Savers Health and Beauty Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management could use work.
Donation Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC13 October 2017
Worked for a few months and it was great. Great friendships made with the other employees. Management is lacking however. Took a month to receive my first paycheque despite asking for it on multiple occasions. Ended up receiving 3 cheques at once. Fishy. I really loved working as one of the donation ambassadors. Ended up quitting as I did not want to chance waiting another month for my next pay.
Pros
Fantastic Coworkers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
trained employees well for the position they did
Merchandiser/Stocker/Priced items (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 October 2017
I enjoyed helping the customers find what they needed the company had great merchandise that customers looked for. The company trained its employees well for whatever position they applied for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 October 2017
Very busy location, always on top of their game. Super busy during the halloween and Christmas seasons. Everyone was very friendly and always there to teach you something new.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun But Can Be Boring
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON9 October 2017
They always want you to be faster and exhaust yourself.
You don't get promoted or ever get a raise.
You only get benefits if you are full time.
You get fired for not enough hours because you're going to school.
Rude Management.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Rude management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Clerk/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON28 September 2017
I started out as a part time sales clerk and quickly became a full time supervisor.
There's lots of room for advancement, and its a very fun place to work.
Pros
Free Lunches, Halloween season
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time donation attendant
DONATION ATTENDANT (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON27 September 2017
Disorganized, clothing and other items were always lying on the floor making it messy and hard to walk around without stepping on something. Also some staff was friendly some wasn't. Sometimes i didnt get a break or a lunch until right before my shift ends
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vv
Cashier, Sales (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB23 September 2017
Having had personal experience in working for the company, i have to say that the work itself is a breeze. Its enjoyable and the people who you are surrounded with are mostly enjoyable but from the location i was at the management was incredibly poor thus effecting the entirety of the work place and peoples attitudes towards one another
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Donation Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON23 September 2017
It was a good place to work. I had some friends who worked there as well which made long ays slightly more enjoyable. Staff from managers to cashiers were all nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wow
Production management trainee (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 September 2017
I liked the people i worked with, but wow everything kept changing, once you got the hang of one thing it would change again, the pushed and worked you to the bone too, they didnt give any money to charity either like they pertend to do!

OVER PRICED STOCK
Pros
good staff
Cons
to high of expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay for part time.
Head Cashier/Opening Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 September 2017
Management is unorganized and standards and practices change all the time. If you get a good manager you are lucky, but at the end of the day it is a corporation driven by money and sales. It is also very unhealthy breathing in the air from value village as they dont have their air and ventilation checked or cleaned and they deal with lots of dirt, debris and dust that end up in the air and you work , breathe and sweat in it.
Pros
willing to work around students schedule
Cons
long hours standing, repetitive work, unorganized management, health concerns
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer service (Current Employee) –  London, ON20 September 2017
Learn many different aspects of the job.
Physically demanding
Friendly atmosphere
Always something new
Management helpful
incentives
lunches provided on special occasions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service is Key
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Leamington, ON14 September 2017
Value Village was one of my first 'grown up jobs'. I was with the company for two years. They not only have great opportunity for employees but they also better the community in more ways then one would think.
Cons
sale days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 September 2017
Nice people, managers expected to much from employees though expected us to work past time we were scheduled to finish without pay, also do other peoples job when they werent there
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Company to start your career
Team Lead - Customer Donation Centre (CDC) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 September 2017
A very nice organization with very talented management and work force. You always get motivation to excel further and work hard to reach at the higher position of your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work, the management needs to be removed and have a fresh start.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BC9 September 2017
Horrible place to work, management is awful, and like robots not to upset of the boss....
the place reeks of mold and at times masks were worn. the pricing is ridiculous and the stuff thrown away is unreal. Brand new items thrown in the garbage as they are not allowed to sell them but instead should be offering to shelters etc. sickening the waste out of there.
I will never donate there again, i prefer the churches
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST place to be a cashier.
Front End Cashier/Production worker (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC8 September 2017
You're better off seeking employment as a cashier at a grocery store where they pay the same but you wont have to cope with the constant stress of rude,( sometimes aggressive- in your face yelling at you) entitled customers who complain and try to bargain with the prices.Management should take this into consideration since the turnover rate for front end employees is very high yet they pay the minimum.

For a company that receives a large portion of their merchandise for free from on site donations, they certainly could afford to pay their employees a decent portion over minimum wage yet they do not. Clearly they don't value their employees. I would not recommend applying here especially if you are just starting out in the work force.

Working in the back for production is hardly any better. You stand all day doing the same thing trying to meet a ridiculous quota while the management tells you to go faster. It feels like a being a robot or working in a first world legalized sweatshop,no AC in a hazardous work environment -being exposed to mold, dust and other unknown potentially harmful toxins. The only thing that made it durable are the wonderful co workers which was just luck.
Pros
friendly staff and supervisors
Cons
minimum pay for hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
as a student this is a perfect job for you.
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 September 2017
working here was great while going to school. but after graduation there was not a lot of advancement opportunities. my co workers were amazing but management needs some help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers were fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON4 September 2017
I have met some of the nicest people at Value Village, but the company doesn't seem to know where it wants to go. Customers were rude and entitled just because it's second hand, they think they should pay practically nothing for it. It's a business, stop begging for discounts. It became a toxic environment.
Pros
Friendly team members
Cons
customer emtitlement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dead end workplace, bad management, low pay, work hard for nothing
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Canada31 August 2017
huge turnover rate here, you work really hard and go nor get anywhere. Management sits in the office on their phones doing nothing but watch staff on camera instead of helping.
Pros
we get lunches rarely
Cons
all of the above.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Cashier/Jewellery Examiner (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON28 August 2017
not the greatest place to work, the workers like to slack as soon as front end supervisor is out of site, loves to play favorites, depending if you work in the back or front you may or may not get a goof manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers Health and Beauty. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,941 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2