Find companies:
Safeway
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,444 reviews

Safeway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Okay Job
Produce/Cashier (Former Employee), Dauphin, MBFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: paid once a week
Cons: not enough hours
Stocked The Produce Section
Learned about different types of Produce
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment
Order Picker (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: cold temperature
Safeway is a good place to work. Employees are treated well and pay is good.
Co-workers were helpful and fun to work with.
The hardest part of the job was picking orders within the time allowed. It was usually a very exhausting day because you had to keep up a fast pace until you were done all of the orders. Physically and mentally demanding, lots of – more... math and organizing required.
Working in the cold was also difficult.
The most enjoyable part of the job I think was the occasional free lunches and the positive environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent, working usually with one other. Flexible.
Gas Bar Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: flexible. freedom of work.
Cons: late nights. restricted part time gets left over hours.
The hours were somewhat flexible. The union was unresponsive to concerns. Usually did not work with the boss so I was allowed to work with many different people and freedom to do my work. Usually good instructions as to what is expected of you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No real compensation for work. No opportunities for growth
Analyst (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 28, 2014
Poor leadership. Outdated management practices. Outdated compensation structures. No opportunities for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting position
Deli Counter Service (Former Employee), Surrey, BCJanuary 25, 2014
My job was to cut and package meats for customers. The staff was not very willing to train me properly and the management didn't seem too concerned about it. I was left on my own many times without proper training. The customers were very understanding and pleasant.
I enede up leaving because I was moving to Manitoba.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable place to work at.
Service Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: unionized/ good benifits
Cons: it takes few years to get a full time job.
Working in the deli was always busy. I learned to make different kinds of recipes. And developed my social skills, like dealing with new and regular customers. I had the best co-workers at that place. Even the management was very considerate about my pregnancy while i was working there. Hardest part of the job is when you get swarmed by customers and – more... there wasn't enough people working to help you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway was a good job at first, but got old fast.
Cashier (Former Employee), Mission BCJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: days off were reasonable if you gave good notice
Cons: rude people.
I usually just went to my till at work and rung through customers, as well as solved their problems and answered any questions they had all in a patient and calm manner. I learned how to be more patient, calm and relaxed under pressure. Management was varied at times depending on who was on shift. I had some amazingly kind and understandable managers, – more... a few others not so much. My co-workers were great people, a lot of them I still talk to today. The hardest part of the job was dealing with rude people and sometimes closing shifts. The best part was getting to meet some great people, co-workers and customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most favorite place i've worked
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: plenty room for advancement
Cons: pay
pay wasnt the greatest but it was a fun job, i learned alot there and wished i could go back. crazy hours during the holidays but plenty room for advancement if you work hard enough
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work while attending school
Cashier (Current Employee), 18 ST 76 Ave SE Calgary AlbertaJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: flexible hours were great for when i was attending university
Cons: weekend and evening shifts makes it difficult to spend time with family and friends
In a typical day for a closing shift I am required to over see the work done by other cashiers as well as courtesy clerks. Keep them on task and maintain the shift schedual and break schedual. I also do cash pick ups from each till, audit certain tills throughout the eventing and perform closing dutys which include: bringing in all of the tills at the – more... end of the night, changing our change machines as needed, shut down out Western Union system and print reports, counting the news papers for return, performing the store close in the computer system printing off reports and organizing them, counting tickets and calculating our sales for the day, arming cash office.
Since starting at Safeway I have learned quite a bit about the retail industry, coustomer service and some general knowledge about Safeway specific computer systems. I have learned how to enter payroll for the staff, how to instruct others in payroll, as well as how to give clear and concise instructions to those I work with.
The most difficult part of my job for me is the lack of regularity in schedualling I am hoping to find a job which is mainly performed on weekdays.
The most enjoyable part of my job is hard to choose; I enjoy interacting with customers and getting to know them, however I also enjoy working on my own in the quite of the office. My co-workers have made working at Safeway a lot of fun and I will be sad to leave however I feel that the irregular hours are not the proper fit for me any longer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), edmonton abJanuary 16, 2014
this was an amazing job with great benifts amazing employers and lots of opertunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity and workplace
Repacker Warehouse (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 15, 2014
it is an opportunity for me to work in this company, because i learn so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at Safeway
Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: food
Cons: sometimes gets very empty in the store, so it gets boring just standing there, waiting for someone to come through your till.
I am a Cashier at Safeway so I tend to deal a lot with the customers. I ring through their groceries and have a conversation with who ever I am dealing with at that moment. It is fun talking to a lot of different people in a day. My coworkers are awesome and the management is a wonderful team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Socially interactive, Versatile
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Vancouver, British ColumbiaJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: great staff, good benefits
Cons: low pay, slow advancement
My time spent at Safeway Grocery Stores was filled providing customer service, cash handling, shelf stocking, inventory and loss prevention. Advancement was slow as was the pay grade increase, though the benefits were decent and the work load was easy. I decided to leave Safeway for a more promising opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place.
CASHIER (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 4, 2014
serving different kind of customers in purchasing their goods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervising night crew
General Clerk & Night Crew Team Lead (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 3, 2014
• Supervising night crew
• Operating cash register
• Setting up displays, stocking shelves and coolers
• Rf scanning
• Ordering merchandise from suppliers
• Providing customer service
• Receiving and unloading merchandise
• Closing store
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good co-workers
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: co-workers, hours
Cons: poor pay, management
difficult to get along with some of the management, more often than not I ended up being the scape-goat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start your work experience
Sales/ Service Clerk (Current Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 29, 2013
Pros: constant raises, flexible hours
Cons: early starts
The average day for the past little while started at 4A.M. with ordering products to come in for the next day of work. Then I went and removed any expired product from the shelf and restocked them with new product. I then finished the day with another order.
The management here was great, they were friendly very flexible with my holiday hours and nice – more... all around from upper management to the new managers that are just being trained. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and energetic retail job.
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 29, 2013
Pros: free samples, benefits, raises, flexible schedule for part-time
Cons: standing, interrupted breaks, understaffed holidays
As a bakery clerk I did not handle transactions, so most of my customer interactions involved locating products for them or answering questions about products. Customer service for this job is very important and every month a mystery shopper will show up to evaluate you. Either I was packaging items all day or slicing bread all day, depending on the – more... shift. My co-workers were very involved and the hours went by quickly but beware there is lots and lots of standing. The average starting wage was around $10-$11 hourly for part-time but you earn raises after working a certain amount of hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Cashier Clerk (Current Employee), Hinton, ABDecember 28, 2013
Pros: management is approachable
Cons: wages are low
I enjoy working with Safeway however wages are quite low.
some co-workers are not overly approachable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like work
crowfoot safeway (Current Employee), Calgary ABDecember 19, 2013
Pros: being efficient, punctuality
Cons: 12hr
Customer Service
Help people
I like work with team
I tend to spend more time to finish my task , because i like perfection
Work with team

About Safeway

Safeway Inc. (NYSE: SWY), a Fortune 500 company, is North America's second largest supermarket chain after Kroger Co., with, as – Read more