Safeway Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 505 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABFebruary 14, 2016
Always looked forward going to work. Learned more skills here. My co-workers were enjoyable. Had good managers of the store.
Pros
Having a boss that cared about his employees
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing, fun place to work
Barista at Starbucks (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCJanuary 19, 2016
Customer service was an asset. Friendly environment. Not too stressful. Meet a lot of new people. Did not feel safe at the location I was at.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Only one person in kiosk, was stressful at times
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Pharamacy Assitant (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBFebruary 4, 2016
Co-workers are nice to work with. I have learned all aspects of being a Pharmacy Assistant. The most enjoyable part of the job is the satisfaction that I have been able to help someone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work if you like to meet new people.
Caissière / Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABOctober 27, 2015
I was a cashier and I absolutely loved my job , I loved to help other employees and customers . I am friendly so being a cashier is a great job for me . I had many friends .
There was no real hardship to the job
I met a lot of interesting people and had other opportunities because of my job.
Pros
lots of good food around, polite customers
Cons
rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Starbucks Coffee Barista (Current Employee) –  200 Stewart Green SW, Calgary, AlbertaMarch 6, 2016
I enjoy working at Safeway Starbucks as a barista. I try to stay positive and listen to the customers first and suggest healthy menus.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Smithers, BCMay 18, 2016
this wasn't to hard to learn because of the great work environment,and the co-workers were very helpful with things i didnt know.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exceptional work place to start out in
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABOctober 15, 2015
Safeway was a fun work place to start providing myself with stability, the best part of the job was being able to interact with customers and learn some great customer service skills that will help me out with other jobs. I met some awesome people and enjoyed my time there but I just wanted to explore other options and experience something different.
Pros
Good starting salary
Cons
Shift work, Having to be available on all sundays
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway
Cook (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BCJuly 16, 2016
I found working at Safeway a very fun and interesting environment. The people I worked with were greta and so was management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment that prompot productivity and teamwork.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  West Vancouver, BCNovember 17, 2015
Outstanding culture with excellent management, that encourages employees, and maintain a friendly and creative work culture. Its a participation style management where employees are allowed to take initiative in accomplishing tasks and helping customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheerful workplace and friendly co-workers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJanuary 9, 2016
bagging groceries
greeting and helping customers
cash handling
credit and debit transactions
store promotions
weekly team meetings
standing for long periods of time
50% off safeway products
Was this review helpful?Yes18No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but union environment
Shipping Dock Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary SEOctober 22, 2015
You work 81/2 hours a day. There is very minimal opportunity for advancement as there is a union. New employees do not have much chance of advancing into higher roles because senior employees get first call. Management is very strict especially with new employees.
Pros
You get BBQ every couple of months
Cons
Lots of heavy lifting and very strict deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, Eventful
butcher (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBOctober 7, 2015
Working at Safeway in the meat department was always an exciting day. my Duties included cleaning meat and cutting it into the appropriate sizes for steaks, ribs, ext.. It was exciting to learn all the ways there are to cut and label meats. There was a variety of what i did each day, including Cleaning the equipment used, washing dishes, preparing different foods and cutting steaks and different meat products.
Pros
excellent bennefits
Cons
poor managment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexable and fun
Cashier/Stock (Former Employee) –  grande prairieOctober 5, 2015
Busy. Always kept the time going. They were flexable. Lovely ladies and gentlemen that work there.
I learned how to run the till and pack groceries properly.
Management was amazing and caring.
the co-workers were fun and awesome to work with. Loved them all.
hardest part was learning how to pack what where.
most enjoyable part was talking with the ladies and meeting new faces almost everyday.
Pros
flexable, fun, enjoyable
Cons
random shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Regina, SKMarch 1, 2016
I enjoyed dealing with the public! I would always try and make sure the customer's were happy, and found everything they were looking for.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, ABMarch 15, 2016
I enjoyed working at Safeway. I got along with my co workers. The management was good. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough, but rewarding
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 20, 2015
My job was very labour- intensive and repetetive, but the pay was good so I stuck it out. My co-workers are friendly and encouraging. I learned the value of having a stick-to-it attitude. Honestly, the most enjoyable part of the job is me being done for the day/ night.
Pros
C- Train accessible, good pay, good co- workers.
Cons
Long hours, repetetive and draining work.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Front-end Cashier (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ONApril 9, 2016
Not a very good place to work. Was a great learning experience. Horrible working environment. A very toxic work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people to work with
deli (Former Employee) –  fort st johnMarch 30, 2016
was a great job great people the job itself just wasn't for me i enjoyed talking with the people and the staff i worked with
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow and uneventful
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chestermere, ABNovember 16, 2015
Very repetitive job with nothing to do.
I felt under appreciated and management was always condescending towards me.
The job consisted of gathering grocery carts, sweeping the floor, and bagging groceries during the rush.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Long days, boring work, very unfreindly
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on location and coworkers
Cashier and Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBOctober 8, 2015
Depending on who you're working with this job can be fantastic or great pain in the neck. Some of the management is really friendly, where as others would really like to abuse their authority.

The hardest part of the job by far is dealing with the customers, as they have all sorts of questions and they're not always something you're knowledgeable or trained in. Regardless you're expected to resolve this customers issue while still getting your general tasks for the day done.

Most enjoyable, you're able to take lunch whenever you want and you've got plenty to choose from within the store.

Aside from this, produce clerks work alone and more often than not independent workers. This can be nice if you don't enjoy working in a group situation.
Pros
Take Lunch when you want, fantastic benefits
Cons
Over night shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 4,627 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5