Safeway Employee Reviews

Found 595 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No one really talked to me
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB1 December 2016
I didn't really like working there , some people would talk to me most wouldn't. I stopped getting hours as soon as school started. Some workers are very nice some are not.
Cons
Got no hours cause i didnt work til 11
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice workplace with co-operative staff
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC30 November 2016
it fun working with the safeway,staff is qute co operating and inetresting thungs to learn everyday .The payscale was also good,i was able to get time off which i requested for. all in all it was good there
Pros
stat pays
Cons
closing shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days but good coworkers
Bakers Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC30 November 2016
Worked in the back of the bakery doing set up for the next day as well as frying the doughnuts for the day.

Learned how to manage time to get a long list tasks done for the day.

Fellow staff where wonderful to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive teamwork
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 November 2016
Very positive work atmosphere and very much like a team. Not enough hours a week. I love hearing different accents and seeing different people from all around the world, cons, some people are very unpleasant and hard to cooperate with.
Pros
coworkers
Cons
working hours too short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chestermere, AB28 November 2016
Great work environment.
Meeting new people everyday.
Regular customers are great.
Clean work environment.
Great hours.
Fun people to work with.
Good Pay.
Pros
Fun people
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working , Nice place to work
PHARMACY TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  REGINA28 November 2016
Enjoyed working
Good staff
Learned a lot of things i.e. Medication filling/stocking/compounding/ordering
Was a great experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my job
Warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 November 2016
Working there was great. I worked at Safeway in the warehouse for over 25 years and retired in 2015, I emptied trailers, lifted pallets, assorted stock. I used a fork lift to move heavy pallets. Maintainted the area for safety reasons. Got as many trailers backed up and emptied as possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of opportunity to try
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC25 November 2016
Safe way is always active envirornment

very friendly employ members.

good price, good product , & always fresh goods.

Has a lot of parking spaces and comfortable.
Pros
Active & creating the envirionment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for someone in school
Grocery/Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 November 2016
Was a great place to begin in looking how to deal in customer service. This job taught me a lot. Overall a very good job. I would recommend working for Safeway.
Pros
Good learning experience
Cons
Rookies not treated all that well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 November 2016
On shift I have to break down the order, then dispatch the order according to aisles where items go. Next, I will stock the items by ensuring a proper rotation.
Good Management
Nice co-workers
safety work culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly enviroment
ASSISTANT PRODUCE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC21 November 2016
I enjoyed working at safeway. I felt welcomed and my superiors continually supported my efforts to push further into the company. Overall if you have a solid work ethic you could build a solid career for yourself here.
Pros
Free lunches and coffee as well as friendly co workers.
Cons
District managers and other reviewers are a pain in some cases.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC21 November 2016
Learned good customer service, friendly coworkers, dealing with new customers everyday,the hardest part was remembering all the codes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A simple job with strict rules
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB17 November 2016
Safeway was a decent place to work, decent pay, decent management, and decent hours. Great for if you're a student and need something with shifts that go till 11pm.
Pros
simple, and easy
Cons
long hours, and boring
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always great staff and memorable customers
Second Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 November 2016
Always kept busy, never a dull moment. Great friendships made and tons of experience. Since the changeover of companies, it was a bit more difficult due to huge changes within. Training was available, but did not always apply to work needs. Over all it is an addicting atmosphere in the management type work. You're always on the go.
Pros
great teamwork
Cons
not a lot of free time outside work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC14 November 2016
I worked as a Deli- Clerk, my job was to prepare lunch meats, make sandwiches or cook food for hot case. We had to feel the case by 9:30 AM and it was more stressful by lunch because we had a large amount of people waiting for food
Pros
closer to home
Cons
always on call
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
freindly
Baker and Decorator (Former Employee) –  British Columbia12 November 2016
wonderful career and great benefits. Friendly people to work with and your wage goes up as to how many hours you work so automatic raises no having to ask for a raise. Union Job and contract is negotiated every 5-10 year. there is a really good medical and dental plan
Pros
good medical if full time
Cons
must be able to work fast in a high stress job
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway
Cashier / Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB12 November 2016
I loved working for Safeway I wish it would have bin full time not part time. the wages were so so . The management was great to work for . Safeway was close to my home.
Pros
good wages
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment.
Full-time Coffee Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 November 2016
After your probationary period (200 hours), you feel secure in your job. Raises are awarded according to hours worked, which add up fast if you are full time or cover shifts frequently.
Department hours are frequently cut. If you are part-time, your hours get cut first and there are not a lot of full-time positions available.If a slacker employee goes past their probation, you are stuck with them until they quit.
Pros
Nice coworkers and benefits.
Cons
Have to get a lot done in little time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at starbucks
Starbucks Barista (Current Employee) –  West Vancouver, BC4 November 2016
A typical day at work for me includes making freshly brewed coffee, specialty drinks and preparing and stocking the snack case for the customers convenience. Making customers smile and happy about their purchase makes me happy that i'm doing a good job at what I do. I also clean and bus tables, stock the condiment area and upsell merchandise.
Pros
Free drinks, samples
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i am out going.love working with others,always happy,and positive,help other in need of any assistance,
Deli Clerk/deli second assitant (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB30 October 2016
typical day,getting things ready for customers,learned how to do managers position,enjoying customers,learning about them,helping co-workers.
Pros
always ahead of myself
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,380 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5