Safeway Employee Reviews

Found 783 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was great
Store Auditor (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BC21 July 2017
was good place to work, nice people learnt alot was very educational
The job was an important one,
Our store personnel were very helpful in giving directions that I needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Cashier, Bakery and Floral Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC19 July 2017
Safeway was a fine job, not something I overly enjoyed but not something I strongly disliked. The hours were not great, but if you work there long enough they get better. Would recommend if looking for part-time work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was Ok
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK19 July 2017
Working at Safeway was ok. it was a job that paid the bills for my self. it is a good job for high school students that are looking for a part time job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very quick pace and upbeat people
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Wetaskiwin, AB19 July 2017
Safeway is a good learning place for people just starting out in the job field. They care about their workers and treat everyone fairly,easy going and fun place to work.
Pros
Staff discount on events
Cons
Standing for long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
Cook/Prep (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC17 July 2017
not too hard not super easy either if you are a experienced cook it just takes time to memorize all the recipes necessary. can get very hot if you are not experienced in kitchen work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Safeway stocker (Former Employee) –  Stony Plain, AB17 July 2017
I enjoyed the work there good experience and good staff to work with good benefited plans as well good company to excell with I recommend this place for a lot of young people to get experience and get into work field
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway was in many ways a great place to work
Sevice clerk customer sevice (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC17 July 2017
But Safeway did not pay very well for sevice clerks and to advanced to become a cashier was not easy thing to do.asa sevice clerk I could get 40 hours but a cashier I could only get 20hours and I would of lost all my benifits .so I stayed a sevice clerk .after a long while l left the job so could get a job as a cashier.
Pros
I liked the customers and liked the job
Cons
The pay was very low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The People were reeally nice to work with (except for the asst. managers)
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK16 July 2017
A real good place to work in when I was there but it was short lived for all the wrong reasons and the idiotic behaviour of some "coworkers".The People were reeally nice to work with (except for the asst. managers)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Deli Worker (Former Employee) –  Swift Current, SK14 July 2017
It was a very educational job. I learnt a lot at this job. Very friendly staff. Management was good. Busy work place. Got to be able to work under pessure
Pros
Discounts
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Cutters Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort St John, BC14 July 2017
Nothing to terrible to complain about, minimal room for advancement but decent wages considering the workplace. Laid back environment suited towards students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 July 2017
I enjoyed working here if you get into the right store with the right crew it becomes like a family. I spent most of my life working with this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Canmore, AB11 July 2017
This was a job I worked at right after I finished high school.
Good job to have for a teenager.
Friendly staff.
Union oriented.
Easy to build a work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and funny
Retail Sales (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB mountain11 July 2017
Nice person I like to help and work with anthers I worked at the Safeway and I gained skill so I would like to bring these skill at any job that I will get
Pros
Lunch
Cons
12 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job,Bad full time.
General Clerk (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC10 July 2017
Pay is of course very low and raises are infrequent and negligible. My personal experience has been positive because my schedule has been very easy to move around for school.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Bad Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a respectable and nice place to work
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB9 July 2017
My typical days were packaging medications for customers of our auto fill service. We would often take phone calls to answer questions or look into patients files for medications that needed refills and send faxes to doctors. I would take prescriptions from customers and fill them to their specifications for purposes of billing. I would also package bubble packs for customers that needed help with their individual time needs for multiple medications. I learned a lot for time management skills, customer service and cashiers work.
Pros
sometimes we would get free lunches from the Deli
Cons
Irrate customers in need of meds but did not look after their affairs properly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was nice
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Thompson, MB7 July 2017
even though i didn't work there for too long but i still like the environment and the staff there. nobody ever said anything bad or abusive. everyone was so cool about everything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Wages
General Clerk (Current Employee) –  Prince Rupert, BC4 July 2017
The new collective agreement has horrible wages. After 2 years of full time hours, I was only making $12.20 an hour. It's an industry where customers have no respect for workers, and believe if they throw a temper tantrum, they will receive either free product or a gift certificate. This is based on over 25 years in this Industry. The old contract at least had a living wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job I've ever had
Produce Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 July 2017
Overall, my time at safeway was honestly awful. You work a full 8 hour shift, but it feels more like 12 or 14. They make you pay for your own lunch and their is no dicount. You get paid minimum wage to do what was quite honestly the worst job I've ever had.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment and staff
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 July 2017
The workplace all kind of people. It is a very diverse workplace mixed elderly and youth. It provides experience for the next workplace that anyone wants to work at. Very friendly staff and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work for. Friendly people and good manager.
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon2 July 2017
Working here is really fun. People is friendly, can make friend for life time. Learn more from the job. The culture of the company is perfect. Would like to take more time to work for this company.
Pros
Good benefit
Cons
Working early in the morning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Safeway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 6,882 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4