Savers/Value Village

874 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must meet or exceed quota
Full Time Cashier (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONFebruary 5, 2016
Cons: Dirty
All departments have a daily and weekly quota - including cashiers. Must be able to exceed in order to keep your job. Stressful when you fail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was not the best experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 2, 2016
Pros: full time hours
Cons: management
For a first job it was good... but management and supervisors did not treat lesser employees fairly. Hours were good. However i would never go back to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first place to get a job
SALES CLERK (Former Employee), Regina, SKJanuary 30, 2016
Pros: Friendly, fun
Cons: Staff change constantly
Everyone got along with each other, the pay was really well. After 6 months of working there, you would get benefits which was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice benefits, hard work
Production Worker (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONJanuary 25, 2016
Pros: discounts on merchandise
Cons: language barriers, 'I rate' customers
If you are planning to apply, take this into consideration; having worked in both areas of a store, I recommend the front end of the store.
Of course, working with the public can be hard and stressful, it's nothing compared to working in the back area.
Depending on the location and the management, you have to prepare yourself for high performance and meeting set quotas each day.
You do get some information on how items are priced before they reach the sales floor. And see some of the 'garbage' that people donate.
Many of the others you work with can be very friendly. It can be a fun place to work, but be careful of what you say.
One of the great benefits is getting discounts on the items you buy. But you have to wait 48 hours after it hits the sales floor before you are able to consider buying it. The customers get first choice and pick. I would consider myself lucky if an item I wanted to buy was still there after the 2 day waiting period.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Part time sales associate (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONJanuary 21, 2016
Working in Value Village was always an amusing time. From the amazing co-workers to the costumers. There was always a great friend ship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thrift Shop
Cashier and customer service representative (Current Employee), Orillia, ONJanuary 14, 2016
Pros: Opportunity for job advancement.
Cons: Lack of professionalism and organization within management and team members.
Easy and interesting minimum wage job. Some lack of professionalism. Build rewarding bonds with regular customers. Help non-profits and work for a corporation founded on green mentalities like recycling and reusing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Retail Job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Ottawa West, ONJanuary 13, 2016
Let me first start this review with a little personality of myself, I'm a very easy man, I don't have high expectations and I don't think to much about things that don't require it. I rated this job as neutral as possible because I knew what I was going into, I knew there was no amazing salary or job security or advancement, my expectations going into this job was it was better than nothing. I have no complaints about Value Village, I could nitpick but that's not my personality.

A typical day at work involved punching in and punching out, going to the working supervisor to see your duties for the day, and you did those duties and whatever else the supervisor needed done for your shift. I don't think I learned to much that can be carried over from job to job. But I do think I grew as a person, I can now help anyone I see in need, I can quickly think on my feet and I'm more outgoing within respect to the workplace.

Management has always been fine and I've never had any problems with them nor have they had any problems with me, they're all great in my eyes regardless of how others see them. My co-workers also go hand in hand with my sentences above for management, they are all great and I have no issues with anyone.

I think the hardest part of my job is either getting every donation inside before the store closes (in the summer it gets insane with the donations) and or the actual process of going to work. Its not a very fulfilling place, as you might imagine its a retail store and eventually you'll want to move on to bigger, better, more interesting things.

My most – more... enjoyable times at work are 100% caused by the friends I've made there, in no doubt without my co-workers and friends I would of not enjoyed it as much there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, efficient
Clothes sorter (Former Employee), Prince George, BCJanuary 11, 2016
Pros: had pizza parties sometimes
Cons: People wouldn't show up for work
Fun relaxed environment, the hardest part of the job was when people didn't show up for their shifts. the most enjoyable part was finishing everything on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horribly Managed, Unorganized and vulgar work place.
Forklift Operator/Labourer (Former Employee), Waterdown, ONJanuary 11, 2016
Pros: Received a Pay every 2 Weeks.
Cons: Hazardous Work Place, Never Fully Trained, Falsified Hiring Information.
Hated this place. I only accepted the job to pay the bills for the time being as I was laid off. They tell you a luxurious position that you will get and once hired it is not at all what they said. Management uses the paper you signed when hiring against you at every chance and if you are not 100% on point you will get wrote up as these managers are new and trying to gain power. The co-workers were amazing, the pay was terrible and there was smoking mirrors with the "benefits" package. The hardest part of my job was showing up every day to such a terribly managed work place. I would suggest edits to the back however were turned down. The hazardous area isn't even properly cleaned or set up, the HOTZ people came and nearly fainted at the sight of their set up.
Such a terrible backroom warehouse set up, terrible hours, not flexible and the job security is inaccurate as hours were always fluctuating once hired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Current Employee), Windsor, ONJanuary 10, 2016
Value Village is not a bad place to work at but the employees and managers make the place look bad. Customers make you hate your job sometimes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers fun and easy to work with
Salesclerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 9, 2016
Pros: Fun and busy environment
Cons: Benefits available to fulltime staff only
Cash handling
Debit and credit transactions
Organized products for customer ease
Cleaned and maintained high traffic areas
Provided helpful information to customer
Assisted with finding items
Received and allocated donations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Production Worker (Former Employee), Chatham-Kent, ONJanuary 8, 2016
I enjoyed working at zellers until it closed and terminated all employees While it was open it was a great place to shop and help customers find what they were looking for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee), Cornwall, ONJanuary 6, 2016
I love working here! My co-workers are the best and great people to work with. Work never feels like work when I'm on shift. I always enjoy my time spent working here and couldn't ask for any better work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Waterdown, ONJanuary 6, 2016
Overall, savers was a fun and good company to work for. They had good hours and good pay. Fun staff, and good benefits. Learned many different skills such as cash an fitting rooms. Hardest part was maintaing a clean store, but with a good group we were able to complete all jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment but can be stressful
Sales Clerk/Cashier (Current Employee), North York, ONJanuary 4, 2016
Pros: Increase wage every work anniversary
Cons: Dealing sometimes with rude customers
A typical day at work would be providing customer service and performing general maintenance of the merchandises around the sale's floor. I learned how to perform cashiering duties and use a switch board to direct people's calls. The management is very laid-back and sometimes their work ethics can be very unprofessional. My co-workers are very friendly and we often enjoy working with each other. The hardest part of the job would be maintaining the cleanliness of the sale's floor during rush busy times and this sometimes can be very stressful. However, the most enjoyable part of the job is to see all the various unique merchandise being put out to the sales floor as well to provide excellent customer service to the frequent regular shoppers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Team Member (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 29, 2015
In a days shift one must handle cash, maintain the store clean,accept donations,solve queries of customers.I learned to handle cash and I learned managerial skills from my managers by observing them at work in how they deal with customers.Co-workers are good.Hardest part of job is standing outside in cold at times to accept donations from customers.Most enjoyable part is the food that sometimes the management provides.Getting proper hours is another problem there.Job working hours are flexible which is very good if you are a student.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ffun, well paced
Cashier (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONDecember 17, 2015
Pros: llnch, pay. food
Cons: bar next door sometimes gets loud
loved working here, food is amazing staff is fun and out going and the people are good too.

thhe lunch deals are amazing and you not a far walkk from the
beautiful germain park wherre youuu can tae a stroll
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONDecember 9, 2015
I loved working for value village, the only reason i left was because i wasnt getting enough hours to make ends meet. i have absolutely nothing bad to say about this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very satisfying to see how much of the proceeds went to the non-profit charity.
Merchandiser/Customer Service (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONDecember 7, 2015
There was a lot of variety in what I did each day, and co-workers were very helpful in training. Due to my performance, was promoted twice in the short time I was there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front end cashier sales associate
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 5, 2015
Pros: Some fun co-workers to go through the war with
Cons: everything
your basically treating straight up rude, smelly, senseless people like royalty here. They come everyday to complain, and create a MESS like no other. So your job is to deal deal with stupidity and rudeness and clean up after their destructive trail. For some reason people dont realize this is a THRIFT store that sells 95% USED items, and 5% might be brand new, so basically if there is ANY defects like a small pencil size mark, a thread is loose, a almost unnoticeable stain.. ANYTHING... they want a discount because they expect everything to be brand new mint condition. Not only that, value village has rules for no reason, rules are bended constantly for these customers because when they hear "sorry we can't do that", it's a fight. Management is stupid as well, on top of that lazy and slow. They have no problem making people do 500 jobs and just watch while things are too much, like can you help instead of just standing there telling people to move faster? We only can do so much when we are up against senseless shoppers.
Claim this company page
Headquarters
Bellevue Washington, United States
Industry
    Links
    Savers/Value Village website