would be arriving at 7:30am, reviewing the previous days sales, schedules, trucks and quotas.
We would then have a morning meeting informing the team of the previous days goals that were hit.
It is a fast placed enviroment with alot of different departments to learn.
The – more... most enjoyable part was the team members and the customers. The hardest part was not hitting our quotas and telling everyone we did not get bonus when they all tried so hard. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Savers/Value Village

Savers is no ordinary thrift store. As a leader and pioneer in the retail thrift industry, we're a place where people from all – Read more

Savers/Value Village Photos