Safeway Employee Reviews

Found 677 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
GENERAL CLERK (Current Employee) –  Cochrane, AB23 March 2017
I have been recently hired at Safeway after applying for customer service positions, as that is my specialty.

It is a great work environment and the people are kind, knowledgeable and just over good people to work with.

I look forward to growing with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people bad hours
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB23 March 2017
I like my co-workers and work well with them in my department and in others. I would like for the hours to be more consistent but they are flexible in that they will let you take time off easily.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 March 2017
Work typically went by quit fast with how busy it usually got, i learned more communication skills and more costumer service. The overall management we're extremely friendly. The harest job was trying to move fast during busy hours but it usually was more fun. I really enjoyed and loved the people working and new knowledge.
Pros
great break times
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple, but reliable
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 March 2017
It's not the most exciting job in the world, and the unions take a little too much off of your salary, but a pretty easy job for minimum wage pay. We had a break every 2-3 hours and had the ability to book days off 2 weeks in advance.
Pros
Works well with students (getting time off)
Cons
Boring as it comes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun coworkers
Customer service (Current Employee) –  McBride, BC20 March 2017
Your typical grocery store. Fun coworkers. Engaging managers, very understanding. Very flexible hours. No employee discounts, which sucks. Very clean environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and good team
customer service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 March 2017
when i worked there i had fun and good hours good team players and i would work there again and i think they should not lay people off for no reason and keep good workers like me
Pros
lunch brakes and smokes brakes
Cons
long hours but bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC18 March 2017
typical day at work is being a cashier and helping out customers with finding product and through the cash, management is the best in the store they help you out with anything, the most enjoyable part is working with my employees and getting through everything together
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Early mornings, long hours and fast paced work.
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 March 2017
Working in stock and cake decorating, Bread slicing in the morning, packaging and putting out fresh stock with first in first out rotation.
Pulling and distressing items, taking orders and preparing them. Leaving notes of future orders to be completed, organization is a must! Independent and a team player!
Pros
Staff. scheduled breaks
Cons
Early mornings!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, depending on the store.
Customer Service/Stock (Former Employee) –  British Columbia17 March 2017
Its a grocery store, definitely the best out of all the grocery stores. Good pay, good management depending on the store. Hard to book time off, same with moving up within the company.
Pros
Free lunches every so often
Cons
Booking time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job. good people.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dawson Creek, BC16 March 2017
it was good, i loved working in the deli. until i got a reaction to the gloves. (allergic to latex) and they wouldn't supply different ones. the boss was a little rude as well...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gret environment.
Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 March 2017
Great place to work, nice atmosphere and co-workers. First time in a meat department and learning lots,enjoy serving customers and answering questions.
Pros
Good breaks. Short commute, close to home.
Cons
Could use more hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at safeway
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BC15 March 2017
A typical day at work is to make sure all the customers are happy, make sure the tills are clean, clean everything, make sure everyone takes their breaks
Pros
benefits
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC14 March 2017
I learnt new things and how much people do buy for food and that the flexibility for hours and shifts is awesome. You learn all different types of codes for food and different cigarette brands
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway is a good company to work for as long as you are fulltime and have seniority.
Variety operator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 March 2017
Have worked for Safeway for 9 years and since sobeys has taken over here is no recognition for loyalty as well as they no longer have the same family feel they used to. They are more concerned with the finances now and expect the most amount of work done on the least hours they can manage without driving the departments into the ground.
Pros
After 32 hours consecutively receive benefits
Cons
Lack of help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good grocery store
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB12 March 2017
Most of the women working at the local safeway are older so as a teen it wasn't a very social job however it is often busy which helps the shift go by
Pros
good hours
Cons
older staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Other stores are better managed
2nd Lead Hand (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 March 2017
Night crew now does the bulk of the heavy lifting.
I learned
task management, team management, time management, management communications
proper heavy lifting
conflict resolution
Pros
lifting
Cons
in competencies in the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked in the deli
barista (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC6 March 2017
Working in deli requires a lot of patience, and being able to handle meats. Safeway benefits were amazing, and although I found it difficult to meet people there was a lot of job security. The management really depends, I've had micromanaging in how to cut a sandwich in half to another who allowed me to work on different areas as needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much gossip and cut throat
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Manitoba5 March 2017
Toxic environment. Job was okay but seemed like you always watched your back with who you talked to. Managment was awful as well as hr. Glad I left after 6 years; best decision I ever made.
Cons
Back stabbing, poor management, and on and on.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job and easy tasks.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Castlegar, BC2 March 2017
I enjoyed some of the people I worked with, but it was mainly run off seniority (who was hired first) and that was mainly how they ran. It was hard to get days off and they did not really accommodate for sports or other events and left you trying to find someone to take your shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life in the Deli Department
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON28 February 2017
- Hours get cut often ( I once went two weeks without getting even a 4-hour shift)
- Working a 6:00- 11:15 pm shift as a student can be very hard on you, I do not recommend.
- You will constantly smell of meat.
- Management shows little respect for part-time workers.
- You'll make a lot of friends and interesting people.
- Great selection of food to eat at your 15min coffee break (also Starbucks).
- Especially in the deli department, the working conditions are disgusting.
- You get most holidays off (Christmas Day, Boxing Day, Family Day, etc.) or get paid timeX2 for it.
- (personal opinion) the uniforms are so uncomfortable and ugly.
- Everyone is constantly in a rush so it can be a very stressful environment.
- They'll hire just about anyone, so if this is your first job I would definitely recommend it to get some work experience.
- You have a lot of responsibilities.
Pros
Extra pay for holidays, great first job
Cons
Bad overall environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Safeway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 6,020 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5
66%

CEO Approval

Based on 1,350 ratings
Add your rating