Find companies:
Safeway
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,407 reviews

Safeway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 17, 2013
I have learned multiple things from it how to deal with customers in person and help them find what they are looking for to meet there needs.
Very friendly coworkers and supper management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have enjoyed shopping and safeway and know many people who work there and love it.
Volunteer Work (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 13, 2013
Pros: like the hours
I enjoy the people at safeway and have known many for my whole life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staff parties were always a blast!
Cashier/Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 12, 2013
Pros: well ran/ good shifts
Cons: to many men in management
I worked in almost every department I learned alot,and enjoyed my work and made some great friends,I was a cashier and a food and produce clerk this company is male run and so you can feel a little intimidated at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary reviewed
clerk 11 (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCDecember 9, 2013
Pros: the crue i worked with are fun to be with and always helpful
Cons: at the time the min. wadge was $8.50 per hr. it has improved
always show up to work on time. (15 min.before shift)
access all product that may be low on shelves
stock them first, if items not found bring this information to my superior
trust in the management for product knowledge
treat all co- workers with respect
some shifts you can,t get every thing done in an 8 hour shift
knowing i have done a good shift
i – more... find it makes me feel better knowing i have done a good job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and insightful workplace
Acting Starbucks Operator (Current Employee), Winnipeg, ManitobaDecember 7, 2013
Pros: 10% of safeway brand groceries
Cons: some slower days customer wise
Great co-workers, great interaction with customers. The hardest part of the job is maintaining your patience and dealing with the busiest times of day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful view
Cashier (Former Employee), Canmore, ABNovember 27, 2013
I worked at the Safeway in Canmore, Alberta.

This Safeway very very busy and although i was hired as part time i worked 40 -50 hours per week. I love working with the public and really enjoyed working at this Safeway.
The managers and my co-workers were friendly and helpful and made working there very enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical and safe workplace
Cashier (Current Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 21, 2013
Pros: fast-paced kind of job
Cons: short hours of work.
customers are generally nice and kind. There is an open door policy with the management system. co-workers are fun to deal with. the most enjoyable part is when i received perks like free starbucks drinks when i collect many donations from the customers. Not really hard to work in safeway because they only allow me few hours in a week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
inventory (Former Employee), Winnipeg, ManitobaNovember 19, 2013
come in put inventory away.
learned safeway's way of stocking shelves
management was good
co-workers were ok
hardest part was evening shift while maintaining my day job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast,and easy job
Night Shift Stocker (Former Employee), winnipegNovember 15, 2013
Great environment, quite everyone is respectful , my only problem is that there are not enough hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee), Richmond BCNovember 12, 2013
Enjoyed working with others and the public. It had its trying days just as any other jobs. I had costumers that would only come to my till that made me delighted. I knew I was doing a good job without being told by managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont waste your time
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Wetaskiwin, ABNovember 12, 2013
if you are a minute early or late punching you are reprimanded.

I punched my card in early because I was paged by the manager of safeway 862.
when she saw this on the weekly she told me she would be deducting 30 minutes additional pay to make sure that I never do it again
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and great people
General Clerk (Former Employee), New Westminster, BCNovember 7, 2013
Pros: friendly staff, generous hours
Regular work experience to be expected from a large scale grocery store, but the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Unfortunately not much room for advancement due to the many older staff members, but that tends to improve in the summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked there too long to like it anymore
BARISTA (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 6, 2013
I learned to make a mean coffee there but did not like the space we had to make it in!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Retail Company to work for
Payroll Clerk, Invoices, H&S Rep, Floral & Cashier (Current Employee), Spruce Grove, ABNovember 6, 2013
Pros: my advancement within the company
Cons: not enough hours
While working at Safeway I was given the opportunity to learn various positions within the store which then lead to more responsibilites & knowledge of the retail sector. Every day I demonstrated good work ethic & dedication. Management & co-workers have showen me how important it is to work as a team. The hardest part of the job is getting enough scheduled – more... hours & the most enjoyable part is the customers. Safeway is a great place to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Night Shift Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 4, 2013
Packing stock and tidying displays.
I learned that team work is always key.
Management were were not present in night shift but our supervisor was supportive.
Co workers were friendly.
The hardest part was packing all new stock when we were short staffed.
The most enjoyble part was the team atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Duncan, BCOctober 15, 2013
Busy engaging place to work. Enjoyed working with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work, people dont care about quality of work, too specific on uniform, managers disrespect employees
Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 13, 2013
Pros: no pros
Cons: managers are slave drivers, they have no compassion for the fellow man, short underpaid hours.
This place is horrible. The cashiers always get into arguments, promotions are given to the pretty not the hard working, the union screws you over.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay, store manager is a power happy, rude, unprofessional.
Assistant Meat Department Manager (Current Employee), Brooks, AlbertaOctober 12, 2013
Pros: good pay, excellent benefits.
Cons: never same schedule from week to week, power happy store manager is extremely unprofessional.
not bad I guess, my immediate boss is best boss I ever worked for, store manager is ridiculously unprofessional power happy freak.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is also a great job good hours some time you will get extra days of work
General & Service Clerk (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCOctober 5, 2013
Pros: it was good job but need to be better
Cons: store front clerk and to deal with customers looking after the front should get more pay
it suck that they cant give there staff more hours to each person
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It Was Fun
Checker Girl / Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: 15 mins breaks
Cons: not enough hours, needed more hours
I Dealt with alot of customers and learned something new everyday from the job as a checker/cashier, everything was electronic but i caught on very fast, i got along with everyone at work very easy going person, the hardest part of the job was nothing really I Just enjoyed working with the public and learning something new everyday, I was a very hard – more... worker. – less

About Safeway

Safeway Inc. (NYSE: SWY), a Fortune 500 company, is North America's second largest supermarket chain after Kroger Co., with, as – Read more