Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 520 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!!
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON24 July 2017
I loved Value Village. Management was great except the store manager at the time wasn't too friendly but the rest of them were great!! they were understanding about balancing good hours but also keeping in mind we all have a social life! my coworkers were great, everybody got a long well. The customers were always so different but it was great when people come in and find good finds and tell you what they plan to do with the items creativity. The typical day was good but very slow at times which made is sometimes boring especially if you're on cash and the main cash. It just sucks it was in the middle of basically nowhere and very hard to get to if you don't drive. Also sucks because you have to wait a certain amount of days to be able to purchase certain items if they were newer to go out on the floor.
Pros
Good hours and for balancing life and work
Cons
the 3-4 hour shifts they give during the week and rolling production if you work for the front.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for Halloween supplys
Sales Representative/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 July 2017
I you are young and have very little job experience this position will teach you how to develop your skills in team building and time management, i also left with a lot of friendships so that cool to
Pros
50% off
Cons
enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Morral is low.
Production Clerk (Current Employee) –  Cornwall, ON24 July 2017
It is not a advancement working environment. The main focus of the company is to push for higher financial gains. It is a for profit organization and not a charity which is a common misconception. There is a very high turnover of employees.
Pros
You recieve a discount on your purchasees.
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
convenient working hours and good benefits
Production Team Member (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB23 July 2017
I have been with Savers for more than 8 years now. I can say that we have good benefits, I don't have problems with my co workers and I have gained enough skills and experience that contributes to my knowledge in order to be a productive worker.Most of all, my work schedule is convenient for me.

However, 4 years ago, there was a change in Management in our store and sad to say, most of the team members including me are not happy on how things are going on.
Pros
free lunches on sale days
Cons
Its very hard to set doctors appointments which is not fair-
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
February 2013 was promoted to front-end supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 July 2017
will not do a review, as I have very little good to say about the company. I would not recommend working there. they have way to high set of expectations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work Place
Front End Supervisor/Retail Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC18 July 2017
-Working here every day is a new day and meeting with different customers.
-Have learned to work with Canadian work culture and have gained knowledge to adapt the system.
-Have gained marketing and sales knowledge and am enjoying to work with sales, production and store managers to exchange my knowledge and experience that I have gained over many years
-To manage large number of staff member (approx 75) is a big challenge
-To meet different customers and resolving various customer complaints and as well as fulfilling customer demand is the key aspects to enjoy this job
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
various shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Sales Representative/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON13 July 2017
Good environment to work in. Very diverse. The management is a little slow and the store manager can be mean but apart from that it's a nice and healthy place to work in. Staff is great too!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cashier (Current Employee) –  East Kildonan, MB12 July 2017
i attend to different types of customers. is a good place to learn, because is both poor and rich people that shop at value village. the management is not stable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just okay
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON10 July 2017
1)Min payment
2)Easy job, but environment is dirty
3)The working process of company is rigid and not efficiency
3)customer is annoying
4)overall working environment is not stress.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't a good jkb
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC10 July 2017
The job was pretty bad job. They work you really hard there and you get paid minimum wage which is not worth how hard you work there l. I don't recommend this job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, fast paced
Production Team Member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 July 2017
Very quick paced work, if you don't work fast forget about applying. Decent employee discount, excellent benefits and profit sharing program. You are dealing with a lot of old and dusty items be prepared to sneeze alot
Pros
good benefits and pay
Cons
can be stressful pace, dusty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't do it
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BC7 July 2017
it sucks! it had the highes turn over rate in all of vernon. when i was there, the management does not treat the staff well at all. the management doesn't know how to run the store and make the employees miserable. it's fast paced but the team members are great. i worked there for a year and never got treated with respect, and also was payed minimum wage that whole year, so they are never willing to give you a couple cent raise. for your own sanity, i suggest not to do it
Pros
cake days
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Player and productive environment
Community Donation Center Attendant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 July 2017
it gives opportunity to the young ones and it a good start for an employment experience. it help not only the community but also its charity partners in achieving specific goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Job!
dressing room, and washrooms neat and orderly (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON4 July 2017
Wasn't too bad of a job. Didn't get trained at all though... Other than that a decent, normal job! Worked every weekend, long hours after school- Good if your looking to make lots of money with lots of hours.
Pros
Get to see quirky customers. You get 50% of EVERYTHING.
Cons
You have to wait three days before you can buy a newly arrived item.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Value Village
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 July 2017
Working at Value Village can be very rewarding but also can be very difficult. No matter how well you do it is never good enough. Years ago I would have recommended working for this company but not now.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have a meltdown-free day!!!
Worker (Former Employee) –  West Kelowna, BC29 June 2017
Its a starter job... It was fast paced and never a dull moment. The co workers were some of the best people I have worked with in quite some time. It attracts an eclectic and diverse group of people to achieve a common goal. 4 Stars Overall because of the coworkers. There is not enough space in this box to explain the low ratings in the other categories.
Pros
Fellow team members and the sense of teamwork amongst some very different people.
Cons
The pay... Its either chaos or smooth sailing at times. Its a starter job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with great people
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  1319 Bloor St W, Toronto, ON M6H 1P327 June 2017
A typical day for a full time worker begins at 7:30 am. There is quite a lot of work, and it rarely is finished by the end of your shift. This lack of a sense of progress is difficult, and the quotas and time-limits are challenging. The best part of Value Village lies in the people you work with. Management is sympathetic and supportive within their limits, and there is often snacks or themed-days that brighten your week.
Pros
Free coffee, discount on clothes
Cons
Quotas rarely met, not for those with allergies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB26 June 2017
I enjoyed working at value village it was a great place to work the people were great and the pay was decent. The reason that i left was because of no childcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it here!
Production Grader (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC25 June 2017
Value village is the best place so far that I've ever worked. They take problems seriously and get things dealt with , have been extremely understanding when I was sick , taught me so much. Everyone is so nice here too , so happy I was given the opportunity to work at this wonderful place. I would say the only concerning thing is the dust and grading line area, always hit my head. Could be my fault though since I'm clumsy . They also have free snacks sometimes so that's pretty cool too.
Pros
Coffee, nice employees, breaks are consistent, free snacks sometimes
Cons
Super dusty ! Hitting head on area bars!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OPS Supervisor
Assistant Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON23 June 2017
Value Village was the first donation based workplace I had ever been employed by. I learned a great deal about the process from donation to sales floor. Many hard working employees behind the scenes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers/Value Village. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,608 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

69%
541 ratings
Add your rating