Find companies:
Safeway
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,544 reviews

Safeway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity and workplace
Repacker Warehouse (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 15, 2014
it is an opportunity for me to work in this company, because i learn so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at Safeway
Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: food
Cons: sometimes gets very empty in the store, so it gets boring just standing there, waiting for someone to come through your till.
I am a Cashier at Safeway so I tend to deal a lot with the customers. I ring through their groceries and have a conversation with who ever I am dealing with at that moment. It is fun talking to a lot of different people in a day. My coworkers are awesome and the management is a wonderful team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked hard and provided long hours and extensive travel
Operations Manager Southern Alberta (Former Employee), all of southern albertaAlbertaJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: employment
Cons: long hours
Managed 70 contract workers cleaning Safeway stores. Oversaw over 270 contractors in 300 other contracts as portfolio
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Socially interactive, Versatile
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Vancouver, British ColumbiaJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: great staff, good benefits
Cons: low pay, slow advancement
My time spent at Safeway Grocery Stores was filled providing customer service, cash handling, shelf stocking, inventory and loss prevention. Advancement was slow as was the pay grade increase, though the benefits were decent and the work load was easy. I decided to leave Safeway for a more promising opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place.
CASHIER (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 4, 2014
serving different kind of customers in purchasing their goods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervising night crew
General Clerk & Night Crew Team Lead (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 3, 2014
• Supervising night crew
• Operating cash register
• Setting up displays, stocking shelves and coolers
• Rf scanning
• Ordering merchandise from suppliers
• Providing customer service
• Receiving and unloading merchandise
• Closing store
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good co-workers
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: co-workers, hours
Cons: poor pay, management
difficult to get along with some of the management, more often than not I ended up being the scape-goat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start your work experience
Sales/ Service Clerk (Current Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 29, 2013
Pros: constant raises, flexible hours
Cons: early starts
The average day for the past little while started at 4A.M. with ordering products to come in for the next day of work. Then I went and removed any expired product from the shelf and restocked them with new product. I then finished the day with another order.
The management here was great, they were friendly very flexible with my holiday hours and nice – more... all around from upper management to the new managers that are just being trained. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and energetic retail job.
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 29, 2013
Pros: free samples, benefits, raises, flexible schedule for part-time
Cons: standing, interrupted breaks, understaffed holidays
As a bakery clerk I did not handle transactions, so most of my customer interactions involved locating products for them or answering questions about products. Customer service for this job is very important and every month a mystery shopper will show up to evaluate you. Either I was packaging items all day or slicing bread all day, depending on the – more... shift. My co-workers were very involved and the hours went by quickly but beware there is lots and lots of standing. The average starting wage was around $10-$11 hourly for part-time but you earn raises after working a certain amount of hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Cashier Clerk (Current Employee), Hinton, ABDecember 28, 2013
Pros: management is approachable
Cons: wages are low
I enjoy working with Safeway however wages are quite low.
some co-workers are not overly approachable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like work
crowfoot safeway (Current Employee), Calgary ABDecember 19, 2013
Pros: being efficient, punctuality
Cons: 12hr
Customer Service
Help people
I like work with team
I tend to spend more time to finish my task , because i like perfection
Work with team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier Position at safeway
Cashier (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCDecember 18, 2013
-handling cash and helping out with customer service
-i learned how to interact with the customers politely
-the most enjoyable part of the job is always interacting with new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, busy place to work
Overnight Clerk (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 17, 2013
Pros: great hourly pay
Cons: overnight shift
Unloading of nightly shipments after store hours. stocked shelves in a timely manner independently. carrying up to 75 lbs consistantly, facing shelves, cleaning packaging. Observing, and removing expired or nearly expired/damaged goods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 17, 2013
I have learned multiple things from it how to deal with customers in person and help them find what they are looking for to meet there needs.
Very friendly coworkers and supper management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have enjoyed shopping and safeway and know many people who work there and love it.
Volunteer Work (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 13, 2013
Pros: like the hours
I enjoy the people at safeway and have known many for my whole life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staff parties were always a blast!
Cashier/Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 12, 2013
Pros: well ran/ good shifts
Cons: to many men in management
I worked in almost every department I learned alot,and enjoyed my work and made some great friends,I was a cashier and a food and produce clerk this company is male run and so you can feel a little intimidated at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary reviewed
clerk 11 (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCDecember 9, 2013
Pros: the crue i worked with are fun to be with and always helpful
Cons: at the time the min. wadge was $8.50 per hr. it has improved
always show up to work on time. (15 min.before shift)
access all product that may be low on shelves
stock them first, if items not found bring this information to my superior
trust in the management for product knowledge
treat all co- workers with respect
some shifts you can,t get every thing done in an 8 hour shift
knowing i have done a good shift
i – more... find it makes me feel better knowing i have done a good job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and insightful workplace
Acting Starbucks Operator (Current Employee), Winnipeg, ManitobaDecember 7, 2013
Pros: 10% of safeway brand groceries
Cons: some slower days customer wise
Great co-workers, great interaction with customers. The hardest part of the job is maintaining your patience and dealing with the busiest times of day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful view
Cashier (Former Employee), Canmore, ABNovember 27, 2013
I worked at the Safeway in Canmore, Alberta.

This Safeway very very busy and although i was hired as part time i worked 40 -50 hours per week. I love working with the public and really enjoyed working at this Safeway.
The managers and my co-workers were friendly and helpful and made working there very enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical and safe workplace
Cashier (Current Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 21, 2013
Pros: fast-paced kind of job
Cons: short hours of work.
customers are generally nice and kind. There is an open door policy with the management system. co-workers are fun to deal with. the most enjoyable part is when i received perks like free starbucks drinks when i collect many donations from the customers. Not really hard to work in safeway because they only allow me few hours in a week.

About Safeway

Safeway Inc. (NYSE: SWY), a Fortune 500 company, is North America's second largest supermarket chain after Kroger Co., with, as – Read more