Find companies:
Sargent & Lundy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

Sargent & Lundy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technically oriented. Good place to enhance knowledge of codes.
Structural Associate (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 21, 2014
Job responsibility is calculation intensive, which provides a great opportunity to sharpen your skills and understanding of structural analysis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Electrical Designer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMay 21, 2014
Pros: good continuing training
Cons: growing too fast. work not steady.
Enjoyed the working environment. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Room for Growth Unless you are an Engineer
NUCLEAR POWER SUPPORT STAFF (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 2, 2014
- No room for growth unless you were an Engineer
- Great company that had employees working there for 20+ years.
- Great management who cared for you
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and appreciative work enviornment
Engineering Associate (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 24, 2014
Typical day consists of working on client transmission line projects. Either working on new lines (determining structure location and designing structures), or working on existing lines (analyzing current infrastructure and determining a solution to a given problem).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor for utilities providing engineering and design.
SGI Custodian / Engineering Technical Assistant (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNJanuary 21, 2014
Regional office with several clients and potential for extensive growth. Work is largely project driven and can sometimes slow down. Due to nature of the work, extensive overtimes is sometimes required. The office is largely younger engineers and designers, with some senior managemenet that relocated when the regional office opened. At entry level, – more... opportunities for advancement are much greater than once a few years of accumulated experience have been acquired. Once that ceiling hits, an employee is often required to take field assignments or relocate to corporate to advance any further in their career.

Overall, a very good company in an interesting and fast paced industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Documentation Administrator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 29, 2013
It was busy but great loved my experience there. Would go back in a heartbeat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with the potential to learn
Electrical Designer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 21, 2013
Everyone is very helpful and patient. Learning about how systems work and work with multiple departments to bring it all together.

Cable tray, conduit, grounding, electrical equipment and duct run layouts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Chicago Office Operations Manager - CSSD (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 13, 2013
Great place to learn about the power generation industry and associated technologies. Very structured work environment with clear path for engineering personnel careers. Management is corporate minded but provides open door policy in general. Comps and benes are good and competitive in the industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You've been warned, now run, don't just walk away.
You just be an Associate (Former Employee), North American ContinentMarch 27, 2013
Pros: can't think of 1
Cons: too many to identify
Employment security is totally based upon the kiss factor. Management is totally based upon the intimidation style. If you want to see the world, but not your home, family, or friends, then come on down. Make your ultimate sacrifices, and you'll get your just reward, no good deed goes unpunished. Any legitimate complaint to HR will earn you a door knob – more... where the sun don't shine. Interesting how all the people who have praise for this place are listed as "former employees." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering Consulting
Seoul Office Manager (Former Employee), SeoulFebruary 1, 2013
I really enjoyed working at Sargent & Lundy. I met so many nice people while I was working for the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting place for engineers but volatile atmosphere
Mechanical Associate II (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: excellent structure, location, benefits
Cons: high turnover, distant management
Sargent & Lundy provided solid training and a rigid structure to the completion and management of system design projects. With standards in place helping one design a system, source the components for said system, and develop all related documentation and control schemes, I quickly improved my system design abilities. However, due to the company's lean – more... hiring practices and volatile power industry, turnover was very high. Advancement seemed luck-of-the-draw, while a full quarter of the company's engineers was laid off in a three month period. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going company. People were all great to work with.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: very laid back company.
Cons: management was not always available to answer questions.
It was a very easy going company, come in a do what is expected and help others out when you can. The managers acknowledged you when you when out of your way to get things done or helped others.

All of my coworkers were great! They always loved to help and would always stop what they were doing just to answer a question or help you when it was needed.

The – more... hardest part of the job was communication.

The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing what is expected of you and no one hoovering over you..

I learned how to multi task in a fast and oganized manner. I also learned how to deal with people who have no patience and just asking what is needed and I can figure out the rest so that things can get done in a fast and proficient way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place I ever worked.
Designer (Former Employee), Wilmington,DEOctober 10, 2012
Sweat shop! You are treated like a factory worker. If you do good work they will just dump more on you. Many will charge the job while a few people will do the work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learn little in big company
Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 17, 2012
dont expect to learn a lot & fast like in small company. job is not secure. working is not efficient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and good exprience.
Electrical Liaison/Construction Support (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 16, 2012
Its a great place to work. Its a big company that can give you all the support that is needed to do your job. Its a good place to start you career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Company
Drafter 2 (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 23, 2012
Pros: field assignments, paid vacation, diversity, willing people to help if your not sure of things.
Cons: no cons, amazing chance for entry-level workers to gain experience, overall this company is a great start.
A typical day of work consist of morning breifings everyday to begin our day all on the same page, then consistently work together whether it is CADing/preparing a drawing, assembling a package for review, etc. I learned that asking questions is the only way you can understand and learn what you are doing. My co-workers are diverse and ages ranges from – more... 21-67. They're very helpful and consistently makes progress towards being the best team to gaurantee work from our clients. Usually we all perform back checking to grant our clients that we perform the best quality in our drawings. The hardest part was trying to understand drawings without being taught before the classes and other designers explaining them to me. The most enjoyable part of the job is when I complete a project for 100% with no changes from the clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Culture
Procurement Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 9, 2012
Pros: good leadership from a few partners and project managers.
Cons: engineering leadership was out of control. s&l lacks job stability.
While at S&L I learned that the engineers run the shop ( like bull elephants in a china shop mentality) and that is extremely bad from a project cost perspective. They do not follow procurement protocols if they can find a way to circumvent the process. In fact this often costs the company excess dollars and runs into budget over runs. Engineers are – more... typical engineers and extremely poor negotiators,if in fact any negotiation is done at all. They just accept what the vendor tells them the cost is and become very defensive when challenged. Don't get me wrong they are basically good engineers and they are only doing these things because management allows them to do business in this manner. However, the procurement/contracts people are constantly on guard to protect and correct the careless mistakes that the engineers make and there were a lot of them.The engineering head and a couple of partners in particular were responsible for this work mentality. There was some really great leadership also. In particular two partners and a senior project manager that I worked with. I enjoyed working at S&L and with most of the employees. We built some great fossil power plants. However there is no job stability. When the ripple effect from Enron hit, companies like S&L were forced to lay off / downsize a lot of people because of lack of work. My group was completely eliminated. I can only imagine the cost overruns. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace conditions
Designer 3 (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 7, 2012
Company overall is a good place to work. There are always pluses and minuses to everything in general.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place To Work
Support Professional (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMay 24, 2012
Sargent & Lundy is a great place to work. There are great people to work with, great opportunities for career advancement, and a relaxed overall atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
LEAD ELECTRICAL DESIGNER (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 9, 2012
Cons: many
The worst place I have ever worked.
The worst place I have ever worked
TheThe worst place I have ever worked worst place I have everThe worst place I have ever worked workedThe worst pThe worst place I have ever workedlace I have ever worked

About Sargent & Lundy

The drill for Sargent & Lundy¬†is to deliver¬†engineering, construction management, and consulting services to the global power – Read more