Find companies:
Savers/Value Village
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
563 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable
Productions Associate (Former Employee), Courtenay, BCDecember 11, 2014
Pros: free coffee, had pizza and donuts for staff from donations sometimes.
Cons: management was changed significantly in my last 3 months there, and while i enjoyed my co-workers and the position, i didn't like how things progressed and the atmosphere.
-Would start the morning by maintaining shelves from the previous days customer shopping, removing old items, cleaning up clutter and messy areas, by pulling off items if there were too many.

-Then I would bring out any merchandise out to the floor if it had not been finished the previous day.

-Then for the remainder of the the shift (6hrs) would – more... cycle between sorting through donation carts often weighing between 750-1000lbs, and would test electronics, clean dirty items, tag items that couldn't have stickers, and keep bringing out new priced merchandise when there was enough to go out, All well providing quality customer service and assisting customers when on the sales floor.

-I enjoyed the management, and especially the co-workers, I had good standing relationships with the majority of co-workers and worked excellent with my 2 teammates in my department (Housewares Productions)

-The hardest part of the position was balancing the many tasks that needed to be done, and estimating the time needed and carrying it out, all while preparing for unexpected situations, such as helping a large volume of customers, making sure i get everything rolled to the sales floor, and get back to the housewares production table. I also did many extra things, I would sometimes be put in the back of the trailer to build donation carts if one of the "recyclers" showed up. I also often worked voluntary and mandatory weekends and overtime.

-There was a period of 2 months where I was doing two positions, we had lost an employee in housewares and I had to cover his job as a sorter, as well as my own as a tester/sorter and also had to bring all items to the sales floor myself, often reaching 800-1000 items in a day.

-The funnest part of the job was sorting through the items, I had found many different things, the possibilities were endless, I found a silver plate for example that was worth a significant amount of money, I also enjoyed helping customers, even if it were a simple question, it always felt good to help people.

It was overall an enjoyable time working there, sometimes it was challenging, but I enjoyed the challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Person/Cashiering
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Surrey, BCDecember 11, 2014
Pros: worked as a team
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day as a sales person at value village would start by me opening my till and helping customers.I would greet them and help them find what they are looking for.My co-workers were very helpful in many ways they were able to answer all my questions and made me feel like I was part of a team.The hardest part of the job was not getting enough hours.I – more... loved this job being as I was able to do alot of customer service and always meeting new people daily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST JOB EVER
Production (Former Employee), Abbotsford, BCDecember 6, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: horrible supervisor
Worst place I have ever worked at by far, discriminate against you, treat you like complete garbage.. does not care about you one bit, unfair to ALL employees, except the one or two favourited employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), winnipeg mbDecember 6, 2014
Pros: the staff
Cons: dusty
put stock on shelfs priced product loved working with the staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work fast fun and proffessional
Quality Controller (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 2, 2014
Pros: many extras cake, lunches bonuses, discounts
I loved working at Value Village I took pride in making the store organized and the staff there where all great people to work with I really enjoyed working with the public and had many regular customers, I was very impressed with how the management worked closely and caringly with the staff overall review It was a great experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very clean and well organized for a thrift store.
Operations Team Member (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONNovember 23, 2014
Cons: not enough hours, no full time operations positions except in special cases (biased).
Typically perform cashier duties as well as general recovery and tidying on floor as well as accepting donations.
I learned over the course of my employment a little bit about the partnership with non-profit organizations.
Management could be better organized.
Co-workers were for the most part friendly, co-operative and polite.
The hardest part of the – more... job would be dealing with customers who decide to take out the bad day they're having on the customer service operations employees.
The most enjoyable part of the job for me was accepting donations and sharing information about non-profit partnerships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONNovember 13, 2014
All though the hours aren't that long, it is quite an experience in the Retail/Thrift field. A very nice working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hecktic environment
Recycler (Former Employee), Owen SoundNovember 11, 2014
Ensuring the constant flow of product through the store without fail
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Burlington, ONNovember 11, 2014
VV is a decent work place. Hours are pretty good. Coworkes are good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun place to work
Team member (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 4, 2014
Pros: easy work
Cons: hard work on the body and not intellectual challenge
The environment is good most of the time. We just need to be very fast at processing merchandise. I would say that dealing with speed is the hardest think about this job. We work under pressure all the time, trying to achieve our quotas. Other than that I think the managers do their best creating a nice and safe work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Excellent Start to a Rewarding Retail Career
Production Team Member (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 3, 2014
A typical day of work at Value Village consists of working in one of two sections of the store: Operations, which are the storefront employees, cashiers, Storefront Management, and CDC (Community Donation Centre) workers. They are responsible for selling items, ensuring the store is well merchandised, cashier duties, working the fitting rooms, and providing – more... all around good Customer Service. If you work in Production (like I did), then you will be one of the numerous workers in the back of the store that are responsible for the sorting, pricing, and merchandising of all received sellable items based on their department (i.e. Bed & Bath, Clothing, etc). My department was Books & Media, so I was responsible for all the books, magazines, records, CDs, and movies that were donated.

During my time there, I was able to garner a lot of very useful tools for customer service, sales, promotion, and marketing. I also learned the importance of functioning well both with a team and alone.

The management is very down to earth, and always approachable regardless of the topic of conversation. They set realistic goals for themselves and their employees, and aid them in achieving targets. My co-workers were one of the best parts of the job experience. No matter what demographic you fit in to, there is always a smile and a friendly face ready to help you with work, or to be a generally good friend. Make no mistake, the culture of Value Village comes directly from the team members; after all, they are the ones choosing the items to supply! They help to foster and maintain a friendly and positive environment.

The toughest part of my job was dealing with certain customers. These types of stores always have regulars, and generally, most are friendly. That being said, there were certain ones who made me and other co-workers and customers feel uneasy. Diffusing these situations is often difficult, regardless of position within a company. But we always dealt with it as best we could. I personally often ensured to provide additional positive customer service to these people that was not necessarily required. It made the customers especially happy to have someone attend to them more personally, and my co-workers appreciated being able to focus on their tasks.

All in all, I highly recommend Value Village to anyone looking to gain valuable sales and retail experience. They offer good wages, room for growth, and even incentives such as Health Benefits and Profit Sharing for employees. Next time you find yourself shopping there, ask one of the employees what it is like to work in such a place, and they are sure to start their description of work life with a big smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and build your career
Sales Supervisor and Merchandiser (Current Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCOctober 27, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: largely physical work
Great training programs
Funa and comfortable work environment
Great staff
Valued company
Great benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work very stressful
Sales Associate (Former Employee), KelownaOctober 25, 2014
Pros: free lunch.
Cons: dirty place to work
Managers are always busy have no time to listen to you or help you with your problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here mostly because of the people I worked with
Sales Clerk and Production Worker (Former Employee), Stoney CreekOctober 20, 2014
Pros: too many to count. fun, learning something new, the people
Cons: low pay, too far for me to travel
I loved the people I worked with including management. It wasn't a high paying job, but it was a job I love going to everyday. I even left for a period of time for a higher paying job but found that, I much rather work at a lower paying that I love then a higher paying job that I didn't. I would have never left Value Village if my circumstances didn't – more... change. Great company to work for! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Teamwork
Cashier (Former Employee), Brantford, ONOctober 19, 2014
A typical day consisted of showing up to work on time and not having freedom to do your job right. I often took extra shifts, stayed past my 8 hour shift and worked double my work load when other employees wouldn't show up and never got a raise. I had one amazing supervisor who would allow you to multitask instead of standing around doing nothing at – more... cash. Co-workers often took your shift, but wouldn't show up so you got written up for it, you were promised a certain position and then they gave it to someone else. There was no room for advancement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Cashier (Current Employee), Saskatoon, SKOctober 2, 2014
Great Place To Work
Everyone is so friendly and nice
Never Bored always doing stuff and moving around
People who shop there are nice and very friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced And Coworkers Are Great
Lead Donation Ambassador (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: free pizza on sale days
Cons: long hours during busy and short hours during slow season
The best part of the job is meeting interesting people, while either accepting donations at the back or cashing people out.

My coworkers make it a great place to work. Everyone is friendly and we all work together very well.

The most challenging part of the job is when it gets very busy. I've learned better time management skills and to prioritize.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free BBQ almost everyday during summer! great employee discount
Retail Salesperson/ Cashier (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: excellent employee discount and benifits.
Cons: wage.
great employee discount. Good benifits.great co-workers and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community
Community Donation Center Ambassador (Former Employee), Burlington, ONSeptember 20, 2014
The best part about working at Value Village is feeling like you're coming into another family. Everyone was very supportive and helpful, and I really enjoyed the time I spent there. Only negative thing I have to say about them is we would commonly be asked to stay later than scheduled.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too good a place to work
Donation Ambassador (Former Employee), WinnipegSeptember 16, 2014
This was not the best place I worked at. The environment was very chaotic and the hours inconsistent. It did not offer much in the way of skill development and the rate of pay was not very good. I would personally not recommend this place to anyone.

1 2 3 4 5

About Savers/Value Village

Savers is no ordinary thrift store. As a leader and pioneer in the retail thrift industry, we're a place where people from all – Read more

Savers/Value Village Photos