Safeway Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brooks, AB17 October 2017
Fun place to work, enjoyed my time with them. No way to advance by working hard or being good at your job. Job advancement goes to anyone who started before you.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked 38 hours a week but was refused Full-Time
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Selkirk, MB17 October 2017
I learnt the values of customer service. I loved most of my fellow coworkers, thought the manager was cool until i heard her calling down other employees, the drama between coworkers was ridiculous.
Pros
Lots of Hours
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start
General Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 October 2017
typical day at work when the stock are out.
i learn that time is money
excellent people
its workplace culture
demanding customer that not all things done instant all need process
when the job done and customer happy that what they needs from the store got it and they come back do business with us
Pros
free parking lot
Cons
long standing hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC12 October 2017
Good benefits,good pay good working environment
Union job,good schedule,get good increase in pay
Weekends close early.
Goid dental care, goid eye care benefit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome managment
Baker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 October 2017
its nice to work with great team and helpfull
my work safeway was good expirience for me
the managment was great
learning new recipes
very friendly environment
Pros
very helpfull team
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depend on manager
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK10 October 2017
I worked two locations of Safeway pharmacy. One location was very chaotic, some people working, some people setting. Another one, everyone knows what means term work, and the manager knows how to work with different characters.
Pros
some staff nice
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 October 2017
Working at Safeway you see all sorts of things, many positive, some not so much. Customer service is a top priority, even when dealing with unruly customers. Good management, some good coworkers, an okay place to work overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours but poor benefits.
Starbucks Barista (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 October 2017
I found the hours to be very flexible for part-time workers but there was no store discount and the health and dental benefits were not good for part-time workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and easy
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC9 October 2017
job requires you to stand for long hours doing somewhat repetitive work, good for a part time position while in school. pay is good and breaks are well coordinated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travail agréable
Valet (contrat) (Current Employee) –  montreal centre-ville7 October 2017
etre rapide et prudent, accueilir les clients avec respect.
Pros
stationnement gratuit
Cons
aucune assurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady job, but low pay
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Prince Rupert, BC6 October 2017
Lots of multitasking. Deli was often understaffed when I worked there so there is a lot of work to do. If I had the choice I would work as a cashier or stock clerk instead. Same pay but less demanding.
Pros
Unionized
Cons
Low paying
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
blah
Cashier/ Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB6 October 2017
Safeway was not exactly a very good experience, many of the customers were either mean or could not be satisfied, the management was very strict, and only a few coworkers were friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not flexible with school schedule, treated like a number.
Cashier/Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON5 October 2017
Wasn't a huge fan of this place. Management only like each other, and they get upset when you come to them with issues about scheduling. They expect you to put work before school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
definitely a highschooler's job, or people unlucky enough to get trapped in the loop.
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 October 2017
management is constantly rotated for training making it impossible for managers to really know the store, laziness is rampant due to union protection, and generally not a great place to work for long periods of time. If you really need extra money, this would be an alright place to work in the meantime.
Pros
easy work, decent people most of the time
Cons
zero flexabilty, erratic schedule changes with no confirmation, very limited benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy Assistant
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB2 October 2017
Enjoyable Staff with very good scheduling, also able to work around family problems and in general needing time off.
Busy and Clean very efficient in their Work and the way they treat their staff. By far one of my favourite jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and professional
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  South Surrey, BC30 September 2017
Schedules are made far in advance so you do not have to worry about not having your schedule. The co-workers are very friendly and kind. There is regular staff working their shifts so you only get to work the shifts they do not work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the benefits for union
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK29 September 2017
Safeway is a very good starter job because you don't need experience. I went in person and gave my resume and about two weeks later i got a call for an interview. Got hired on the spot. I liked about 90% of staff that was my favourite thing about the job. I hated customers because they always claimed on how their groceries were packed. Breaks were usually on time and it was a friendly environment to work.
Pros
They were pretty good with you taking sick time or booking days off. Never had a problem with that.
Cons
Unhappy customers and hated some of the supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB27 September 2017
i learned how to cut meats , make different types of salads, sandwiches that I've never heard of or made before so that was interesting to learn new foods
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 September 2017
was good used to get lot of customers before they had the supercenter so shifts flied by quick pending on location great customers never have to think about work once your shift ends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work is easy once you get into the groove.
PRODUCE CLERK (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 September 2017
Safeway is an alright place to work if you enjoy the freedom of choosing when your breaks are and they offer a decent work life balance as long as you provide adequate notice.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Safeway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 7,573 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4