Find companies:
Savers/Value Village
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
540 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and build your career
Sales Supervisor and Merchandiser (Current Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCOctober 27, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: largely physical work
Great training programs
Funa and comfortable work environment
Great staff
Valued company
Great benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work very stressful
Sales Associate (Former Employee), KelownaOctober 25, 2014
Pros: free lunch.
Cons: dirty place to work
Managers are always busy have no time to listen to you or help you with your problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here mostly because of the people I worked with
Sales Clerk and Production Worker (Former Employee), Stoney CreekOctober 20, 2014
Pros: too many to count. fun, learning something new, the people
Cons: low pay, too far for me to travel
I loved the people I worked with including management. It wasn't a high paying job, but it was a job I love going to everyday. I even left for a period of time for a higher paying job but found that, I much rather work at a lower paying that I love then a higher paying job that I didn't. I would have never left Value Village if my circumstances didn't – more... change. Great company to work for! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Teamwork
Cashier (Former Employee), Brantford, ONOctober 19, 2014
A typical day consisted of showing up to work on time and not having freedom to do your job right. I often took extra shifts, stayed past my 8 hour shift and worked double my work load when other employees wouldn't show up and never got a raise. I had one amazing supervisor who would allow you to multitask instead of standing around doing nothing at – more... cash. Co-workers often took your shift, but wouldn't show up so you got written up for it, you were promised a certain position and then they gave it to someone else. There was no room for advancement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Cashier (Current Employee), Saskatoon, SKOctober 2, 2014
Great Place To Work
Everyone is so friendly and nice
Never Bored always doing stuff and moving around
People who shop there are nice and very friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced And Coworkers Are Great
Lead Donation Ambassador (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: free pizza on sale days
Cons: long hours during busy and short hours during slow season
The best part of the job is meeting interesting people, while either accepting donations at the back or cashing people out.

My coworkers make it a great place to work. Everyone is friendly and we all work together very well.

The most challenging part of the job is when it gets very busy. I've learned better time management skills and to prioritize.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free BBQ almost everyday during summer! great employee discount
Retail Salesperson/ Cashier (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: excellent employee discount and benifits.
Cons: wage.
great employee discount. Good benifits.great co-workers and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community
Community Donation Center Ambassador (Former Employee), Burlington, ONSeptember 20, 2014
The best part about working at Value Village is feeling like you're coming into another family. Everyone was very supportive and helpful, and I really enjoyed the time I spent there. Only negative thing I have to say about them is we would commonly be asked to stay later than scheduled.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too good a place to work
Donation Ambassador (Former Employee), WinnipegSeptember 16, 2014
This was not the best place I worked at. The environment was very chaotic and the hours inconsistent. It did not offer much in the way of skill development and the rate of pay was not very good. I would personally not recommend this place to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ever-changing environment
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), St. Catharines, ONSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: a vast variety of donated items
Cons: long hours
Continually works with customers, providing fast, friendly and helpful service. Works beside other supervisors to direct and manage cashiers throughout the shift. Assists with accepting donations commonly during a shift. Handles customer questions and complaints. Manages team member productivity. Observes and tracks sales compared to monthly budgets.
Learned – more... to manage employee hours compared to hourly sales. Learned more about filling out and filing paperwork. Learned about scheduling.
Receives direction from management throughout the day.
Receives support from fellow supervisors; a lot of team work on high volume days; such as sale days and the Halloween season.
Receiving donations alone for extended periods of time is physically draining. It is very difficult dealing with extreme heat and cold in summer and winter.
There is a great variety of items put on the sales floor. Learning more about items provides product knowledge for customers. Also learning about the value of various vintage and antique items is great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 27, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere
Cons: boring
if its ur first job ever the is a good way to start in the retail world but is better be there at least when u have gather enough experienced n then quit cause then u feel over confident less challinging
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life in Value Village
Team Member (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONAugust 26, 2014
Pros: great team members, flexible hours, good management
As an operations team member, I am required to be competent at the cashier equipment, fitting rooms, and at customer service. My job demands that I interact with customers 100% of the time. I have learned to manage how to effectively and efficiently do the required duties of a team member while still be courteous and helpful with the customers.

As – more... a productions team member, I am required to sort and process donated items, unload bags that weigh 20 lbs - 30 lbs off the trucks, use warehouse equipment such as the baler and the big joe, and still provide customer service when needed. Days can be tiring but it is crucial to be able to work under pressure and maintain a level of professionalism when in front of the customers. The goal is to maintain them and keep them coming to the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn experience
Sales Associate / Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 13, 2014
This was a great job to learn more retail experience and also get a sense of working in with second hand clothing and see how the clothing is prepared for sale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service and Community Oriented
Productions Crew (Former Employee), WinnipegAugust 6, 2014
Worked with customers to ensure that they were given the best customer service experience.
Rang through purchases for customer and dealt with cash.
Made sure everything was neat and tidy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good for all the above items.
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 30, 2014
Pros: job culture very good
Cons: working conditions
I enjoyed working except for salary benefit issues were on the low side
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Production worker / Cashier (Former Employee), Chilliwack, BCJuly 29, 2014
Fast paced sorting and hanging clothing items. Handled sales transactions cash and interact
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent business and great deals for all types of people
Customer Service (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONJuly 23, 2014
Good place to work and shop, just at specific locations management can use a little work and that goes for employees also. I did learn a lot and very appreciative for the experience, just wasn't really for me
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic and progressive company to work for
Manager (Current Employee), Chatham-Kent, ONJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits and job progression
Value village is one of the most diverse companies i have ever worked for. It has a great ethical background, in recycling and providing other local non profit organisations with products that were unable to sell at value village.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Timmins, ONJuly 14, 2014
scan items and clean fitting rooms.assist customers with daily needs and concerns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Merchandiser, Customer Service, Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lawrence Ave. EastJuly 9, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: managers don't reflect this
If you love finding random stuff like furnitures, house wares, clothing shoes and accessories. This is the right place for you. It's like treasure hunting and working at the same time.

The hardest part of the job is being in a dusty environment and unstable weather workplace. In the winter, you have to really dress warm because they open the garage – more... and the donations door wide open, you're exposed to the cold weather, the air-condition in the summer isn't that great, you feel all dusty and sticky by the end of the shift. Always keep an eye for bed bugs too, you encounter anything in this workplace.

The company is great, with exeptional purpose and give good benefits. Their system towards operation and production is incredibly organize and systemize, the CORE values is great, but the managers made it look so bad and un consistent. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Savers/Value Village

Savers is no ordinary thrift store. As a leader and pioneer in the retail thrift industry, we're a place where people from all – Read more

Savers/Value Village Photos