Saint Mary's University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student at SMU.
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS23 October 2017
Great university, with a great culture. Lots of opportunities to explore and engage in the clubs and societies on campus. SMU brings a work play culture to university.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A terrible place to work
Staff (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS17 October 2017
Management is terrible and underqualified. The Human Resouce department is useless and the salaries (unless you are a professor and/or director) are below average. Avoid Saint Mary's University.
Pros
Some good people
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
check answer key
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS14 October 2017
check answer before marking is the lesson I learnt from it. when you have 200 students assignments to mark, using careful attention to detail and employed fairness in marking, you have to make sure that the answer key is correct
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pace, average
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Halifax, Nova Scotia25 September 2017
I was a PhD student while I worked there. If you are lucky, you find good colleagues. The Business department does not seem a great place to work. You can be fairly independent as a part-time professor, so it is not a problem to work there.
Pros
location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
get to know people
Personal tutor (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS19 August 2017
Need to be patient because some students because they are very demanding.
Need a lot of time to make them understand and correct there pronunciation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant and Teaching Assistant
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS9 July 2017
Made some extra money as a student, decent work hours. However, workload varies greatly depending on the professor. Workload increases around exam time.
Pros
money
Cons
workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good students but bad apple prof and admin
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS25 May 2017
Work was alright, good people, good atmosphere BUT really horrible admin and a few bad profs, especially microbio. Really small minded place, my faculty (Bio) not so good but geology and business are great!.
Pros
Good cross section of interesting people
Cons
Nightmare to deal with their corrupt system
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging work environment with opportunities to learn
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS14 May 2017
The two positions I held with Saint Mary's University, one as a TA and another as an RA, were both great. My bosses were both kind and understanding about my busy family/student life. Both positions held something new for me as well: teaching is something I find both rewarding and engaging, while being an RA at the Abbie Lane Memorial Hospital taught me about attention to detail and helped me consolidate information I was learning from my courses on a very practical level.
Pros
Empathetic employers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a positive experience
SMUSA Verified Tutor (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS15 April 2017
Diverse community. Well-rounded experience There is a definite sense of belonging here. Halifax is also a great place to work in and commute to, and the bus routes are comprehensive, so it makes it easier to get to work if you live off campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Positions
Multiple Positions (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS15 April 2017
I have done multiple jobs while at Saint Mary's. The pay is great and everyone I have worked with is easy to approach. Since these were campus jobs, staff was always understanding when exams and papers started getting heavy. Would suggest a job through Saint Mary's to any current students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and fun work environment
Depart. of Finance and Management Science (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS29 March 2017
I absolutely enjoyed my time as a teaching and research assistant. The professors that I got to work with were always helpful and it gave me a lot of flexibility to manage my studies while earning some money.
Pros
flexible work hours
Cons
no career advancement in this position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace while helping students with their studies
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS31 January 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to talk to students and help them develop lab skills and chemistry experience. You did not however get any say in who you were a teaching assistant for, just which days worked for you.
Pros
Talking to people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work from home
STUDENT MARKETING INTERN (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS18 January 2017
I was working online and submitted my reports to my program cordinator. Saint Mary University is one of the renowned university in Atlantic Canada and I am so honored to be working as an intern here.
Pros
Working online. No office hours
Cons
Limited scope
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work
RESIDENCE SECURITY OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS3 January 2017
During my work duration I was pretty much satisfied with everything that I used to learn from there. Everyday I used to meet new people with different thinking that helped me gain my experience. The hardest part of my job would be settling a fight. The ambience at my work place was great as all my co-workers were fun.
Pros
Paid breaks, hours as per requirement
Cons
busy hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
IT Consultant (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS6 December 2016
The ability to learn something new everyday.
Hours are good.
Co-workers are friendly. Job requires being very interactive with people. Have really good social skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering
Data Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS19 October 2016
At this job I learned how to manage a large group of people at a time and also learned how to organize events and arrange logistics for that specific event.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very convenient position
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS29 September 2016
Working at Saint Mary's while attending school there was very convenient. They worked around my schedule, and I was able to experience different events.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Cultural Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS23 August 2016
Great company to work with, great CEO and great environment. Pay is also good too. Friendly environment, clean and safe workplace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student assistant
Assistant Librarian (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS6 June 2016
It's a good job for student with no working experience, especially for international students to practice english and develop social skills.
Pros
improve communication
Cons
only for part-time job except summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad job but
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax N.S.9 May 2016
The pay was small for how much work needed to be done. In order to do the job properly, I ended up working more hours and not getting paid for them. I will not be a teaching assistant again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Saint Mary's University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 67 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0

Saint Mary's University Reviews by Location