Safeway Employee Reviews

Found 783 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible hours terrible management.
customer service (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC11 May 2017
Terrible treatment of employees terrible pay too responsibilities. No chance for advancement. No job security. they want you to work full time hours but then you are not considered a full time employee.
Pros
no pros
Cons
terrible pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a okay
Cashier / Pump Attendant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK9 May 2017
At safeway, there really was not much to do. So it was not to bad, the management was nice, but some stuff they did was annoying like making men clean shaved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Job
Barista (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 May 2017
Received, processed and handled orders at the counter, I learn how to take order and how to make order and how to communicate with customer and how to make a good cup of coffee, this is funny work for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 May 2017
I learned so much here and had a great experience. Most of my managers were caring and understanding and made work life easier. I highly recommend for first time job seekers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad experience
Grocery Loader (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 May 2017
Really fast paced work. Had to do a lot of stuff in so less time. Fear of being fired all the time. Most people there are not happy with what they do there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great work place with staff that were helpfull and caring, the boss was a great guy and a person that i would work with again. Many good things
Cashier (Former Employee) –  West Vancouver, BC4 May 2017
was a great work place with staff that were helpfull and caring, the boss was a great guy and a person that i would work with again. Many good things to say about this place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sucked
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON4 May 2017
Management was awful and they never obeyed my availability. All the workers are crabby old ladies who hate their jobs and give the workplace a miserable atmosphere.
Pros
none
Cons
Closing was done alone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly and productive workplace
Retail Worker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB3 May 2017
A fast paced environment with excellent customer service, and hard working staff.
Busy but worthwhile schedules,bustling customers.
I learned how to attend to customers needs through providing them with produce as well as helping them find things around the store.
Management was friendly and was there to respond and aid with staff inquiries.
The workplace was filled with various rules which were ultimately prevalent to put the staff and customers in check which was mostly for the benefit of both parties.
The hardest part of the job was that there was more to accomplish than the allotted time given.
The most enjoyable part of the job was being given the opportunity to work there.
Pros
Fast Paced Environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Managers
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 May 2017
Safeway was a great and friendly place to work at. Hardest part of the job was cutting the watermelons during the summer, but most of the job was relatively easy and enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers Were Great!
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Aldergrove, BC3 May 2017
I worked at the check out and made sure always to help the customer with whatever they needed. I would get they carry out service and would ask them if they found what they were looking for. I would get another employee to run and grab things for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but lack of hours
SALES & SERVICE CLERK (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 May 2017
Safeway has good benefits. Safeway is the good place to work for full-timers, but not for part-timers because they cut hours a lot from the beginning of this year.
Pros
Company culture
Cons
Lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable staff, Stressful environment
Front End Cashier (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 April 2017
It was a great starting job, figuring out the working world, learning many useful skills for many other fields. The employees were lovely to work with but, similar to other retail jobs, customers can be disrespectful and unpleasant. The best part of my job was consistency, never doubting my role in the company, and being able to help others in need, both customers and co-workers. The hardest part of my job was having to calmly handle aggressive customers.
Management was always friendly, helping with any questions regarding the company. Due to being a full time student, they were very stern on putting school first, having flexible hours available for all employees. They are also very inclusive towards hiring, no matter your race, ethnicity, gender, disabilities, or religion. Always having open arms to those willing to learn and ready to work.

Overall I learnt public communication, memorization, multitasking, team work, organization, customer service, and many other soft skills that are useful towards other jobs.
Pros
Making someone's day better, helping others, flexible hours
Cons
Unpredictable customers, inconsistent shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal Retail working conditions.
Deli-Department Worker (Former Employee) –  Canmore, AB28 April 2017
Basic training and space for skill development was given.

Cooperation between employees and managers was good.

Great opportunity to develop an understanding of customer relations as well as how to deal with situations regarding customer satisfaction.

New workers are treated well and receive guidelines, rules, and training throughout their time working.

Most difficult aspect of working at Safeway is the introduction of an unexpected array of frustrated customers, and learning how to cooperate in a calm and friendly manner so as to not aggravate the customer.
Pros
Overtime availablity
Cons
Not enough employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, enjoyable job with fun employees
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee) –  Mission, BC28 April 2017
This job is a straightforward job with many opportunities being with the union. The employees are kind and friendly. However, management can be frisky at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun but minimal hours
Cashier (Former Employee) –  calgary26 April 2017
the job was great except for minimal hours. The store was going through the take over from sobeys and thus impacted employees hours after price drops.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work in
Cashier and Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 April 2017
Safeway is good place to work with multi-culture people and learn from them , the management always support us , in Safeway i learned how to work and deal with different customers and make sure them always been satisfied
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC24 April 2017
There was no typical routine, schedule, or order in which things had to be done. It all depended on what had to be done first, you had to prioritize things. Duties included changing garbages and bottle returns, keeping flyers stocked, bringing the baskets to the front of the store, bringing buggies in from the parking lot, keeping the washrooms clean, assisting customers, doing price checks, product replacements, bagging groceries, and perishable returns for cashiers. There are also many other duties that may be required of you. It is a physically demanding job.
Pros
Good for students
Cons
Low paying, no benefits from union if there short term, management is hit or miss
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoying the job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Thompson, MB24 April 2017
I really liked working at Safeway and i meet a lot of people while i was their. The store was nice and clean every day and the customers where nice as well. i enjoy talking to them about sports.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 April 2017
Most customers were fairly nice, with the exception of a few. Long hours and worked more than my intended availability because of other coworkers quitting or getting fired. Managers didn't seem to know much.
Pros
Not that busy at my location
Cons
Long hours, management was lacking
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cruel and rigid even no good payment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC21 April 2017
It might help to improve your English but there was no appropriate management on the workload for cashiers, the time you have to standup would cause health problem in long-run. Your hands would also be in touch with red light (maybe laser) during scanning the barcodes throughout the working hours.
The wage would not even cover your food for a month.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Safeway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 6,882 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

66%
1,949 ratings
Add your rating