Safeway Employee Reviews

Found 623 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees
Lead Man (Night Crew) (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC6 December 2016
Managers and employees were really fun part there because of their nature and after couple months i started, everyone started to know more about me and same applies for me. i still have really good relations with all managers at safeway
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to many people protected by union.
Grocery clerk (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK11 January 2017
fun environment, but lots of lazy people who are protected by union. most work is done by a small group of people while others are slow to move. Could have been fixed with better managment
Pros
union based raises
Cons
lazy staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for someone in school
Grocery/Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 November 2016
Was a great place to begin in looking how to deal in customer service. This job taught me a lot. Overall a very good job. I would recommend working for Safeway.
Pros
Good learning experience
Cons
Rookies not treated all that well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Fuel Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 December 2016
I really enjoyed the people I worked with. They made each day easy going and fun. The customer service that Safeway provides is phenomenal. I always had regular customers that you eventually got to know personally.
Pros
great staff
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only good if you know someone there
Meat Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 January 2017
management only takes care of management.. if an employee comes with something serious they need to address they brush it off especially if its about there manager. they refuse to see bad in people management staff..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, great pay
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dauphin, MB13 December 2016
Great job to make money for moving plans after high school. The management there worked amazing with my Rugby events, along with my junior rifle club events. Easy going staff that I've known for a long time.
Pros
Good hours, easy going
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days but good coworkers
Bakers Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC30 November 2016
Worked in the back of the bakery doing set up for the next day as well as frying the doughnuts for the day.

Learned how to manage time to get a long list tasks done for the day.

Fellow staff where wonderful to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and makes time fly
Night Stock /Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 January 2017
Working with friendly customers always a bonus
Always keep you productive so time goes by fast
Management can be very hard on staff
Pros
Discount on grocery items, $ .25 raise every March
Cons
Hard to move up in store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC21 December 2016
my typical day working at safeway was ringing the customers order through ad weather they wanted,bags or paper bags or even if they bring their own bag and sometimes the customers wanted their items delieverd
Pros
great staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work, many longterm employees
Senior Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 August 2016
Various shifts available, mine allowed me to head out of the office mid afternoon.
I enjoyed multi-tasking the various claims assigned to me.
I was able to increase my knowledge portfolio to include pharmacy losses and transportation losses.
Pros
Early start to the day
Cons
Short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i wont even shop at safeway now.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB4 January 2017
Horrible. worked 10hrs a week for $11 an hour I could afford to work there spent more money on gas to get there than I was making.
staff were cliquey, the store manager care more about clash of clans more than anything
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A simple job with strict rules
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB17 November 2016
Safeway was a decent place to work, decent pay, decent management, and decent hours. Great for if you're a student and need something with shifts that go till 11pm.
Pros
simple, and easy
Cons
long hours, and boring
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail work, clean and classy, backpain
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 June 2016
Your schedule is ready for about 3 weeks ahead so that was a good point.
Your day starts with your shift, and as a Cashier, after 3 is the busy hours, and after 8 gets quite.

You will work weekends, if you choose not to, it is OK with them but you will not get good hours. So better to say Yes at the beginning then adjust your time in.

Scheduling is a good point of Safeway.

People are nice, as Safeway is expensive store, you dont see weird people come in and go, often,
Pros
Union
Cons
Insurance after 6 months of work
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canada Safeway Ltd.
Cashier/ floral/ bakery (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 July 2016
I enjoyed meeting the public and solving their concerns about day to day purchased and dilemas about products at Safeway. Moverover, I enjoyed the Team work environment established at Safeway and the team I worked with.
Pros
Perks such as gift cards, lunches and verbal feedback.
Cons
The only objection I had with Safeway was the lack of hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the people I worked with
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB26 October 2016
The people I worked with were great. I enjoyed the physical aspect of the job and how fast my shifts would go. I liked that I could book days off when I needed to.
Pros
raises every 500 hours
Cons
not getting enough shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace with SOME hardworking staff who were kind and knowledgable about the job and were very helpful
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC23 June 2016
a typical day at Safeway for me involves assisting costumers find items on the shelves (i memorized where everything is) carrying groceries out to their cars, cleaning bad messes in the store and in the parking-lot, dealing with the occasional thief or drunkard. we had alot of older customers i would walk them out to their cars and help them find there keys. on days when there is alot of backstock or a large orders i would help work the stock to the shelf and then organize the backstock.
Pros
.free lunches when you helped with volunteer work or store promotions.
Cons
drama, small break room, lack of privacy, lazy assistant managers, lack of staff, my food would be stolen from the fridge.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 November 2016
On shift I have to break down the order, then dispatch the order according to aisles where items go. Next, I will stock the items by ensuring a proper rotation.
Good Management
Nice co-workers
safety work culture
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast working environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 September 2016
It was a great first job learning experience for me, ad I'm excited to move forward with another job opportunity. I would recommend this job to anyone who is looking for their first job and need experience.
Pros
Fast paced
Cons
not long lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of opportunity to try
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC25 November 2016
Safe way is always active envirornment

very friendly employ members.

good price, good product , & always fresh goods.

Has a lot of parking spaces and comfortable.
Pros
Active & creating the envirionment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No one really talked to me
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB1 December 2016
I didn't really like working there , some people would talk to me most wouldn't. I stopped getting hours as soon as school started. Some workers are very nice some are not.
Cons
Got no hours cause i didnt work til 11
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,579 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5