Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 330 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and demanding
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  #380 800 15th St. E, Prince Albert, SK S6V 8E3May 22, 2016
morning meetings, stretches , setting up rag bins and hanger racks for the morning work and then recycling for the rest of the day

I Learned that teamwork is the key to a successful day of work

Management is the best, they actually go beyond

Co-workers are fun and hard workers

the hardest part of the job is that when a team member is out for the day

the most enjoyable part of my job is that knowing that i make a difference in production
Pros
very demanding, fast days
Cons
very demanding
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn more about saving money
Front End Manager (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABMay 12, 2016
> Good to work . Learned about Big brothers and sisters. how to reuse things and save money, pricing, learned about management skills.
Cons
racism with staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers can be nice
Front-End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONMay 11, 2016
Overall, this company offers lots of opportunity to learn. Customers can be hard to deal with. Management acts very much like high school students. Always talking about someone, how to get them fired. Complain a lot.Discount is good as well as benefits. Sometimes the expectations are set too high and you end up feeling like you can never do good enough. No positive feedback for management.
Pros
Benefits, Good discounts, lots to learn
Cons
Poor training, Insecure management team, no positive feedback for management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work and underpaid
customer service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 4, 2016
its hard work your underpaid and no one cares about you. i hated working for the company. i loved the work but always hearing your not meeting the goals all the time and if your group keeps it up you will be fired was not fun. if you missed the goal by 1 or 500 you got told that weekly. I was the only one on my side meeting my goal as i printed my own tags and could see what i was doing every day. I still got this speech.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
value village team
Retail Sales (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ONApril 28, 2016
-great friendly team
-fast work pace, time management, character building
-great management friendly and helpful
-hardest part of the job was unloading carts of cloths in a very short time window
-putting the price tags into the items
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced, fun
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 20, 2016
-Fast paced organizing and rolling merchandise onto the floor.
-I learned how to communicate with all different types of people as well as developed my organization skills.
-Managent was very kind, but I sometimes had difficulty with them giving me the correct work hours in which I was available for.
-All co-workers were very nice and welcoming
-The most difficult part of the job was the fast pace. It took some time getting used to, but eventually I got the hang of it.
-The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to see all of the amazing products that come into the store as well as being able to develop my communication skills.
Pros
Cake once a month
Cons
communication problems with management at times
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people to work with
Recycling team member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 20, 2016
The job is fun but the work is too much for the money.
the people make it fun and it has a great working environment but its too much work for little money.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very positive environment, real steady and great place to work!
"CDC Ambassador/Recycler/Sorter/Pricer" (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBApril 17, 2016
"Value Village/Savers" was an exciting and excellent daytime job to have. They kept us busy and I was trained in many departments as time went on. The staff and management were very polite, welcoming and appreciative.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, and enjoying it
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONApril 14, 2016
I have no real complaints other than false promises made by management. Asked to learn something different within, said that they'll train me but never did. They are very flexible with scheduling around my hours which is greatly appreciated.
Pros
Supportive management
Cons
False promises
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and team
Cashier and Community Donation Centre Ambassador (Former Employee) –  St. Jacobs, ONApril 8, 2016
It was a great experience working at Value village. The team was great and always encouraging of each other. Everyone always helped each other when needed, and was accepting and helpful for each others strengths and weaknesses.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 8, 2016
A typical day at work would be picking out a costume and dressing up for the day to help promote the costumes to children. What I learned is that you need to have fun in order to like your job with what you do. The hardest part of the job is to find a specific costume someone is looking for and the most enjoyable is have a person leave with a costume.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not like working there
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BCApril 5, 2016
while i worked there the management was terrible and always blamed the employees for not having good sales, they also weren't nice to us sometimes over things.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 5, 2016
working for value village was like working with a family. at least that is the feeling that i got when i was there. i was a cashier and worked in the back. it was sooo much fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, easy going environment
Customer Service/General Labour (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONMarch 30, 2016
a typical day at work would be starting out on cash and moving to the back to handle donations to cover the person on break or just be in the back for the whole shift.
I learned that the Canadian Diabetes Association is partner of Value Village
The co-workers were great, easy to get along with, fun and energetic
the management was amazing, never felt uncomfortable going to the manager for help, all members of management were very approachable.
The hardest part of the job was to deny the acceptance of items we couldn't take ex. mattresses, lighters firearms etc.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working the back and seeing what great stuff people would donate to us.
Pros
great area, great staff, great time
Cons
commuting to ajax
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ONMarch 21, 2016
I definitely enjoyed working at Value Village very much. I got along well with both coworkers and management. I actually miss working there because I loved being a team member and I always had a good time when I worked my shifts. A lot of the customers were very nice, as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the retail Industry.
Customer Service and Cashiering (Current Employee) –  8930 - 82nd aveMarch 16, 2016
Retail is again one of the best business to get in touch with customers. Building relationship. Challenging somedays. The management where i work at is Excellent.
Pros
Fun workplace, no pressure on you at work.
Cons
Hours of work is limited.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad work environment
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Regina, SKMarch 16, 2016
Strenuous work, dirty work, working with old moldy clothes with out proper protection. Management always expecting you to exert yourself, and everyone gets pulled down if only certain others are not putting in their share of work.
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
Management, dirty/tiring work
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Production/processing Room (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SKMarch 14, 2016
I enjoyed working production because you are always busy. The
management team is great as well as the co-workers. The customers are the most enjoyable part for me. The hardest part of the job is repetition.
Pros
good hours
Cons
taxing on mind and body
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKMarch 8, 2016
fun to interact with customers. Diversity was encouraged. the best part of the job was pricing the products. it was a great learning experience and fun to organize donation drives.
Pros
free pizza lunch once every week
Cons
long hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst placed I've worked
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BCMarch 6, 2016
I've done plenty of labor related jobs in the past and I've never worked for a company that cares less about their employees. Minimum wage for production and recycling workers even though its a labor intensive job, lousy benefits and impossible to reach bonus incentives. Raises were laughable and insulting.

There is barely the needed amount of safety precautions in place, hazards are everywhere. Staff is not supplied with all they need to do the job safely and efficiently. Management is hostile and condescending towards staff, favoritism is rampant towards select staff. The work environment is poor and moral is almost never up. Do yourself a favor and don't bother applying for anything related to working with this company.

Best part about the whole job was the steady hours and the few decent staff that worked there.
Pros
Steady Hours
Cons
Low pay, Poor and unsafe work environment, Bullying management
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 945 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture