Find companies:
Savers/Value Village
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
729 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
physically demanding
Recycler/CDA Ambassador/Furniture Pricer (Current Employee), Ajax, ONJune 24, 2015
A typical day at work involves a lot of lifting, twisting and walking. You will be on your feet all day; and most importantly you will be dealing with customers all day. If you like interacting with people this is the job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
price chopper
Production/Customer Service (Former Employee), Whitby, ONJune 20, 2015
i liked this job because it taught me all my vegetables and fruits at a young age of 15 16 years old and how to trim or cut or store them
i also learned a good amount of my costumer service skills from working here because people all like there food a certain way always have to keep people satisfied with the food they are eating
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse environment
Customer Service Clerk (P.T.) (Former Employee), Pembroke, ONJune 19, 2015
Pros: free lunches for reaching goals
Cons: staff calling in and not being responsible for shifts
I enjoy working at Value Village and there is opportunity for advancement. The staff make you feel like your part of a team at Value Village.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced enviroment
CASHIER (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 18, 2015
This job was very fast paced and physical. The best part as the customers you got to interact with on a daily basis.The hardest part of the job was the closing shift, you never knew what time you would be clocking out at because the floor had to be cleaned every night.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee), London, ONJune 18, 2015
Very friendly and happy environment to work at.... i enjoyed going to work everyday and working with the associates that worked there it was like my second family... They are very welcoming and willing to help you to better your work experience and help you to succeed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Burlington, ONJune 18, 2015
Working at Value Village was fun cause of the customer you meet and help pick out costumes and other necessary item's they needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review for working at value village
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Halifax, NSJune 16, 2015
Pros: friendly people
Cons: long hours
hello i worked as a cashier at value village love meeting new people and got asked to help the customers find what they needed my coworkers were fun to work with we were like one big happy faimly i felt very welcomed in this job the management was good to the place was always clean and tidy we worked together as a team and helped one another with the task we had to do the hardest part of the job was it always had to be cleaned all the time but i enjoyed the challenge the most fun part of the job was helping the customers find outfiits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Production Operator (Former Employee), Whitby, ONJune 11, 2015
Good company to work for.Very physically demanding job.Good people to work with.Turn over rate is very high.Enjoyed the days only hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Worker (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 2, 2015
Pros: friendly
Cons: did not pay alot
Open communication,
Organized.

Normally i would sort a full cart full of books
pick the best of the best, price and take out for customers to view/buy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Hanger (Former Employee), Coquitlam, BCMay 29, 2015
Management and co-workers were all lovely, except I was a student at the time and when I asked for fewer hours I was denied.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work for them (Angry environment)
Production Associate (Former Employee), Victoria bcMay 21, 2015
Pros: NONE
Cons: co-workers are nice but treated poorly by management
Angry supervisors. Lazy Supervisors, hard to find.
Treat employees very poorly. They do not care about employees self esteem. The back is ran like a SWEAT SHOP.

Don't work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no fun at all just hard work
sorter (Former Employee), edmontonMay 20, 2015
Pros: everyone was friendly
Cons: not many hours
people were nice friendly if I as to stay in the city I would stay there I recommended too anyone for a nice stay . its really nice not to be around all the noise .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Markham and 14thMay 13, 2015
Pros: Employees were very friendly
Cons: Some people gave really dirty things that smelt horrible
Before i started working at value village i thought the clothes that people donated were given to people in Africa for free because they don't have the money to buy new ones. After working there for a bit i realized that the clothes that they ship to Africa aren't donated their also sold there. When people go donate their clothes they think that its going to the poor and going to be given to them becasue they have minimal things. Some people who have generous hearts give some of things that they never wore thinking its going to a good cause Value village just resells the new goods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice part-time job while studying
Clerk (Former Employee), MonctonMay 12, 2015
Pros: discount at the store, free dessert on special occasion
Cons: short hours
A typical day at work was to be a cashier, help the customer and to clean the store. The job was fun, i had a really good relationship with the management, the co-workers and they enjoyed the work i was doing and was really understanding of my schedule at the university. The hardest part of the job was to manage my work and school at the same time and the most enjoyable part of the job was interactive with the co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy enough job with bad management culture.
Team Member (Former Employee), Oakville, ONMay 12, 2015
Great job with good benefits and opportunities for bonuses. However, they will give the maximum hours possible without giving full time. In addition, after taking initiative to complete a number of tasks as needed, I became the go-to person for these (unpleasant) tasks, despite being more qualified than others for the regular job and expressing my dissatisfaction with this practice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), St. Albert, ABMay 8, 2015
Pros: Fun staff events
Cons: Pour management
Management needs to be more organized and on top of things. The actual work is enjoyable knowing you are helping customers and helping the environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 5, 2015
Pros: good for students
Cons: wonky hours
- co-workers and management is ok
- It can become very repetitive
- During Halloween you may have to wear a costume (pro or con you decide)
- no set schedule
- your hours change with the season (low in winter - high in summer)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Poor Treatment of Staff
Production Team Member (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, AlbertaMay 4, 2015
Pros: No Pros...
Cons: Negative and unhealthy work environment.
This specific location is very poorly managed and staff are disrespected and bullied consistently. Irrational expectations in production and management operates based on extreme prejudice. They do not follow or promote any safety guidelines and push their staff to the extreme. If you work here, prepare for your "confidential" information to be shared with anyone who is currently on the manager's good side. This company has wasted more time writing people up inconsistently and unfairly and trying to "squeeze" the higher paid staff (or anyone who may be a potential threat to management since they obviously run their store based on their own insecurities) that they are losing money and hard working staff members who actually drank the purple kool-aid and believed that they were making a difference in people's lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but rewarding
General Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 29, 2015
Pros: Doing something good and making a difference
Cons: Dirty dusty work conditions.
This is a good company to work for, lots of room for advancement.
Its hard work but the rewards are there.
If you are young and want to get some experience in Management, this is the place. The logistics, people, and the many things you have to juggle will teach you really fast how to manage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Retail Sales Manager (Former Employee), Sherwood ParkApril 28, 2015
The staff at all of the stores I worked at were incredible. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming to new staff. The management was very supportive of me as I tried to move up the ranks to join the management team. The reviews I had were honest and fair. The hardest part of the job was the customer service aspect but it was also the most rewarding part of it.

1 2 3 4 5

About Savers/Value Village

Savers is no ordinary thrift store. As a leader and pioneer in the retail thrift industry, we're a place where people from all – Read more

Savers/Value Village Photos

Customers looking to buy items
Waiting to go to work