Find companies:
Safety-Kleen
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
104 reviews

Safety-Kleen Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work at a productive company
Chemical Operator (Current Employee), Dolton, ILDecember 8, 2014
Pros: overtime, steady work, reliable work, good team members
Cons: no retirement, slow advancement, pay raises discontinued through out company
Safety Kleen recycles chemicals and solvents for outside companies. There is great team work during shift change and daily operations which makes for a good work day. Trying to handle multiple tasks due to company wide downsizing has become a very trying challenge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Environment
Relief Driver/Warehouseman/FLT (Current Employee), ElmswellOctober 6, 2014
I enjoy the fact that no day is the same, and am saddened that my position is now at risk of redundancy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with many hardworking and dedicated professionals
Material Handler (Former Employee), MissouriOctober 5, 2014
Managed multiple hazardous waste facilities with full responsibility for all drivers and their trucks. Loaded and unloaded route trucks and semi trailers daily. Worked seven days a week including daily inspections of waste containment and warehouse inventory in compliance with federal law.
Lots of fun people to work with and everyone knows how to relax – more... and have a good time outside of work.
Management was always there to support and help in any way they could. We all worked as a team and that's what I liked most about this company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place
VSSR and OSSR (Former Employee), Bismarck, NDSeptember 30, 2014
I relocated to a different office within the same region. First off.. I love driving and talking with customers.. Perfect dream job. During the time I was there the turnover for route sales was very high.. I drove lots of miles covering other regions.. Exhausting and covering my normal customers at the same time. I started my days at 4 or 5 am just – more... so I could see my family.. The benefits are awesome and management for the most of the time really worked with the employee's. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Important Environment issues needed by society ; but, not emphasized by company
Senior Lab Technician (Former Employee), Denton, TXSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: the amount of gc time available, the amount of science time and not bureaucratic bs time.
Cons: when results did not match what corporate sales wanted
The responsibilities of being a lab tech for this company are in accordance with science and lab standards. The significant benefit at this particular lab was that Safety-Kleen spent the investment to acquire several gas chromatographic units and the work load was such that experience preparing samples and operating the GC's was daily. SK lab operated – more... with a hybrid split shift so between supervisors and technicians 6 1/2 days a week 24 hours per day when manned; the lab was receiving sample materials, profiling these know standards or unknown wastes and/ or pre profiled wastes with several procedures and tests and generating reports for SK operations or customer requests. The co-workers were competent technicians and team-minded co-workers. Management seemed to be cursed with dreaded omniscient disorder. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field Chemist
Field Chemist (Former Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 22, 2014
All tasks were performed on-site. Analyze and identify chemicals. Determine safest route of disposal according to state and federal regulations. Determine proper packing and transportation of hazardous waste.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, hard to advance
Material Handler (Current Employee), Omaha, NESeptember 18, 2014
Decent place to work, hard to advance. Hard to get an answer to some questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very energetic workplace.
Senior CSR I (Former Employee), Santa Ana, CASeptember 3, 2014
Pros: the ability to make bonuses.
Cons: lots of driving
A very fun place to work due to the fact you got to manage your sales/service route how you see fit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vendor Procurment Dept
Vendor Procurement Admin (Current Employee), Norwell, MAAugust 18, 2014
Pros: forced to take 1 hour lunch
Cons: management doesn't care for you what-so-ever.
Place is awful to work at on the corporate side. Typical day starts at 8am. Underpaid, under-appreciated, and under managed. Co-workers are fine to deal with, because we are suppose to be a "Team." My boss told me this, but for the "Captain" of the "Team" she is no "Team Player." I recommend finding another source for your income, because this place – more... gets 2 thumbs down! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people to work with
Senior Buyer (Current Employee), Richardson, TXAugust 16, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: no room for advancement unless you have a 4 year degree
The team work here is awesome. Everyone is willing to help out if overloaded or out on vacation. The people are definitely the best part of the job.

It can be challenging working with A/P to resolve issues because they are in another state. We also have a lot of training that we give to the field due to turnover.

The most disappointing part of the – more... job is that there is no room for advancement and under new ownership they no longer invest in their employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome staff of people
Market Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Greenwood, INAugust 9, 2014
Pros: awesome people
Cons: clean harbors, bought them
Love the company, been there 15 years...looking to advance. Very customer service and sales driven
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14-16 hour work days
Marketing Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Nitro, WVAugust 3, 2014
Pros: wide range of experience and new industry knowledge
Cons: long hours
Too much work to have commission reduce 3 times in the first 7 months. Lack of Mgmt support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Position as route sales was excelent, compensation varied too much. Changes have been introduced since I left.
Route Sales (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 16, 2014
Pros: excelent company benefits
Cons: check on pay.
Pumping chemicals, cleaning cutomers equipment, upselling cleening products and various clean up products. Some routes require traveling a few hours prior to the first customer. Overall mangement was helpfull. They wanted some cold calling for new accounts. Must attend 2 week HAZMAT course prior to start.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neat Job/Special Market
Marketing Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Jackson, MSJuly 8, 2014
60 hour work weeks is my only down fall.
New business and current customer - Call on 16 customers a week
you will be highly trained in EPA, OSHA, and DOT Standards
You work with a Great Team
The most enjoyable thing about this job is The money
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with an endless amount of work
Oil Sales and Service Representative (Current Employee), TulsaJuly 1, 2014
Pros: competitive pay
Cons: hot summers, cold winters and hours of operation
I still find myself learning something new everyday. The hours are not the greatest with my current life but all my job duties get done. The summers can get extreme in the warehouse when counting inventory and putting away product. Im in the best shape of my life due to the physical labor of the job. I don't just use my back i also get a mental workout – more... in keeping up with inventory, making sure we are in compliance with numerous environmental and safety bureaus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Lead Operator (Former Employee), Hilliard, OHJune 14, 2014
Pros: co- workers
Cons: company bought out 3 times
Job gave me alot of experience, in all aspects. Management was great to work for.
All co-workers were great, we got along very well.
hardest part of all was leaving, but I could see they would be closing the gates very soon
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Analyst (Former Employee), Plano, TXMay 3, 2014
Very good place to work at. Management is very considerate of your schedule and knows how to choose their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Manifest Clerk II (Former Employee), Cranston, RIApril 30, 2014
Awesome group of people to work with.
Busy environment.
Plenty of overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people great culture
IT Architect (Former Employee), Richardson, TXApril 23, 2014
Pros: flexibility for remote work
Cons: non-existent tuition reimbursement, lean team structures, long working hours, tight deadlines
Safety-Kleen has great IT team, good culture and family friendly work environment. Life has become harder for Richardson IT team since acquisition by Clean Harbors. New management believes in micro managing and interferes with day to day operations and project executions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good poeple
Sales and Service Representative (Former Employee), Auburn, WAMarch 26, 2014
Pros: great poeple
Cons: dangerous work
Great people doing the right thing in a very dangerous business.

1 2 3 4 5

About Safety-Kleen

Safety-Kleen, Inc. is a provider of used oil re-refining and recycling and parts cleaning services in North America, and is also – Read more