Find companies:
Safeway
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,707 reviews

Safeway Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Usual Day at Work
Deli sales clerk (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBNovember 24, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: not enough hours
Every shift I work is relatively normal with fluctuations of either it being busy or a slow day. Every day though is quite enjoyable whether it's helping customers or bringing food out from cooking it in the back, or even preparing food for the customer. I learn something new nearly every shift I work, and I personally love stocking the food and any – more... supplies need like crates in the back. Moving around is my absolute favourite. My coworkers are always great when it comes to either just asking for help or a question about how to do something, to joking around with and cleaning up when we have a little bit of time. The only difficult part about the job is the very little hours a week (between 9-13 a week). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job to teach you how to work with a team at a efficient pace
cashier/checker (Current Employee), Surrey, British ColumbiaNovember 24, 2014
Pros: inviting work environment
Cons: not enough hours
-Scanning customers groceries along with helping customers with their customer service needs
-how to work as team and please customers even when they are being rather difficult
-they are knowledgeable and extremely professional
-being limited to the same routines over and over; becoming tedious
-the coworkers are extremely friendly and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Hours and Horrible Management
Cake Decorator (Former Employee), Prince Rupert, BCNovember 23, 2014
Cons: bad management, horrible hours, unclean, and rude co workers
*THIS DOES NOT APPLY TO ALL SAFEWAYS*
I worked here for a period of 3 and a half months in the bakery doing cake decorating and made a total of 150.00 dollars. I was told that the position would be part time at the time I was hired and I was completely ok with that, but was not impressed when I was only getting 16 or less hours per week and was being – more... expected to have skills like someone on Cake boss. I worked 2 shifts in the beginning of February and then didn't get any shifts I got a call after about 2 weeks of not working and was told I was going to be trained as a cashier, I went in a week later to talk too the manager as I was instructed too by my bakery manager and was told I had been let go 2 weeks before id gotten the call about the cashier position. Not impressed about being lied too at all – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
General Clerk (Former Employee), Brooks, ABNovember 23, 2014
I was enjoy working at there because I been see a lot of people came and shopping at the store. Especially when I heard and see their smiles or thanks words from them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was my second job in Calgary.
CASHIER (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 19, 2014
I made a lot of friends working at Safeway and also had so many good and bad experiences as well. My customer service skills improved a lot while working at Safeway. Safeway was a good company to work with and I was actually getting paid more there than my current job but it was not my dream job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place I ever worked
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee), Prince Albert, SKNovember 17, 2014
Pros: free sandwiches ansd cookies
Cons: hours not enough
No benefits because no full-time but people were awesome very busy not a lot of down time, The Best Bakery in town Management was amazing :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employee
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), winnipegNovember 2, 2014
It was work place. It was the most enjoyable job. I worked there for 55 hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work & meet new people!
Cashier (Former Employee), Cochrane, ABOctober 29, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: unflexable hours
Worked with some wonderful co workers, loved working with the public. Days flew by so quickly because it was an extremely busy store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front end Cashier
Cashier and Stocking shelves. (Former Employee), Courteany, BCOctober 24, 2014
Enjoyed meeting new people everyday and assisting them with there needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing outstanding customer service while working in a fast-paced environment.
Deli Team Member (Current Employee), Mission, B.C.October 24, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule
A typical day at Safeway would be arriving at work on time with a positive attitude. Every company has customer that are hard to deal with but we always try to make their shopping experience a friendly one. I have learnt how to act responsibly in a crisis and, also, how to interact with customers efficiently. I absolutely love the atmosphere at work. – more... I got an opportunity to work with great managers and staff. I have been honoured to be a part of Safeway's great staff, however, I would like to move on and find a place that would work better for my future career path. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Terrace, BCOctober 21, 2014
Pros: new people
Cons: standing in one spot for a long time
Meeting new people, communication, my coworkers were around but kept distance , hardest part would be standing in one place for hours at a time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff good pay and benefits
meat wrapper (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBOctober 20, 2014
Pros: great medical and dental
Cons: not full time
busy serving customers and doing multi tasks learned cuts of meats and how to cook them management helpful co workers fun and team work like a family hardest part heavy lifting cases of turkeys at holidays love meeting new cutomers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Experience
Volunteer Experience (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBOctober 17, 2014
Pros: nice co-worker
Cons: heavy duty
I don't really work there, I'm only there for work experience but I learned so many things about that job like I learned how to communicate with customers and how to stock a products in the backroom
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers
Top Senior- B Cashier (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 16, 2014
Cowokers and mgt at Safeway were excellent. Cashier work Safeway was fun and hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Cashier/in store recruiter (Current Employee), Red Deer, ABOctober 13, 2014
Serving customers in a friendly manner. I also did the hiring for the store, was also a mentor to new employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway
Cashier (Current Employee), AbbotsfordOctober 10, 2014
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: call in shifts
Management at Safeway is great along with the co-workers. The hardest part of the job would be dealing with the busy days and mad customers, but the bright side of that is you always have your co-workers to support you in every way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fort and Foul bay Safeway
Customer Service - Courtesy (Former Employee), Victoria, BCOctober 9, 2014
A day working at Safeway was very full filling! Working at Safeway, I learned people skills, of what people are all about to an an extreme, what they look for in a shopping experience. What customers like and don't like while shopping.
The management there was very calm and would try their best to help me do a better job each day! My co - workers were – more... a great team to encourage my self esteem while on the job.
I would have to say , the hardest part was on slow days, as I would try to keep myself busy and not look as if i were walking around doing nothing, always kept on looking though! The best part of the job was knowing I gave a good day worth of work while it lasted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady, repetitive work. Co-workers are great
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBOctober 6, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, good co-workers, friendly environment, good work
Cons: hour cuts, the odd grumpy customer
A typical day at work is pretty basic, serve customers, cut meat, make bulk salads, work on production, face shelves, etc..
Customers are generally well mannered and in good spirits, you get the odd grumpy and disgruntled customers, but for the most part you have more pleasant and happy then the unhappy.
I have learned a great number of things while – more... I have been working in the deli. I have learned a lot on making tray orders and other bulk foods and how to present them in a pleasant and appealing manner. My skills with customers and co-workers have improved significantly and it continues to grow.
I do admit there have been a good number of days where it has not been the easiest to keep a smile on my face but, never to my knowledge, have I ever made a customer feel as though they were unwanted.
My boss is fair and easy to talk to about any issues I might have with my shifts or if I have any questions about what I would be working on.
I would have to say my co-workers are the best part of my job. They are all friendly and fun to work with.
I would say that there aren't really any difficult parts of my job. There are a few things that I have issues with, but those wouldn't have anything to do with work.
The most enjoyable part of my job is that whenever I get a customer that has a problem, or they cant find something that they are look for, and I am able to help them or make a solution and they leave happy. I find great pride when that happens! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway
Clerk (Former Employee), Dawson Creek, BCSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: carts
Cons: too many thing to, sometime little time
I management well, I have to trained new workers and open/close the doors. My typical day at work, is the focus of work, I clock in, I did what they asked me which was, putting item back on the self, if a person ask where "cheese was?" I would say "In the dairy self." Other jobs were including going outside, getting carts from their racks and do it – more... quickly as possible. The hardest part was, training new worker because I'm not very social person, so the term of talking, I had trouble but I like working as a team when I needed to. My co-worker, always knew I would help or I would say "I will be back, I just need to do this first." The most enjoyed part was closing, because I had time to put stuff away, clean the check-out stands, the night were cooler, and seeing night owls. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have to be quick paced
Deli Production Clerk (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: always busy
Cons: not enough staff on at all times
A typical day at work involves cleaning work area hourly.
Preparing and serving sandwiches and salads. Using varies machines.

Management was very nice at all times. Co-workers were always more than cooperative and always helping one another out.

1 2 3 4 5

About Safeway

Safeway Inc. (NYSE: SWY), a Fortune 500 company, is North America's second largest supermarket chain after Kroger Co., with, as – Read more