Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 449 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place but very productive
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK22 March 2017
Always something to be done, never sitting around. Lots of hands on working, so much inspiration and commitment from that place. Overall a wonderful work environment.
Pros
Family like people
Cons
Lots of hands on work like lifting and walking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Workplace
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON14 March 2017
Management is average, the people there are friendly and helpful. Typical days on Tuesdays are one of the busiest because of senior day which means that senior above the age of 60+ get 30% off. I learned so far to manage customers who are in help with something and learned to manage the cash register as a cashier.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some fun ppl others are snakes
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB14 March 2017
Dust is a major factor for this job and the unrealestic expectations they have set out for the oks and production gossip everywere ppl talking ish behind others backs dry snitches evey were theres favorites most staff dont care there making 12 a hr they care more about chocolet and treats alot of two face action
Complaints about small things chose to quit and walk away worst job ever had in my employment hostory
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Everything about this place
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in paradise
Production Team Member (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB8 March 2017
Start time is at 7:30 and you finish at 4. There are 3 breaks. The store needs to be cleaned out before it opens up, that is part of my job. After we process donations, and determine if the item is sell able or not. The hardest part of y job is the dust, and how dirty it is. The fun part is the customers and some co-workers are fun and enjoyable to be around.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
long list
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managment doesn't have a clue
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON8 March 2017
they have unreasonable speed expectations if you are in production. very dirty place to work, you are often given household garbage because the Canadian diabetes association don't check the bags before picking them up from the curb.
Pros
cake day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 March 2017
Good people to work with, under .50 wage increase per 1/yr. Not enough pay for the physical work they require, the work will eventually take it's toll on your body, back especially. During quiet season expect to loose hours as well.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Poor pay/wage increases, physical work, hours cut during quiet season
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working here and I really liked helping the people.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  cambridge ontario7 March 2017
I really like working here and I really liked helping the people.But the last few months that I was there we got a new manager and he was very verbally abusive. So I could take no more and decided to leave. I was there for almost 8 years.
Pros
Close to home and working with people.
Cons
verbal abuse.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a satisfactory student job
Production Team Member (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON6 March 2017
The job itself is good, and it is sufficient for a student. I'm looking for something that is more engaging and something that pays more, and am definitely willing to work hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Team member (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS4 March 2017
A good place to work and get to know people, as the store is big you get to move around quite a bit and that if you're on the floor you would be moving between the stacks arranging the dresses and items because it tends to get messy, otherwise a good place to work and go shopping
Pros
don't know
Cons
don't know
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Team members are what kept me there for so long.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 March 2017
At Value Village the team members are what kept me there we all got along so great and became so close. I would often not like going to work but when i got there my mood would quickly change because i was basically going to see my friends. The managers will push you to do soo much work and it's not fair. They would hire little people so that they meet the bonus and work us out. Where i worked no one really liked our managers because they acted as if they owned us which they do but over working us wasn't cool. My schedule was Friday, Sat, Sun, Monday & Tuesday and i was only 16 and it was too much i would ask for less hours but would still receive the same amount. Also when you work there your hands will smell so bad after a shift and your clothes would smell funny too. Sometimes the managers were cool though.
Pros
Bonus, cool team members
Cons
Not reasonable hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horribly Managed
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 March 2017
All I can say is this job is definitely not for everyone. They claim a decent work life balance...all depends on which store you work at. It is hit or miss with management in each location so varied.
Pros
Close to TTC
Cons
Toxic staff and management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad store management
Value Village OSD/Reciever (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS28 February 2017
My direct supervisor was very good but the store manager was awful, one of the most ungrateful bosses I've ever worked for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its fun place to work.
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC27 February 2017
Excellent,Fun place to work.friendly staff,Learned customer satisfaction. Help community. Well organised floor .
Pros
free lunch on sale days
Cons
little bit stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing people
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON25 February 2017
working here was a lot of fun, stable hours set days, good raises every year, some room to move up.
management did change and come down hard on workers a lot more then when old management was there.
Pros
salary, hours, shifts, bonuses
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
CDC Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Kanata, ON25 February 2017
good hours, school friendly managers, fun face passed work environment. Help people unload their vehicles, and learn good customer services.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic, and Unsafe Environment
On Site Donations Person (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC22 February 2017
Value village has unsafe work conditions, many workers who are required to are not wearing their steel toes and managers are setting a poor example by also not wearing them. Managers are not responsive to employee needs - such as unsafe conditions being pointed out which can be remedied, but ignored due to frugality and laziness. They have a deeply entrenched toxic workplace culture where bullying is seen as normal.
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
toxic workplace environment, apathetic managers, bully employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Floor team member (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON22 February 2017
Value Village was a great first job experience, I learned how to do deal with customers, operate the cash register and also how to manage the store when it's busy. The staff always worked well with each other.
Pros
Discount on clothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
Cashier/Operations (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 February 2017
At the start of the shift the float had to be counted. Then the purchases of the customers accurately scanned, returning the correct change for cash paying customers, processing card transaction. If not busy at the cash register we would help the other team members at the changing room, returning product to the floor, and keeping carts organized.
The team members were great to work with and we all helped each other in the smooth running of the work place.
The hardest part of the job was to keep the floor neat and tidy
Pros
Free lunches on sales days
Cons
Part time work
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee
Operations (Current Employee) –  BC20 February 2017
Lots of promises no follow-through. No recognition for long-time employees. Favoritism. Act like they care but don't even listen. Rules change daily .
Pros
Good discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good opportunity to grow up
Supervisor trainee (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 February 2017
This is good company who is helping non-profit organizations to fund their services to find cure for Diabeties.
I have a great experience in dealing with customers on daily basis and I know most of the customers by names.
In this company, I got the chance to grow and now the company always makes me head cashier or they count on me for closings as they think I can do the job better. I am getting training for supervisor.
Overall good company, but less pay. I love to work in the same company, but I have kids, so want a change in salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,396 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3