Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 359 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Team Member (Former Employee) –  New Minas, NSAugust 18, 2016
Management has zero respect for the rules and you're treated like a lapdog. Very negative environment and not worthy for anyone. Do not be fooled by the company's donation spiel, it's all a big scam. Work for a company that respects it's policies, this company does not.
Pros
None
Cons
Manipulative, dishonest, unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a Fun Place to Work
Hard Goods (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BCAugust 7, 2016
It is fun to work for Value Village, team members are like family, nice and helpful, getting along great too :) A typical day at work is like joking around but u still get your job done. If you have any problems, let management know and I don't think maybe the hardest part would be the rolling of bagging items if you are the bagger for example and you have to do it yourself plus have the quota done but I know I can do it!! :))
Pros
free lunches, barbeques
Cons
more pay, long hours but go by fast..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworkers, good cause.
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 5, 2016
The people I worked with were friendly and outgoing. The management team listened when we brought things to their attention.
Pros
non profit company, charitable.
Cons
difficult to move up the ladder.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy for summer time
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 5, 2016
Good environment, the super manager and great colleagues, good conditions to work, perfect schedule, perfect job for students.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are a liked by management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONAugust 4, 2016
Good benefits and over all an amazing team of people, but managers and supervisors tend to walk around doing nothing and gossip a lot about other employees, they act very immature and childish towards some customers. Sales staff is great.
Pros
great benefits, if you are liked by management you will enjoy it.
Cons
management gossips, picks favourites and can be rude to customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  New Minas, NSJuly 25, 2016
Was told that if I didn't want to come in Saturday it was fine. Im a single parent working what was told to me a monday to Friday work week. I spent the weekends that I don't work with my kid. When to work on the monday for the production shift and worked from 8am to 2pm and then was let go all because I didn't call in, when I thought I didn't need too.
Pros
None
Cons
Lack of communication. Lack of respect. Lack of empathy.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production: overworked and underpaid
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 16, 2016
A high-stress, extremely corporate and toxic work environment.


Words by my co-workers:

"I can't imagine another company that would put a bag of donations above someone's safety."

"Sometimes I just go home and cry."

"I have never felt so under valued and under appreciated."
Pros
benefits
Cons
stress, safety, physical health, mental health
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in the work place, bad management
SALES CLERK (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ONJuly 16, 2016
Fun days
Friendly Employees
Great employee customer interaction
Good hours
Paid breaks
Miss Communication between managers
The most enjoyable part of the job was being on cash
Pros
Friendly Staff
Cons
miss communication in withing the managers
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLJuly 13, 2016
on a daily basis we would have a great team and great regulars (customers) to work with. The service was good, but management could have been a bit better. I used to love going into work there because of my colleagues, but after a few repeated failed promises from management it became unsatisfactory. I would recommend this as a place to work for people looking absolutely and harbor no hate or animosity towards the company / people working for it!
Pros
great staff, good hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun team environment with great benefits
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONJuly 12, 2016
My co-workers and meeting interesting and fun customers were the best part of my job.
My day typically consisted of maintaining the store appearance, organizing, hanging, and cashier work.
Pros
Discounted store items
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly safe workplace
OPERATIONS TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BCJuly 12, 2016
A typical day at work would have been helping customers, hanging clothes, having friendly conversations, and ringing people up on the cash register. While working at Value Village I learned how to properly use cash registers, how to work well with my fellow team members to get a job finished to the best of its abilities. Every employee in the establishment had a very kind and positive outlook on the store, there were never any issues.The hardest part of the job, however, would have to be dealing with shoplifters and a few choice angry customers. My favorite part about the job I had was that I could work with people and converse with them. I truly enjoy getting along with my fellow team members and customers.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Sorter and Price checker (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ONJuly 12, 2016
Busy
Pricing/Putting product out quicky and timely
Good Managment
Great Staff
None always a learning experience
Coffee time with everyone and good customers
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ONJuly 5, 2016
It is difficult sometimes dealing with customers of this magnitude but necessary in progression of your own self interest and respect. It taught me values I thought didn't existed.
Cons
uncertain hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profits driven
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NBJuly 4, 2016
Management doesn't care about its employees - no matter what they try to tell you. So long as they're making a profit - employees are safe. Otherwise, the rotating door will continue with employees, whether they be in management for the store, or the grunt workers who work very hard.
Pros
Discounts on products
Cons
Your mental & physical well-being are in jeopardy.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team working environment
Team Member--Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKJuly 2, 2016
A fast paced, ever busy environment
Offering a great deal on setting and meeting targets and deadlines
A very supportive management style
Very friendly and motivating co-workers
Managing a sales day seem to me the hardest part of the job
Meeting the targets and deadlines comes with some incentives.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Box Company...
Store Standards (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONJuly 2, 2016
They treat you like garbage. The hours suck and the people suck. Worst job I have had to date. Interview process sucked as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ordinary place to work for but for a good cause
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SKJune 26, 2016
Customer service experience indeed at value village was nice I made friends there all over company cause is nice as they help Canadian diabetes association .
It was a nice short experience but too much physical work which can make your body tired.
Pros
Free food on sale day
Cons
schedule is not flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very fun place
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BCJune 21, 2016
The management was very disorganized and I did not feel like a valued team member. The training was unprofessional. They had me learn to put clothes away for a bunch of my shifts. I was scheduled for a shift where it's required to wear steel toes without warning me. I got in trouble on my first day of learning cash register because a manager wasn't around to help me learn or watch me.
Pros
50% off clothing
Cons
Poor training and management
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers and customers great, bad managemnet
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BCJune 17, 2016
If you are NOT a pricer this is a very good job. If you are then you will hate it after 6 months. Management Will be nice at first and then get horrible after 5ish months.
Pros
Co-workers, benefits, occasional free lunch
Cons
Management sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a Front End Supervisor
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ONJune 15, 2016
My typical day starts in the morning coming to work do the banking deposits and then processing previous days paper work. Count the safe and balance the registers for the coming day store opening.
Make sure cashiers are aware of the coming day activities and that they know when breaks and lunches are. Dealing customers compliants and feedbacks.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,025 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Savers/Value Village Reviews by Location