Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 504 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with great people
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  1319 Bloor St W, Toronto, ON M6H 1P327 June 2017
A typical day for a full time worker begins at 7:30 am. There is quite a lot of work, and it rarely is finished by the end of your shift. This lack of a sense of progress is difficult, and the quotas and time-limits are challenging. The best part of Value Village lies in the people you work with. Management is sympathetic and supportive within their limits, and there is often snacks or themed-days that brighten your week.
Pros
Free coffee, discount on clothes
Cons
Quotas rarely met, not for those with allergies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB26 June 2017
I enjoyed working at value village it was a great place to work the people were great and the pay was decent. The reason that i left was because of no childcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it here!
Production Grader (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC25 June 2017
Value village is the best place so far that I've ever worked. They take problems seriously and get things dealt with , have been extremely understanding when I was sick , taught me so much. Everyone is so nice here too , so happy I was given the opportunity to work at this wonderful place. I would say the only concerning thing is the dust and grading line area, always hit my head. Could be my fault though since I'm clumsy . They also have free snacks sometimes so that's pretty cool too.
Pros
Coffee, nice employees, breaks are consistent, free snacks sometimes
Cons
Super dusty ! Hitting head on area bars!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OPS Supervisor
Assistant Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON23 June 2017
Value Village was the first donation based workplace I had ever been employed by. I learned a great deal about the process from donation to sales floor. Many hard working employees behind the scenes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  British Columbia21 June 2017
This place murdered my spirit, it felt like I aged 20 years when I worked there. Unnecessarily stressful, dirty, the only positive thing about this company are the hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked the job
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC21 June 2017
It was hard. I have been in retail for so long that to me this was just a job. There was no where to go, no advancement. Just stuck in one position. So i had to go.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to start as a young adult
Sales/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON14 June 2017
Value Village provides a simple, easy place for either young adults looking for their first proper job, or anyone else looking for part time work on the side. They're extraordinarily accommodating if you're upfront and honest about your needs. The job(s) there are all quite mundane. You'll not be pushed beyond your limit. The culture there is, typically, very relaxed.

I rated Job Security/Advancement at 3/5 solely for the Advancement portion of it - have no fear, if you show up on time, it's next to impossible to lose your job with Value Village. But time seems to slow down to a crawl within its walls, and advancement is a very slow, if not impossible thing. There are better places to make a proper career out of, if advancement and promotion are what you seek. If you want a straight forward job with flexible hours and a relaxing work environment, then look no further.
Pros
Extremely relaxed, very flexible hours, great discount, usually an inviting culture
Cons
Advancement is a myth. And the radio station never updates!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, great management.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON7 June 2017
Value village provided an amazing work opportunity. The management and staff were welcoming and professional. Management kept the staff well organized which led to a clean store and an easygoing​environment
Pros
Free pizza on sale days
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and enthusiastic co-workers
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Sydney, NS7 June 2017
My typical day at work is working on cash and then rolling some racks(putting clothes back on racks that customers did want after trying them on). The occasional go around (putting back non clothing items that customers decided not to get.
I've learned various customer service techniques even in difficult situations. handling cash and managing time productively.
Manager is very kind and are very open to your opinions and ideas.
The most enjoyable part of my job is when customers find great deals and finds especially the smile on there face when they find something they haven't seen since there childhood
Pros
enthusiastic coworkers
Cons
not paid lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations
Operations Team and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 June 2017
Not organized and low pay. Not enough hours.Management seemed very disconnected. They rarely recognize your acconplidhments and they ask too much of you for such little pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employers not very understanding and are condescending.
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB5 June 2017
Wasn't a great place for a career but okay as a temporary job. Management could never understand someones life balance. Were not very encouraging and had no room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place
Retail Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa South, ON3 June 2017
people are rude on the store, dirty as well management doesn't care about your well you can get harassed and they do not care, your shifts are not well organized and the work is harder than what it looks like, still better than mcdonalds
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace with decent management
Valued Sales Clerk/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON2 June 2017
at times the workplace may get inappropriate in which management becomes unprofessional. However, they offer fair employee accommodations and hours are good.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value Village is a very good place to work for
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK2 June 2017
In general, the supervisors and staff are friendly and promote a healthy and positive environment. They employ diversed culture and have good retirement incentive.
Pros
discount on clothings
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work in
Production Team Member (Current Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON31 May 2017
Very fast paced environment makes the day go quickly. There is always a task that need to be completed. We have a very spread out culture there. The hardest part would be dealing with very unpleasant customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production/ Recycler, shipping and handler (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON24 May 2017
Smile, work hard and thank the customers for shopping at your store. Keep busy or ask for something to do. If there isn't anything to do. You can always sweep up or go gr
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and underpaid
Cashier and customer service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 May 2017
They expect you to do the cashiers job, management job and the floor cleaners job all at once. They will offer you promotions to get you to work harder but never follow through with it. They also pay the bare minimum and rarely raise your wage, even if you've been there for years.
Pros
Half off of the merch
Cons
They tug you around and barely pay you
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 May 2017
Workplace environment was very welcoming. Managers/supervisors take the time to train new workers effectively. In addition, management follows proper safety protocols and are easily accessible for work related issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC19 May 2017
Its a slave environment or close to what slave work isin a 1'st world country.Dusty and many clothing has mold/asbestos and dried bird excrement in some cases thatyou breathe in. Impossible quotas are demanded to be met in order to process a certain amount of donations in every day. One employee was reprimanded for being "too positive". He would always keep our moods up by saying things like "good job so and so". I remember the day he stopped and said that he got in trouble for encouraging people whenthey werent meeting the quotas.. On top of that the entire company's product is free.. Good scam theygot going.
Pros
none
Cons
dangerous hazardous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Friendly Co-Workers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON19 May 2017
Value Village was a great place to begin working in retail, and gain experience. The fellow coworkers were a lot of fun to be around, and made it a great environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers/Value Village. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,566 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3