Safariland Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Employee (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL16 October 2017
Very toxic environment for people at all levels, unless you are an executive. Little (if any) real interest or concern for employees actually doing the work. Unrealistic expectations across the board. Too much work, not enough workers
Pros
Paid the bills
Cons
Demoralizing behaviors by senior management, Endlesss chaotic environment starts at the top and creates daily emergencies for staff, Always looking to place blame and point the finger.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safariland takeover not very good
worker (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL12 October 2017
safariland took over Rodgers Holsters took away bonus program which was 20-25% of salary to support other failing businesses in its ownership leaving the employees with a large reduction in pay !
Pros
good benefits, plenty of paid time off
Cons
low pay, upper management not very fair
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not flexible
Other (Former Employee) –  Various location12 August 2017
Poor management
Stressful setting and associates are treated like a commodity
High turnover
Long hours
Poor communication between management.
No work life balance
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Front line supervisors poorly trained
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long work hours
Producion Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL24 July 2017
The typical work day is anything but typical, hours vary from 10 hour days to 12 hour days. Hard to make evening plans as you don't know really from day to day when you will be getting off work. If you like working a lot of overtime, then you are good. The employees are great, management needs more refining on their attitudes and political aspects of advancing qualified employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic quagmire
Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL18 July 2017
Worst executive team ever assembled. For the most part, the only people that really believe "Together, we save lives" are the working stiffs.
The upper management team are paranoid schizos clinging to their high salaries and promise of a big payout when they finally go public. I would never advise anyone I cared for to apply there.
Pros
great bunch of hourly and mid-management folks.
Cons
cut throat executive team. The few decent ones play their cards close to the vest or they are gone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL7 June 2017
Worked there for 8 years and loved it. Very satisfying knowing you are helping to save peoples lives.
Learned many things from sewing with an industrial digital machine to heat sealing and also preparing the body armor to be sewed together.
Management are very friendly and have an open door policy.
Pros
Great job satifaction knowing you save lives
Cons
Lunch could be a little bit longer
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CA5 June 2017
Worked there for about 2 years and I got along with everyone and the hours were great, there were times when the overtime was everyday for 4 months and it was good and bad at the same time but checks came out nice.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Import/Export Assistant/ Office Administrator (Current Employee) –  Ontario, CA3 May 2017
Great company to work for. The company is very family oriented, all employee have great attitude. The company take pride in taking care of it employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Warehouse Associate II (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CA2 May 2017
This place is great. This is where I've learned to drive the forklift and reach. I also learned how to use Microsoft excel. The work got easier as I got the hang of it and found out ways to make my job easier.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Manger Export Compliance (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL10 April 2017
Safariland LLC is a very structured work place.

During my time at Safarialnd I have learned a great deal.
I started off at Safariland as an Export/Import Specialist, knowing little or nothing of export regulations.
Through guidance and leadership from the company I learned quickly about how the government agencies worked together, and how to file for license applications.
I became a EO of the corporation after a few years of experience, and was very happy with both my direct boss, and the leadership of the company.
Pros
Was able to travel extensivaly throughout the U.S.
Cons
Sometime the work load was a little over baring
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Environment / Toxic
Employee (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL8 June 2016
Ok place to work but not a career choice by any means. Very hostile and no one knows when they get to go home or if they will have the weekend off. Very little reason is ever given, transparency from management to employees does not exist.
Cons
benefits are not worth it
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Mission / Not great advancement opportunities
In-House Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL16 December 2015
I really enjoyed my time at The Safariland Group. Overall the company treats their employees fairly. The working environment in the marketing department some often dysfunctional and a bit toxic.

Company should focus more on growing the talents of their employees.
Pros
great mission
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i liked it
Cutter Operator (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL2 November 2015
i liked working there nothing really bad bout the place but the lack of knowing how the warehouse operates from the head guys other then that not a bad place to work but the long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Oriented Company
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ontario, California21 October 2015
Managed employees for 14 years. Maintained a high degree of safety in the area along with strict 5s qualities. Mentored, motivated and counseled employees on a daily basis. Met and exceeded production goals. Had an excellent set of co-workers. Reaching and exceeding company goals was what i strived for...
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cash applications
Cash Application Specialist (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL14 October 2015
This is a career based job. This position is one that you could make a living off of. The job is expendable though. You could be replaced by machine so there is no garuntee of keeping this position. With advancement in technology things may change for your position within a company
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Marketing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Ontario, CA4 October 2015
Management allows for professional development across the divisions which allows for several promotions throughout the group in all locations and divisions.
Pros
Free tea and coffee
Cons
401k
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic environment
analyst (Former Employee) –  Ontario2 September 2015
Beware of joining this company. Callous treatment of people, hire and fire mentality. Old boy network in senior management are only looking out for themselves and their own security.
Pros
good people in the workforce
Cons
Cannot trust management
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good idea, bad execution
Marketing Employee (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL12 May 2015
I enjoyed the variety of work. One day working on a catalog, the next perhaps photography or web imagery or environmental graphics etc. Good variety of work.

The idea of "Together, we save lives" is taken seriously at the company but the execution of any/all things marketing has been miserable at best. The company has tried several times to make changes that improve these shortcomings, but seems to continue to make one mistake on repeat: Making decisions in complete isolation of employee input (and also MOSTLY lacking input from the consumer base). If employees who did the day to day operations were consulted with and the consumer base who was being marketed to was tapped as a resource, i think the decision making would have been more effective and in a more timely fashion.

Pros:
Majority of the company truly believes in the mantra "Together we save lives" and coming to work everyday for this noble cause is genuinely gratifying, Immediate teams within the company seem to operate effectively within multiple divisions of the company, my immediate team was a pleasure to work with, With little exception everyone acts in a professional manner on a daily basis

Cons:
Upward mobility is virtually non-existent, Management very rarely listens to employees and tends to make decisions void of the input from the people "in the field" or with the expertise to add value to the decision making, Accountability is requested and expected of anyone below Director level but there seems to be very little accountability above that level when it comes to equipping employees to perform the
  more... job they are assigned or when it comes to observing logic and/or current industry trends and affecting change • Little respect is given to the end-user audience, Repeated refusal to utilize focus groups & put into action surveys or other ways to get a genuine method of connecting to consumers, Little respect is given to design/marketing process  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working emvironment
Revceiver (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville,Fl17 March 2015
I loved working at Safariland, and would definitely return if ever I may return to Jacksonville,Fl. Reasonable hours and pay was good, friendly work environment.
Pros
Over time
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Mission
Buyer II Direct/MRO Indirect - Supply Chain (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL30 July 2014
Great Company
Future Oriented
Improvements always in motion
Rewarding Mission
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Safariland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 33 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3