Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 537 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work life balance.
Warehouse Distribution Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 August 2017
good overall company to work for. Not much opportunities to grow in supply chain. Moderate salary. Management is friendly. Recycling efforts are praise worthy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developing new skills in a Department
Production Team Member (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON18 August 2017
At Value Village, as an individual, who didn't had the background knowledge of the store and the history at first was pretty tough. As well, it was difficult to remember the ideal model of the store to help make my work better, but as I kept working and working, I have learned to develop new skill traits. Plus, I got to meet great people who helped me along my journey. Overall, it was a great experience working at the store.
Pros
Bonus Pizza Parties, 50% Employee Discount, Friendly Environment
Cons
Management was stiff and tough at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Retail Sales Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON18 August 2017
Fun environment
Fast paced
Great team members
Good Management Staff
Clean and safe place to work
Flexible with hours
Daily cash handling
Daily cash balancing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
OSD Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON15 August 2017
man I really goofed by not keeping this job, I was like 17 and thought it was hard but it was my first job and I had noooooo idea what a hard job was like. would go back in a heartbeat
Pros
easy
Cons
people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 August 2017
A typical day at Value Village you're either on cash, doing general recovery or in fitting room. we have our regular customers who are very nice you grow to love them then you have the rude ones. Management is awesome, they are very understanding when it comes to booking days off, being sick or when things pop up within the family. They try the best they can to help you out. Hours are very good. The best part of working at Value Village is you meet new people that potentially become your great friends and every moment there is enjoyable. There is not a day i wake up and decide im not going in.. only when im sick.
Pros
good hours, bonuses, people you meet
Cons
rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Okay
Operations Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 August 2017
Its okay. The people are nice, unfortunately you have to deal with people being upset over prices and angry old people on seniors day. The job is easy and at times can be fun,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, entertaining
Cashier/Production Team Member (Current Employee) –  Newton, BC9 August 2017
lots of running around but worth it if you like to stay moving on your feet through out the day ! mangement is awesome.
Everyone is nice. customers are ok.
Pros
time goes by so fast
Cons
really sleepy after work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
face paced busy unappreciative unstable
Cashier/CustomerService (Former Employee) –  bloor street9 August 2017
my overall experience at value village was great. however it wsas never organized agt my location. i was treated very bad at that place and i did nothing but work very hard. i was very uncomftorble with my supervisor and even though i was there for a year i was treated as if i wasnt. i wasnt recognized for my hard work however new co workers were even the ones on training. when i brought it to head manager the problem wasnt resolved. my co workers were friendly , the hardest part of the job were those busy sale days but we always got through them. customers loved me there.my most enjoyable part was getting compliments from the customer they made my day most of the time.
Pros
pizza lunch on sale days
Cons
understaff and always being asked to stay longer. rude supervisor and manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mental health killer.
Production (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 August 2017
Always changing things. If things are going good, there will definitely be changes to make sure everyone is miserable and don't want to show up for work. Everyone dreads going there every day but we need the money to survive. And the music they play is just depressing and kills people's spirits instead of motivating us to work hard. It'll make you want to curl up in a ball and cry or sleep instead of work. The majority of employees who have mental health issues (which is a lot), have admitted that this job and it's management has contributed greatly in making their situation worse.
Pros
It's a job.
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On Site Donation Ambassador
On-Site Donations Representative (Former Employee) –  Waterdown, ON8 August 2017
Typical day when assigned on-site donation duties would be receiving donations from the public's vehicles then stacking the items on a cart. Once the cart is full I would weigh the cart then empty it in the trailer outside. The items that wouldn't be emptied in the trailer would be sorted to put out for sale. I would price only the furniture and put it out for sale.

When assigned recycle duties my job was to keep the store running smoothly by firstly changing all garbage bins when full, changing all the bale bins when full and then when the main bale bin is full use a compactor to condense the clothes. I would then weigh the clothes then move them to the trailer. Additionally, when trucks came in with full loads of donations I would empty the whole truck on to carts to bring into the store to eventually be sorted, priced and sold.

Learned how to deal with difficult people and how to move fast to get things done.

The hardest part was that the weather conditions made the physical work much harder. In the summer too hot to work on the truck
Pros
Always moving because it was very busy
Cons
Difficult personalities to deal with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON8 August 2017
Although I would say management is pretty poor the overall work experience was wonderful. You always had the tools you needed to complete your job and everyone was excited to work.
Pros
full time
Cons
little pay off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Assignments
FES Suprvisor (Current Employee) –  Queensborough, BC4 August 2017
A typical day at work is full of fun and unpredictable situations where my technicality and knowledge of the job will be of used fully. I have learned so much from the management to apply all my training in a positive and fun manner. The workplace is composed of diverse and multicultural people where i have learned to blend well by loving what I am doing and respecting my superiors' orders and meet the demands of each customer in an excellent way where my aim is for the benefit of my Company for giving the best customer service that i could continually offer. The hardest part of the job is working in the night duty as I am dealing with variety of customers from unknown intentions. The most enjoyable part of the job is I was able to have connections to various superiors, customers and team members by enjoying their friendships while dealing with them and while the customers are shopping in our store. By positively interacting with them helped me develop some of my skills like giving great customer service, directing them to the right department, and communicating with them in a professional level.
Pros
Free food each month, extra bonus
Cons
None to report
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, energetic, and polite
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 August 2017
I'd like to say the only reason why I enjoyed Value Village so much was because of the environment I was in, it was never slow and or boring. Being able to build friendships with the coworkers and buyers because of the regulars, was my favorite thing. Very talkative person and this job you needed to talk!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at work
Front End Supervisor/Retail Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC31 July 2017
Every day is a busy day and there is a lot to learn about customer service and how to resolve issues with various customers and other matters. The management of value village is very structural and there are multinational people working here, together with local in the same pot. The hardest part of the job is there "no time for breathing". Most enjoyable of the is the time passes very fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Internal Growth
Retail Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Stratford, ON30 July 2017
Very Busy Environment, Detail Training, Very Friendly Management, Busy Schedules. A lot of Fun to Work here. A lot of new things to learn. Helping the Community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC27 July 2017
The breaks and hours are for the most part, regular hours, breaks on time every day. Friendly atmosphere. Management is good, understanding and can talk to them about just about anything. The hardest part of the job was having to deal with gross things people donated. The most enjoyable part was that you can get your job done and have a little fun too.
Pros
Free lunches, discounts and holidays!
Cons
sent home early on slow days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, managment is fun to work with.
Customer Service/Cashier - part time (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC25 July 2017
Meet and greet customers. Answer any question they may have.
Cashier duties, ring through customer's item in a timely and accurate manner.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the customers and their stories.
The most difficult part of the Sales clerk job is being on your feet for an entire shift.
Pros
Lots of celebrations, birthdays, baby showers etc.
Cons
No guaranteed hours for part time employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!!
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON24 July 2017
I loved Value Village. Management was great except the store manager at the time wasn't too friendly but the rest of them were great!! they were understanding about balancing good hours but also keeping in mind we all have a social life! my coworkers were great, everybody got a long well. The customers were always so different but it was great when people come in and find good finds and tell you what they plan to do with the items creativity. The typical day was good but very slow at times which made is sometimes boring especially if you're on cash and the main cash. It just sucks it was in the middle of basically nowhere and very hard to get to if you don't drive. Also sucks because you have to wait a certain amount of days to be able to purchase certain items if they were newer to go out on the floor.
Pros
Good hours and for balancing life and work
Cons
the 3-4 hour shifts they give during the week and rolling production if you work for the front.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for Halloween supplys
Sales Representative/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 July 2017
I you are young and have very little job experience this position will teach you how to develop your skills in team building and time management, i also left with a lot of friendships so that cool to
Pros
50% off
Cons
enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Morral is low.
Production Clerk (Current Employee) –  Cornwall, ON24 July 2017
It is not a advancement working environment. The main focus of the company is to push for higher financial gains. It is a for profit organization and not a charity which is a common misconception. There is a very high turnover of employees.
Pros
You recieve a discount on your purchasees.
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers/Value Village. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,650 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

69%
572 ratings
Add your rating