Safeway Employee Reviews

Found 601 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with lots of friendly people.
Cashier/Stocker (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK9 December 2016
I just want to start work i believe i am ready to go back to school and work and provide my future family some sort of life. I would like to start immediately.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 December 2016
Safeway was a fun place to work, but they only Scheduled everybody once a week. I made lots of friends and dealt with some grumpy people, thus expanding my customer service.
Cons
One shift a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
safeway gasbar attendent (Current Employee) –  Dawson Creek, BC7 December 2016
I learned a lot from Safeway. It was a different experience working in Gasbar. Learned about fuel and many new things.It was completely different from the restaurant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees
Lead Man (Night Crew) (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC6 December 2016
Managers and employees were really fun part there because of their nature and after couple months i started, everyone started to know more about me and same applies for me. i still have really good relations with all managers at safeway
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced, great co-workers
Full time Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Duncan, BC6 December 2016
One of the best things I liked about working at Safeway was my coworkers. They were friendly, helpful, and team players. I enjoyed the 10 months I worked for them. It taught me so much and gave me a strong work ethic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 December 2016
One of the best jobs I had, the people and environment was awesome, the money and hours weren't bad at all in the beginning. Each month, my hours go shorter and shorter, and my manager didn't seem to care at all that I was having a hard time paying rent and living in general. my advice would to apply for full time, unless you live with your parents and don't mind working 4 hours a week.
Pros
Fun people
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No one really talked to me
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB1 December 2016
I didn't really like working there , some people would talk to me most wouldn't. I stopped getting hours as soon as school started. Some workers are very nice some are not.
Cons
Got no hours cause i didnt work til 11
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice workplace with co-operative staff
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC30 November 2016
it fun working with the safeway,staff is qute co operating and inetresting thungs to learn everyday .The payscale was also good,i was able to get time off which i requested for. all in all it was good there
Pros
stat pays
Cons
closing shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days but good coworkers
Bakers Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC30 November 2016
Worked in the back of the bakery doing set up for the next day as well as frying the doughnuts for the day.

Learned how to manage time to get a long list tasks done for the day.

Fellow staff where wonderful to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive teamwork
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 November 2016
Very positive work atmosphere and very much like a team. Not enough hours a week. I love hearing different accents and seeing different people from all around the world, cons, some people are very unpleasant and hard to cooperate with.
Pros
coworkers
Cons
working hours too short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chestermere, AB28 November 2016
Great work environment.
Meeting new people everyday.
Regular customers are great.
Clean work environment.
Great hours.
Fun people to work with.
Good Pay.
Pros
Fun people
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working , Nice place to work
PHARMACY TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  REGINA28 November 2016
Enjoyed working
Good staff
Learned a lot of things i.e. Medication filling/stocking/compounding/ordering
Was a great experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my job
Warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 November 2016
Working there was great. I worked at Safeway in the warehouse for over 25 years and retired in 2015, I emptied trailers, lifted pallets, assorted stock. I used a fork lift to move heavy pallets. Maintainted the area for safety reasons. Got as many trailers backed up and emptied as possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of opportunity to try
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC25 November 2016
Safe way is always active envirornment

very friendly employ members.

good price, good product , & always fresh goods.

Has a lot of parking spaces and comfortable.
Pros
Active & creating the envirionment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for someone in school
Grocery/Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 November 2016
Was a great place to begin in looking how to deal in customer service. This job taught me a lot. Overall a very good job. I would recommend working for Safeway.
Pros
Good learning experience
Cons
Rookies not treated all that well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 November 2016
On shift I have to break down the order, then dispatch the order according to aisles where items go. Next, I will stock the items by ensuring a proper rotation.
Good Management
Nice co-workers
safety work culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly enviroment
ASSISTANT PRODUCE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC21 November 2016
I enjoyed working at safeway. I felt welcomed and my superiors continually supported my efforts to push further into the company. Overall if you have a solid work ethic you could build a solid career for yourself here.
Pros
Free lunches and coffee as well as friendly co workers.
Cons
District managers and other reviewers are a pain in some cases.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC21 November 2016
Learned good customer service, friendly coworkers, dealing with new customers everyday,the hardest part was remembering all the codes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A simple job with strict rules
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB17 November 2016
Safeway was a decent place to work, decent pay, decent management, and decent hours. Great for if you're a student and need something with shifts that go till 11pm.
Pros
simple, and easy
Cons
long hours, and boring
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always great staff and memorable customers
Second Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 November 2016
Always kept busy, never a dull moment. Great friendships made and tons of experience. Since the changeover of companies, it was a bit more difficult due to huge changes within. Training was available, but did not always apply to work needs. Over all it is an addicting atmosphere in the management type work. You're always on the go.
Pros
great teamwork
Cons
not a lot of free time outside work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,401 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5