Safeway Employee Reviews

Found 703 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good grocery store
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB12 March 2017
Most of the women working at the local safeway are older so as a teen it wasn't a very social job however it is often busy which helps the shift go by
Pros
good hours
Cons
older staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Other stores are better managed
2nd Lead Hand (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 March 2017
Night crew now does the bulk of the heavy lifting.
I learned
task management, team management, time management, management communications
proper heavy lifting
conflict resolution
Pros
lifting
Cons
in competencies in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked in the deli
barista (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC6 March 2017
Working in deli requires a lot of patience, and being able to handle meats. Safeway benefits were amazing, and although I found it difficult to meet people there was a lot of job security. The management really depends, I've had micromanaging in how to cut a sandwich in half to another who allowed me to work on different areas as needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much gossip and cut throat
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Manitoba5 March 2017
Toxic environment. Job was okay but seemed like you always watched your back with who you talked to. Managment was awful as well as hr. Glad I left after 6 years; best decision I ever made.
Cons
Back stabbing, poor management, and on and on.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job and easy tasks.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Castlegar, BC2 March 2017
I enjoyed some of the people I worked with, but it was mainly run off seniority (who was hired first) and that was mainly how they ran. It was hard to get days off and they did not really accommodate for sports or other events and left you trying to find someone to take your shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life in the Deli Department
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON28 February 2017
- Hours get cut often ( I once went two weeks without getting even a 4-hour shift)
- Working a 6:00- 11:15 pm shift as a student can be very hard on you, I do not recommend.
- You will constantly smell of meat.
- Management shows little respect for part-time workers.
- You'll make a lot of friends and interesting people.
- Great selection of food to eat at your 15min coffee break (also Starbucks).
- Especially in the deli department, the working conditions are disgusting.
- You get most holidays off (Christmas Day, Boxing Day, Family Day, etc.) or get paid timeX2 for it.
- (personal opinion) the uniforms are so uncomfortable and ugly.
- Everyone is constantly in a rush so it can be a very stressful environment.
- They'll hire just about anyone, so if this is your first job I would definitely recommend it to get some work experience.
- You have a lot of responsibilities.
Pros
Extra pay for holidays, great first job
Cons
Bad overall environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier position
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 February 2017
It was a fine job for a minimum wage place. I did not love this job but there was nothing bad about it. The location I worked at had nice staff, they gave hours out based on seniority.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and well managed
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Selkirk, MB27 February 2017
my management team did an excellent job of making sure the customers got the service they needed and made sure all employees had the proper training to complete their assigned tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Okotoks, AB27 February 2017
I have not work here very long but enjoy the atmosphere and the people. Would like to see more shifts and more training or coaching when issues arise
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 February 2017
As my first job it was an alright experience. I was let go however due to the fact I did not get the correct training and I did not know how to do some task. I asked how you do them and they were unable to show me the correct procedure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed, but structured work environment. Fun, and competitive atmosphere.
Floral Clerk, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC24 February 2017
Steady work, either fast or slow paced. You're never without something to do on the job. Extremely wonderful management, and employees. Lots of fun, and learning new skills, while being able to pay your bills!
Pros
Warm atmosphere.
Cons
Not enough work at the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of demand for no pay
General Retail Clerk and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Trail, BC23 February 2017
I was in the produce department mainly. My tasks were simple: fill new produce, get rid of bad produce, order more produce to come in.
Safeway liked my no nonsense attitude and all of a sudden i was getting grocery/bakery/cashier shifts.
Pros
customer service
Cons
customer service
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC21 February 2017
Safeway, Inc. is an American supermarket chain founded in 1915. It is a subsidiary of Albertsons, having been acquired by private equity investors led by Cerberus Capital Management in January 2015.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome p[lace to work and great co-workers
FORKLIFT DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 February 2017
i would pick orders from a forklift, paper, water and numerous other products. quiet place to work and great pay. the hardest part of that job if i had to say would have been the hours i would have to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun! Like Family!
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK19 February 2017
Safeway is a good enterance job for people. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. Overall if you spend enough time their they will feel like family. There are many different possitions to enter in and move up to. But I feel like it should only be used like a starter job and not a career.
Pros
Great work enviroment, and free food sometimes
Cons
Gets Repetitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working Place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 February 2017
Safeway was a good place to work at for someone who had it as a real first time job. It was fun and they were very understanding when I could not make it to work or forgot what time I had to get to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 February 2017
great coworkers, everyone is welcoming, staff room is relaxing, good break time. very good hours. very busy, everyone is kind, overall a good workplace,
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, not so great manager
Cashier (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC16 February 2017
Enjoyed working here, co-workers were friendly, a lot of management was nice except for a few. Customers are usually seniors in Lynn Valley and are easy going and nice to talk to. The store is a bit old and needs a bit of a touch up, but I'm sure the seniors appreciate the old timey feeling it gives.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geat place to work
Shipper/receiver helper, sears canada (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 February 2017
management staff taught me how to do my job better. some days work can be busy and some days are not as busy. making the customer very happy.
Pros
fun
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun working environent
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC14 February 2017
Really good benefits worked for ten years i just would have stayed longer if i could have got moved to mission. A good place to work fast and friendly. It was was ten minutes away from home then we moved one hour away from work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Safeway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 6,201 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5