Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 414 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great ppl to work with
Production Member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 January 2017
company has many benefits
nice staff to deal with
company does alot of charitable work and donations
production crew has many different depts to work in:
fast pace, each dept has a daily quota to make: in some cases impossible quotas:
had to work some Saturdays on a regular basis ;without much notice given:
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working with the people
Service Crew (Current Employee) –  Sudbury, ON13 January 2017
Have a very nice way of dealing with others that helps in making good customer relations and also helps build the good reputation of the company as a whole.
Pros
Very helpful in
Cons
Short Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and Caring Company
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON11 January 2017
Value Village was one of the best experiences of my life. They took me on when i was going through a bad time with my health and were completely understanding and flexible with hours when I needed to take days off or call in sick. Since then I have gotten my health back and had to unfortunately leave this amazing company due to moving, but I will forever look back on this company as the glue that held me together when everything was falling apart. I worked at the Ajax location, and the co-workers and management are unbelievably kind and make you feel like family there. The best part was seeing regulars and developing a good work relationship with both customers and my co-workers. Would certainly reccommend working here to anyone who values learning good customer service skills, working in a fast paced environment, and amazing people by your side. :)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Evening Recycler (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 January 2017
All team members get a long great, managers are stern but fair. The hours are long but time flies when things get busy. Typically customers are polite and easy to deal with.
The hardest part of the job was heavy lifting, but there's always someone around to help.
Pros
Easy going, lots of down time
Cons
Sale days are busy
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun to work at.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 January 2017
the team members were a fun bunch to work with. Everyone treats you well, very friendly. I enjoyed my time there, and enjoyed helping people find what they were looking for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace environment
Clothing Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS4 January 2017
Fast Paced Environment, full time hours however low wages, weekends off. Work as team. Learn multiple skills and ability to move within departments within the company.
Pros
weekends off
Cons
high work load low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable enviornment
Seasonal sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON3 January 2017
Working at Value Village you will encounter a lot a people with different tastes in clothing, bed and bath, books and much more. Helping out customers and being able to approach them with confidence is what you will be able to accomplish at Value Village. The co workers are amazing and every one of them is ready to help you get to the next level to be better. No one is put down and respect is a major key.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Hard to keep up on tasks on a very busy day
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place
Storefront Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB1 January 2017
Management wasn't great, and they didn't work well with my availability. Knew I was in school full time, hired as part time and had me working 6+ hours every day that I was done school at 3 and had 8 hours on days I had off of school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC29 December 2016
Dirty and very small work environment with a very demeaning management team. I found the staff miserable, you are pushed to exceed your quotas every day by management, and its supposedly a "non profit". Very big disappointment with this company.
Pros
weekends off
Cons
Very poor working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Customer service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 December 2016
Everything was ok. Fast pace environment. Too busy to notice co workers. It was the hardest job ever working with savers.

The most enjoyable part was communicating with customers. Management not too bad.
Pros
Take food to work
Cons
6 to 8 hrs a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good First Job
Community Donation Centre Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ON27 December 2016
Having worked here for 3 years, I have thoroughly enjoyed my time at the company. Wages are fair and the schedule is very flexible for students.
Pros
Good schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers and co-workers nice, job sucked
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON26 December 2016
Work felt more like a janitors job most of the time

Some people who donated were rude

items donated were mostly dirty, partly destroyed, disgusting

trying to keep bags and boxes organized on carts were OK but after many, many donations things get crowded.

Good thing was when working with another person, things went faster.

Lots of things change day to day, like tasks, acceptable/ non-acceptable items, etc

When nothing else to do, SWEEP, DUST, CLEAN and log it
Pros
co-workers were pretty awesome
Cons
shifts tend to vary in length, changes happen frequently, more janitorial then other things
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value Village
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 December 2016
This was my first job and I had wonderful time when i first started. Halloween is a lot of fun and everyone is trying to have fun and dress up. Some customers make it horrible and then some are amazing and really care about the workers. Management was very poor at one point and it was a mess with schedules. it got better once new management began.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive Job with Customers in a Fast Paste Environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB21 December 2016
Typical Day at work:
Cleaning, organizing, helping customers find what they are looking for, count the cashes

What I learned: Reliability skills and patience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of experience and responsibility!
Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 December 2016
- I was on the main floor and was in charge of assisting customers and getting them what they requested, sometimes making suggestions.
- I had to remember the layout of the store and where things were located so I could point customers in the right direction of what they were looking for.
- I also had the responsibility of keeping the store neat (picking clothes up off the ground, rehanging things, bringing clothing racks back and forth from the back room to the aisles, putting merchandise in their respective locations, taking care of spare hangers or fetching extras from the back room)
- My managers would assign me to specific locations sometimes (e.g. on Halloween the sweater racks were joined together and it was my responsibility to shadow customers and rehang what they rejected)
- I was a co op student so I was not paid. I got along well with everyone but I did not do much socializing as I was there to work.
- The hardest part of the job was the repetition.
- The most enjoyable part of the job was assisting customers. I love to help people! I am also a fashion student and it was fun to be around clothes and build outfits in my head.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work place.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  North York, ON15 December 2016
Horrible work environment with negative management.
I was constantly treated poorly by almost all of the management and i would never work here again.
Pros
50 percent discount
Cons
Horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gone down the Drain
Retail Sales Manager/ Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 December 2016
They really don't care about there team members. They say to use the open door policy, but normally they would side on the side of the management. That open door should say shut the door. They work you like slaves, and are quick to call out your flaws and does not recognize your sucesses. They are a cold company, in a sense where they know they want to fire you, use you to train the person thats going to take your position and then can you! Value Village is the WORST place you could work for!!!! I give them two thumbs, and 8 fingers DOWN as a company!
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned very valuable work skills
Cashier/Team member (Former Employee) –  Mission, BC9 December 2016
The job it self was really good but most of the team memebers and management didn't seem to take the job very seriously making It harder on those who actually did.
Pros
always gave us free food on sale days or when we did a good job
Cons
team didnt work well together
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Second to none.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON28 November 2016
Overall fantastic place to work. Advancement opportunities, impeccable training programs. I worked for this company for more than 18.5 years, highly recommend for career focused individuals.
Pros
training programs, career growth, local and global environmental impact.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always changing environment, and always learning
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 November 2016
My days are very busy because we are dependant on donations and Non-profit partners to get product to the floor. It is a production environment where Team Members need to work efficiently by getting a specific quota out daily. We have a specific way of merchandising and managing the salesfloor in order to keep it shoppable for our customers. I manage 30 people daily and the most challenging part of that is to keep them motivated to achieve their daily/weekly quotas. We constantly are watching to ensure that TM's are following best practices and working at a steady pace. The best part of the job is how much we recycle as a company. Most of what we don't sell, gets recycled and sent to 3rd world countries for reuse. The company also has a very good work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,300 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3