Safeway Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, busy, and good for experience
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Thompson, MB1 November 2017
-Typical day at work is always busy
-I've learned to be independent and how to solve conflict problems
- Management are great and we always resolve the problems that we are having.
- Our workplace culture is nice, we teach our employees professionalism to avoid mistakes engaging to customer.
- The hardest part of the job is to take off most of the stuff on the floor when floor waxers are coming in.
- The most enjoyable part of the job is i can supervised the employees and to help them when they are having problem.
Pros
I can talk to the customers and have conversation
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical
Produce Clerk (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB31 October 2017
Safeway isn't what it was. Salary min wage and wage bumps at very small over long periodic intervals. Management is not really your friend in this union environment and the union can't really do much unless there is a clear case of discrimination of sorts. Even contacting the union, management will lower your hours or threaten to do so. Safeway being a competition with more and more supermarkets, it is more cut-throat than ever. I can't recommend Safeway as a career path in good conscience.
Pros
experience?
Cons
low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job, nothing special
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 October 2017
Worked here for a very short time due to the fact that I injured myself on the job. The manager didn't really like me and was writing me up every other week for silly things that had nothing to do with my performance as an employee. When I got hurt using the meat slicer, the manager refused to fill out the worker's comp form honestly and claimed that I was injured at home. I left the position when I realized that I was never going to move up the ranks or payscale here.
Pros
Fun environment, good supervisor, great staff and customers
Cons
Poor management from the higher ups, no opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work place.
Seafood Manager (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC26 October 2017
Make up fresh seafood case.Fill and rotate stock.Fill out orders for fresh and frozen products.Inventory done monthly.Writing up work schedules for employees.Customer service.
Pros
Great benefit package
Cons
Some night shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 October 2017
get there and wait for customers
I learned how to use the cash register like a pro
The hardest part of the job was showing that I could do the job. Ihardest part of the job was trying to please the supervisor as well as the customers. I went to work every schedule. Most enjoyable part wouldve been bagging. The people loved how I did it.
Pros
Good job
Cons
The coworkers are up tight with new people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time
Cake Decorator, Sales & Service, Baker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB20 October 2017
Worked in Bakery, decorating cakes. Many grumpy bakery staff. serving customers is part of the job. learned many bakery jobs and appreciate the experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brooks, AB17 October 2017
Fun place to work, enjoyed my time with them. No way to advance by working hard or being good at your job. Job advancement goes to anyone who started before you.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked 38 hours a week but was refused Full-Time
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Selkirk, MB17 October 2017
I learnt the values of customer service. I loved most of my fellow coworkers, thought the manager was cool until i heard her calling down other employees, the drama between coworkers was ridiculous.
Pros
Lots of Hours
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start
General Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 October 2017
typical day at work when the stock are out.
i learn that time is money
excellent people
its workplace culture
demanding customer that not all things done instant all need process
when the job done and customer happy that what they needs from the store got it and they come back do business with us
Pros
free parking lot
Cons
long standing hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC12 October 2017
Good benefits,good pay good working environment
Union job,good schedule,get good increase in pay
Weekends close early.
Goid dental care, goid eye care benefit
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome managment
Baker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 October 2017
its nice to work with great team and helpfull
my work safeway was good expirience for me
the managment was great
learning new recipes
very friendly environment
Pros
very helpfull team
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depend on manager
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK10 October 2017
I worked two locations of Safeway pharmacy. One location was very chaotic, some people working, some people setting. Another one, everyone knows what means term work, and the manager knows how to work with different characters.
Pros
some staff nice
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 October 2017
Working at Safeway you see all sorts of things, many positive, some not so much. Customer service is a top priority, even when dealing with unruly customers. Good management, some good coworkers, an okay place to work overall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours but poor benefits.
Starbucks Barista (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 October 2017
I found the hours to be very flexible for part-time workers but there was no store discount and the health and dental benefits were not good for part-time workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and easy
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC9 October 2017
job requires you to stand for long hours doing somewhat repetitive work, good for a part time position while in school. pay is good and breaks are well coordinated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady job, but low pay
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Prince Rupert, BC6 October 2017
Lots of multitasking. Deli was often understaffed when I worked there so there is a lot of work to do. If I had the choice I would work as a cashier or stock clerk instead. Same pay but less demanding.
Pros
Unionized
Cons
Low paying
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
blah
Cashier/ Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB6 October 2017
Safeway was not exactly a very good experience, many of the customers were either mean or could not be satisfied, the management was very strict, and only a few coworkers were friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not flexible with school schedule, treated like a number.
Cashier/Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON5 October 2017
Wasn't a huge fan of this place. Management only like each other, and they get upset when you come to them with issues about scheduling. They expect you to put work before school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
definitely a highschooler's job, or people unlucky enough to get trapped in the loop.
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 October 2017
management is constantly rotated for training making it impossible for managers to really know the store, laziness is rampant due to union protection, and generally not a great place to work for long periods of time. If you really need extra money, this would be an alright place to work in the meantime.
Pros
easy work, decent people most of the time
Cons
zero flexabilty, erratic schedule changes with no confirmation, very limited benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy Assistant
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB2 October 2017
Enjoyable Staff with very good scheduling, also able to work around family problems and in general needing time off.
Busy and Clean very efficient in their Work and the way they treat their staff. By far one of my favourite jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Safeway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 8,141 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4