Safeway Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intense environment
Deli Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC17 September 2017
- 8 hour shifts
-always something to do no standing around
-learned good management skills
-hardest part was trying to please everyone
-enjoyed seeing happy costumers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place where you can grow
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 September 2017
Nice and friendly staff to work with it..
Very fast Pace environment.
Part time and full time benefits are great..
Management in safeway is great they know what they want.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible work environment.
Bakery Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 September 2017
They don't train their employees properly. They expected me to do the work of three different people. I was promised a promotion that was never given. The hours were not good and I only got full time hours when their were on holidays. No benefits. I was treated poorly and still in one year didn't miss a shift. I had no choice for my own mental health too leave there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
complete disaster!
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC11 September 2017
Horrible experience! Worst job ever! Slaved away...over worked and under appreciated big time! Almost everyone else who worked around me seemed depressed because they are stuck in that job. Old equipment shoots bread crumbs out in my face, no utensils to scoop berry filler in to donuts, no utensils to move hot deep fried donuts from pan to pan. I doubt they would pass a health inspection..all the things going on there. Ridiculous! I got injured and they refused to acknowledge it and help me out with payment and physio costs. It was a complete disaster!
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was my first full time job, but not what I expected to do for the rest of my life.
Retail Food Clerk (Former Employee) –  Thompson, MB9 September 2017
If you worked a week at Safeway, it seemed like you worked there forever. Very repititious. Was not geared for advancement if you thought for yourself.
Pros
Not much.
Cons
Everybody seemed to work only for themselves, not helping other department to be the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starting job for High School Students
General Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB8 September 2017
It's a good first job while your in High School, but i wouldn't make a career out of it. I've learned a lot of helpful skills and valuable knowledge about the grocery store industry
Pros
they are understanding of students, and believe school comes frist and don't force you into ridculous schedules
Cons
Pay is not worth the amount of work you do, espically if you have a lot of skills, but no pay raise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier and Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Neepawa, MB8 September 2017
the most enjoyable part of my job is just having fun while you were working. All superiors are supportive with everyone else. Good benefits. but I wish full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice people and easy work
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Stony Plain, AB7 September 2017
Nice people. It's a lot of work but I always get it done. I love making salads, fruit and veggie trays. I've gotten lots of positive feedback from customers.
Pros
Free donuts in lunch room
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway deli has a quick pace environment
Deli Emloyee (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC7 September 2017
Safeway Deli offers staff a busy workplace environment and develops customer service skills. You will learn quickly how to handle various situations and how to think quick on your feet.
Pros
fast pace
Cons
stressful environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked the job, hated the pay
Produce Clerk (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC5 September 2017
I worked in the produce department, so experiences may vary.
I enjoyed the people I worked with, made the days go smoothly and we were very productive.
Just my main gripe with the place is the pay, there is no performance bonus or any significant pay bumps. In the union booklet, available publicly, you get a raise every 520 hours of work.... a 10 cent raise. I calculated if you worked FT 40 hours a week it would take close to 3 months to get the 10 cent raise, so it would take years to earn any liveable income, unless you live with your parents with no rent or something.
Because of this I honestly had to find other work as I couldn't make enough to pay rent and bills working 40 hours almost every week.

Just know going into this job, you get no bump from previous experience, everyone starts the same.

This turned into a rant, sorry about that... It just really irritates me.
Pros
Nice people to work with.
Cons
The pay raise system is a slap to the face.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Safeway?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So many great workers, so much fun.
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Powell River, BC3 September 2017
Safeway is a great place to work to either start out or lead into retirement.

The co-workers are great, its so fun to work there.

Wage is not the greatest when I have bills and everything to pay, I try to manage though.

Management is not the greatest either.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway
Assistant Meat Manager (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB2 September 2017
Here at Safeway they a struggling to keep a float and keep the doors open. They cut back on the wrong areas of the store and to the serves to the customer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning retail learning experience
Checker (Former Employee) –  British Columbia1 September 2017
A typical day at work depending on the day would consist of greeting customers, cleaning the work area and dealing with transactions. Workplace culture is always friendly, and the most enjoyable part of the job would be the interesting types of people I'd meet on a daily basis. The hardest part of the job is remembering all of the codes but with time and practice, it became second nature.
Pros
unionized and good benefits
Cons
the hours can be pretty long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drama drama drama
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB1 September 2017
when i worked at safeway it was all just drama
Management depending on store: terrible
hardest part: keeping your SANITY
what i learned at safeway is that you really need to cover your butt
the most enjoyable part: the employees that you have around you
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
terrible planning when came to schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB29 August 2017
This is an average place to work with average management and average staff making for an average work experience. Hours vary from week to week due to the part time nature of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work
Cashier/payroll/scheduler (Current Employee) –  Vernon, BC28 August 2017
Good place to work, great coworkers. Unfortunatly low pay and minimal chance of advancement. I have worked there 4 years and have not advanced much the people who have been there 20 plus years have more seniority
Pros
Good co workers
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly inviroment
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Dawson Creek, BC28 August 2017
I didn't work there long and other than management, People were pretty friendly. I know that management has a lot on their plate and it can be stressful at times, so they weren't that horrible. just not as friendly as everyone else was
Pros
discounts
Cons
no real training, I was just told what to do and expected to know how.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Deli Clerk and Production (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC27 August 2017
super busy and have many tasks to do with little time, hours are flexible can request time off whenever. i learned how to work in a food workplace with many different equipemtns, such as an oven, hot case, big dishwashers, deep fryers, and steamers
Pros
very flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Customer Service Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 August 2017
I cash handled and balanced cash till. Scanned groceries.
greeted customers with enthusiasm and prompt service.
I truly enjoyed management in this company and the culture was always friendly and always smiling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good qulity of customer service and products
Customer service assistant and cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 August 2017
It is always busy, I learn new things almost every day.The management is supportive and solving the problem right away.The work environment safe.

The hardest part of the job is knowing all the product.

The most enjoyable part of the job is I always meet a new people and the team work.
Pros
learning new things
Cons
standing long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Safeway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 7,352 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

66%
2,290 ratings
Add your rating