Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 397 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Second to none.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON28 November 2016
Overall fantastic place to work. Advancement opportunities, impeccable training programs. I worked for this company for more than 18.5 years, highly recommend for career focused individuals.
Pros
training programs, career growth, local and global environmental impact.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always changing environment, and always learning
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 November 2016
My days are very busy because we are dependant on donations and Non-profit partners to get product to the floor. It is a production environment where Team Members need to work efficiently by getting a specific quota out daily. We have a specific way of merchandising and managing the salesfloor in order to keep it shoppable for our customers. I manage 30 people daily and the most challenging part of that is to keep them motivated to achieve their daily/weekly quotas. We constantly are watching to ensure that TM's are following best practices and working at a steady pace. The best part of the job is how much we recycle as a company. Most of what we don't sell, gets recycled and sent to 3rd world countries for reuse. The company also has a very good work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay starting up place
Production Team Memeber (Current Employee) –  Kanata, ON23 November 2016
Good managers that are understanding, nice co workers, low pay, very dirty atmosphere, people get sick a lot, rude customers, some customers make you feel uncomfortable
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, unrealistic dealines
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC19 November 2016
Great team members to work with, but management makes the team feel so miserable and over worked that everyone end up wanting to leave. Management is constantly changing their mind and make you feel like you don´t know your job.
A lot of pressure and unrealistic deadlines are a daily stress. Benefits could be better in such big company.
Terrible environment for those who are allergic.
Lots of shoplifters, making you feel frustrated and unsafe.
Pros
Benefits, employee discount, stability
Cons
Unsafe, dirty, very demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abusive Place to Work
Clothing Production (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC17 November 2016
I worked in production and saw favouritism, job advancement went only to a select few, harassment, abuse - yelling, calling names, shoes thrown at other members and racism.

Unsafe conditions to work in. Management are either incompetent or bullies or both.

The job causes stress, stomach aches and medical problems. A rat was found in the front and no one moved it for days.

Since they changed the sorters to another location, the main store is a junk yard. Customers complain how messy the store is.
Pros
close to home
Cons
being treated like a human
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Fulfillment
Sales and Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON14 November 2016
Great place to work!
Very fulfilling Care about people and the environment!
Excellent benefits paid vacation...product discount
medical and dental
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people, always something to do.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 November 2016
Flexible hours if you are part time. Hard you get more house if you are able to work more. Pay is not the greatest. Customers/coworkers are great to work with.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Not great pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun environment
designated Pricer in Production (Current Employee) –  Penticton, BC11 November 2016
Overall I really enjoy working for Savers. I've learned alot during my 3years, and the hours are amazing. My co-workers are my life and have helped me grow. Management on the other side have been a bit of a struggle, don't get me wrong, they're great at their job, but do not treat myself and the other workers with the respect that we deserve as hard, powerful workers. A typical day at work is full of laughter.
Pros
hours
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that does give back
Front End Supervisor/ Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON10 November 2016
Savers does what it says: They give to their Non-profit partners; they give to the communities the stores are in; and they give back to the planet with the recycling programs. They are a for profit company and don't lie or hide behind it.
Pros
discounts, team member respect
Cons
always wants growth, and more
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team members
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, ON10 November 2016
Management only cares about the needs of the business. Team members are great and feel like a family away from home. The structure the business is good as well. Very active in recycling efforts.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and the discounts are awesome!!
sales and customer service (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 November 2016
The best part of working at Savers/Value Village is the discounts, your co-workers and the people that come in almost all the time who you get to know on a first name basis. You are making a huge difference in the community and environment.
Pros
Free lunches on sales days!!
Cons
Can be long hrs and days.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with reliable co-workers and benefits
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Stony Creek, ON6 November 2016
I enjoy working in production. The work is consistent, there are many positions to learn and plenty of experience to gain. I've yet to meet a co-worker yet that I don't like, and the environment is more often than not very positive.
Pros
Positive environment, great co-workers and management
Cons
Commuting
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working there
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON6 November 2016
i loved working there the staff where friendly and always whiling to help when you need it the management where awesome i loved working with them
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Designated cashier (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK4 November 2016
It was a good place to work when I started but now it's to the point I don't want to go to work. They say you can advance within the company ya right. I have been asked over and over for the last 4 yrs ( come Dec. ) if im interested im becoming a supervisor and i keep saying yes and I am always put on the back burner when the opportunity comes up. now there are 2 people who haven't even been there for 6 months training for supervisor. IT'S all favortizim not experience or synority . Turn around is very high always new staff. time to find a new job cant work were your not appreciated.
Pros
Made some friends
Cons
Cant get a regular shift. to much favortizim
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A difficult yet enjoyable environment
Assist customers (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 November 2016
Answering my fellow co worker's cries to assist with what they need while they work on the production line.

How to operate a forklift, safety regulations, a compactor, a fly jack.

Not that great, poor response time with issues.

Very friendly, almost like family actually.

The pressure of a ridiculously high quota to be met every day.

A fast paced job, a complete opposite of a desk job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fast paced environment and a good company
Recycler (Former Employee) –  London, ON27 October 2016
it was a good place to work, the job was hard but you always had something to do. the managment was nice, if you needed and answer they were always able to help you. the hardest part of the job was we were always short staffed, so we always needed more time.
Pros
always a chance to get a bonuses
Cons
being short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my first job on warehouse
Production worker\various possitions (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 October 2016
Value village was a simple but demanding job, since i was one of the only recyclers on the floor they had me going around doing almost everything that needed to be done, i sometimes felt overloaded, not because of not being able to handle high pressure but because there was 3 supervisors telling me what to do at all times and all had different requests and needed to be done "immediately''. Of course i got experience in many things likedriving the big joe and to be organized and careful as well as handling high work loads, what i liked the most was the diversity of objects and merchandise u could see sometimes, some really interesting and fun things
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great production team work
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg20 October 2016
Starting of the day I make agame plan to ensure that every dept is being taken care of with atm. Will have a meting with the production team for what is expected to be done for the day. Throughout the day will touch base which each tm by coaching on pricing, items put out and to answer any question each tm will have. Will look at reports and have a mgmt meeting with my 2 production supervisor.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
At the long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great learning environment
TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 October 2016
sales achievements for the previous day is announced during a 15 minute morning meeting before work starts.
I learnt how to to grade products and select quality products for customer satisfaction.
I was trained on the work safety practices and also how to build customer relations.
The hardest part of the job was during seasonal changes where we had to re-structure the sales floor.
I enjoyed the great teamwork and friendly management directions
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB12 October 2016
Great place to work, nice and friendly stuff and management. Salary is too low. Not bad to start your career or part-time for students. I can recommend them.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,222 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Savers/Value Village Reviews by Location