Find companies:
Savers/Value Village
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
672 reviews

Savers/Value Village Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with great people.
Sales Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 19, 2015
Busy and sometimes challenging, learned that patience and respect is very important when working retail. Hard working management with open door policy, co-workers were some of the nicest people I have ever got to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
secure and stable work environment
Sales Representative (Former Employee), calgaryApril 15, 2015
Pros: fun places to work with co workers
Cons: work life balance
my job included handling the tills, merchandising, stocking and shelving. We also had to manage the floor. at any given time there were at least 3 cashiers. It was a fun places to work as we worked as a team to accomplish the tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and welcoming environment
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONApril 13, 2015
Pros: Meeting lots of people and establishing professional relationships.
Cons: Receiving garbage in donations
Enjoyed the environment. Very welcoming and understanding. Loved being busy from the start of my shift to the end, there was always something I could be doing. Loved how I was never at a stand still.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working there
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABApril 11, 2015
Pros: we had alot of free lunches lol
Cons: poor management
I would work 8 hours a day. I would hang clothes, keep front of the store clean, and tidy, as well as cash. I enjoyed senior's day I just love dealing with senior's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oakville, ONApril 2, 2015
Pros: Staff contests ie) wearing Halloween costumes new/old to promote sales.
Cons: Working late especially in the winter months.
Greeted customers in a friendly manner and assisted them with services, I was taught how to process transactions using cash register. When I needed some assistance from management they were close by. I enjoyed working with my co-workers which made my day even more enjoyable to go to work each and everyday! I can't recall a hard part about the job that I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Production worker (Former Employee), Chatham,ONMarch 30, 2015
Pros: some free lunches
Cons: miss guiding instructions
Could be slow pace or very busy usually around Halloween. I learned a lot about production and woking with employees. Management i=s friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced,unorganized
Sorter (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 26, 2015
A typical day at work would consist of hanging up to 1700 items of clothing. I learned a lot about clothing and identifying real labels versus knock off brands. I was unsatisfied with the performance of my management. Safety issues were unadressed and employees unsupervised. Expectations were also unclear until after the fact. This position was stressful. The hardest part of the job was the work load and no assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Duties-As a "Material Handler (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONMarch 24, 2015
Pros: respect from other workers
Cons: lack of advancement
Typical work day in a production setting, from receiving trucks to removing of garbage, managers are open to suggestions, and like others opinions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow and boring job place
Production Worker (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBMarch 24, 2015
Pros: Laid back work setting
Cons: not enough work
poor managment due to company going bankrupt. Lack of hours no job stability. Pro was given trust to open close shop and supervisor role. Supervise and work along side 2 other employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to be with coworkers and customers but not with Backroom Management
Recycler/Material Handler (Former Employee), Chatham-Kent, ONMarch 23, 2015
Pros: fit great with personal timeline, great hours to work with
Cons: management is chaotic to work with, expectations set too high, very dirty; very physically demanding, overall stressful
Decent flexible hours that worked out well, but very physically demanding and hard to meet expectations that are set very high. Great coworkers, learned to use a few heavy machinery, but management in the back are beyond stubborn to work with (i.e going against company protocol, lying, employee targeting) and the job is beyond dirty and health hazardous. Take this job at own risk.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Production/ Operation Associate (Former Employee), Lethbridge, ABMarch 10, 2015
typical day have to meet quotas
Learned different brands and collectibles
Management is good
Loved some of my co-workers they had great personalities
Hardest part is meeting quotas some days
Most enjoyable is the co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best part of working at Value Village is that they help 140 non profit charities
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), Cambridge, ONMarch 2, 2015
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: do not promises that are made to people
Value Village saves 60 million pounds from the landfills every year while paying 140 different non profit partners throughout Canada and the United States.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enjoyable Workplace
Cashier, General Recovery (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCFebruary 28, 2015
Pros: pleasant team, good hours, overall enjoyable
Cons: customers can be ignorant & disrespectful, lots to clean
Typical day at work: Cashier and general recovery for the majority of the day - Picking up + hanging clothing items, completing transactions, Keeping fitting rooms organized, items shelved etc. Sometimes had to run donations center for the day - Taking donations/greeting & thanking as well as stocking donation room and carts.

Learned how to operate the cash register tills + improved social skills with the public

Management is fantastic. Incredibly nice people whom run the store efficiently.

Hardest part was constant bending up and down to clean the store of fallen items - repetitive movement can takes it toll on the spine

Most enjoyable part was working with the team, interacting with bright and happy customers and just overall the job itself is fairly enjoyable - as much as work can be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work environment.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONFebruary 25, 2015
Pros: a pro would be the employee appreciation pizza parties.
Cons: a con would be the long hours on my feet.
A typical day at work includes interacting with customers and providing excellent customer service while performing cash, fitting room and general recovery duties.

At this job I have learned that time management is very important as well as being able to multi task and work on a team.

For the most part the managers and supervisors are encouraging, supportive, and are there to assist us with our daily duties.

The hardest part of he job would be the standing on my feet in one place for hours on end.

The most enjoyable part of the job is that I get to work with a group of energetic and welcoming people. Being at work is fun because most of the employees get along really well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive And Fun enviroment
Sales Assicoate (Current Employee), 2050 Rogers RdFebruary 25, 2015
Pros: flexiable shifts
Cons: to many on call shifts
A typical day includes starting off with a floor check and maintaining restrooms.Going on to cash and handleing all transcactions for exp.cash,credit,debt also handling coupons and discounted prices if there are any promotions for that sales day.Maintaing all departments clean and organized.Attending fitting room to help customers if no one is there to assist.
Co-Workers are friendly and productive it is a team effort everytime I work.I enjoy assisting customers in a polite manner and always providing excellent customer service .Mangement is open and friendly and lets you voice your opinion and takes you into considration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and flexible hours.
Roller (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 24, 2015
Pros: managers are understanding.
I am a roller. I start at 8 am and finish at around 2-4 pm 3-5 days out of the week. My coworkers are all friendly and look out for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Up and Downs
Customer Service and Sales Representative (Former Employee), Brampton, ONFebruary 21, 2015
Pros: long hours that were enjoyable
Cons: lunches that weren't given when needed
Just like any other day at work it has its up and down's, also you're real fast/busy and then there's the empty days with any of the ways were 100 percent enjoyable.
best thing I learn from this job would have to be my communication skills, to have more encouragement, to earn customers Honesty, Faith, and Trust cause not having that then I wouldn't be working in the right place. My Co-Wokers and Management team was the best every Fun, Caring and Open Minded. The only thing that I would have to say was the hardest part of my job working
there was for my to Smile and the easiest and enjoyable part is working with the best team of co-workers and meeting alot of new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disrespectful
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Sherwood ParkFebruary 20, 2015
Pros: the company is good but cetain stores are not
Cons: to many to list
Employees cannot work hard enough to satisfy management.
Manager has a hit list all the time , all though they are always telling supervisors to build the team. the company has great recycle programs ect. But the management is awful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, fast paced work environtment.
Material Handler/OSD attendant (Former Employee), North Bay, ONFebruary 18, 2015
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: hours fluctuated way too much
Working at Value Village was a good experience, for the most part. My co workers were easy to get along with a friendly. Management was also easy to get a long with but at times it seemed like they didn't listen to the employees. I enjoyed the work itself. Moving donations from the door to the sales floor was easy work for me and it kept me busy. The toughest part was trying to figure out a temporary solution to some problems while management was trying to work out a permanent solution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very friendly environment
Pricer (Former Employee), Windsor, ONFebruary 16, 2015
Pros: employee discounts (50% off)
Cons: sorting the goods could be difficult as it was donations and not a constant
On a typical work day we would price items to be stocked and sold to the customers. A quota of 40 carts a day were to be placed out for customers. Management was great at listening to customers and employee needs.
Hardest part of the job would be the carts. They could be loaded with very heavy items and hard to push.
The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know the customers that were in very frequently, their needs and giving them what they were looking for

1 2 3 4 5

About Savers/Value Village

Savers is no ordinary thrift store. As a leader and pioneer in the retail thrift industry, we're a place where people from all – Read more

Savers/Value Village Photos

Customers looking to buy items
Waiting to go to work