Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 373 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun, but overwhelming
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONSeptember 23, 2016
I've made a lot of friends working for this company and I have a great support system through my many co workers. Management is unorganized most of the time, but when we work as a team I love my job.
Pros
Halloween season
Cons
Unsteady hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Recycler (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONSeptember 17, 2016
It's an okay place to work if you NEED the job. Besides having full time hours of 7:30-4 and monday-friday it's not very enjoyable. Pay scale is too low for the expected work. Hazards all around the warehouse, and it's a very unsafe work environment in general. Management doesn't care for your safety or well being, they just want you to make quota. Lots of drama within the workplace which all leads back to management putting lots of stress on everyone to work harder. Best part of the day is at 4 o'clock when I get to leave, lol. What I learned from working at Value village is that I have lots of patience, and that's something you need if you work there.
Pros
Fun with coworkers, full time work
Cons
Bad management, Low pay, High stress work environment, Lack of training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best ever.
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 17, 2016
Everything was great, discounts, great people, great customers, and awesome management.

The only problem was one manager whom every time felt threatened would get really close to your face, and I mean within kissing distance. Sometimes it was his finger, and honestly if I hadn't lost my temper..
Pros
Everything.
Cons
One manager who literally sticks his finger in your face, then gets offended when asked to back away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun environment
Production Assoc. & Operations CSR (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 16, 2016
Meet all kinds of people, from diverse backgrounds. Learned new ways to manage time and increase productivity. Most co-workers were good to work with, except some of the new hires that were new to the country. The hardest part of working there was the language barriers put up by some of the new immigrants, which tended to cause conflict with the rest of the crew. Most enjoyable part of the job is the people(customers and co-workers alike), and HALLOWEEN season! It is like having full access to Mr. Dressups Tickle Trunk! Not to mention the great treasures to be found!
Pros
Group activities: Monthly potluck or free lunches, and games to keep co-workers involved with the team.
Cons
Repeatative work at times. Dust and poor ventilation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but stressful
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONSeptember 15, 2016
company is now out of business partially due to intense competition but also inablitity to properly manage individuals managing some of the store locations.
Pros
staff discount, free promotional items
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people, difficult workload
Sales Clerk / Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 14, 2016
For an entry level retail position the location I work at packed a punch. One person is expected to do five jobs nearly at all times. Customers should always be prioritized but staff members at times forget that due to the pressure of the workload.
Company model is to make all sheduling decisions with a sales vs labour formula. At times this can leave team members frustrated as their hours are cut or they are forced to stay late as their supervisor (who is responsible for the whole store) cannot count their register down until there is coverage.
Customers will always have questions and always demand a service that will not always be available to them in this sort of environment. Customers were often forced to wait to be served due to training and cashiers have little freedom. At times two to four people can be waiting for managerial approval and there is often only one manager in a large location.
This job will keep you fit and your skills sharp until you burn out due to unrealistic expectations.
My sincere advice for the hardworking bee, please work somewhere else for your minimum wage.
This business expects you to excell at everything at all times vs have an area or department of expertise and perform very highly at one thing.
The culture here was very nitpicky both by management and by customers. It seems my entire shift was prioritizing and reprioritizing. Everyone in this building prefers to react to trouble instead of being prepared in advance.
Pros
sales quarter bonuses, free lunches on sale days, christmas draw for prizes, occasional gift certificates, partnering with a local charity
Cons
often having a heavy workload, standing entire shifts, sometimes having to give up holidays, missing breaks and lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very charitable company
Production Worker, (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 13, 2016
Lots of quotas to make on impossible deadlines
Company did a lot of charitable work with the community
Worked overtime on a constant basis when quotas for the company were not met
Pros
Good shift times
Cons
Bad management and safety practices
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different in every workplace
Processing/sorting (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBSeptember 9, 2016
I just got hired a few weeks ago, and I have nothing but good things to say about the store, my fellow co-workers, and managers. All I have to say is reviews can be very deceiving. Every workplace is different. I know there are a few Value Village stores in my city that look to have awful environments and staff but it's a chance you take when applying. You'll never know what it's like unless you try. You could miss out on a wonderful opportunity with savers because you read a bunch of negative reviews.
Pros
EXCELLENT benefits for full time
Cons
can be tedious work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun experience in the workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONSeptember 8, 2016
i enjoyed working at value village and i was thankful to gain retail and customer service experience. my coworkers were really geneourus and the staff were friendly.
Pros
great staff
Cons
less hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nope
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NSSeptember 7, 2016
So much nope here you can't begin to imagine. NOT a good place to work - the management are straight up bullies and hateful people. They have NO compassion for personal crisis or emergency - as evidenced by certain managers who don't care at all if your Aunt dies or if your cousin gets hit by a car.

The employee turnover rate is so bad they're constantly trying to hire people and people are constantly walking out after a week/week and a half. Just don't work here unless you're desperate.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONAugust 31, 2016
Value Village is a very fun place to work and I have learned a lot there, specially how to handle customers when they are unhappy. It is a very challenging job at sales days, and the team members are very friendly and protective.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
NA
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworkers and supervisors, hard working
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Pickering, ONAugust 31, 2016
Always on my feet and working, must multitask and be organized. Interactive with coworkers and keeping morale up. As well as assisting customers when approached.
Pros
If fulltime, good benefits
Cons
Long hours, laborous work for little pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales floor is active and exciting
Retail Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Penticton, BCAugust 30, 2016
Most days start with doing all cash functions for previous days sales. This would be one of the first things learned in training.
Continual and ongoing training for cashiers and supervisor on a hands on style every day. I had an awesome team who picked up on required programs with a minimum of difficulty.
Store management focus tended to be on the production room and as a consequence we did not interact as much as I would have preferred.
The most difficult part of this position was finding people who were interested in working for us.
The most enjoyable part was seeing the results of training team members and the privilege of promoting from within.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment to work in, always feel welcome in my place of work
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONAugust 28, 2016
while at value village I learned how to get along with co-workers along with building a tolerance towards all customers. The management team was always very understanding when it came to there employees. The hardest part of the job was always the fitting rooms considering it was always busy due to the high amount of customers. The most enjoyable part of the job is always the team meetings. Its always great to spend time with the people you work with being able to create a bond with one another
Pros
discounts on store merchandise
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Team Member (Former Employee) –  New Minas, NSAugust 18, 2016
Management has zero respect for the rules and you're treated like a lapdog. Very negative environment and not worthy for anyone. Do not be fooled by the company's donation spiel, it's all a big scam. Work for a company that respects it's policies, this company does not.
Pros
None
Cons
Manipulative, dishonest, unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a Fun Place to Work
Hard Goods (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BCAugust 7, 2016
It is fun to work for Value Village, team members are like family, nice and helpful, getting along great too :) A typical day at work is like joking around but u still get your job done. If you have any problems, let management know and I don't think maybe the hardest part would be the rolling of bagging items if you are the bagger for example and you have to do it yourself plus have the quota done but I know I can do it!! :))
Pros
free lunches, barbeques
Cons
more pay, long hours but go by fast..
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworkers, good cause.
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 5, 2016
The people I worked with were friendly and outgoing. The management team listened when we brought things to their attention.
Pros
non profit company, charitable.
Cons
difficult to move up the ladder.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy for summer time
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 5, 2016
Good environment, the super manager and great colleagues, good conditions to work, perfect schedule, perfect job for students.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are a liked by management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONAugust 4, 2016
Good benefits and over all an amazing team of people, but managers and supervisors tend to walk around doing nothing and gossip a lot about other employees, they act very immature and childish towards some customers. Sales staff is great.
Pros
great benefits, if you are liked by management you will enjoy it.
Cons
management gossips, picks favourites and can be rude to customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  New Minas, NSJuly 25, 2016
Was told that if I didn't want to come in Saturday it was fine. Im a single parent working what was told to me a monday to Friday work week. I spent the weekends that I don't work with my kid. When to work on the monday for the production shift and worked from 8am to 2pm and then was let go all because I didn't call in, when I thought I didn't need too.
Pros
None
Cons
Lack of communication. Lack of respect. Lack of empathy.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,058 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Savers/Value Village Reviews by Location