Savers/Value Village

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 354 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst placed I've worked
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BCMarch 6, 2016
I've done plenty of labor related jobs in the past and I've never worked for a company that cares less about their employees. Minimum wage for production and recycling workers even though its a labor intensive job, lousy benefits and impossible to reach bonus incentives. Raises were laughable and insulting.

There is barely the needed amount of safety precautions in place, hazards are everywhere. Staff is not supplied with all they need to do the job safely and efficiently. Management is hostile and condescending towards staff, favoritism is rampant towards select staff. The work environment is poor and moral is almost never up. Do yourself a favor and don't bother applying for anything related to working with this company.

Best part about the whole job was the steady hours and the few decent staff that worked there.
Pros
Steady Hours
Cons
Low pay, Poor and unsafe work environment, Bullying management
Was this review helpful?Yes16No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horribly Managed, Unorganized and vulgar work place.
Forklift Operator/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Waterdown, ONJanuary 11, 2016
Hated this place. I only accepted the job to pay the bills for the time being as I was laid off. They tell you a luxurious position that you will get and once hired it is not at all what they said. Management uses the paper you signed when hiring against you at every chance and if you are not 100% on point you will get wrote up as these managers are new and trying to gain power. The co-workers were amazing, the pay was terrible and there was smoking mirrors with the "benefits" package. The hardest part of my job was showing up every day to such a terribly managed work place. I would suggest edits to the back however were turned down. The hazardous area isn't even properly cleaned or set up, the HOTZ people came and nearly fainted at the sight of their set up.
Such a terrible backroom warehouse set up, terrible hours, not flexible and the job security is inaccurate as hours were always fluctuating once hired.
Pros
Received a Pay every 2 Weeks.
Cons
Hazardous Work Place, Never Fully Trained, Falsified Hiring Information.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team, pretty easy work, your typical retail experience
Front End Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa East, ONFebruary 10, 2016
I work in operations, the team that manages the front of the store.

It's your typical retail job; working the cash, cleaning up after customers, hanging clothes, etc. You get the occasional grumpy, messy customers who push your buttons but that's any retail job. Value Village is no different. It's pretty easy work.

Pay is good, starts at minimum and every year depending on how you do you get a bonus (a fairly good one if you've been a good employee.) Full time (32 hours a week or more) get benefits which is nice. Upward movement is an option if you're a solid employee.The location I work at have pretty good management. Not many complaints.

My only issue is with the consistency of the rules and pricing. A lot of the times managers will break 90% of the rules to please customers resulting in a lot of that "if you scream loud enough at the cashier you get what you want" mentality from the return customers. You say no (because it's your job to) and then they scream and the manager says yes to appease them.

Be prepared for constant price haggling and price checks. All in all, good place to work.
Pros
Good management, room for promotion, easy work
Cons
Typical retail experience of dealing with bad customers, take the brunt of customer anger
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment with a focus on profit instead of Community
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ONNovember 30, 2015
I joined this company thinking that it's objective was to use it's profits to help the community, environment and less fortunate countries. Through insight, I realized that this is not true. The focus is on paying the non-profits as little as possible, and only recycling the things they can sell to middle men. Training is non-existent. I was given an outdated book and told to find time to "figure it out". Lack of communication makes the day very stressful as mixed messages and lack of direction cause team members to become upset and lash out. The hardest part of the job is finding the motivation to push the team members to fulfill impossible quotas. The most enjoyable part of the job is when someone comes to me with a problem and I am able to help them. I like my job but most days I am not able to do it.
Pros
Benefits, Job security and Advancement, great team members
Cons
Poor Management Communication, Poor training, focus on quotas and top Management bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice benefits, hard work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONJanuary 25, 2016
If you are planning to apply, take this into consideration; having worked in both areas of a store, I recommend the front end of the store.
Of course, working with the public can be hard and stressful, it's nothing compared to working in the back area.
Depending on the location and the management, you have to prepare yourself for high performance and meeting set quotas each day.
You do get some information on how items are priced before they reach the sales floor. And see some of the 'garbage' that people donate.
Many of the others you work with can be very friendly. It can be a fun place to work, but be careful of what you say.
One of the great benefits is getting discounts on the items you buy. But you have to wait 48 hours after it hits the sales floor before you are able to consider buying it. The customers get first choice and pick. I would consider myself lucky if an item I wanted to buy was still there after the 2 day waiting period.
Pros
discounts on merchandise
Cons
language barriers, 'I rate' customers
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, friendly place to work with a strive for daily excellent customer satisfaction
Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ONDecember 5, 2015
A typical day of work would include getting assigned a cash register for the day. My first 2 hours of my shift would be spent on cash. I would say the most enjoyable and hardest part of my job is talking to the customers. I love talking to people from all walks of life. I learn new things from my customers on a daily basis. I like complementing them on their purchases. Sometimes making a simple compliment can make anybody's day. On the other hand, some customers can be a real handful. They easily can get upset if their coupons have expired or they don't like the prices. I have learned patience while dealing with these customers. There is no sense making the situation worse by getting frustrated. I calmly talk to them and if the situation gets worse then I simply call a manager. The management is wonderful. They treat the employees well and back them up when an unpleasant situation arises.
Pros
I get along with everyone that I work with, I have been praised for my work by both my managers and customers
Cons
Not getting hours, not all employees do their fair share of the work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, easy going environment
Customer Service/General Labour (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONMarch 30, 2016
a typical day at work would be starting out on cash and moving to the back to handle donations to cover the person on break or just be in the back for the whole shift.
I learned that the Canadian Diabetes Association is partner of Value Village
The co-workers were great, easy to get along with, fun and energetic
the management was amazing, never felt uncomfortable going to the manager for help, all members of management were very approachable.
The hardest part of the job was to deny the acceptance of items we couldn't take ex. mattresses, lighters firearms etc.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working the back and seeing what great stuff people would donate to us.
Pros
great area, great staff, great time
Cons
commuting to ajax
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an alright job
hanger, pricer, tagger, roller, sorter (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BCFebruary 26, 2016
I worked in production and although the hours were good and I liked getting done work at 4pm every day there were also quite a few things I really disliked about working at Value Village. First off the management was very unorganized and inconsistent. They put me on so many different jobs while I worked there and they worked me to my full potential but didn't pay me a dime extra, even for the more difficult jobs! I didn't feel that was fair. The pay is also horrible. The low pay is the reason why I could not continue working there anymore. it just wasn't even worth getting out of bed in the morning.
Pros
great coworkers
Cons
too much back-breaking work for almost no money
Was this review helpful?Yes14No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thrift Shop
Cashier and customer service representative (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ONJanuary 14, 2016
Easy and interesting minimum wage job. Some lack of professionalism. Build rewarding bonds with regular customers. Help non-profits and work for a corporation founded on green mentalities like recycling and reusing.
Pros
Opportunity for job advancement.
Cons
Lack of professionalism and organization within management and team members.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment but can be stressful
Sales Clerk/Cashier (Current Employee) –  North York, ONJanuary 4, 2016
A typical day at work would be providing customer service and performing general maintenance of the merchandises around the sale's floor. I learned how to perform cashiering duties and use a switch board to direct people's calls. The management is very laid-back and sometimes their work ethics can be very unprofessional. My co-workers are very friendly and we often enjoy working with each other. The hardest part of the job would be maintaining the cleanliness of the sale's floor during rush busy times and this sometimes can be very stressful. However, the most enjoyable part of the job is to see all the various unique merchandise being put out to the sales floor as well to provide excellent customer service to the frequent regular shoppers.
Pros
Increase wage every work anniversary
Cons
Dealing sometimes with rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Retail Job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa West, ONJanuary 13, 2016
Let me first start this review with a little personality of myself, I'm a very easy man, I don't have high expectations and I don't think to much about things that don't require it. I rated this job as neutral as possible because I knew what I was going into, I knew there was no amazing salary or job security or advancement, my expectations going into this job was it was better than nothing. I have no complaints about Value Village, I could nitpick but that's not my personality.

A typical day at work involved punching in and punching out, going to the working supervisor to see your duties for the day, and you did those duties and whatever else the supervisor needed done for your shift. I don't think I learned to much that can be carried over from job to job. But I do think I grew as a person, I can now help anyone I see in need, I can quickly think on my feet and I'm more outgoing within respect to the workplace.

Management has always been fine and I've never had any problems with them nor have they had any problems with me, they're all great in my eyes regardless of how others see them. My co-workers also go hand in hand with my sentences above for management, they are all great and I have no issues with anyone.

I think the hardest part of my job is either getting every donation inside before the store closes (in the summer it gets insane with the donations) and or the actual process of going to work. Its not a very fulfilling place, as you might imagine its a retail store and eventually you'll want to move on to bigger, better, more interesting things.

My most
  more... enjoyable times at work are 100% caused by the friends I've made there, in no doubt without my co-workers and friends I would of not enjoyed it as much there.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly safe workplace
OPERATIONS TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BCJuly 12, 2016
A typical day at work would have been helping customers, hanging clothes, having friendly conversations, and ringing people up on the cash register. While working at Value Village I learned how to properly use cash registers, how to work well with my fellow team members to get a job finished to the best of its abilities. Every employee in the establishment had a very kind and positive outlook on the store, there were never any issues.The hardest part of the job, however, would have to be dealing with shoplifters and a few choice angry customers. My favorite part about the job I had was that I could work with people and converse with them. I truly enjoy getting along with my fellow team members and customers.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ONMarch 21, 2016
I definitely enjoyed working at Value Village very much. I got along well with both coworkers and management. I actually miss working there because I loved being a team member and I always had a good time when I worked my shifts. A lot of the customers were very nice, as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced, fun
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 20, 2016
-Fast paced organizing and rolling merchandise onto the floor.
-I learned how to communicate with all different types of people as well as developed my organization skills.
-Managent was very kind, but I sometimes had difficulty with them giving me the correct work hours in which I was available for.
-All co-workers were very nice and welcoming
-The most difficult part of the job was the fast pace. It took some time getting used to, but eventually I got the hang of it.
-The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to see all of the amazing products that come into the store as well as being able to develop my communication skills.
Pros
Cake once a month
Cons
communication problems with management at times
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Production/processing Room (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SKMarch 14, 2016
I enjoyed working production because you are always busy. The
management team is great as well as the co-workers. The customers are the most enjoyable part for me. The hardest part of the job is repetition.
Pros
good hours
Cons
taxing on mind and body
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABDecember 29, 2015
In a days shift one must handle cash, maintain the store clean,accept donations,solve queries of customers.I learned to handle cash and I learned managerial skills from my managers by observing them at work in how they deal with customers.Co-workers are good.Hardest part of job is standing outside in cold at times to accept donations from customers.Most enjoyable part is the food that sometimes the management provides.Getting proper hours is another problem there.Job working hours are flexible which is very good if you are a student.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team based company
Retail Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Chilliwack, BCMay 27, 2016
deal with customers, communicate to the team about the day.

We learn about new customers and different kinds of products that come in the store.

We have a strong management team that works together.

We have a great team we are more like a family that like to be their for each other.

the hardest part of the job is having to let people go when they have to many cash issues.

The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to help out people that are less fortunate and down on their luck.
Pros
met great people thru out the 12 years on the job.
Cons
When other people don't help out with the team work like they should
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
cashier/ G worker (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONMay 27, 2016
A typical day at work is I go to my till and I ring people through all day. If I am working G I clean up the floor and fix the hangers.

What I have learned working at value village is that I don't like working retail, I do not enjoy doing on calls either.

My co-workers are very understanding and very talkative.

The hardest part of the job is when people give you a hard time about a price of an item. Working G is just painful, you would walk up and down the same isle for hours fixing the same thing over and over again.

The most enjoyable part of working at value village is making new friends
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the retail Industry.
Customer Service and Cashiering (Current Employee) –  8930 - 82nd aveMarch 16, 2016
Retail is again one of the best business to get in touch with customers. Building relationship. Challenging somedays. The management where i work at is Excellent.
Pros
Fun workplace, no pressure on you at work.
Cons
Hours of work is limited.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad work environment
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Regina, SKMarch 16, 2016
Strenuous work, dirty work, working with old moldy clothes with out proper protection. Management always expecting you to exert yourself, and everyone gets pulled down if only certain others are not putting in their share of work.
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
Management, dirty/tiring work
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,005 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Savers/Value Village Reviews by Location