Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 359 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a Fun Place to Work
Hard Goods (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BCAugust 7, 2016
It is fun to work for Value Village, team members are like family, nice and helpful, getting along great too :) A typical day at work is like joking around but u still get your job done. If you have any problems, let management know and I don't think maybe the hardest part would be the rolling of bagging items if you are the bagger for example and you have to do it yourself plus have the quota done but I know I can do it!! :))
Pros
free lunches, barbeques
Cons
more pay, long hours but go by fast..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLJuly 13, 2016
on a daily basis we would have a great team and great regulars (customers) to work with. The service was good, but management could have been a bit better. I used to love going into work there because of my colleagues, but after a few repeated failed promises from management it became unsatisfactory. I would recommend this as a place to work for people looking absolutely and harbor no hate or animosity towards the company / people working for it!
Pros
great staff, good hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are a liked by management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONAugust 4, 2016
Good benefits and over all an amazing team of people, but managers and supervisors tend to walk around doing nothing and gossip a lot about other employees, they act very immature and childish towards some customers. Sales staff is great.
Pros
great benefits, if you are liked by management you will enjoy it.
Cons
management gossips, picks favourites and can be rude to customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly safe workplace
OPERATIONS TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BCJuly 12, 2016
A typical day at work would have been helping customers, hanging clothes, having friendly conversations, and ringing people up on the cash register. While working at Value Village I learned how to properly use cash registers, how to work well with my fellow team members to get a job finished to the best of its abilities. Every employee in the establishment had a very kind and positive outlook on the store, there were never any issues.The hardest part of the job, however, would have to be dealing with shoplifters and a few choice angry customers. My favorite part about the job I had was that I could work with people and converse with them. I truly enjoy getting along with my fellow team members and customers.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very fun place
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BCJune 21, 2016
The management was very disorganized and I did not feel like a valued team member. The training was unprofessional. They had me learn to put clothes away for a bunch of my shifts. I was scheduled for a shift where it's required to wear steel toes without warning me. I got in trouble on my first day of learning cash register because a manager wasn't around to help me learn or watch me.
Pros
50% off clothing
Cons
Poor training and management
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  New Minas, NSJuly 25, 2016
Was told that if I didn't want to come in Saturday it was fine. Im a single parent working what was told to me a monday to Friday work week. I spent the weekends that I don't work with my kid. When to work on the monday for the production shift and worked from 8am to 2pm and then was let go all because I didn't call in, when I thought I didn't need too.
Pros
None
Cons
Lack of communication. Lack of respect. Lack of empathy.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I encountered different persons in my workplace, I learned many things that i considered as my experience.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Unicity 3629 Portage Avenue Winnipeg MB R3K 2G6May 30, 2016
I worked full time at my previous job, funny because lots of joke on break time, i learned how to price the product, sort, check the quality if it is salable or not, management sometimes good, sometimes not because there's a favoritism, co-workers some good some not it is usual in work place, the dusty part because of the dust i got an allergy.
Pros
we have a good relationship and sometimes we have a potluck
Cons
always in time at work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
cashier/ G worker (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONMay 27, 2016
A typical day at work is I go to my till and I ring people through all day. If I am working G I clean up the floor and fix the hangers.

What I have learned working at value village is that I don't like working retail, I do not enjoy doing on calls either.

My co-workers are very understanding and very talkative.

The hardest part of the job is when people give you a hard time about a price of an item. Working G is just painful, you would walk up and down the same isle for hours fixing the same thing over and over again.

The most enjoyable part of working at value village is making new friends
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team based company
Retail Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Chilliwack, BCMay 27, 2016
deal with customers, communicate to the team about the day.

We learn about new customers and different kinds of products that come in the store.

We have a strong management team that works together.

We have a great team we are more like a family that like to be their for each other.

the hardest part of the job is having to let people go when they have to many cash issues.

The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to help out people that are less fortunate and down on their luck.
Pros
met great people thru out the 12 years on the job.
Cons
When other people don't help out with the team work like they should
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and demanding
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  #380 800 15th St. E, Prince Albert, SK S6V 8E3May 22, 2016
morning meetings, stretches , setting up rag bins and hanger racks for the morning work and then recycling for the rest of the day

I Learned that teamwork is the key to a successful day of work

Management is the best, they actually go beyond

Co-workers are fun and hard workers

the hardest part of the job is that when a team member is out for the day

the most enjoyable part of my job is that knowing that i make a difference in production
Pros
very demanding, fast days
Cons
very demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers can be nice
Front-End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONMay 11, 2016
Overall, this company offers lots of opportunity to learn. Customers can be hard to deal with. Management acts very much like high school students. Always talking about someone, how to get them fired. Complain a lot.Discount is good as well as benefits. Sometimes the expectations are set too high and you end up feeling like you can never do good enough. No positive feedback for management.
Pros
Benefits, Good discounts, lots to learn
Cons
Poor training, Insecure management team, no positive feedback for management
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a Front End Supervisor
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ONJune 15, 2016
My typical day starts in the morning coming to work do the banking deposits and then processing previous days paper work. Count the safe and balance the registers for the coming day store opening.
Make sure cashiers are aware of the coming day activities and that they know when breaks and lunches are. Dealing customers compliants and feedbacks.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production: overworked and underpaid
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 16, 2016
A high-stress, extremely corporate and toxic work environment.


Words by my co-workers:

"I can't imagine another company that would put a bag of donations above someone's safety."

"Sometimes I just go home and cry."

"I have never felt so under valued and under appreciated."
Pros
benefits
Cons
stress, safety, physical health, mental health
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profits driven
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NBJuly 4, 2016
Management doesn't care about its employees - no matter what they try to tell you. So long as they're making a profit - employees are safe. Otherwise, the rotating door will continue with employees, whether they be in management for the store, or the grunt workers who work very hard.
Pros
Discounts on products
Cons
Your mental & physical well-being are in jeopardy.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ordinary place to work for but for a good cause
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SKJune 26, 2016
Customer service experience indeed at value village was nice I made friends there all over company cause is nice as they help Canadian diabetes association .
It was a nice short experience but too much physical work which can make your body tired.
Pros
Free food on sale day
Cons
schedule is not flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work and underpaid
customer service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 4, 2016
its hard work your underpaid and no one cares about you. i hated working for the company. i loved the work but always hearing your not meeting the goals all the time and if your group keeps it up you will be fired was not fun. if you missed the goal by 1 or 500 you got told that weekly. I was the only one on my side meeting my goal as i printed my own tags and could see what i was doing every day. I still got this speech.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team working environment
Team Member--Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKJuly 2, 2016
A fast paced, ever busy environment
Offering a great deal on setting and meeting targets and deadlines
A very supportive management style
Very friendly and motivating co-workers
Managing a sales day seem to me the hardest part of the job
Meeting the targets and deadlines comes with some incentives.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced, fun
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 20, 2016
-Fast paced organizing and rolling merchandise onto the floor.
-I learned how to communicate with all different types of people as well as developed my organization skills.
-Managent was very kind, but I sometimes had difficulty with them giving me the correct work hours in which I was available for.
-All co-workers were very nice and welcoming
-The most difficult part of the job was the fast pace. It took some time getting used to, but eventually I got the hang of it.
-The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to see all of the amazing products that come into the store as well as being able to develop my communication skills.
Pros
Cake once a month
Cons
communication problems with management at times
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Team Member (Former Employee) –  New Minas, NSAugust 18, 2016
Management has zero respect for the rules and you're treated like a lapdog. Very negative environment and not worthy for anyone. Do not be fooled by the company's donation spiel, it's all a big scam. Work for a company that respects it's policies, this company does not.
Pros
None
Cons
Manipulative, dishonest, unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, easy going environment
Customer Service/General Labour (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONMarch 30, 2016
a typical day at work would be starting out on cash and moving to the back to handle donations to cover the person on break or just be in the back for the whole shift.
I learned that the Canadian Diabetes Association is partner of Value Village
The co-workers were great, easy to get along with, fun and energetic
the management was amazing, never felt uncomfortable going to the manager for help, all members of management were very approachable.
The hardest part of the job was to deny the acceptance of items we couldn't take ex. mattresses, lighters firearms etc.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working the back and seeing what great stuff people would donate to us.
Pros
great area, great staff, great time
Cons
commuting to ajax
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,027 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Savers/Value Village Reviews by Location