Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 436 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing people
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON25 February 2017
working here was a lot of fun, stable hours set days, good raises every year, some room to move up.
management did change and come down hard on workers a lot more then when old management was there.
Pros
salary, hours, shifts, bonuses
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
CDC Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Kanata, ON25 February 2017
good hours, school friendly managers, fun face passed work environment. Help people unload their vehicles, and learn good customer services.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic, and Unsafe Environment
On Site Donations Person (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC22 February 2017
Value village has unsafe work conditions, many workers who are required to are not wearing their steel toes and managers are setting a poor example by also not wearing them. Managers are not responsive to employee needs - such as unsafe conditions being pointed out which can be remedied, but ignored due to frugality and laziness. They have a deeply entrenched toxic workplace culture where bullying is seen as normal.
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
toxic workplace environment, apathetic managers, bully employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Floor team member (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON22 February 2017
Value Village was a great first job experience, I learned how to do deal with customers, operate the cash register and also how to manage the store when it's busy. The staff always worked well with each other.
Pros
Discount on clothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
Cashier/Operations (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 February 2017
At the start of the shift the float had to be counted. Then the purchases of the customers accurately scanned, returning the correct change for cash paying customers, processing card transaction. If not busy at the cash register we would help the other team members at the changing room, returning product to the floor, and keeping carts organized.
The team members were great to work with and we all helped each other in the smooth running of the work place.
The hardest part of the job was to keep the floor neat and tidy
Pros
Free lunches on sales days
Cons
Part time work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee
Operations (Current Employee) –  BC20 February 2017
Lots of promises no follow-through. No recognition for long-time employees. Favoritism. Act like they care but don't even listen. Rules change daily .
Pros
Good discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good opportunity to grow up
Supervisor trainee (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 February 2017
This is good company who is helping non-profit organizations to fund their services to find cure for Diabeties.
I have a great experience in dealing with customers on daily basis and I know most of the customers by names.
In this company, I got the chance to grow and now the company always makes me head cashier or they count on me for closings as they think I can do the job better. I am getting training for supervisor.
Overall good company, but less pay. I love to work in the same company, but I have kids, so want a change in salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL17 February 2017
Wasn't the best job
was only there seasonal even though i was told it was gonna be a permanent position but ended up not
staff were friendly and management was ok
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON17 February 2017
The manager of the store is rotten and rude to the staff and the store is not well maintained.
The staff quit a lot.
But the problem with manager should be dealt with for the staff.
Pros
It, s a job
Cons
Manager sucks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Takes a toll on your body.
Pricer (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON15 February 2017
40 hours a week. minimum wage. Same repetitive job. half hour lunch breaks. Standing in one spot for 8 hours a day. Allowed to talk unless told otherwise from your manager.
Pros
40 hours a week
Cons
no talking
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sorted items
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE15 February 2017
Horrible work condition, worked with a lot of mold and mildew. Management team were awful to work for, admitting to not listening during meetings with you. Nothing was ever good enough for them.
Pros
Monday to Friday
Cons
moldy work conditions, management team who didn't listen
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB13 February 2017
The management was the worst, they were not friendly or understanding of anything. I would not recommend this job to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic team oriented company
Member of both J.H.S.C. and Kazeen (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON9 February 2017
Loved this job and this is why I spent almost 7 years at this company however there were from time to time poor management members that would create nightmares however at the location that I worked at which was Guelph 2035 we had more than 8 Store managers within 7 years
Pros
great team
Cons
unrealistic Quota's
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a mess
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS9 February 2017
Everyone working against each other and good work unrewarded while good employees are punished. A corrupt system run by corrupt people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON8 February 2017
The main floor manager made life at work very uncomfortable and uneasy. The other managers were kind and helpful though.
Pros
Cheap clothes
Cons
Bad salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy good social committee
Cashier/Front end in Production (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB2 February 2017
Fast paced
More about Value Village about their recycle process
1 manager 5 supervisors Overall good but couldn't please one
I went back to work too soon had an injury which wasn't healed yet but felt I still kept up with the pace
The customers
Pros
Always having something going on for the staff. Draws, potlucks, BBQs etc
Cons
where watched constantly on cameras
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with excellent management staff
Cashier/General Recovery (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON1 February 2017
Every work day is usually exceptionally positive thanks to the welcoming staff and wonderful regulars. You learn a lot about money handling and the hard work that comes with some retail establishments but most importantly, people and customer service. The management team are great and always have your best interests at mind. They're understanding and very motivating. The culture overall is laid back but everyone works at their best pace to make sure the job gets done. The hardest part of the job would be time management, focus and awareness at all times. You're always on the go the whole day so you need to maintain those skills at all times to make sure your performing to the best of your ability. The most enjoyable part of my job though is getting the first look at all the treasurers that come through our store and making great friends with the people I work with and how they make my day easy with their positive vibes.
Pros
Lots of free food
Cons
lots of standing and physical labor
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to meet many new people!
Cashier / Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BC30 January 2017
A great place for thrifty shopping & treasure hunting ,

Awesome people place, great working environment..

Worked as Cashier/ Sales Associate/ Production Worker,
Hours went by quickly.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working there for over 5 years
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 January 2017
Great place, great discount, when i went away to school my job was waiting when i came back. mostly awesome managers. understanding if you are a student
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
custodial work for the store and offices
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON28 January 2017
did cleaning of store and offices on weekends. I did cleaning during high school years. Enjoyed the work environment and enjoyed the extra money I earned.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
not a permanent job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,357 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3