Safeway Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The deli is horrible do not work there
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC19 January 2018
Terrible disgusting work, rude aggressive, abusive managers. Long unpredictable hours, unmotivated, unhelpful co-workers. Break room is nice but no reason to work there at all.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was physically demanding but rewarding
Baker/Baker's assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 January 2018
The job in itself was a wonderful job. Working with others and working with the public is a very rewarding job. Unfortunately, this company has issues with being fair to everyone.
Pros
rewarding, good benefits
Cons
unfair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Courtesy clerk, Cashier Produce (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB19 January 2018
Safeway I've always liked as their perishable departments are usually very good especially their meat department. Their house brands are all very good in quality and selection but Safeway tends to be higher in price. They usually run pretty good ads. I have moved where the nearest Safeway is 30 miles away and I miss Safeway. When I have to go that way near the Safeway, I always stop by as I still have my old Club card!
Pros
lunch and breaks
Cons
customer service not good for customer care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
PHARMACIST INTERNSHIP (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 January 2018
Very balanced day at pharmacy
Work load is high but enough manpower
many clinical services performed, great place for beginner or intern
small place but many clients
Pros
get half hr break, steady hours, balanced work flow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail grocery sales/ management
Various Department Manager Positions (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 January 2018
Great company to work for. Most innovative, well managed, good working conditions, good wages. Well provided training, work tools, & necessary requirements provided to do the job, well
Pros
Great training, As far as I am concerned, The best retail grocery outlet in canada, Today
Cons
Too much, Do as I say, Not as I do attitude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 January 2018
I stock different commodities in the grocery store shelves. Clean the area.work in midnight shift. There is a union. The company management is ok. The union benifits are ok.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a suitable part time job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB12 January 2018
It is a great place to work as a student or for your first job. Typical minimum wage experience with a few added perks. Not perfect by any means but they do their best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stock flower and water plants And help customers
Floral Assistant (Former Employee) –  Southland11 January 2018
I like working with flowers and stockings plants and help customers And be the best work I can be and learn new things and to help others employee out
Pros
Hard work
Cons
16 to 20
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
deli clerk
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Terrace, BC10 January 2018
cut and made food early days and days off, worked in a slow environment most part had experience in handling knifes and cutting utensils. I enjoyed it..
Pros
Half off food
Cons
no coment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK9 January 2018
Good workplace for everyone. Everyone is smiling and friendly. Managment helps everyone learn everything. I would highly recommend this place for working and shopping.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back workplace, great co workers and employees, bad management.
Meat/Seafood Department (Current Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC7 January 2018
Working at Safeway was not exactly enjoyable. I worked in the meat department serving customers, preparing different meals, and cleaning the several machines and flooring. My coworkers were very nice but the management was not very good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work there just not enough hours
Bakery, front end sales clerk (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB5 January 2018
It was ok to work there're just not enough hours, I worked in the bakery, I really enjoyed it. If I would have had gotten more hours I would have stayed.
Pros
Got to meet people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway was good for the most part
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 January 2018
first job in a grocery store, felt very welcome and overall good morale,but when new management takes over,things tend to change and newer management did not care if they got rid of long time workers just get new workers in to pay them low wages,was not impressed with the company after awhile.
Pros
had a good wage at the end of the job
Cons
long hours with not alot of help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 January 2018
This was a great job i loved working here the staff was totally amazing the hours were great pay was wonderful , but as it turn life needed a change so i left this job but i would totally tell anyone to apply to work for safeway because they are a great place to work and they pay weekly which was nice so you always had money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fellow employees were awesome but management lacked routine and organization
Deli worker (Former Employee) –  Powell River, BC4 January 2018
At safeway, some days were definitely better than others. Shifts with people who made the job fun but were still organized and focussed made the time go by quicker. Some staff were very strict and a lot of the time for no good reason so that sometimes made going to work stressful and dreadful. Overall, being employed there was not that bad and i appreciate the managers and fellow employees who helped me learn so much.
Pros
the friendly staff
Cons
no employee discounts in the store
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gas bar attendent
Cashier/Inventory Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 January 2018
I worked in the gas bar, and it was an okay job. I left for it got a bit repetitious and I needed another experience. I worked with some great people, yet wanted more variety
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safeway
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 January 2018
loved this job.
great team.
enjoyed my staff members.
union ran.
great customers.
flexable shifts.
all around great place to work.
on the job training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean lunch room and have our own locker
Part-time Front-End Associate (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 January 2018
great place to work with..friendly and courteous co workers.
excellent managers,very supportive and appreciative.
accessible and safe work area.
they are giving good pay.
Pros
free food during special occasions
Cons
few hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad energy when i left
Cashier /Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 December 2017
it was a fun place to work until Sobey's took over and then everything kinda went down hill after that. I didn't feel like I was valued as an employee anymore. We used to have an employee discount. But they took that away as soon as they took away the loyalty program. that was just the first of many things that Sobey's changes. I ended up with really really bad anxiety about working and. the best part of the job was the people i met when i was there. the hardest part was also the people i met when i was there. the managment never seemed to care about employee moral. and when things were brought to their attention nothing was done with the complaints.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you can get the hours.
Courtesy Clerk (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg Manitoba29 December 2017
The work I did was hard to do.I was always the closing clerk and had to empty the garbages and they were heavy.why do you care?Can you make my job easier?
Pros
Helpful, friendly staff
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Safeway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 8,180 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4