Sandman Hotel Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Castelgar - Housekeeping & Janitorial (Former Employee) –  Castlegar, BC24 January 2016
management and co-workers are great. Low turnover.
pay is reasonable
management sets clear and realistic goals and recognizes good performance.
Pros
good pay
Cons
low hours in off season
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Banquet Captain/ Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 September 2015
The best part about this job was interacting with the hotel guests that come and go. I also learnt a great amount of customer service and why it is important to go above and beyond for a guest/client. After working at the front desk for a while, I moved onto working in the banquet rooms. Banquets were stressful at times trying to please the clients, but it wasn't stressful everyday.
Pros
Customer Service experience
Cons
The odd rude guest
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
housekeeping
Housekeeping Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 January 2016
was very fun to work in housekeeping was able to learn and be with team memebers and loved making the costumers feel at thome
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great
Setter (Former Employee) –  BC17 August 2015
Working with Sandman company was a great experience. -Banquet halls
-Cleanup work place
-Vacuum
-Mop
-Clean dishes
-Organize cutlery
-Set up halls as requested
-Take down halls as requested
-Clean washrooms
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasant experience, with an unfortunate end.
Guest Services Agent (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 January 2014
A typical day at work started at midnight and ended at 8 am. I was responsible for accurately closing daily balances for the front desk, restaurant and bar.

I learned the value of a competent and helpful staff behind you makes all the difference.

I felt the management could've done more to ensure the general well being of it's employees as well being more honest with them.

My co-workers really tried to do the best they could with what they knew and were generally very friendly people.

The hardest part of the job was having to work really long hours mostly.
Pros
employment
Cons
long hours, mediocre managment
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic workplace with an indoor pool
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Revelstoke, BC13 July 2013
Work is work at the sandman hotel, it has given me a basic knowledge of housekeeping skills. The management at the Sandman Hotel is nice enough, the co-workers are all really nice and try to make you feel as welcome as possible. The hardest part of working for the Sandman is time management and the most enjoyable part of the job is the flexible hours the job allows.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive co-workers
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK17 May 2013
It's a great place to work because of the people you work with. The staff at the hotel have a great attitude, and welcome you in as if you are family. It's a busy hotel, that constantly keeps you on your toes with guest issues etc, which if out of our control makes it very hard to work sometimes.
Pros
free cake and lunch once a month
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would say Sandman is a huge company.
Housekeeping Attendant / Front Office Agent (Current Employee) –  Calgary AB, Canada21 November 2011
Sandman Hotel is a huge company with lots of great people and team members. We treat us equally. They give recognition to those people who have excellent performance in their work.
Pros
we all treat as a team member.
Cons
add more benefits for employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 April 2013
but people were rude my boss was not a nice lady but either thn that it was a nice hotel i enjoyed working there they help u alot if u needed it
Pros
own lunch
Cons
by the rooms
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough pay for the job u have to do
Housekeeper/ Pt Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BC18 June 2012
not a good job not enough pay and the people u work with are grumpy and not very friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new experience
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  calgary alberta20 October 2014
made beds, cleaned rooms, stocked carts , a new experience.
Pros
reginition
Cons
not enough rooms to clean
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace!
Bartender (Current Employee) –  regina sask9 April 2013
Everyone is great and easy to work with, the people you meet are awesome aswell!
Pros
fun
Cons
cant move up in positions
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nOTHING
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 August 2014
It was a nice place and beautiful. I have learned to make bed nicely and beautiful.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très bon salaire et bonne équipe
Directrice de nuit (Current Employee) –  Longueuil, QC17 January 2014
C'était mon emploi d'étudiante, mais je n'ai pas pu m'empêcher d'y rester!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4