Find companies:
Safeway
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,786 reviews

Safeway Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Assistant Deli Manager (Current Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 18, 2014
Pros: satisfaction helping others
Enjoyed my time working with safeway. The staff were great to get along with; we worked as a team to get jobs done.
As management, I learned alot of organizational and leadership skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced work place
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Kamloops, BCDecember 17, 2014
Pros: medical and dental benefits
Cons: late night closing shifts
I learned a lot about food preparation while working in the Deli. I met a lot of nice customers, I had customers who only wanted myself to serve them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and fun to work there
Cashier (Former Employee), edmontonDecember 15, 2014
Pros: potluck programs and incentives for charity donations and breaks every two hours
Cons: standing in one place for long periods of time
fast paced cashier job with people I enjoyed working with and the managemant was helpful and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 13, 2014
Pros: lunches benefits
Cons: working weekends
Fun place to work, Learned how to work the til and cash out, My co-workers were always helpful and very easy going to work with. The hardest part about working this job was dealing with rude customers that were inpatient. The best part about this job would be seeing happy smiling people come in and make my day the best.having lunch in the lunch room – more... was always a fun moment everyone made everyone feel welcome. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it wa seriouse
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 11, 2014
Safeway deli was very educational. the hardest part was trying to do your job properly but also doing it fast, because we get a lot of customers I had to learn fast on what I should do when left on my own and when with a or coworker. I loved working there, it kept my mind always working hahaha.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Busy place to work
Front End Cashier (Current Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 6, 2014
Cons: not enough hours available
Working as a cashier for Safeway is an excellent position. I have been able to hone my customer service skills, working on the front lines. As we have just updated our register systems, it has given everyone the opportunity to learn new things and to more efficiently assist customers. Management and Co workers are pleasant and friendly. The hardest – more... part of being a cashier is the physicality of the position. You are constantly lifting and moving groceries, and standing for long periods can become difficult. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing returning customers and developing a relationship with them. After a while, you get customers who look for you at the checkstand and are willing to wait for you. Working as a front end cashier is a great way to serve people, and you never have the same day twice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall.,..fun place to work...professionalism lacking in management/employee relations...co-workers generally easy to work with....
Meat Department Clerk/Seafood Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 29, 2014
Pros: overall, good working environment, free lunches, cake on staff birthdays, and holiday meals.
Cons: ...sometimes egos overruled professionalism...
....start the day with temp. checks...bb {best before} date checks...wrap and fill fresh meat counter...fill full service counter...various other duties as required by dept. manager...
....I learned a great deal about different cuts of beef, & pork...a great deal of seafood product knowledge....how to cultivate a superior work ethic...world class customer – more... service...working as a team {most of the time}...
....management {at dept. level} usually helpful...obviously depends on personality variations...easy to work with {not for, with}...upper management too far removed from day-to-day dept. duties...did not liase too well with staff...co-workers were great...all depts....hardest part of the job; dealing with rude, unruly customers... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Usual Day at Work
Deli sales clerk (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBNovember 24, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: not enough hours
Every shift I work is relatively normal with fluctuations of either it being busy or a slow day. Every day though is quite enjoyable whether it's helping customers or bringing food out from cooking it in the back, or even preparing food for the customer. I learn something new nearly every shift I work, and I personally love stocking the food and any – more... supplies need like crates in the back. Moving around is my absolute favourite. My coworkers are always great when it comes to either just asking for help or a question about how to do something, to joking around with and cleaning up when we have a little bit of time. The only difficult part about the job is the very little hours a week (between 9-13 a week). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job to teach you how to work with a team at a efficient pace
cashier/checker (Current Employee), Surrey, British ColumbiaNovember 24, 2014
Pros: inviting work environment
Cons: not enough hours
-Scanning customers groceries along with helping customers with their customer service needs
-how to work as team and please customers even when they are being rather difficult
-they are knowledgeable and extremely professional
-being limited to the same routines over and over; becoming tedious
-the coworkers are extremely friendly and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Hours and Horrible Management
Cake Decorator (Former Employee), Prince Rupert, BCNovember 23, 2014
Cons: bad management, horrible hours, unclean, and rude co workers
*THIS DOES NOT APPLY TO ALL SAFEWAYS*
I worked here for a period of 3 and a half months in the bakery doing cake decorating and made a total of 150.00 dollars. I was told that the position would be part time at the time I was hired and I was completely ok with that, but was not impressed when I was only getting 16 or less hours per week and was being – more... expected to have skills like someone on Cake boss. I worked 2 shifts in the beginning of February and then didn't get any shifts I got a call after about 2 weeks of not working and was told I was going to be trained as a cashier, I went in a week later to talk too the manager as I was instructed too by my bakery manager and was told I had been let go 2 weeks before id gotten the call about the cashier position. Not impressed about being lied too at all – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
General Clerk (Former Employee), Brooks, ABNovember 23, 2014
I was enjoy working at there because I been see a lot of people came and shopping at the store. Especially when I heard and see their smiles or thanks words from them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was my second job in Calgary.
CASHIER (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 19, 2014
I made a lot of friends working at Safeway and also had so many good and bad experiences as well. My customer service skills improved a lot while working at Safeway. Safeway was a good company to work with and I was actually getting paid more there than my current job but it was not my dream job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place I ever worked
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee), Prince Albert, SKNovember 17, 2014
Pros: free sandwiches ansd cookies
Cons: hours not enough
No benefits because no full-time but people were awesome very busy not a lot of down time, The Best Bakery in town Management was amazing :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employee
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), winnipegNovember 2, 2014
It was work place. It was the most enjoyable job. I worked there for 55 hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work & meet new people!
Cashier (Former Employee), Cochrane, ABOctober 29, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: unflexable hours
Worked with some wonderful co workers, loved working with the public. Days flew by so quickly because it was an extremely busy store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front end Cashier
Cashier and Stocking shelves. (Former Employee), Courteany, BCOctober 24, 2014
Enjoyed meeting new people everyday and assisting them with there needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing outstanding customer service while working in a fast-paced environment.
Deli Team Member (Current Employee), Mission, B.C.October 24, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule
A typical day at Safeway would be arriving at work on time with a positive attitude. Every company has customer that are hard to deal with but we always try to make their shopping experience a friendly one. I have learnt how to act responsibly in a crisis and, also, how to interact with customers efficiently. I absolutely love the atmosphere at work. – more... I got an opportunity to work with great managers and staff. I have been honoured to be a part of Safeway's great staff, however, I would like to move on and find a place that would work better for my future career path. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Terrace, BCOctober 21, 2014
Pros: new people
Cons: standing in one spot for a long time
Meeting new people, communication, my coworkers were around but kept distance , hardest part would be standing in one place for hours at a time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff good pay and benefits
meat wrapper (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBOctober 20, 2014
Pros: great medical and dental
Cons: not full time
busy serving customers and doing multi tasks learned cuts of meats and how to cook them management helpful co workers fun and team work like a family hardest part heavy lifting cases of turkeys at holidays love meeting new cutomers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Experience
Volunteer Experience (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBOctober 17, 2014
Pros: nice co-worker
Cons: heavy duty
I don't really work there, I'm only there for work experience but I learned so many things about that job like I learned how to communicate with customers and how to stock a products in the backroom

1 2 3 4 5

About Safeway

Safeway Inc. (NYSE: SWY), a Fortune 500 company, is North America's second largest supermarket chain after Kroger Co., with, as – Read more