Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 415 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers and co-workers nice, job sucked
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON26 December 2016
Work felt more like a janitors job most of the time

Some people who donated were rude

items donated were mostly dirty, partly destroyed, disgusting

trying to keep bags and boxes organized on carts were OK but after many, many donations things get crowded.

Good thing was when working with another person, things went faster.

Lots of things change day to day, like tasks, acceptable/ non-acceptable items, etc

When nothing else to do, SWEEP, DUST, CLEAN and log it
Pros
co-workers were pretty awesome
Cons
shifts tend to vary in length, changes happen frequently, more janitorial then other things
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable enviornment
Seasonal sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON3 January 2017
Working at Value Village you will encounter a lot a people with different tastes in clothing, bed and bath, books and much more. Helping out customers and being able to approach them with confidence is what you will be able to accomplish at Value Village. The co workers are amazing and every one of them is ready to help you get to the next level to be better. No one is put down and respect is a major key.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Hard to keep up on tasks on a very busy day
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gone down the Drain
Retail Sales Manager/ Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 December 2016
They really don't care about there team members. They say to use the open door policy, but normally they would side on the side of the management. That open door should say shut the door. They work you like slaves, and are quick to call out your flaws and does not recognize your sucesses. They are a cold company, in a sense where they know they want to fire you, use you to train the person thats going to take your position and then can you! Value Village is the WORST place you could work for!!!! I give them two thumbs, and 8 fingers DOWN as a company!
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, unrealistic dealines
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC19 November 2016
Great team members to work with, but management makes the team feel so miserable and over worked that everyone end up wanting to leave. Management is constantly changing their mind and make you feel like you don´t know your job.
A lot of pressure and unrealistic deadlines are a daily stress. Benefits could be better in such big company.
Terrible environment for those who are allergic.
Lots of shoplifters, making you feel frustrated and unsafe.
Pros
Benefits, employee discount, stability
Cons
Unsafe, dirty, very demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abusive Place to Work
Clothing Production (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC17 November 2016
I worked in production and saw favouritism, job advancement went only to a select few, harassment, abuse - yelling, calling names, shoes thrown at other members and racism.

Unsafe conditions to work in. Management are either incompetent or bullies or both.

The job causes stress, stomach aches and medical problems. A rat was found in the front and no one moved it for days.

Since they changed the sorters to another location, the main store is a junk yard. Customers complain how messy the store is.
Pros
close to home
Cons
being treated like a human
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun environment
designated Pricer in Production (Current Employee) –  Penticton, BC11 November 2016
Overall I really enjoy working for Savers. I've learned alot during my 3years, and the hours are amazing. My co-workers are my life and have helped me grow. Management on the other side have been a bit of a struggle, don't get me wrong, they're great at their job, but do not treat myself and the other workers with the respect that we deserve as hard, powerful workers. A typical day at work is full of laughter.
Pros
hours
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Designated cashier (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK4 November 2016
It was a good place to work when I started but now it's to the point I don't want to go to work. They say you can advance within the company ya right. I have been asked over and over for the last 4 yrs ( come Dec. ) if im interested im becoming a supervisor and i keep saying yes and I am always put on the back burner when the opportunity comes up. now there are 2 people who haven't even been there for 6 months training for supervisor. IT'S all favortizim not experience or synority . Turn around is very high always new staff. time to find a new job cant work were your not appreciated.
Pros
Made some friends
Cons
Cant get a regular shift. to much favortizim
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my first job on warehouse
Production worker\various possitions (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 October 2016
Value village was a simple but demanding job, since i was one of the only recyclers on the floor they had me going around doing almost everything that needed to be done, i sometimes felt overloaded, not because of not being able to handle high pressure but because there was 3 supervisors telling me what to do at all times and all had different requests and needed to be done "immediately''. Of course i got experience in many things likedriving the big joe and to be organized and careful as well as handling high work loads, what i liked the most was the diversity of objects and merchandise u could see sometimes, some really interesting and fun things
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always changing environment, and always learning
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 November 2016
My days are very busy because we are dependant on donations and Non-profit partners to get product to the floor. It is a production environment where Team Members need to work efficiently by getting a specific quota out daily. We have a specific way of merchandising and managing the salesfloor in order to keep it shoppable for our customers. I manage 30 people daily and the most challenging part of that is to keep them motivated to achieve their daily/weekly quotas. We constantly are watching to ensure that TM's are following best practices and working at a steady pace. The best part of the job is how much we recycle as a company. Most of what we don't sell, gets recycled and sent to 3rd world countries for reuse. The company also has a very good work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A difficult yet enjoyable environment
Assist customers (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 November 2016
Answering my fellow co worker's cries to assist with what they need while they work on the production line.

How to operate a forklift, safety regulations, a compactor, a fly jack.

Not that great, poor response time with issues.

Very friendly, almost like family actually.

The pressure of a ridiculously high quota to be met every day.

A fast paced job, a complete opposite of a desk job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great production team work
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg20 October 2016
Starting of the day I make agame plan to ensure that every dept is being taken care of with atm. Will have a meting with the production team for what is expected to be done for the day. Throughout the day will touch base which each tm by coaching on pricing, items put out and to answer any question each tm will have. Will look at reports and have a mgmt meeting with my 2 production supervisor.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
At the long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great learning environment
TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 October 2016
sales achievements for the previous day is announced during a 15 minute morning meeting before work starts.
I learnt how to to grade products and select quality products for customer satisfaction.
I was trained on the work safety practices and also how to build customer relations.
The hardest part of the job was during seasonal changes where we had to re-structure the sales floor.
I enjoyed the great teamwork and friendly management directions
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value Village
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 December 2016
This was my first job and I had wonderful time when i first started. Halloween is a lot of fun and everyone is trying to have fun and dress up. Some customers make it horrible and then some are amazing and really care about the workers. Management was very poor at one point and it was a mess with schedules. it got better once new management began.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and Caring Company
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON11 January 2017
Value Village was one of the best experiences of my life. They took me on when i was going through a bad time with my health and were completely understanding and flexible with hours when I needed to take days off or call in sick. Since then I have gotten my health back and had to unfortunately leave this amazing company due to moving, but I will forever look back on this company as the glue that held me together when everything was falling apart. I worked at the Ajax location, and the co-workers and management are unbelievably kind and make you feel like family there. The best part was seeing regulars and developing a good work relationship with both customers and my co-workers. Would certainly reccommend working here to anyone who values learning good customer service skills, working in a fast paced environment, and amazing people by your side. :)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Recycler (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 September 2016
It's an okay place to work if you NEED the job. Besides having full time hours of 7:30-4 and monday-friday it's not very enjoyable. Pay scale is too low for the expected work. Hazards all around the warehouse, and it's a very unsafe work environment in general. Management doesn't care for your safety or well being, they just want you to make quota. Lots of drama within the workplace which all leads back to management putting lots of stress on everyone to work harder. Best part of the day is at 4 o'clock when I get to leave, lol. What I learned from working at Value village is that I have lots of patience, and that's something you need if you work there.
Pros
Fun with coworkers, full time work
Cons
Bad management, Low pay, High stress work environment, Lack of training
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that does give back
Front End Supervisor/ Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON10 November 2016
Savers does what it says: They give to their Non-profit partners; they give to the communities the stores are in; and they give back to the planet with the recycling programs. They are a for profit company and don't lie or hide behind it.
Pros
discounts, team member respect
Cons
always wants growth, and more
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but little opportunity for advancement and limited payscale
Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 September 2016
Fast-paced
Requires autonomous decisions and autonomy for work during much of the day
Team work also required
My job requires I move about 7000+ pounds of merchandise per day. I am in control of the entire receiving department. My job is essential to good flow through of all production for the store's operation.
I enjoy the fast pace and the autonomy. The toughest part of the job can be poor communication from management about shipments coming in; happens rarely but can affect movement of merchandise.
In this position I have learned I am very organized and I am capable of extremely fast, heavy work.
This job has helped me become very fit and I have discovered a love for physical fitness.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
No room for advancement; ltd pay
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with reliable co-workers and benefits
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Stony Creek, ON6 November 2016
I enjoy working in production. The work is consistent, there are many positions to learn and plenty of experience to gain. I've yet to meet a co-worker yet that I don't like, and the environment is more often than not very positive.
Pros
Positive environment, great co-workers and management
Cons
Commuting
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun environment
Production Assoc. & Operations CSR (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 September 2016
Meet all kinds of people, from diverse backgrounds. Learned new ways to manage time and increase productivity. Most co-workers were good to work with, except some of the new hires that were new to the country. The hardest part of working there was the language barriers put up by some of the new immigrants, which tended to cause conflict with the rest of the crew. Most enjoyable part of the job is the people(customers and co-workers alike), and HALLOWEEN season! It is like having full access to Mr. Dressups Tickle Trunk! Not to mention the great treasures to be found!
Pros
Group activities: Monthly potluck or free lunches, and games to keep co-workers involved with the team.
Cons
Repeatative work at times. Dust and poor ventilation.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great ppl to work with
Production Member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 January 2017
company has many benefits
nice staff to deal with
company does alot of charitable work and donations
production crew has many different depts to work in:
fast pace, each dept has a daily quota to make: in some cases impossible quotas:
had to work some Saturdays on a regular basis ;without much notice given:
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,301 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3