Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 465 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, with many opportunities
Team Member/Cashier (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON27 April 2017
People of management and supervisors never seem to be on the same page and don't get along well. Team members are so kind and help you out with whatever you might need. You don't have to feel embarrassed asking the team members questions if you forget certain things on the job. Love working here but management could be doing so much more to help out the company. Many team members have ideas but management doesn't listen to us because they're so unorganized.
Pros
Snacks on certain days, fun donation drives (only once a year though), Halloween shop, friendly team members
Cons
Long shifts, intimidating management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was not respectful of student employees
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON24 April 2017
The management at Value Village were not receptive to the fact that employees, especially student employees, had other demands on their time. Employees were expected to live and breathe the company, even when they were part-time and minimum wage. Frequently yearly reviews were put off many months in order to avoid having to give an employee a raise.
Pros
Discount on products
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Key Holder/Manager on Duty (Former Employee) –  London, ON20 April 2017
Awesome company
Great people
Great management
I had the best experience ever working in this company
I miss working here. This company I would recommend to any one
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Sales Operator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 April 2017
I had a lovely experience working with savers, i have nothing bad to say about anybody other then the store manager at the time. other then her this job is ideal for all students.
Pros
pizza parties, quarterly bonus
Cons
Store manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 April 2017
understood what it means to have a team, and that no matter what it takes the work must be done, to be sincere it increased my understanding king environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed to work in a fast paced environment, and helping customers in need.
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 April 2017
The company helps a lot of people, and is currently giving charity on cancer research.

I love the work environment, however, i am only temporary in my position.
Pros
I have the freedom to choose my own schedule, and friendly enviromnent.
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different things to see
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON18 April 2017
You see tons of different things coming out on the floor everyday, and get to work cash, or on the line bringing the clothes out onto the sales floor!
Pros
friendly customers
Cons
working with used clothing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
few
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  ancaster14 April 2017
funny team work environment and enjoyable place you ever experience everyone is welcoming and acceptable place a place you can call your second home to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company ! Current Manger is archaic in management style and does not value his managemet team
Retail Sales Manager .Operations Head (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON, Waterdown On7 April 2017
I have worked for this company for six years and have now been transferred and at my new location for almost a year do to a lateral move withing the company . I have not enjoyed working for my current store manager . His management style of micro managing and old school technique of negative reinforcement creates a highly stressful atmosphere .
Pros
bonus opportunities
Cons
extreme micro managing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Friendly Emvironment
Cashier/Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  London, ON5 April 2017
Great team environment. Everyone is supportive. Good work/life balance. A few issues with upper management. Fun team building events. Great staff discount.
Pros
Great Discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Cashier And Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  Ontario4 April 2017
Value village is a friendly place to work in.
Managers are friendly and understanding.
I love working with them.
It's a workplace that gives you the feeling that you will always have the opportunity to develop and grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Standard Operating Procedure
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 April 2017
While working there, the warehouse production managers were so obtuse. The price that they want us to put were not worthy to on those donated items that we're going to sell.

So may hazardous spots like boxes behind you that could fall and objects on the floor.

(But it was before. I hope that they change)
Cons
very dirty environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and productive workplace. Always room for opportunity.
Retail sales manager IT (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON31 March 2017
In a typical day, there is always review with the SM, as to what is needed to be done for that day, along with upcoming deadlines. there is planning and focus needed to organize the day, around break coverage, or meetings scheduled. then the execution of the daily plans. Through the ISM, our weekly sales plan, there needs to be planning and thought put into it. Any product that is on sale, that is not placed in the proper setting throughout the store can negatively affect your sales goals. there is always opportunity for movement of product through the store. Being in the " Hard lines" part of the store, organization is a must. Signage must be checked or changed daily, for weekly sales, or daily deals. Motivating the team to stay focused and lending help when needed is always a must. the team we have in the store makes for a positive atmosphere. We always have fun, and try to keep it more of a family as a work place. we like everyone to feel comfortable coming to work.
Pros
more like a family
Cons
Store closing
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with my co-workers and giving the best customer service to our customers.
P/T Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON29 March 2017
I love working in our store. I get to know a lot of people and most of our customer knows me. I like the management too and how they have flexible hours suited for a student like me. They are approachable and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON28 March 2017
very unprofessional and disorganized. Management are not very helpful and are rude and inconsiderate. worst working experience of my life. They make you feel like your wanted then turn around and dont even tell you that you were let go and not needed.
Pros
50% off clothing
Cons
horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company for Students
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC27 March 2017
Value Village was very accommodating to my schedule as a student, numerous promotions are possible if you have the drive and display a specific skill set.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place but very productive
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK22 March 2017
Always something to be done, never sitting around. Lots of hands on working, so much inspiration and commitment from that place. Overall a wonderful work environment.
Pros
Family like people
Cons
Lots of hands on work like lifting and walking
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Workplace
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON14 March 2017
Management is average, the people there are friendly and helpful. Typical days on Tuesdays are one of the busiest because of senior day which means that senior above the age of 60+ get 30% off. I learned so far to manage customers who are in help with something and learned to manage the cash register as a cashier.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some fun ppl others are snakes
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB14 March 2017
Dust is a major factor for this job and the unrealestic expectations they have set out for the oks and production gossip everywere ppl talking ish behind others backs dry snitches evey were theres favorites most staff dont care there making 12 a hr they care more about chocolet and treats alot of two face action
Complaints about small things chose to quit and walk away worst job ever had in my employment hostory
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Everything about this place
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in paradise
Production Team Member (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB8 March 2017
Start time is at 7:30 and you finish at 4. There are 3 breaks. The store needs to be cleaned out before it opens up, that is part of my job. After we process donations, and determine if the item is sell able or not. The hardest part of y job is the dust, and how dirty it is. The fun part is the customers and some co-workers are fun and enjoyable to be around.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
long list
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers/Value Village. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,456 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

70%
425 ratings
Add your rating