Salit Steel Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management and corporate culture
IT Support (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON9 September 2017
Very satisfying work performing duties with and for staff. Increasing productivity while reduced computer usage stress was highly regarded by management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
File Clerk and receptionist (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 September 2017
It was alot of work and took hour each day but overall it was a great experience and I enjoyed myself becuase of the other workers. Also, it was a great learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
MACHINE OPERATOR, CRANE AND SAW (Former Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON1 August 2017
Salit Steel was a very good work experience for myself, and I would recommend it to anyone thinking of excepting a position there. Very good co-workers and hours.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
Mandatory layoff from December to March
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Student Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON3 July 2017
One of the best companies I've had the pleasure of working for. Friendly staff and very personable management. I learned many skills and gained great office experience. When you are excited on a Sunday to go to work the next morning, you know you're working for a company that treats you well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON16 March 2017
I would give this company a zero if that was an option.

The two redeeming qualities of working at Salit was I really loved my job, my co-workers and my direct boss. Otherwise this environment is toxic and management is unprofessional.

Working for Salit has taught me a really valuable lesson that I don't want to work for a company that condones bullying and harassment; allows their workers to come to work stoned and or drunk and turn a blind eye. A company that walks all over their employees. A company that doesn't mind when their employees have full out fist fights on the plant floor and they just get a slap on their wrists. A company that doesn't provide the proper tools to complete one's position.
Pros
I can't think of one
Cons
Hours too long, moral is low, management is unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere!
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON14 January 2014
Challenging Fast Paced Work, Well put together business plan, Excellent Place to work. A++++
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salit Niagara
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON11 April 2013
Moneys good, overtime available.
cut hours in winter, or get laid off.
management is extremely poor, if you want a dead end job, with no room for advancement and love being treated like a child....
THIS ONES FOR YOU...
Pros
get to go home after 8 hours.
Cons
have to stay for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Factory work
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON26 February 2013
Hardest part was the physical labor involved

Most enjoyable was the exercise from the physical labor

Co-workers we good
Pros
good pay, good workers
Cons
through a hiring agency, laid off when i was one shift away from getting into the union
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay, Good Management, Good Hours
Steel Worker (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON26 November 2012
3 week rotation, co workers were good to one another. Great pay. Was only hired as a temp so I kept getting laid off. Would of like to be a full time employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Salit Steel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.8
Culture
3.6