Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 430 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good opportunity to grow up
Supervisor trainee (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 February 2017
This is good company who is helping non-profit organizations to fund their services to find cure for Diabeties.
I have a great experience in dealing with customers on daily basis and I know most of the customers by names.
In this company, I got the chance to grow and now the company always makes me head cashier or they count on me for closings as they think I can do the job better. I am getting training for supervisor.
Overall good company, but less pay. I love to work in the same company, but I have kids, so want a change in salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable enviornment
Seasonal sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON3 January 2017
Working at Value Village you will encounter a lot a people with different tastes in clothing, bed and bath, books and much more. Helping out customers and being able to approach them with confidence is what you will be able to accomplish at Value Village. The co workers are amazing and every one of them is ready to help you get to the next level to be better. No one is put down and respect is a major key.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Hard to keep up on tasks on a very busy day
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers and co-workers nice, job sucked
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON26 December 2016
Work felt more like a janitors job most of the time

Some people who donated were rude

items donated were mostly dirty, partly destroyed, disgusting

trying to keep bags and boxes organized on carts were OK but after many, many donations things get crowded.

Good thing was when working with another person, things went faster.

Lots of things change day to day, like tasks, acceptable/ non-acceptable items, etc

When nothing else to do, SWEEP, DUST, CLEAN and log it
Pros
co-workers were pretty awesome
Cons
shifts tend to vary in length, changes happen frequently, more janitorial then other things
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gone down the Drain
Retail Sales Manager/ Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 December 2016
They really don't care about there team members. They say to use the open door policy, but normally they would side on the side of the management. That open door should say shut the door. They work you like slaves, and are quick to call out your flaws and does not recognize your sucesses. They are a cold company, in a sense where they know they want to fire you, use you to train the person thats going to take your position and then can you! Value Village is the WORST place you could work for!!!! I give them two thumbs, and 8 fingers DOWN as a company!
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy good social committee
Cashier/Front end in Production (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB2 February 2017
Fast paced
More about Value Village about their recycle process
1 manager 5 supervisors Overall good but couldn't please one
I went back to work too soon had an injury which wasn't healed yet but felt I still kept up with the pace
The customers
Pros
Always having something going on for the staff. Draws, potlucks, BBQs etc
Cons
where watched constantly on cameras
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, unrealistic dealines
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC19 November 2016
Great team members to work with, but management makes the team feel so miserable and over worked that everyone end up wanting to leave. Management is constantly changing their mind and make you feel like you don´t know your job.
A lot of pressure and unrealistic deadlines are a daily stress. Benefits could be better in such big company.
Terrible environment for those who are allergic.
Lots of shoplifters, making you feel frustrated and unsafe.
Pros
Benefits, employee discount, stability
Cons
Unsafe, dirty, very demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cheerful and positive environment
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON26 January 2017
working at value village has been one great experience. the management is great; very understanding and cheerful. the staff is amazing as well. the only thing the store lacks is decent cleaning services, other than that - one of my favorite jobs.
Pros
free lunches, understanding management, great sense of humor with all the staff
Cons
store cleanness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abusive Place to Work
Clothing Production (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC17 November 2016
I worked in production and saw favouritism, job advancement went only to a select few, harassment, abuse - yelling, calling names, shoes thrown at other members and racism.

Unsafe conditions to work in. Management are either incompetent or bullies or both.

The job causes stress, stomach aches and medical problems. A rat was found in the front and no one moved it for days.

Since they changed the sorters to another location, the main store is a junk yard. Customers complain how messy the store is.
Pros
close to home
Cons
being treated like a human
Was this review helpful?Yes12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun environment
designated Pricer in Production (Current Employee) –  Penticton, BC11 November 2016
Overall I really enjoy working for Savers. I've learned alot during my 3years, and the hours are amazing. My co-workers are my life and have helped me grow. Management on the other side have been a bit of a struggle, don't get me wrong, they're great at their job, but do not treat myself and the other workers with the respect that we deserve as hard, powerful workers. A typical day at work is full of laughter.
Pros
hours
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Designated cashier (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK4 November 2016
It was a good place to work when I started but now it's to the point I don't want to go to work. They say you can advance within the company ya right. I have been asked over and over for the last 4 yrs ( come Dec. ) if im interested im becoming a supervisor and i keep saying yes and I am always put on the back burner when the opportunity comes up. now there are 2 people who haven't even been there for 6 months training for supervisor. IT'S all favortizim not experience or synority . Turn around is very high always new staff. time to find a new job cant work were your not appreciated.
Pros
Made some friends
Cons
Cant get a regular shift. to much favortizim
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always changing environment, and always learning
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 November 2016
My days are very busy because we are dependant on donations and Non-profit partners to get product to the floor. It is a production environment where Team Members need to work efficiently by getting a specific quota out daily. We have a specific way of merchandising and managing the salesfloor in order to keep it shoppable for our customers. I manage 30 people daily and the most challenging part of that is to keep them motivated to achieve their daily/weekly quotas. We constantly are watching to ensure that TM's are following best practices and working at a steady pace. The best part of the job is how much we recycle as a company. Most of what we don't sell, gets recycled and sent to 3rd world countries for reuse. The company also has a very good work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my first job on warehouse
Production worker\various possitions (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 October 2016
Value village was a simple but demanding job, since i was one of the only recyclers on the floor they had me going around doing almost everything that needed to be done, i sometimes felt overloaded, not because of not being able to handle high pressure but because there was 3 supervisors telling me what to do at all times and all had different requests and needed to be done "immediately''. Of course i got experience in many things likedriving the big joe and to be organized and careful as well as handling high work loads, what i liked the most was the diversity of objects and merchandise u could see sometimes, some really interesting and fun things
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic team oriented company
Member of both J.H.S.C. and Kazeen (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON9 February 2017
Loved this job and this is why I spent almost 7 years at this company however there were from time to time poor management members that would create nightmares however at the location that I worked at which was Guelph 2035 we had more than 8 Store managers within 7 years
Pros
great team
Cons
unrealistic Quota's
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A difficult yet enjoyable environment
Assist customers (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 November 2016
Answering my fellow co worker's cries to assist with what they need while they work on the production line.

How to operate a forklift, safety regulations, a compactor, a fly jack.

Not that great, poor response time with issues.

Very friendly, almost like family actually.

The pressure of a ridiculously high quota to be met every day.

A fast paced job, a complete opposite of a desk job.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and Caring Company
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON11 January 2017
Value Village was one of the best experiences of my life. They took me on when i was going through a bad time with my health and were completely understanding and flexible with hours when I needed to take days off or call in sick. Since then I have gotten my health back and had to unfortunately leave this amazing company due to moving, but I will forever look back on this company as the glue that held me together when everything was falling apart. I worked at the Ajax location, and the co-workers and management are unbelievably kind and make you feel like family there. The best part was seeing regulars and developing a good work relationship with both customers and my co-workers. Would certainly reccommend working here to anyone who values learning good customer service skills, working in a fast paced environment, and amazing people by your side. :)
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great production team work
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg20 October 2016
Starting of the day I make agame plan to ensure that every dept is being taken care of with atm. Will have a meting with the production team for what is expected to be done for the day. Throughout the day will touch base which each tm by coaching on pricing, items put out and to answer any question each tm will have. Will look at reports and have a mgmt meeting with my 2 production supervisor.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
At the long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value Village
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 December 2016
This was my first job and I had wonderful time when i first started. Halloween is a lot of fun and everyone is trying to have fun and dress up. Some customers make it horrible and then some are amazing and really care about the workers. Management was very poor at one point and it was a mess with schedules. it got better once new management began.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great learning environment
TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 October 2016
sales achievements for the previous day is announced during a 15 minute morning meeting before work starts.
I learnt how to to grade products and select quality products for customer satisfaction.
I was trained on the work safety practices and also how to build customer relations.
The hardest part of the job was during seasonal changes where we had to re-structure the sales floor.
I enjoyed the great teamwork and friendly management directions
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great ppl to work with
Production Member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 January 2017
company has many benefits
nice staff to deal with
company does alot of charitable work and donations
production crew has many different depts to work in:
fast pace, each dept has a daily quota to make: in some cases impossible quotas:
had to work some Saturdays on a regular basis ;without much notice given:
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Evening Recycler (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 January 2017
All team members get a long great, managers are stern but fair. The hours are long but time flies when things get busy. Typically customers are polite and easy to deal with.
The hardest part of the job was heavy lifting, but there's always someone around to help.
Pros
Easy going, lots of down time
Cons
Sale days are busy
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,345 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3