Find companies:
Savers/Value Village
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
748 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
employee (Former Employee), edmonton, ABJuly 28, 2015
Pros: ?
Cons: on-call shift (you have to call them so not paid if they dont need you), for closing shifts you have to stay an hour later. Store really disgusting and unsanitary.
from my experience, employees are really nice, there's always something to do, but always the 3-4 same tasks over and over.
although only two of the managers are nice and the other ones are really rude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nope
Associate (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABJuly 28, 2015
nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide good hours and benifits
Production Team Member (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 27, 2015
The schedule is good for people with children. Overall it is hard work with a small wage. The work is based on a daily quota so it is a lot of fast paced repetitive work. There are quarterly bonuses based on sales and a Christmas bonus. After one year employees receive two weeks vacation. The busiest time of year is Halloween and you will be expected to work some Saturdays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative atmosphere and condescending management.
Production Worker (Former Employee), London, ONJuly 26, 2015
Pros: Free lunches on sale day, great co-workers, vending machine
Cons: some manipulative management, negative atmoshpere, high temperture, dealing with bodily fluids and hazerdous materials
A typical day at work for me was waking up at 6am, and being at Value Village for 7:30 am. I would then do my morning reset which consisted of making sure the clothing items on the sales floor were organized accordingly to the proper tag rotation. After assuring everything was in its proper place, I would then go up to the sorting tables at 8am for the rest of the day. I would sort and hang through clothing at a very fast paced, and if behind there was consequence. The hardest part of my job was consistently using an injured shoulder to do a repetitive task. After filling out multiple FAF's, contacting WSIB and working with my doctor, I was still put on tables. I was ordered to do "light duties" by my doctor with specific instructions. The next day management assigned me to racking and rolling clothing, and my needs were no where near accommodated. This injury took place on February 28th and I still did not leave the tables position until my day of resignation, July 17th. My shoulder now has permanent damage because my management saw the opportunity to take advantage of a young student, and they certainly did. Its unfortunate because I loved my co-workers and I also had some incredible supervisors. If I received a little more respect and a little less manipulation from head manager, I certainly would of stayed. Over all great co-workers, but I got tired of coming home from work every day feeling like garbage, both mentally and physically.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
l like this company
production lines (Former Employee), ottawa ontarioJuly 22, 2015
l learned to do different department at value village and work fast too
sorting out shoes bed and bath and hanging clothes and also working sorting out boxes and pricing items to sell in the store and dealing with customers too
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced working environment with nice co workers
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBJuly 13, 2015
Pros: free lunch on sale days, nice co workers
Cons: not enough hours
Value Village is a great place to work. A typical work day would be cleaning the sales floor, organizing the fitting rooms and putting clothes back on the floor, putting items back in their correct spots, and ringing customers through your till.
The hardest part is keeping the floor clean when the store is busy.
Only bad thing really is how one week you get a lot of hours, and the next week you hardly get any.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace environment
team member/sales associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 10, 2015
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: late hours during halloween
-flexible hours
-There's usually something to do so you don't get bored
-Great team members
-Cool benefits
-Hardest part is working at the donation center and having to lift really heavy furniture if no one else is able to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
physically demanding
Recycler/CDA Ambassador/Furniture Pricer (Current Employee), Ajax, ONJune 24, 2015
A typical day at work involves a lot of lifting, twisting and walking. You will be on your feet all day; and most importantly you will be dealing with customers all day. If you like interacting with people this is the job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
price chopper
Production/Customer Service (Former Employee), Whitby, ONJune 20, 2015
i liked this job because it taught me all my vegetables and fruits at a young age of 15 16 years old and how to trim or cut or store them
i also learned a good amount of my costumer service skills from working here because people all like there food a certain way always have to keep people satisfied with the food they are eating
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse environment
Customer Service Clerk (P.T.) (Former Employee), Pembroke, ONJune 19, 2015
Pros: free lunches for reaching goals
Cons: staff calling in and not being responsible for shifts
I enjoy working at Value Village and there is opportunity for advancement. The staff make you feel like your part of a team at Value Village.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced enviroment
CASHIER (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 18, 2015
This job was very fast paced and physical. The best part as the customers you got to interact with on a daily basis.The hardest part of the job was the closing shift, you never knew what time you would be clocking out at because the floor had to be cleaned every night.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee), London, ONJune 18, 2015
Very friendly and happy environment to work at.... i enjoyed going to work everyday and working with the associates that worked there it was like my second family... They are very welcoming and willing to help you to better your work experience and help you to succeed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Burlington, ONJune 18, 2015
Working at Value Village was fun cause of the customer you meet and help pick out costumes and other necessary item's they needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review for working at value village
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Halifax, NSJune 16, 2015
Pros: friendly people
Cons: long hours
hello i worked as a cashier at value village love meeting new people and got asked to help the customers find what they needed my coworkers were fun to work with we were like one big happy faimly i felt very welcomed in this job the management was good to the place was always clean and tidy we worked together as a team and helped one another with the task we had to do the hardest part of the job was it always had to be cleaned all the time but i enjoyed the challenge the most fun part of the job was helping the customers find outfiits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Production Operator (Former Employee), Whitby, ONJune 11, 2015
Good company to work for.Very physically demanding job.Good people to work with.Turn over rate is very high.Enjoyed the days only hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Worker (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 2, 2015
Pros: friendly
Cons: did not pay alot
Open communication,
Organized.

Normally i would sort a full cart full of books
pick the best of the best, price and take out for customers to view/buy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Hanger (Former Employee), Coquitlam, BCMay 29, 2015
Management and co-workers were all lovely, except I was a student at the time and when I asked for fewer hours I was denied.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work for them (Angry environment)
Production Associate (Former Employee), Victoria bcMay 21, 2015
Pros: NONE
Cons: co-workers are nice but treated poorly by management
Angry supervisors. Lazy Supervisors, hard to find.
Treat employees very poorly. They do not care about employees self esteem. The back is ran like a SWEAT SHOP.

Don't work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no fun at all just hard work
sorter (Former Employee), edmontonMay 20, 2015
Pros: everyone was friendly
Cons: not many hours
people were nice friendly if I as to stay in the city I would stay there I recommended too anyone for a nice stay . its really nice not to be around all the noise .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Markham and 14thMay 13, 2015
Pros: Employees were very friendly
Cons: Some people gave really dirty things that smelt horrible
Before i started working at value village i thought the clothes that people donated were given to people in Africa for free because they don't have the money to buy new ones. After working there for a bit i realized that the clothes that they ship to Africa aren't donated their also sold there. When people go donate their clothes they think that its going to the poor and going to be given to them becasue they have minimal things. Some people who have generous hearts give some of things that they never wore thinking its going to a good cause Value village just resells the new goods.

1 2 3 4 5

About Savers/Value Village

Savers is no ordinary thrift store. As a leader and pioneer in the retail thrift industry, we're a place where people from all – Read more

Savers/Value Village Photos

Customers looking to buy items
Waiting to go to work