Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 489 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and underpaid
Cashier and customer service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 May 2017
They expect you to do the cashiers job, management job and the floor cleaners job all at once. They will offer you promotions to get you to work harder but never follow through with it. They also pay the bare minimum and rarely raise your wage, even if you've been there for years.
Pros
Half off of the merch
Cons
They tug you around and barely pay you
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 May 2017
Workplace environment was very welcoming. Managers/supervisors take the time to train new workers effectively. In addition, management follows proper safety protocols and are easily accessible for work related issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC19 May 2017
Its a slave environment or close to what slave work isin a 1'st world country.Dusty and many clothing has mold/asbestos and dried bird excrement in some cases thatyou breathe in. Impossible quotas are demanded to be met in order to process a certain amount of donations in every day. One employee was reprimanded for being "too positive". He would always keep our moods up by saying things like "good job so and so". I remember the day he stopped and said that he got in trouble for encouraging people whenthey werent meeting the quotas.. On top of that the entire company's product is free.. Good scam theygot going.
Pros
none
Cons
dangerous hazardous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Friendly Co-Workers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON19 May 2017
Value Village was a great place to begin working in retail, and gain experience. The fellow coworkers were a lot of fun to be around, and made it a great environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management on different pages
Management - Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Canada19 May 2017
Management at my store was difficult to work with as they all seemed to be on a different agenda...it made unease among the Team Members...I also worked up to 12 hours in a shift if we were short people, but not paid for this...i was told "Well you have a job". I left after this.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work, not worth it.
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC17 May 2017
The store is always a mess, terrible wages (minimum wage), they keep pushing staff to work faster, they deny you time off, management and most supervisors just sit in the office and spy on staff with the security cameras, they can't keep staff, production staff are treated like machines go, go, go, new staff are not trained properly, unsafe working conditions, backroom is a safety hazard, they force you to bring a doctors note if you call in sick, staff are unhappy and over worked with no appreciation,and the list just goes on.
Pros
staff
Cons
everything else especially managemnt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but un reliable workplace
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Fennell, ON17 May 2017
Was not financially and physically satisfied in this work environment. it was an interesting experience but still can not provide proper stability at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work with low wage
Part Time (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC16 May 2017
Working at Value Village was a great first job. slow paced. For the most part you get to do your own thing in your assigned area. Great for those who love to organize
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON15 May 2017
Great environment and people to work with as well as supporting good causes. Only downside was amount of on call shifts making it hard to make personal plans.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production team member
Production team member (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 May 2017
Sorted donations and appraised sellable and unsellable miscellaneous, assured the highest quality items for customers.

Allocated price according to quality and condition (1.400 Average day Items), assured affordable prices for customers.

Communicated clearly and effectively with the other team members to keep quality and price standard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best workplace
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Nepean, ON12 May 2017
Working at Value Village is the best experience for me they have a grate team member and you feel comfortable to work and the customers are very nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great routine job
Operations / Productions Team (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON9 May 2017
I found myself doing the same thing every day. I really like that in a job and the management was great. I had no issue making friends and talking to customers.
Pros
Great Coworkers
Cons
I was only seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place
Operator (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS9 May 2017
Management is awful and punishes their employees for every wrong move. The atmosphere is depressing and the employees aren't happy. I would not recommend this place to anyone.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Terrible Management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clicky
Assistant Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON9 May 2017
This is a very easy place to work, job wise. But the staff and management are very clicky. If they do not like you, you know it.
They treat you poorly and with disrespect. I enjoyed working there, for the customers and learning about retail.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible atmosphere with impossible workloads.
Cashier/Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS7 May 2017
As a production worker, you are required to work unreasonably hard with unreachable quotas. You're treated as slaves by management, in a moldy, dusty environment with no air ventilation. Very little chance for advancement.
Pros
some benifits.
Cons
long hours, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
front end supervisor
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC5 May 2017
not even worth getting into they don't pay people what they are worth. they don't have the same rules for every person its full of favortisim. its not ran properly at all store manager has her head in the clouds and doesn't have a clue on how the store actually runs in real time
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and adaptive workplace
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 May 2017
Management and team members are very easy to get along with. Everyone is very accepting which makes it easy to adapt to the workplace environment. Flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time there
Lead Sorter (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC5 May 2017
I always enjoyed coming in to work every morning, it never felt like a job to me. I loved how I was able to make my ow changes to the way things were done, and leave my mark on the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team work
Front end Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB5 May 2017
I enjoy working here it has shown me allot of different opportunities I just want to do something different now. The management team is great, the overall enviroment is great.
Pros
Fun place
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace.
Community Donation Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON4 May 2017
while working there staff and managers are always concerned about your well being and moral to work. also during holidays we were able to have the choice to work in costumes
Pros
free snacks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers/Value Village. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,515 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

70%
471 ratings
Add your rating